DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cottone (US 11,007,345 B2).
With regard to claims 1-5, Cottone teaches an interlock assembly for a catheter, comprising: a microfabricated tube (Fig. 1A member 100) comprising a distal ring, the distal ring comprising at least one ring tenon and at least one ring mortise (exemplary Fig. 4(b), ring portion is the distal portion of 110 in the area of 150 distal of the cuts, the tenons are on either side of 150, 460, and 461, mortises formed by 150, 460, and 461), wherein the microfabricated tube comprises a fenestrated segment extending from a main segment of the microfabricated tube to the distal ring of the microfabricated tube (Figs. 2A and 3 segment 110, spiral fenestrations 340); and a marker band (Fig. 1(a) considered as portions 120 and 170) comprising at least one band tenon and at least one band mortise (exemplary Fig. 4(b) tenons 140, 450, and 451, mortises formed by spaces between 140, 450, and 451), wherein the at least one ring mortise is configured to receive and interlock with the at least one band tenon and wherein the at least one band mortise is configured to receive and interlock with the at least one ring tenon (exemplary Fig. 4(a)).
With regard to claims 6 and 7, alternatively the snap fit connector 510 in Figs. 5 is considered which has an opening between 550 and 560, further see coating 1010 and 1020 (Fig. 10(b)). The snap fit shape can vary and is considered as the at least one tenon, this portion may be on either member (Col. 10 lines 17-32).
With regard to claim 8, see Col. 3 lines 50-59 regarding the radiopaque material, the tube can include nonradiopaque materials which include polymers or other metals (see at least Col. 2 line62-Col. 3 line 30).
With regard to claim 9, see exemplary Fig. 6(r), the tenons are curved.
With regard to claims 10 and 11, the tenon on either side of 150 has a greater width than the tenons which fit into 460 and 461 (Fig. 4(b)). Cottone teaches the snap portions may be configured on either member (Col. 10 lines 17-20) and when reversed the length of the ring tenon is less than the band tenon.
With regard to claim 12, see Fig. 19(d), member 1900b.
With regard to claim 13, Cottone teaches the snap portions may be configured on either member (Col. 10 lines 17-20), see exemplary Fig. 6(l) 150 expands and contracts. Alternatively, portions 530 and 540 move inward to connect (Col. 16 line 58).
With regard to claim 14, Cottone teaches an interlock assembly for a catheter, comprising: a microfabricated tube (Fig. 1A member 100) comprising a distal ring, the distal ring comprising at least two ring tenons and at least two ring mortises (exemplary Figs. 5, ring portion is the distal portion of 110 in the area of 120 distal of the cuts, the tenons are on either side of 120, and to the sides of spaces generally indicated as 460, and 461 in Fig. 4(b), mortises formed by 120 and corresponding spaces), wherein the microfabricated tube comprises a fenestrated segment extending from a main segment of the microfabricated tube to the distal ring of the microfabricated tube, wherein the fenestrated segment is a helical segment, and wherein the distal ring is integrally connected to the helical segment to form a monolithic structure (Figs. 2A and 3 segment 110, spiral fenestrations 340); and a marker band (Fig. 1(a) considered as portions 120 and 170) comprising at least two band tenons and at least two band mortises, wherein each ring mortise is configured to receive and interlock with a corresponding band tenon and wherein each band mortise is configured to receive and interlock with a corresponding ring tenon, wherein at least one ring tenon of the at least two ring tenons, or at least one band tenon of the at least two band tenons, comprises a radial aperture, and wherein an outer laminate extends through the radial aperture (Figs. 5 one tenon formed by 530 and 540 with aperture in-between, additional tenons formed by members which fit into spaces of the other segment, further see coating 1010 and 1020 (Fig. 10(b)).).
With regard to claim 15, Cottone teaches multiple snap connections may be used, as such at least two are used and that the connector and acceptor can be on either or both members (Col. 15 line 64-Col. 16 line 8). As such this can result in a situation where two sets of members 530 and 540 with an aperture between are provided on each portion.
With regard to claim 16, see Col. 3 lines 50-59.
With regard to claim 17, see exemplary Fig. 6(r), the tenons are curved.
With regard to claims 18 and 9, portions on either side of 120 are wider than corresponding tenons on the other side. Cottone teaches the snap portions may be configured on either member (Col. 10 lines 17-20) and when reversed the length of the ring tenon is less than the band tenon.
With regard to claim 20, portions 530 and 540 move inward from an expanded configuration to connect (Col. 16 line 58).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 14, Applicant argues 120 and 170 are not marker bands because there are radiopaque materials that encircle these portions. As these band portions include radiopaque material they are taken as a whole to be marker bands. Further, claim 1 does not specify a radiopaque material or to what extent that material is provided in the band. Even if the radiopaque material were not considered the bands may be considered as markers as they mark a location along the catheter. Regrading claims 14, 6, and 7, Applicant argues there is no radial aperture. Members 530 and 540 are considered together to form the tenon, in between these portions there is a space with a curved vertex which provides a radial aperture. Further, as the outer laminate coating covers the joints it would bond through that space. Regarding claim 8, Applicant argues radiopaque material is not disclosed as forming the interlocking joint between tubes, this is not claimed. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous objections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783