DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed September 4, 2026.
Specification
The objection to the title of the invention has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regard to claim 1, Jeong et al. teach a display device comprising: a substrate 100 including a first area 1A, a second area 2A, and a bent area BA, wherein the bent area BA is connected between the first area 1A and the second area 2A, is bent according to a bending axis BAX; a display element 300 on the substrate 100; and an edge protection unit (in 2A) comprising an organic insulating layer 260 (140a/150a/170a), the edge protection unit (in 2A) arranged at an edge of the substrate 100, wherein the edge protection unit (in 2A) extends from a portion of the substrate 100 to an outermost side of the substrate 100 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 2, Jeong et al. teach a planarization layer 140 spaced from the organic insulating layer and positioned between the display element 300 and the substrate 100; a pixel-defining layer 150 spaced from the organic insulating layer 260 and directly contacting the display element 300; and a spacer 170 spaced from the organic insulating layer 260, wherein the pixel-defining layer 150 is positioned between the spacer 170 and the substrate 100, and wherein the organic insulating layer 260 is formed of a same material as at least one of the planarization layer 140, the pixel-defining layer 150, and the spacer 170 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 3, Jeong et al. teach an inorganic insulating layer 125 (110/121/122/130) arranged between the substrate 100 and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 4, Jeong et al. teach the inorganic insulating layer 125 is positioned between the second area 2A and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 5, Jeong et al. teach a buffer layer 110 arranged between the substrate 100 and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 6, Jeong et al. teach the buffer layer 110 is positioned between the organic insulating layer 260 and the first area 1A (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 7, Jeong et al. teach the first area 1A comprising: a display area DA; and a peripheral area NDA surrounding the display area DA, and wherein the display element 300 overlaps the display area DA (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 8, Jeong et al. teach a display device comprising: a substrate 100; a display element 300 on the substrate 100; an organic insulating layer 260 spaced from the display element 300, and arranged at an edge of the substrate 100, wherein the organic insulating layer 260 comprises a face (at 170a) disposed at an outermost side of the substrate 100 and the face (at 170a) of the organic insulating layer 260 is coplanar with the edge of the substrate 100 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 9, Jeong et al. teach a crack blocking unit 720/210 arranged on the peripheral area NDA and including a slit (areas between 720/210), wherein the organic insulating layer 260 covers at least one of the crack blocking unit 210 and the slit (area between 210) (Figures 1, 6-7 and 18, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 10, Jeong et al. teach a bending protection layer 600 overlapping a portion of the substrate 100 and partially overlapping the organic insulating layer 260, wherein the organic insulating layer 260 is positioned between the bending protection layer 600 and the bent area BA (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 11, The prior art of record (Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2)) does not disclose, make obvious, or otherwise suggest the structure of the applicant's claimed invention together with the other limitations of the dependent claims 12-20, such as the configuration of the substrate, first through fifth sides, curved section, display element, edge protection unit, organic insulating layer and straight section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to claim 1, looking at Figure 6 of Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2), the edge protection unit (in 2A) extends from a portion of the substrate 100 (the portion of the substrate in 2A) to an outermost side (the outermost side is the right side in 2A where the elements terminate) of the substrate 100.
In regard to claim 8, looking at Figure 6 of Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2), the organic insulating layer 260 comprises a face (at 170a) disposed at an outermost side (the outermost side is the right side in 2A where the elements terminate) of the substrate 100 and the face (at 170a) of the organic insulating layer 260 is coplanar with the edge of the substrate 100.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
Choi et al. (US2017/0352717 A1) Hangug-Eo et al. (KR 102132697 B1)
Ki et al. (US 9,349,758 B2) Kim et al. (US 2020/0035775 A1)
Lee et al. (US 10,170,505 B2) Namkung (US 2017/0294609 A1)
Yamazaki et al. (US 2003/0094615 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMS
October 7, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898