DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 “both ends of the magnetic element fixed to the inner side of the second wall along the third direction extends between the spring sheet and the second wall, and both ends of the magnetic element fixed to the inner side of the fourth wall along the third direction extends between the spring sheet and the fourth wall” is unclear.
As seen in figs 5-6 both ends of the magnetic elements 53a along the third direction Z do not extend between the spring sheet 551 and the second or fourth walls 513, 517 (see figs below). Therefore it is unclear what applicant is claiming.
It appears applicant may be claiming that the magnetic elements 53a extend between ends in the third direction between the spring sheet 551 and the respective walls 513, 517 (figs 5-6).
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the magnetic element extends between ends in the third direction between the spring sheet & the 2nd or 4th wall. Claims 2-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected since they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (CN106208599, “Guo”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Guo discloses a vibration motor, comprising:
a housing 11” with an accommodating space (figs 1 & 6, [0034], note: employing fig 6 for rejection but has same structure of figs 1-4 except structure of 33 is changed to structure of 33”- see [0047] & [0052-0054]);
a stator fixed in the housing 11” (fig 6, includes 33” & 31”, [0054]), comprising two magnetic elements 33” arranged opposite to each other and spaced apart along a first direction (figs 1, 6 & below); and
a vibrator 5 fixed in the housing (figs 1 & 6, [0040]), comprising a spring sheet 53 and a solenoid 51 (figs 1 & 6, [0040]), the spring sheet being fixed to the housing at both ends in a second direction (figs 1-3, 6 & below, [0040]), the spring sheet 53 has an I-shaped structure (fig 1), and its length direction is the second direction (figs 1 & below), the solenoid 51 being fixedly connected to the spring sheet 53 to be suspended between the two magnetic elements 33” (fig 6, [0040]);
wherein the two magnetic elements 33” are configured to drive the solenoid 51 to vibrate along a third direction (figs 1-3, 6 & below, [0040]), and at least one side of the housing 11” in the third direction is provided an opening in communication with the accommodating space (figs 1-2, 6 & below, top opening of 11” and/or 111); the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (figs 1, 6 & below);
the housing 11” comprises a first wall, a second wall, a third wall, and a fourth wall connected in turn to form the accommodating space (figs 1, 6 & below);
two ends of the spring sheet 33” along the second direction are fixed to the first wall and the third wall, respectively (figs 1-2, 6 & below); and
the magnetic elements 33” are fixed to an inner side of the second wall and an inner side of the fourth wall (figs 1, 6 & below);
opposite ends of the spring sheet 33” along the first direction are spaced apart from the second wall and the fourth wall (figs 1, 6 & below); both ends of the magnetic element 33” fixed to the inner side of the second wall along the third direction extends between the spring sheet 53 and the second wall (as best understood by examiner the magnetic element extends between ends in the third direction between the spring sheet & the 2nd wall; figs 1, 6 & below), and both ends of the magnetic element 33” fixed to the inner side of the fourth wall along the third direction extends between the spring sheet 53 and the fourth wall (as best understood by examiner the magnetic element extends between ends in the third direction between the spring sheet & the 4th wall; figs 1, 6 & below).
Re claim 2, Guo discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetic elements 33” are magnets 333” (fig 6), and the magnetic elements are magnetized along the first direction (figs 6 & above for claim 1, magnets 333”).
Re claim 4, Guo discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses each of the magnetic elements 33” is a unipolar magnet 331”, 335” (fig 6), and the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity (fig 6, for 331” & 332”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Hayashi (JP2022043419, “Hayashi”, using machine translation).
Re claim 6, Guo discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the solenoid comprises a coil and a core body; the core body comprises a main body portion wound by the coil, and an extension portion formed by extending from the main body portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet.
Hayashi discloses the solenoid comprises a coil 5 and a core body 4 (figs 1-2, [0026-0027]); the core body 4 comprises a main body portion 40 wound by the coil 5 (figs 1-2), and an extension portion 41, 42 formed by extending from the main body 40 portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet 3 (figs 1-2, [0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the solenoid of Guo to comprise a coil and a core body; the core body comprises a main body portion wound by the coil, and an extension portion formed by extending from the main body portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet, as disclosed by Hayashi, in order to avoid the coil from directly hitting the stator, as taught by Hayashi ([0029]).
Re claim 7, Guo in view of Hayashi discloses claim 6 as discussed above. Guo further discloses a orthographic projection of the coil 51 on the magnetic element 33” falls within a range of the magnetic elements 33” (figs 1 & 6).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Hayashi and in further view of Yoon et al. (US20110278959, “Yoon”).
Re claim 8, Guo in view of Hayashi discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a side of the extension portion 41 away from the main body portion 40 extends along the third direction (Hayashi, figs 1-2).
Guo in view of Hayashi is silent with respect to at least two spaced apart positioning posts and the spring sheet is provided with through holes for insertion of the positioning posts.
Yoon discloses at least two spaced apart positioning posts 60 (figs 9-10, [0070 & 0072]) and the spring sheet 40 is provided with through holes 62 for insertion of the positioning posts 60 (figs 9-10, [0070 & 0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spring sheet and extension portion of Guo in view of Hayashi to comprise at least two spaced apart positioning posts and the spring sheet provided with through holes for insertion of the positioning posts, as disclosed by Yoon, in order to provide concentricity between the core/coil and the spring sheet, as taught by Yoon for between a spacer and spring sheet ([0073]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Hong (US20130093266, “Hong”).
Re claim 10, Guo discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the spring sheet 53 is located in the opening (figs 1-2 & 6).
Guo is silent with respect to a buffer sheet is fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet away from the housing.
Hong discloses a buffer sheet 42 is fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet 21 away from the housing 13 (fig 3, [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spring sheet of Guo with a buffer sheet fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet away from the housing, as disclosed by Hong, in order to prevent noise or abrasion, as taught by Hong ([0067]).
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi et al. (US20250111974, “Amin-Shahidi”).
Re claim 11, Guo discloses the vibration motor of claim 1 as discussed above but are silent with respect to a touch control device, comprising: a center frame having a mounting hole; a button mounted in the mounting hole; and a vibration motor of claim 1; wherein the housing of the vibration motor is fixed to an inner side of the center frame, the vibrator of the vibration motor is connected to the button through the opening, and a pressing direction of the button is parallel to the third direction of the vibration motor.
Amin-Shahidi discloses a touch control device 100 (figs 1a-2, [0029]), comprising:
a center frame 102 having a mounting hole (figs 1a-2 & below, [0029]);
a button 118 mounted in the mounting hole (figs 2-3a & below, [0035]); and
a vibration motor 135 (figs 1d-3a, [0025], last nine lns & [0041]);
wherein the housing of the vibration motor 135 is fixed to an inner side of the center frame 102 (figs 1c-3a, [0039], through 138a-b), the vibrator 139 of the vibration motor 135 is connected to the button 118 through the opening 215 (figs 2-3a, [0025], last nine lns, [0038], [0048] & [0052]), and a pressing direction of the button 118 is parallel to the third direction of the vibration motor 135 (figs 1d-3a, third direction vibration direction as indicated by gap 137 between coil 236 & attraction plate 134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the vibration motor of Guo in a touch control device, comprising: a center frame having a mounting hole; a button mounted in the mounting hole; and a vibration motor of claim 1; wherein the housing of the vibration motor is fixed to an inner side of the center frame, the vibrator of the vibration motor is connected to the button through the opening, and a pressing direction of the button is parallel to the third direction of the vibration motor, as disclosed by Amin-Shahidi, in order to make the vibration motor more versatile by employing the vibration motor in different devices, as well as to make buttons of a touch control device have a haptic feedback, as disclosed by Amin-Shahidi ([0025]).
Re claim 12, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Guo further discloses the magnetic elements 33” are magnets 333” (fig 6), and the magnetic elements are magnetized along the first direction (figs 6 & above for claim 1, magnets 333”).
Re claim 14, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi discloses claim 12 as discussed above. Guo further discloses each of the magnetic elements 33” is a unipolar magnet 331”, 335” (fig 6), and the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity (fig 6, for 331” & 332”).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and in further view of Hayashi.
Re claim 16, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi discloses claim 11 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the solenoid comprises a coil and a core body; the core body comprises a main body portion wound by the coil, and an extension portion formed by extending from the main body portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet.
Hayashi discloses the solenoid comprises a coil 5 and a core body 4 (figs 1-2, [0026-0027]); the core body 4 comprises a main body portion 40 wound by the coil 5 (figs 1-2), and an extension portion 41, 42 formed by extending from the main body 40 portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet 3 (figs 1-2, [0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the solenoid of Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi to comprise a coil and a core body; the core body comprises a main body portion wound by the coil, and an extension portion formed by extending from the main body portion and is fixedly connected to the spring sheet, as disclosed by Hayashi, in order to avoid the coil from directly hitting the stator, as taught by Hayashi ([0029]).
Re claim 17, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and Hayashi discloses claim 16 as discussed above. Guo further discloses a orthographic projection of the coil 51 on the magnetic element 33” falls within a range of the magnetic elements 33” (figs 1 & 6).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and Hayashi and in further view of Yoon.
Re claim 18, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and Hayashi discloses claim 16 as discussed above and further discloses a side of the extension portion 41 away from the main body portion 40 extends along the third direction (Hayashi, figs 1-2).
Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and Hayashi are silent with respect to at least two spaced apart positioning posts and the spring sheet is provided with through holes for insertion of the positioning posts.
Yoon discloses at least two spaced apart positioning posts 60 (figs 9-10, [0070 & 0072]) and the spring sheet 40 is provided with through holes 62 for insertion of the positioning posts 60 (figs 9-10, [0070 & 0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spring sheet and extension portion of Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and Hayashi to comprise at least two spaced apart positioning posts and the spring sheet provided with through holes for insertion of the positioning posts, as disclosed by Yoon, in order to provide concentricity between the core/coil and the spring sheet, as taught by Yoon for between a spacer and spring sheet ([0073]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi and in further view of Hong.
Re claim 20, Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi discloses claim 11 as discussed above. Guo further discloses the spring sheet 53 is located in the opening (figs 1-2 & 6).
Guo is silent with respect to a buffer sheet is fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet away from the housing.
Hong discloses a buffer sheet 42 is fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet 21 away from the housing 13 (fig 3, [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spring sheet of Guo in view of Amin-Shahidi with a buffer sheet fixedly arranged on a side of the spring sheet away from the housing, as disclosed by Hong, in order to prevent noise or abrasion, as taught by Hong ([0067]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 1.
The main reason for indicating claim 3 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The vibration motor of claim 2, wherein each of the magnetic elements 53a is magnetized in three segments to form a first magnetic segment 536, a second magnetic segment 537, and a third magnetic segment 538distributed sequentially along the third direction Z, wherein
the first magnetic segments of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity,
the second magnetic segments of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity, and
the third magnetic segments of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity;
in the same magnetic element, a magnetization direction of the first magnetic segment is opposite to a magnetization direction of the second magnetic segment; and
in the same magnetic element, the magnetization direction of the first magnetic segment is the same as a magnetization direction of the third magnetic segment.”
The closest prior art Chen (CN116193337) and Guo et al. (CN106208599), either alone or in combination, do not disclose the above limitations.
Chen discloses claim 3 (see OA mailed 1/29/26, pg 5), but does not disclose newly amended claim 1.
Guo discloses each magnetic element 33” includes first magnetic segment 335”, second magnetic segment 333”, third magnetic segment 331”, the first to third magnetic segments are opposite each other with the same polarity (fig 6), but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
These reason for allowability are the same for claim 13.
The main reason for indicating claim 3 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, of:
“The vibration motor of claim 1, wherein each of the magnetic elements comprises a first magnet, a second magnet, and a third magnet distributed sequentially along the third direction; the first magnet, the second magnet, and the third magnet are magnetized along the first direction X, wherein
the first magnets of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity,
the second magnets of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity, and
the third magnets of the two magnetic elements are arranged opposite to each other with the same polarity;
in the same the magnetic element, a magnetization direction of the first magnet is opposite to a magnetization direction of the second magnet; and in the same the magnetic element, the magnetization direction of the first magnet is the same as a magnetization direction of the third magnet.
Chen discloses claim 5 (see OA mailed 1/29/26, pgs 5-6), but does not disclose newly amended claim 1.
Guo discloses each magnetic element 33” includes first magnetic segment 335”, second magnetic segment 333”, third magnetic segment 331”, the first to third magnetic segments are opposite each other with the same polarity (fig 6), but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
These reason for allowability are the same for claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834