DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens et al. (US 2005/0192124 A1 – hereinafter Tetens), Tyomkin (US 2021/0089761 A1 – hereinafter Tyomkin), O’Keefe et al. (US 2013/0307997 A1 – hereinafter O’Keefe), TOUR Championship (https://www.pgatour.com/tournaments/2018/tour-championship/R2018060/highlights, previously provided page with an extra page attached), and East Lake Golf Club Flyover: NEW #TOURChampionship Hole 18
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bHefB_zi5jk, hereinafter ELGCF).
Regarding claim 1, Tetens discloses a system for autonomously providing digital media comprising: a remote media system (RMS) located at a golf course having at least one golf hole, wherein the RMS includes a first camera configured to record a video of at least one golfer detected at the at least one golf hole ([0010]; [0015] — a remote media system (RMS) comprising a camera as shown as element 20 in Fig. 1 configured to automatically record a golfer in response to the golfer near the tee box); a network media processor and services (NMS) communicatively coupled to the RMS and located remote to the RMS and configured to process the video of the at least one golfer ([0010]; [0015] — a remote located computing device, which is a network media processor and service (NMS) remotely coupled to a remote media system (RMS) to process the video of the golfer to determine whether a ball is a winning ball); and a digital media enabled destination configured to receive the video from the NMS in response to a user ([0015] – a device that the player uses to access the video recording of his or her shot, e.g. via the internet).
However, Tetens does not disclose a video link QR code, the video link QR code corresponds with a network address of a landing page associated with the NMS and including a golf event link associated with a golf event video for a golf event at the golf course and a golf course link associated with and linked to a golf course video for the golf course; the first camera as a first AI enabled camera; and the digital media enabled destination configured to receive the video in response to a user scanning the video link QR code.
Tyomkin discloses a first AI enabled camera ([0299]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the AI enabled camera of Tyomkin into the system taught by Tetens to intelligently track the golfer and to pan, tilt, and zoom at least one camera to get an optimum angle for viewing the golfer so that a better viewing angle can be provided.
Tetens and Tyomkin do not disclose a video link QR code, the video link QR code corresponds with a network address of a landing page associated with the NMS and including a golf event link associated with a golf event video for a golf event at the golf course and a golf course link associated with and linked to a golf course video for the golf course; and the digital media enabled destination configured to receive the video in response to a user scanning the video link QR code.
O’Keefe discloses a video link QR code ([0085] – a QR code provides a link to a video), the video link QR code corresponds with a network address of a landing page associated with an NMS ([0085] – the QR code corresponds with a network address of a landing page, e.g. YouTube page, which in view of Tetens, is associated with the NMS); and a digital media enabled destination configured to receive a video in response to a user scanning the video link QR code ([0085] – a user using a camera phone to scan the QR code and a video clip is accessed via the link).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of O’Keefe into the system taught by Tetens and Tyomkin to allow the player to access to the video recording conveniently.
However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and O’Keefe do not explicitly disclose the landing page including a golf event link associated with a golf event video for a golf event at the golf course and a golf course link associated with and linked to a golf course video for the golf course.
TOUR Championship discloses a web page including a golf event link associated with a golf event video for a golf event at a golf course and a golf course link associated with and linked to golf course data for the golf course (see TOUR Championship – TOUR Championship is a web page including a golf event link associated with a golf event video for a golf event, i.e. events of 2018 PGA tournament, and a golf course link associated with and linked to golf course data for the golf course, i.e. “Course Stats” is a golf course link associated with and linked to golf course data for the golf course, selecting the link “Course Stats” would provide golf course data for the golf course as shown on page 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the webpage by TOUR Championship into the landing page in the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, and Levy above because such a webpage were known to have been advantageous in building the golf tournament awareness, attracting audience and players, and making financial benefits.
Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, and TOUR Championship do not disclose the golf course data is a golf course video for the golf course.
ELGCF discloses golf course data is a golf course video for a golf course (see East Lake Golf Club Flyover).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the golf course video disclosed by ELGCF, and TOUR Championship into the golf course link in the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, and TOUR Championship above because such a video were known to have been advantageous in providing users with more information about the golf course, thus effectively advertising the golf course to event organizers.
Regarding claim 8, O’Keefe also discloses the video link QR code is a static QR code ([0085]).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of O’Keefe into the system has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, O’Keefe also discloses the video link QR code is included on merchandise ([0084]; Fig. 5).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of O’Keefe into the system has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 9 above.
Claims 2-3, 5, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 14, and 19 above, and further in view of Levy (US 2012/0284649 A1 – hereinafter Levy).
Regarding claim 2, Tetens also discloses a code configured to enable tracking data related to the user to be collected by the NMS ([0012] – an identification number assigned to the player configured to enable tracking data related to the player to be collected by the NMS) while O’Keefe also discloses a video link QR code ([0085] – a QR code provides a link to a video).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to further incorporate the further teachings of O’Keefe to be used as the identification number code in the system to simplify management of assigned codes, i.e. avoiding using too many codes.
Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF do not disclose the video link QR code as a dynamic QR code.
Levy discloses a video link QR code as a dynamic QR code ([0174]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to further incorporate the teachings of Levy to be used as the video link QR code in the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF because dynamic QR codes were known to have been advantageous due to their flexibility in allowing for changing the linked content by redirecting users to a desired landing page without needing to create a new QR code.
Regarding claim 3, Tetens in view of Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, ELGCF, and Levy also discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the tracking data includes a location of the user at a time the video link QR code is scanned ([0012]-[0015] – tracking the player for recording includes a location of the player when the player scans the identification number, which, in view of O’Keefe, is the video link QR code).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF as discussed in claim 1 above. Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF do not disclose the network address can be altered after the video link QR code is generated.
Levy discloses a network address can be altered after a video link QR code is generated ([0174] – a dynamic QR code allows changing the network address by redirecting to a new network address without the need to generate new QR code).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to further incorporate the teachings of Levy into the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF because dynamic QR codes were known to have been advantageous due to their flexibility in allowing for changing the linked content by redirecting users to a desired landing page without needing to create a new QR code.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 14, and 19 above, and further in view of Gosalia (US 2020/0387904 A1), and Spinner (US 2013/0314906 A1 – hereinafter Spinner).
Regarding claim 10, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF as discussed in claim 9 above. Tetens also discloses a code configured to facilitate creation of a golfer user profile corresponding to the at least one golfer ([0012] – an identification number assigned to the player).
However, Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF do not disclose the code is a generic QR code disposed at the at least one golf hole and configured to facilitate creation of a golfer user profile corresponding to the at least one golfer using a phone number of the at least one golfer.
Gosalia discloses a generic QR code configured to facilitate creation of a user profile corresponding to the at least one user using a phone number of the at least one user ([0037] – a QR code in combination with a phone number).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Gosalia into the creation of the golfer user profile in the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, and ELGCF to simplify creation and management of the user profile.
Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, ELGCF, and Gosalia do not disclose the generic QR code is disposed at at least one golf hole.
Spinner discloses a code is a generic code disposed at at least one golf hole ([0123]; Fig. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Spinner into the QR code in the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, O’Keefe, TOUR Champion, ELGCF, and Gosalia to keep track of playing records associated with golf holes.
Regarding claim 11, Tetens in view of Gosalia also discloses the system of claim 10, further including a login QR code configured to allow the at least one golfer to login with the golfer user profile with the phone number of the at least one golfer ([0012] – the user logs in using an assigned identification number, in view of Gosalia, which discloses a QR code).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Gosalia into the system has been discussed in claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 12, Tetens in view of O’Keefe and Gosalia also discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the login QR code corresponds to a merchandise network address of a merchandise landing page listing the merchandise for sale to the at least one golfer and others aware of the phone number of the at least one golfer (Tetens: [0012] – the user logs in using an assigned identification number, in view of Gosalia, which discloses a QR code in combination with the user phone number, O’Keefe discloses the QR code corresponds to a merchandise network address of a merchandise landing page listing the merchandise for sale in at least [0084] and Fig. 5, to the at least one golfer and others aware of the phone number of the at least one golfer).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Gosalia into the system has been discussed in claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 13, Tetens in view of O’Keefe and Gosalia also discloses the system of claim 11, further including a merchandise kiosk in communication with the NMS and disposed at the golf course, the merchandise kiosk configured to: allow login by the at least one golfer using one of the login QR code and the phone number of the at least one golfer and a custom QR code corresponding with the at least one golfer, and listing and facilitating purchase of the merchandise by the at least one golfer and others aware of the phone number of the at least one golfer (Tetens: [0012]; Fig. 1 – kiosk 22 in communication with the NMS, which is the remote computing device and disposed at the golf course as shown in Fig. 1, configured to allow login by the at least one golfer using an identification number assigned to the golfer, which, in view of Gosalia, is login QR code and the phone number of the at least one golfer, O’Keefe discloses a custom QR code corresponding with the at least one golfer, and listing and facilitating purchase of the merchandise by the at least one golfer in at least [0084] and Fig. 5 and others aware of the phone number of the at least one golfer ).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Gosalia into the system has been discussed in claim 10 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claim 20 recites, “the landing page including: a golfer shot link associated with a golfer shot linkpage displaying the video including at least one golf shot during a golf event by one of the plurality of golfers, a team shots link associated with a team shots linkpage including a plurality of separate shots links for retrieving the video including the at least one golf shot by each member of a team of the plurality of golfers and a team combined shot link for retrieving a combined team video of at least one golf shot by each member of the team of the plurality of golfers combined together, and an event link associated with an event linkpage including a golf hole flight video for each of the plurality of golf holes and a plurality of separate event shot links for retrieving the video including the at least one golf shot by each of the plurality of golfers at each of the plurality of golf holes at the golf event and an event combined shot link for retrieving a combined event video of at least one golf shot by each of the plurality of golfers and the golf hole flight video for each of the plurality of golf holes of the golf event combined together,” which are not disclosed or rendered obvious by prior art of record in view of other recited limitations of “a video link QR code comprising a custom QR code corresponding with each of a plurality of golfers, the custom QR code being a dynamic QR code configured to enable tracking data related to a user to be collected; a remote media system (RMS) located at a golf course having a plurality of golf holes, wherein the RMS includes a first AI enabled camera configured to record a video of at least one of the plurality of golfers detected at one or more of the plurality of golf holes; a network media processor and services (NMS) communicatively coupled to the RMS and located remote to the RMS and configured to process the video of the at least one of the plurality of golfers; a digital media enabled destination configured to receive the video from the NMS in response to the user scanning the video link QR code; the video link QR code corresponding with a network address of a landing page associated with the NMS”.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484