DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 6-2-2026 is acknowledged. The restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The language “and/or” is indefinite because it is not clear what structure is actually required by the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a retaining device adapted to attach” in claim 1, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by College et al. (5,676,010). College discloses straightening wire (78) of varying diameter (col. 6, lines 33-37) which is used in wire processing including cable terminal manufacturing (col. 1, lines 14-16). College discloses a wire straightener (Fig. 3) including a cable connection module (62; Fig. 3) that is configured to be detachably connected (col. 3, lines 15-18) to a wire processing machine (60; col. 3, lines 15-18). The cable connection module (62) includes a cable module frame (70) that carries an upper roller support (90; Fig. 5) supporting an upper roller group (92,94,96; col. 3, lines 41-42) and a lower roller support (110; col. 3, lines 51-53) supporting a lower roller group (112,114,116,118). The upper roller group (92,94,96) and the lower roller group (112,114,116,118) are configured for guiding a cable (cylindrical product; wire, 78) alternately (col. 3, lines 56-58 and col. 5, lines 47-48) between the rollers (Fig. 12). The upper roller support (90) is displaceable relative to the bottom roller support (110) in an opening and closing direction (vertically, Fig. 10; col. 5, lines 36-38 and 44-46) and is driven by roller support driving means (160; col. 5, lines 60-63) to straighten different diameter cables (col. 6, lines 27-32). The wire (78) is retained in the cable connection module (62) by force from a handle (212) which is screwed to close the upper roller support against the lower roller support (col. 5, lines 41-47) and retain the wire within roller grooves (100; Fig. 7) for deflection by the upper roller group and lower roller group. Regarding claim 4, the cable connection module (62) is detachably connected by the cable module frame (70) to the cable processing machine (60) by screws (68; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over College et al. (5,676,010) in view of Korf (3,348,400). College does not disclose that the retainer includes two opposing jaws that hold the cable. Korf teaches (col. 6, lines 1-2 and 63-74) that clamping devices (41,42) comprise jaws (45,46) that are configured to clamp wire (11) in a straightening device (14), the clamping jaws (col. 7, lines 43-52) grip the wire and hold it to provide a length of wire (11d) for working. The straightening device comprises a plurality of alternative rollers (14,14c; col. 3, lines 71-75) for straightening the length of wire. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to clamp the wire of College with opposing jaws as taught by Korf in order to grip a wire to obtain a predetermined length of wire that is to be processed in the cable processing machine.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over College et al. (5,676,010) in view of Kim (KR 2003/73181). College does not disclose that drive rollers are movable laterally in lateral insertion openings. Kim teaches a straightening device (100) having rollers (1) that are driven by a driving means (140) and are configured to be laterally movable (Fig. 5) in lateral roller insertion openings (6) extending radially, by lateral roller retraction means (3,4,7,8) so that the rollers (1) frictionally grip and convey a cylindrical workpiece through the straightening rollers (2; [31], lines 1-3 and 8-10). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to laterally retract a pair of drive rollers to connect to the cable and drive the cable through the straightening device as taught by KR.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over College et al. (5,676,010) in view of Moore et al. (2017/0040780). College does not disclose that the cable connection module is connected to a cable bundle. Moore teaches [0043] a cable connection module (20; Fig. 4) comprising grooved rollers (24) that are configured to roll over a cable bundle (10; [0070],[0072]) to straighten the cable bundle and Moore teaches that the cable connection module (Figs. 18 and 19) is configured to hold the cable bundle suspended between supports ([0069], lines 1-4). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to connect the cable connection module of College to a cable bundle at any longitudinal position of the cable bundle as taught by Moore in order to roll the cable connection module over the cable bundle for straightening.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over College et al. (5,676,010) in view of Enyedy (2012/0160897). College does not disclose a machine readable identifier. Enyedy teaches a wire rolling module (200; [0020]) that has a machine readable identifier (201). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the cable connection module of College with a machine readable identifier as taught by Enyedy in order to identify that the module is used for a predetermined cable size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725