DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “the same height” lacking antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,735,084 to Zaccagni et al. in view U.S. Patent No. 5,937,592 to Tamlyn.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 10, 11, 12 and 19, Zaccagni discloses a fascia trim piece having a face section (fig. 2: 110), a bottom section (130) extending from the face section, a soffit channel (140, 144, 142, area where 170 fits) adjacent to the bottom section. However, Zaccagni does not disclose the bottom section having openings. Tamlyn discloses a soffit vent having a front wall (126), and bottom section with staggered rows of circular openings (fig. 5: see rows with 48). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zaccagni by adding such holes as disclosed by Tamlyn in order to better vent and reduce moisture. Regarding the limitation of the piece being unitary, this is not disclosed. However, Tamlyn discloses such a vent (column 3, lines 18-33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zaccagni by creating a unitary piece as disclosed by Tamlyn to increase strength and speed production.
Regarding claim 2, the channel (fig. 4: 140) is generally parallel to the bottom section (130).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1 in view of Tamlyn. Additionally, it should be noted that the openings of Tamlyn are throughout the bottom which makes some of the openings adjacent to the face and some openings adjacent to the channel.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Zaccagni in view of Tamlyn discloses the basic claim structure of the instant application but does not disclose specific dimensions of the holes. Applicant fails to show criticality for specifically claimed dimensions, therefore it would have been an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zaccagni in view of Tamlyn to use the dimensions such as specified in these claims as the larger holes would allow more ventilation as small holes require less which would be an obvious design choice based upon the amount of ventilation needed.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, a side wall (150) extends upward from the bottom section to the soffit channel (140) via 142, 144) and is generally perpendicular (extends generally vertically) to the bottom section and to the bottom of the soffit channel.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the soffit channel includes a first wall (142) extending from the sidewall (150), a second wall (144) extending upward from the first wall, and a third wall (140) extending from the second wall and generally parallel to the first wall.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the third wall (140) is longer than the first wall (142).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, a soffit (170) is in the soffit channel.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9is rejected for reasons cited in the rejections of claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 18, the soffit channel is generally parallel to the bottom section.
Regarding claim 20, the soffit has a height which is approximately the same as the height of the channel (see fig. 4 soffit height and channel vertical wall height).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the combination of Zaccagni in view of Tamlyn as improper in that Zaccagni does not disclose holes for ventilation and that the lower wall (142) would be blocking and restricting most air flow and, therefore, this is not obvious. However, there is located a gap between the lower wall (142) and the bottom (130) which would allow air to pass through. There is not a set amount of space required to allow air to pass, and a gap is disclosed as seen in fig. 2. Regarding hole size, most anu adequate size will allow air ventilation.
The Applicant argues, regarding claims 7 and 15 that wall (142) and wall (140) are not generally parallel. However, the Applicant should note that the walls run generally in the same direction and may be construed as “generally” parallel, as “generally” is not absolute.
Regarding amended claim 20, this is addressed in the new office action above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633