DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 29th 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 19-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-18 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 29th 2026, have been fully considered but due to the change in scope with the amendment, the arguments are seen as moot over newly amended art.
Regarding the 103 rejections, applicant amended the independent claim 1 to recite “changes relative to a set total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode”. Applicant argues that Hong does not cure the deficiencies of Brannan with respect to the amended language of independent claim 1. However, the amendment changed the scope of the claim and therefore allowed for a new interpretation. Therefore, the claim is rejected over Brannan in view of Shilev (US20230355298A1) which does teach changes relative to a set total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode. See rejection below.
Regarding the 103 rejections, applicant amended the independent claim 19 to recite “as the calculated number of Joules of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode changes”. Applicant argues that Hong does not cure the deficiencies of Brannan with respect to the amended language of independent claim 1. However, the amendment changed the scope of the claims and therefore allowed for a new interpretation. Therefore, the claim is rejected over Brannan in view of Shilev (US20230355298A1) which does teach as the calculated number of Joules of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode changes. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan (US20190090929A1) herein referred to as “Brannan” in view of Shilev et al (US20230355298A1) herein referred to as “Shilev”
Regarding claim 1, Brannan discloses: An ablation system, ([0001] system for ablating tissue) comprising: an ablation device configured to be inserted into an ablation target, ([0024] electrosurgical device which is equivalent to the ablation device; [0049] the device can be inserted into the ablation target through track ablation which means it must be inserted into the tissue) the ablation device having an electrode configured to be placed within the ablation target ([0024] contains an electrode which delivers energy to the target tissue) and retracted along an axis defined through the ablation target while delivering energy to tissue; ([0049] the electrode can advance through the tissue along a track or trajectory and deliver energy to the ablation target; Additionally, [0051] If the electrode can be advanced through tissue, it can similarly be retracted through the tissue along a track which is equivalent to saying “along an axis,”) an electrosurgical generator configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to the ablation device ([0031] electrosurgical generator provides power to the electrosurgical device and allows it to deliver electrosurgical energy); a display device in communication with the electrosurgical generator and configured to display the calculated number of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode during an ablation procedure; ([0032] the display device is in operation with the electrosurgical generator which requires them to be in communication with each other; The display device communicates information such as energy output which is seen as the calculated number of Joules) and an audio device in communication with the electrosurgical generator ([0032] the electrosurgical generator also includes an audio device) and configured to broadcast a sound correlated with the number of Joules of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode such that the audio device changes at least one property of the sound ([0048] the audible signals or tones, which are different properties of the sound, change based on completion of a particular ablation operation, which is seen as change in the energy and thus the calculated number of Joules, by the electrosurgical device). Although Brannan discloses the audio device changing a property of the sound based on energy change, Brannan does not explicitly disclose: that the energy is calculated in Joules or the calculated energy being compared to the total energy for delivering to the electrode.
Shilev discloses: the energy is calculated in Joules ([0083] energy is calculated and displayed in Joules) and the calculated energy being compared to the total energy for delivering to the electrode ([0085] The accumulated amount of energy delivered which is calculated, is compared to the energy endpoint which is a set value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrosurgical generator as disclosed in Brannan to incorporate comparing the energy calculated to a set energy as disclosed in Shilev. The motivation being that this allows the user to be notified when an endpoint has been reached to prevent overdosing of the tissue with energy. (Shilev [0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 2, wherein the display device is configured to display the suggested total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode (Brannan [0032] The display device communicates information such as energy output which is seen as the calculated the number of Joules).
Regarding claim 4, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, wherein the electrosurgical generator is configured to receive as input the set total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode (Brannan [0030] the electrosurgical generator receives input in the form of electrical power and converts this to energy which is seen as, the total number of Joules, to deliver to the electrode. Delivering energy is seen as delivering joules).
Regarding claim 5, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The system according to claim 4, wherein the audio device is configured to broadcast a sound associated with at least one of: the calculated number of Joules of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode reaching the total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy received as input; or the calculated number of Joules of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode approaching the total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy received as input (Brannan [0066] the audio device broadcasts sound based on exceeding of the threshold of impedance to the electrosurgical instrument).
Regarding claim 6, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 4, wherein the display device is configured to display the input total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy received by the electrosurgical generator (Brannan [0032] the display can communicate information such as the amount of energy, which is seen as the total number of Joules, supplied by the electrosurgical generator).
Regarding claim 7, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, wherein the electrosurgical generator is configured to receive as input at least one of a size of the ablation target or a size of the electrode, (Brannan [0046] the electrosurgical generator receives the tissue property such as thickness of the ablation target) and to calculate a suggested total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode based on the received input (Brannan [0046] the amount of energy, which is seen as the total number of Joules, delivered to the electrode is adjusted accordingly based on the measurement of the tissue property).
Regarding claim 9, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, wherein the audio device is integral with the electrosurgical generator (See FIG 2 of Brannan).
Regarding claim 10, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, wherein the display device is integral with the electrosurgical generator (See FIG 2 of Brannan).
Regarding claim 11, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the sound includes a volume, an intensity, a frequency, a periodicity, or a tone of the sound (Brannan [0043] the property of the sound from the audio device may include varying frequencies and at varying intervals, which indicates at varying periodicity)
Regarding claim 19, Brannan discloses: An ablation system, ([0001] system for ablating tissue) comprising: an ablation device having an electrode configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to tissue; ([0024] contains an electrode which delivers energy to the target tissue) an electrosurgical generator configured to deliver electrosurgical energy to the electrode ([0031] electrosurgical generator provides power to the electrosurgical device and allows it to deliver electrosurgical energy) and a feedback device in communication with the electrosurgical generator and configured to generate feedback correlated with the calculated number of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode as the calculated number of electrosurgical energy delivered to the electrode changes relative to a set total number of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode (Brannan [0066] the feedback device generates feedback based on the energy delivered by the electrode based on exceeding set impedance). Although Brannan discloses the feedback device generates feedback based on energy change, Brannan does not explicitly disclose: that the energy is calculated in Joules or the calculated energy being compared to the total energy for delivering to the electrode.
Shilev discloses: the energy is calculated in Joules ([0083] energy is calculated and displayed in Joules) and the calculated energy being compared to the total energy for delivering to the electrode ([0085] The accumulated amount of energy delivered which is calculated, is compared to the energy endpoint which is a set value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrosurgical generator as disclosed in Brannan to incorporate comparing the energy calculated to a set energy as disclosed in Shilev. The motivation being that this allows the user to be notified when an endpoint has been reached to prevent overdosing of the tissue with energy. (Shilev [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Brannan in view of Hong discloses: The ablation system according to claim 19, wherein the feedback device is one of an audio device configured to generate audible feedback or a display device configured to generate visual feedback (Brannan [0027] the feedback device can be an audio device or a display device which can generate visual feedback).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan in view of Shilev in further view of Hong et al (US20080015562A1) herein referred to as “Hong”
Regarding claim 2, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, however, Brannan in view of Shilev does not explicitly disclose: wherein the electrosurgical generator is configured to calculate a suggested total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode based on at least one of a size of the ablation target or a size of the electrode.
Hong discloses: wherein the electrosurgical generator is configured to calculate a suggested total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode based on at least one of a size of the ablation target or a size of the electrode ([0072] transmurality which is linked to the size of the ablation target is monitored and the energy, which is seen as the calculated number of Joules is measured and calculated throughout actively ablating the tissue)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrosurgical generator as disclosed in Brannan in view of Shilev to incorporate the calculation of the total number of Joules of electrosurgical energy for delivering to the electrode based on size of the ablation target or size of the electrode. The motivation being it is important to know the size of the ablation target to prevent termination of ablations (Hong [0073]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan in view of Shilev in further view of Wang et al (CN218899667U) herein referred to as “Wang”
Regarding claim 8, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1. However, Brannan in view of Shilev does not explicitly disclose: wherein the ablation target is a thyroid nodule
Wang discloses: wherein the ablation target is a thyroid nodule ([page 2: paragraph 1 under “Disclosure of Invention”] an ablation needle for the thyroid nodule)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the target of ablation of Brannan in view of Shilev to specify it as the thyroid nodule as disclosed in Wang. The motivation for this being ablation therapy is well suited to malignant thyroid nodules as these cancer cells can be killed through this method without side effect (Wang [page 2: paragraph 1 under “Background”]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan in view of Shilev in further view of Yates et al (US20170000542A1) herein referred to as “Yates”
Regarding claim 12, Brannan in view of Shilev discloses: The ablation system according to claim 1, however, Brannan in view of Shilev does not explicitly disclose: wherein the audio device is configured to broadcast a verbal indication
Yates discloses: wherein the audio device is configured to broadcast a verbal indication ([0095] the audio feedback device can be computerized speech and a voice/speech platform which is seen as using words and is classified as “verbal”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio device as disclosed in Brannan in view of Shilev to include a broadcast via verbal indication. The motivation being there are only so many finite ways known to one of ordinary skill in the art in which an audio device can broadcast, either through a sound or by using words.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794