Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/30/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 21-25 is/are pending. Claim(s) 3, 11, 13, 17, and 19-20 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 23-25 is/are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14-16, 18, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaha (JP 2014210443) in view of Domoto et al. (US 2007/0058381) (hereinafter Domoto) and Tsuchiya (US 2017/0089537).
Claim 1: Yamaha teaches a saddle-riding vehicle, comprising: a saddle-riding vehicle body (10, fig. 1); and a headlamp unit (20, fig. 1) supported by the vehicle body (10), wherein the headlamp unit (20) includes: a lamp housing (23, 24, fig. 3) with a cross-sectional shape (see fig. 3) perpendicular to a front-back direction getting smaller toward a front side (see fig. 4), a pair of projector type lamps (11, fig. 3) symmetrically housed in the lamp housing (see fig. 3) and each of the pair of projector type lamps (11) including a first LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), and a pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra, fig. 1) symmetrically housed in the lamp housing (see fig. 3) and each of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) including a second LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), the pair of projector type lamps are low beam lamps (low beam light source 11L, see para [0053]), and the pair of reflector type lamps are high beam lamps (13 is capable of providing a high beam and the term high beam lamp also an intended use limitation since it does not impart any additional structure), each of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) includes a reflector (25b,c, fig. 3) reflecting light emitted from the second LED light source (26).
However, Yamaha fails to teach each of the pair of projector type lamps includes a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first LED light source, ,
Domoto teaches each of the pair of projector type lamps (29, fig. 2) includes a refractive lens (33a, fig. 2) diffusing light (diffuse, see para [0038]) emitted from the first light source (37, fig. 3B), the first light source (37) is located behind (see fig. 4) the refractive lens (33a), the light emitted from the first light source (37) proceeds to a front side from the first light source (see fig. 4) to enter the refractive lens (33a), an outer edge of the reflector (outer edge of 47, fig. 4) in the vehicle width direction is positioned further outward in the vehicle width direction than an outer edge of the refractive lens in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 2-4), and the pair of reflector type lamps illuminate obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the pair of projector type lamps (Yamaha in view of Domoto teaches the claimed structure and therefore is capable of this).
Tsuchiya teaches a first LED light source (87H, fig. 2) is located behind a refractive lens (89H, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Domoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first light source where the first light source is located behind the refractive lens, the light emitted from the first light source proceeds to a front side from the first light source to enter the refractive lens, and an outer edge of the reflector in the vehicle width direction is positioned further outward in the vehicle width direction than an outer edge of the refractive lens in the vehicle width direction, and the pair of reflector type lamps illuminate obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the pair of projector type lamps, in order to produce a light output with a desired predetermined angle of diffusion.
Therefore, in further view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first light source with a first LED light source, in order to increase the brightness of the lighting device.
Claim 2: Yamaha teaches the lamp housing (23, 24, fig. 3) includes a left side housing (24c, fig. 3) holding (left side of C, fig. 3) a left side lamp of the pair of reflector type lamps (see fig. 3) and a left side lamp of the pair of projector type lamps (see fig. 3), a right side housing (24b, fig. 3) holding a right side lamp (right side of C, fig. 3) of the pair of reflector type lamps (see fig. 3) and a right side lamp of the pair of projector type lamps (see fig. 3), and an outer case (22, fig. 3) holding the left side housing and the right side housing with a distance in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 3).
Claim 4: Yamaha fails to teach the refractive lens is located in front of the reflection surface of the reflector on each of the left and right sides.
Domoto teaches the refractive lens (39, fig. 4) is located in front of the reflection surface (surface of 44, fig. 4) of the reflector (44) on each of the left and right sides (see fig. 3A).
Therefore, in view of Domoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the refractive lens is located in front of the reflection surface of the reflector on each of the left and right sides, in order to produce a light output with a desired predetermined angle of diffusion.
Claim 5: Yamaha teaches a reflection surface (surface of 250, fig. 4) of the reflector (13La, 13Ra) is located on a lower side in a housing space in the lamp housing (lower half of 23, fig. 4).
Claim 6: Yamaha teaches another lamp (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 1) different from the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) is located on an upper side of a reflection surface (upper side of 25La, fig. 5) of the reflector in the headlamp unit (20).
Claim 7: Yamaha teaches another lamp (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 1) different from the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) and adjacent to one of the pair of reflector type lamp is located in front of a reflection surface (upper side of 25La, fig. 5) of the reflector (13La, 13Ra) in the headlamp unit (20).
Claim 8: Yamaha teaches the headlamp unit (20, fig. 1) includes a pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 4) housed in the lamp housing (23), and the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) and the pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc) are located on an outer side of the pair of projector type lamps in a vehicle width direction (see fig. 3), and the pair of position lamps are located on an upper side of the pair of reflector type lamps (see fig. 3).
Claim 9: Yamaha teaches the headlamp unit includes a pair of position lamps housed in the lamp housing and an outer lens located in front of the pair of projector type lamps, wherein the headlamp unit (20, fig. 1) includes a position lamp (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 3) housed in the lamp housing (23) and the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra), and the pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc), and a part of the outer lens (23) covering a front side (left side in fig. 4) of the pair of reflector type lamps is located on a back side of a part of the outer lens (23) covering a front side of the pair of projector type lamps (front of 11) and a part of the outer lens (see fig. 4) covering a front side of the pair of position lamps (front of 13Lc, 13Rc).
Claim 10: Yamaha teaches the vehicle body (10, fig. 1) includes a cowl (18, fig. 1) covering around the headlamp unit (20, fig. 1),the headlamp unit (20) includes a cowl attachment part (192-198, fig. 2) connected to the cowl (18), and the cowl attachment part (192-198) is located between one of the pair of projector type lamps (portion of 192-198 can be located between 11 and 13La, 13Ra, see fig. 3) and one of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra).
Claim 12: Yamaha teaches a headlamp unit for a saddle-riding vehicle, comprising: a lamp housing (22, 23, fig. 3) with a cross-sectional shape (see fig. 3) perpendicular to the direction getting smaller toward a direction (left direction in fig. 4) in which light emitted from a lamp (20, fig. 4) proceeds; a projector type lamp (11, fig. 1) housed in the lamp housing (23, 24) and including a first LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), and a reflector type lamp (13La, 13Ra, fig. 1) housed in the lamp housing (23, 24) and including a second LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), and the projector type lamp (11) is a low beam lamp (low beam light source 11L, see para [0053]), and
the reflector type lamp (13La, 13Ra) is a high beam lamp (13 is capable of providing a high beam and the term high beam lamp also an intended use limitation since it does not impart any additional structure), and the reflector type lamp includes a reflector (25b,c, fig. 3) reflecting light emitted from the second LED light source (26).
However, Yamaha fails to teach the projector type lamp includes a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first LED light source, the first LED light source is located behind the refractive lens, the light emitted from the first LED light source proceeds to a front side from the first LED light source to enter the refractive lens, an outer edge of the reflector in the vehicle width direction is located further outward in the vehicle width direction than an outer edge of the refractive lens in the vehicle width direction, and the reflector type lamp illuminates obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the projector type lamp.
Domoto teaches the projector type lamp (29, fig. 2) includes a refractive lens (33a, fig. 2) diffusing light (diffuse, see para [0038]) emitted from the first light source (37, fig. 3B), the first light source (37) is located behind the refractive lens (33a), the light emitted from the first light source (37) proceeds to a front side from the first light source (37) to enter the refractive lens (39), an outer edge of the reflector (outer edge of 47, fig. 2) in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 4) is located further outward in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 3A, 4) than an outer edge of the refractive lens (outer edge of 39, fig. 4) in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 4), and the reflector type lamp illuminates obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the projector type lamp (Yamaha in view of Domoto teaches the claimed structure and therefore is capable of this).
Tsuchiya teaches a first LED light source (87H, fig. 2) is located behind a refractive lens (89H, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Domoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first light source where the first light source is located behind the refractive lens, the light emitted from the first light source proceeds to a front side from the first light source to enter the refractive lens, and an outer edge of the reflector in the vehicle width direction is located further outward in the vehicle width direction than an outer edge of the refractive lens in the vehicle width direction, and the reflector type lamp illuminates obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the projector type lamp, in order to produce a light output with a desired predetermined angle of diffusion.
Therefore, in further view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first light source with a first LED light source, in order to increase the brightness of the lighting device.
Claim 14: Yamaha teaches the reflector (25La-c, 25Ra-c) is located below the second LED light source (26).
Claim 15: Yamaha teaches each of the pair of projector type lamps (11, fig. 1) includes a first circuit substrate (24b,c, fig. 3) to which the first LED light source (26, fig. 3) is mounted, and the first LED light source (26) is mounted to a front surface of the first circuit substrate (lower surface of 24b, c).
Claim 16: Yamaha teaches each of the pair of projector type lamps (11) includes a first circuit substrate (24b, c, fig. 3) to which the first LED light source (26) is mounted, each of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) includes a second circuit substrate (24a, fig. 3) to which the second LED light source (26) is mounted, the first LED light source (26) is mounted to a front surface of the first circuit substrate (lower surface of 24b, c), andthe second LED light source (26) is mounted to a lower surface of the second circuit substrate (lower surface of 24a).
Claim 18: Yamaha teaches the headlamp unit (11, 13, fig. 1) includes a pair of position lamps (13Rc, 13Lc, fig. 1), the pair of reflector type lamps and the pair of position lamps (13La,b, 13Ra,b) and the position lamp (13Rc, 13Lc) are located at an outer side of a vehicle width direction (horizontal direction, fig. 1) than the pair of projector type lamps (11), the pair of reflector type lamps and the pair of position lamps (13Rc, 13Lc) is above the reflector type lamp (13La,b and 13Ra,b), and a light amount of the pair of position lamps is set smaller than that of the pair of reflector type which is the low beam lamp and the position lamps are continuously turned on in travelling (the light sources can be dimmed and controlled by controlling the current flow, see para [0077] and [0118]).
Claim 21: Yamaha teaches the refractive lens is omitted (11 does not have a refractive lens, see fig. 20) in the pair of projector type lamps (11) which are the low beam lamp.
However, Yamaha fails to teach the light emitted from the first LED light source is diffused by refraction of the refractive lens.
Tsuchiya teaches the light emitted from the first LED light source (87H) is diffused by refraction (scattering of light, see para [0080]) of the refractive lens (89H, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the projector type lamp of Yamaha with the projector lamp of Tsuchiya where the light emitted from the first LED light source is diffused by refraction of the refractive lens, in order to increase luminosity of the light sources [Tsuchiya, 0003].
Claim 22: Yamaha teaches the second circuit substrate (24a, fig. 3) is supported in nearly a horizontal posture (See fig. 3).
However, Yamaha fails to teach the first circuit substrate is supported in nearly a vertical posture.
Tsuchiya teaches the first circuit substrate (82, fig. 3) is supported in nearly a vertical posture (see fig. 3).
Therefore, in view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the projector type lamp of Yamaha with the projector lamp of Tsuchiya where the first circuit substrate is supported in nearly a vertical posture, in order to increase luminosity of the light sources [Tsuchiya, 0003].
Claim 23: Yamaha teaches the headlamp unit includes a pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 4), and each of the pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc) is above a reflection surface (surface of 25b, fig. 6) of the reflector on both left and right sides (see fig. 6).
Claim 24: Yamaha fails to teach an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector, and a lower edge of the refractive lens is located below the upper edge of the reflector.
Domoto teaches a lower edge of the refractive lens (lower edge of 39, fig. 3B) is located below the upper edge of the reflector (lower edge of 47, see figs. 3B and 4).
Therefore, in view of Domoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a refractive lens and positioned where a lower edge of the refractive lens is located below the upper edge of the reflector, in order to produce a light output with a desired predetermined angle of diffusion.
Yamaha in view of Domoto discloses the claimed invention except for an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the position of the lamps where an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector to produce a desired light output distribution, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 25: Yamaha teaches a saddle-riding vehicle, comprising: a saddle-riding vehicle body (10, fig. 1); and a headlamp unit (20, fig. 1) supported by the vehicle body (10), wherein the headlamp unit (20) includes: a lamp housing (23, 24, fig. 3) with a cross-sectional shape (see fig. 3) perpendicular to a front-back direction getting smaller toward a front side (see fig. 4), a pair of projector type lamps (11, fig. 3) symmetrically housed in the lamp housing and each of the pair of projector type lamps (11) including a first LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), and a pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra, fig. 1) symmetrically housed in the lamp housing (23, 24) and each of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) including a second LED light source (26, fig. 3) (LED, see para [0051]), a pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc, fig. 1) symmetrically housed in the lamp housing (see fig. 1), one of the pair of projector type lamps and the pair of reflector type lamps are low beam lamps (low beam light source 11L, see para [0053]), and another one of the pair of projector type lamps and the pair of reflector type lamps are high beam lamps (13 is capable of providing a high beam and the term high beam lamp also an intended use limitation since it does not impart any additional structure), each of the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) includes a reflector (25L,R, fig. 3) reflecting light emitted from the second LED light source (26), the pair of reflector type lamps (13La, 13Ra) and the pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc) are located further outward in the vehicle width direction (see fig. 3) than the pair of projector type lamps (11), the pair of position lamps (13Lc, 13Rc) are located over the reflective surfaces of the pair of reflector type lamps (surface of 25b, 25c).
However, Yamaha fails to teach each of the pair of projector type lamps includes a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first LED light source, the first LED light source is located behind the refractive lens, the light emitted from the first LED light source proceeds to a front side from the first LED light source to enter the refractive lens, the refractive lens is located forward of the reflector, an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector, and a lower edge of the refractive lens is located below the upper edge of the reflector.
Domoto teaches each of the pair of projector type lamps (29, fig. 2) includes a refractive lens (33a, fig. 2) diffusing light (diffuse, see para [0038]) emitted from the first light source (37, fig. 3B), the first light source (37) is located behind the refractive lens (33a), the light emitted from the first light source (37) proceeds to a front side from the first light source (37) to enter the refractive lens (33a), the refractive lens is located forward of the reflector (see fig. 4), a lower edge of the refractive lens (lower edge of 33a, fig. 3B) is located below the upper edge of the reflector (upper edge of 47, fig. 3B and 4).
Tsuchiya teaches a first LED light source (87H, fig. 2) is located behind a refractive lens (89H, fig. 2).
Therefore, in view of Domoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a refractive lens diffusing light emitted from the first light source where the first light source is located behind the refractive lens, the light emitted from the first light source proceeds to a front side from the first light source to enter the refractive lens, and an outer edge of the reflector in the vehicle width direction is located further outward in the vehicle width direction than an outer edge of the refractive lens in the vehicle width direction, and the reflector type lamp illuminates obstacles and road surfaces farther ahead than obstacles and road surfaces illuminated by the projector type lamp, in order to produce a light output with a desired predetermined angle of diffusion.
Yamaha in view of Domoto discloses the claimed invention except for an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the position of the lamps where an upper edge of the refractive lens is located above an upper edge of the reflector to produce a desired light output distribution, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Therefore, in further view of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first light source with a first LED light source, in order to increase the brightness of the lighting device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 has/have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Owada et al. (US 2014/0313762) discloses a similar saddle riding vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875