DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/633,497 filed on 11 April 2024. This application claims CON to PCT/CN2022/124564 filed on 11 October 2022 and claims FOR priority to CN202111184690.7 filed on 12 October 2021. The response filed 7 July 2026 amends claims 1-6 and 14-19, withdraws claims 8-22, and presents arguments.
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitations "a fourth condition" and "a fifth condition." Claim 14 fails to disclose a first condition, a second condition, and a third condition. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This claim is indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, Examiner will interpret this imitation to mean “the method according to claim 16,” wherein claim 16 recites a third condition.
Claim 18 fails to cure the deficiencies of their parent claim(s) and, therefore, inherit the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019096266 A1 to Liu et al and in view of US PGPUB 2023/0057169 A1 to Li et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a first node for wireless communications (FIG. 1, terminal device), comprising: a first receiver, receiving N CSI configuration information, the N CSI configuration information being respectively used to determine N CSI reportings, the N CSI reportings not occupying a first-type processing unit and a second-type processing unit before a first symbol, N being a positive integer greater than 1 (“Detailed Ways” section, paragraph 73 states that the technical solution includes a UE of a cell that receives CSI report configuration); and a first transmitter, operatively coupled to the first receiver and the first processor, the first transmitter transmitting a first information block, the first information block comprising at least one CSI reporting of the N CSI reportings (“Summary of the Invention” section, paragraph 37 states “the terminal device reports the CSI according to the Z”). Liu doesn’t explicitly disclose a first processor, operatively coupled to the first receiver, the first processor updating a CSI reporting in a first CSI reporting subset, the first CSI reporting subset being a subset of the N CSI reportings; and wherein any one of the N CSI reportings is a Type I CSI reporting or a Type II CSI reporting; any Type I CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings corresponds to a first-type integer, and any Type II CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings corresponds to a second-type integer; any Type I CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings, if updated, does not occupy the second-type processing unit and occupies a number of the first-type processing units equal to the corresponding first-type integer; any Type II CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings, if updated occupies a number of the second-type processing units equal to the corresponding second-type integer; the first node determines on its own whether to update a CSI reporting not belonging to the first CSI reporting subset in the N CSI reportings; the N CSI reportings respectively correspond to N priorities, and the N CSI reportings are sequentially arranged according to corresponding priorities in a descending order; the N priorities are used to determine a number of CSI reportings comprised in the first CSI reporting subset. Li, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a first processor, operatively coupled to the first receiver, the first processor updating a CSI reporting in a first CSI reporting subset, the first CSI reporting subset being a subset of the N CSI reportings (FIG. 2 and 0110 provides for UE 115 updates a type of CSI report based on identifying a type of reports, wherein one of two types is a subset); and wherein any one of the N CSI reportings is a Type I CSI reporting or a Type II CSI reporting (FIG. 4B and 0127 provides for one of Type I 405-b and Type II 410-b); any Type I CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings corresponds to a first-type integer, and any Type II CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings corresponds to a second-type integer (0127 provides for Type I CSI report occupy 2 CPUs and the Type II reporting is 4 CPUs); any Type I CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings, if updated, does not occupy the second-type processing unit and occupies a number of the first-type processing units equal to the corresponding first-type integer (0127 provides for Type II CSI reporting is skipped/updated later due to Type I occupancy); any Type II CSI reporting in the N CSI reportings, if updated occupies a number of the second-type processing units equal to the corresponding second-type integer (0127 provides for the Type II reporting is 4 CPUs); the first node determines on its own whether to update a CSI reporting not belonging to the first CSI reporting subset in the N CSI reportings (0127 provides for the Type II reporting is skipped); the N CSI reportings respectively correspond to N priorities, and the N CSI reportings are sequentially arranged according to corresponding priorities in a descending order (0127 provides for the Type I CSI report 405-b may have a higher priority than the Type II CSI report 410-b, wherein 1 is sequentially arranged and 2 is a second priority in descending order); the N priorities are used to determine a number of CSI reportings comprised in the first CSI reporting subset (0127 provides for the Type I CSI report 405-b may have a higher priority than the Type II CSI report 410-b, and Type II reportings may be skipped/updated later due to priority). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Li for updating and processing CSI. The CSI processing of Liu, when implemented with the multi-type CSI reports of the Li system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to update CSI reportings based on type and priority in order to optimize CPU usage in a terminal device. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the CSI processing of Liu with the multi-type CSI reports of the Li system for the desirable purpose of prioritizing the processing of CSI reports based on CPU availability.
Regarding Claim 14, similar rejection where the first node of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2021/0307025 A1 to Hosseini et al discloses relative prioritization of CSI reports.
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459