DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/6/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of species A shown in figures 1-3 in the reply filed on 11/6/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that each group of species does not require different search or technical analysis. This is not found persuasive because the basis for the election of the species is that each of the species directs to a patentable distinct vapor chamber and each patentable distinct species requires different search text queries, which places a serious search burden on the examiner. For example, the text search queries for one tube portion comprises a closed end for species C or D is not required for species A and species B.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang Chin Wen (US 20090236085A1). Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses(figures 7-8) a vapor chamber with a sandwiched upper wick (22), comprising a lower plate (20); and an upper plate (21), covering the lower plate (20) to form a chamber between the lower plate and the upper plate, the upper plate comprising an outer plate (21) , at least one inner plate (1) superposed with the outer plate and located in the chamber and at least one sandwiched wick layer (22) sandwiched between the outer plate (21) and the inner plate (1); wherein the lower plate (20) is disposed with a lower wick structure (22) located in the chamber, the sandwiched wick layer (22) is formed with a connecting edge corresponding to a periphery of the inner plate and projecting from the periphery of the inner plate, and the connecting edge is in contact with the lower wick structure. (connecting edge is a portion of wick 22 on lateral side of upper plate 21). Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses (figure 8) that the lower wick structure (22) is further disposed with a lateral portion (lateral portion of wick 22 extends from the lower plate 20 toward the upper plate) attached along an inner wall of a periphery of the chamber, the lateral portion matches with the inner wall of the peripheral of the chamber and extends toward the outer plate (21) to be in contact with the connecting edge. .
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida (US 20020179288A1) Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses (figure 11 and figure A) a vapor chamber with a sandwiched upper wick (see figure A), comprising a lower plate ; and an upper plate, covering the lower plate to form a chamber between the lower plate and the upper plate, the upper plate comprising an outer plate , at least one inner plate (28) superposed with the outer plate and located in the chamber and at least one sandwiched wick layer (upper wick) sandwiched between the outer plate and the inner plate; wherein the lower plate is disposed with a lower wick structure located in the chamber, the sandwiched wick layer is formed with a connecting edge corresponding to a periphery of the inner plate (28) and projecting from the periphery of the inner plate, and the connecting edge is in contact with the lower wick structure (40). Regarding claim 2, Ishida discloses (figure A) that the lower wick structure is further disposed with a lateral portion attached along an inner wall of a periphery of the chamber, the lateral portion matches with the inner wall of the peripheral of the chamber and extends toward the outer plate to be in contact with the connecting edge. (see figure A).
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 11 with limitations shown.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 8,377,214B2) discloses a vapor chamber with a support plate.
Lin Chun-Hung (US 20110168359A1) discloses a heat dissipating plate.
Leeyongdeok et al. (KR 20040015887A) discloses a thermal diffuser.
Meyer et al. (TW M 336673U) discloses a vapor chamber and supporting structure.
Zhou et al. (US 20100139894A1) discloses a plate heat pipe.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763