DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is responsive to the submission filed February 2, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 13-14 are amended.
Claim 2 is canceled.
Claim 18 is new.
Claims 1 and 3-18 are pending.
Response to Remarks
35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and (b)
Applicant’s amendments to some of the claims result in elements that no longer invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation. The rejections for those claims have been withdrawn. However, other claims still recite elements that invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation. Accordingly, those rejections are maintained.
35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant contends that the claims are directed towards patent eligible subject matter. First, Applicant contends that the claims are not directed towards a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed towards sending and receiving payment tokens and for performing payment transactions without an online connection, which are examples of commercial interactions. Therefore, Applicant’s contention that the claims are not directed towards an abstract idea are unpersuasive.
Applicant next contends that the claims recite a practical application of the abstract ideas. First, Applicant contends that the inclusion of the transaction unit group identifier improves safety and confidentiality of the secure transaction unit. Further, it allows a destroyed or malfunctioning transaction unit to be recovered without reducing anonymity. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim simply recites the inclusion of a transaction unit group identifier. However, no functional relationship between the claimed system and the transaction unit group identifier is recited in the claims. In other words, the claim is silent as to how the claimed system uses the transaction unit group identifier to improve safety and confidentiality of the secure transaction unit or how the claimed system uses the transaction unit group identifier to allow a destroyed or malfunctioning transaction unit to be recovered without reducing anonymity.
Applicant also contends that the subject matter that the secure transaction unit is configured for managing payments in an electronic system without an online connection recites a practical application which has a reduced energy consumption in comparison with transactions on a globally distributed ledger as is the case with traditional cryptocurrency systems. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, to recite a practical application, a claim element or elements must be additional elements. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(II) (“Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application”). However, managing payment transactions without an online connection is part of the abstract idea as it relates to a commercial interaction. Therefore, it cannot serve as a basis to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas. Second, the claim is silent regarding cryptocurrencies. The claim is simply for transactions in an electronic payment transaction system, where payments are effectuated by transferring tokens, which is not necessarily a cryptocurrency. Therefore, the claim does not appear to recite subject matter related to cryptocurrencies and blockchains. Therefore, Applicant’s contention that the claim recites a practical application of the abstract idea is unpersuasive.
Accordingly, this ground of rejection is maintained.
35 U.S.C. §§ 102/103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electronic terminal device” in clam 4, “service provider unit” in claim 5, “token reference register” in claim 6, “service provider unit” in claim 7, “service provider unit” in claim 9, “verifying units” in claim 14, and “minting unit” and “melting unit” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Per Claim 4: Claim 4 recites “electronic terminal device”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Per Claims 5-7: Claim 5 recites “service provider unit”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Per Claim 6: Claim 6 recites “token reference register”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Per Claims 9-13: Claim 9 recites “service provider unit”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Per Claims 14-15: Claim 14 recites “one or more verifying units”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Per Claim 16: Claim 16 recites “a minting unit” and “a melting unit”. However, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that corresponds to these means for claim elements. Therefore, there is insufficient written description support for these claim elements.
Claims 4-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Per Claims 4-7 and 9-16: Claim limitations “electronic terminal device”, “service provider unit”, “token reference register”, “verifying units”, “secure token issuing unit”, “minting unit”, “melting unit”, “token register”, and “protocol data register” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. As discussed above, the originally-filed specification fails to disclose any physical hardware that could correspond to these claim elements. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. There are two criteria for subject matter eligibility. The first is that the claimed invention must be to one of the four statutory categories, i.e., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP 2106(I). Second, the claimed invention also must qualify as patent-eligible subject matter, i.e., the claim must not be directed to a judicial exception unless the claim as a whole includes additional limitations amounting to significantly more than the exception. See MPEP 2106(I). Here, claims 1 and 3-18 are directed towards a machine. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to determine whether the claims recite abstract ideas.
Per Claim 1: Claim 1, as a whole, is directed towards the abstract idea of exchanging payment tokens and recording the payment tokens in a database. In particular, the claim recites receiving and transmitting payment tokens from a first entity to a second entity. Further, the claim recites transmitting registration requests to register, or record, the payment token in a database. In other words, the claim recites Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities recognized as reciting abstract ideas. More specifically, the following underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media configured:
for receiving and transmitting one or more tokens to one or more other secure transaction unit in the electronic payment transaction system to cause an exchange of the one or more tokens between secure transaction units in the electronic transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key of a token-individual key pair; and
for transmitting one or more registration requests to a token reference register of the electronic transaction system, wherein each registration request comprises one or more token references to be stored in the token reference register, each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token in the electronic payment transaction system;
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises the monetary value of the assigned token, a reference, including a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair, and a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements,
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operate the secure transaction unit,
wherein the secure transaction unit is configured for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system without an online connection.
Because the claim recites abstract ideas, the analysis proceeds to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that recite a practical application of the abstract ideas. According to MPEP 2106.04(d), additional elements that recite an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using a computer, that recite insignificant extra-solution activities, or that generally link the use of the abstract ideas to a particular technological environment or field of use are not indicative of a practical application. Here, the additional element of the electronic payment transaction system is a tool used to implement the abstract ideas. In other words, the electronic payment transaction system amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using computers. Therefore, the claim as a whole fails to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas.
The analysis then proceeds to determine whether the additional elements, when considered individually and in combination, recite significantly more than the abstract ideas. According to MPEP 2106.05, additional elements that recite an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using a computer, that recite insignificant extra-solution activities, that generally link the use of the abstract ideas to a particular technological environment or field of use, or that recite well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not indicative of reciting significantly more than the abstract ideas. Claim elements previously considered to recite insignificant extra-solution activities are reevaluated at this step to determine whether they recite well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. Such findings must be supported by the evidentiary requirements set forth in the Berkheimer Memo. Here, the additional element of the electronic payment transaction system is a tool used to implement the abstract ideas. In other words, the electronic payment transaction system amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using computers. Therefore, the additional claim elements, when considered individually and in combination, fail to recite significantly more than the abstract ideas.
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected as being directed towards patent ineligible subject matter.
Per Claim 14: Claim 14, as a whole, is directed towards the abstract idea of storing and verifying payment tokens. More specifically, the claim recites storing payment token references and verifying whether a token reference in a received registration request is already stored. In other words, the claim recites Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities recognized as reciting abstract ideas. More specifically, the following underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
one or more storage units for storing token references for registering tokens in an electronic payment transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key of a token-individual key pair;
one or more verifying units for verifying whether the token reference of a received registration request is stored in the token reference register, wherein each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token;
wherein each stored token reference in the token reference register comprises the monetary value of the token and a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair;
wherein at least a subgroup of token references in the token reference register further comprises a transaction unit group identifier as a token reference element,
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operation the secure transaction unit,
wherein the token reference register is configured for use without an online connection.
The additional element of the electronic payment transaction system is used as a tool to implement the abstract idea. In other words, it amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using computers. Therefore, the claim, as a whole, fail to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas or significantly more than the abstract ideas.
Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected as being directed towards patent ineligible subject matter.
Per Claim 18: Claim 18, as a whole, is directed towards the abstract idea of exchanging payment tokens and recording the payment tokens in a database. In particular, the claim recites receiving and transmitting payment tokens from a first entity to a second entity. Further, the claim recites transmitting registration requests to register, or record, the payment token in a database. In other words, the claim recites Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities recognized as reciting abstract ideas. More specifically, the following underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media configured:
for receiving and transmitting one or more tokens to one or more other secure transaction unit in the electronic payment transaction system to cause an exchange of the one or more tokens between secure transaction units in the electronic transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key of a token-individual key pair; and
for transmitting one or more registration requests to a token reference register of the electronic transaction system, wherein each registration request comprises one or more token references to be stored in the token reference register, each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token in the electronic payment transaction system;
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises the monetary value of the assigned token, a reference, including a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair, and a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements,
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operate the secure transaction unit,
wherein the secure transaction unit is configured for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system without an online connection, and
wherein the transaction unit group identifier does not carry any information about any owner of the one or more tokens.
Here, the additional element of the electronic payment transaction system is a tool used to implement the abstract ideas. In other words, the electronic payment transaction system amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using computers. Therefore, the claim as a whole fails to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas or significantly more than the abstract ideas.
Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected as being directed towards patent ineligible subject matter.
Per Claims 3-13 and 15-17: Claims 3-13 and 15-17 have also been analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, these claims also fail to recite patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
Claim 3 recites the abstract idea of inserting the transaction unit group identifier into the token reference, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 4 recites the claimed system forwarding the registration request to another entity, i.e., the electronic terminal device (not claimed), and the electronic terminal device then inserts the transaction unit group identifier into the token reference, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 5 recites the claimed system forwarding the registration request to another entity, i.e., the service provider unit (not claimed), and the service provider unit then inserts the transaction unit group identifier into the token reference, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 6 recites the claimed system forwarding the registration request to another entity, i.e., the reference register (not claimed), and the reference register then requests authentication from another entity, i.e., the service provider unit, to insert the transaction unit group identifier, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 7 recites the abstract idea of issuing the payment token, generally managing a secure transaction unit, or replacing the payment token, which are Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 8 recites that the secure transaction unit is a secure element that is connected to a device. This additional element fails to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract ideas because it amounts to an instruction to apply the abstract ideas using computers.
Claim 9 recites that the secure transaction unit is assigned to a service provider that stores protocol data for a payment transaction. The protocol data includes a payment token reference. In other words, claim 9 recites Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 10 recites that the protocol data are monitored and used for fraud detection, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 11 recites that the protocol data are used to resolve a payment transaction error, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 12 recites the abstract idea that the transaction unit group identifier is used to recover a lost payment card, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 13 recites that the service provider unit (not claimed) generates a registration request to replace a token reference with a new token reference, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 15 recites that the transaction unit group identifier is part of the protocol data of a payment transaction, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 16 recites the abstract ideas of generating a new token, deleting tokens, the secure transaction units of claim 1, and the register of claim 14, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities.
Claim 17 recites performing the abstract method recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 14-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0060860 to Tian et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2001/0047335 to Arndt et al.
Per Claim 1: Tian discloses:
A secure transaction unit for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system, the secure transaction unit comprising: one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media configure: (see Tian at ¶ 65: In accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure, computer system 900, such as a computer and/or a network server, includes a bus 902 or other communication mechanism for communicating information, which interconnects subsystems and components, such as a processing component 904 (e.g., processor, micro-controller, digital signal processor (DSP), etc.), a system memory component 906 (e.g., RAM), a static storage component 908 (e.g., ROM), a disk drive component 910 (e.g., magnetic or optical), a network interface component 912 (e.g., modem or Ethernet card), a display component 914 (e.g., CRT or LCD), an input component 918 (e.g., keyboard, keypad, or virtual keyboard), a cursor control component 920 (e.g., mouse, pointer, or trackball), and/or a location determination component 922 (e.g., a Global Positioning System (GPS) device as illustrated, a cell tower triangulation device, and/or a variety of other location determination devices known in the art).)
for receiving and transmitting one or more tokens to one or more other secure transaction unit in the electronic payment transaction system to cause an exchange of the one or more tokens between secure transaction units in the electronic transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key (e.g., obfuscation amount) of a token-individual key pair; and (see Tian at ¶ 18: For example, if the instruction is received to transfer 14.56 electronic coins to the second user, the systems and methods may operate to allocate to the second user a first user secondary wallet private key included in a first user secondary wallet that is associated with 10 electronic coins, first user secondary wallet private keys included in four first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 1 electronic coin, first user secondary wallet private keys included in 5 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.1 electronic coins, and first user secondary wallet private keys included in 6 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.01 electronic coins. The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously.)
for transmitting one or more registration requests to a token reference register of the electronic transaction system, wherein each registration request comprises one or more token references to be stored in the token reference register, each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token in the electronic payment transaction system; (see Tian at ¶ 20: In those embodiments, a virtual currency system associated with the present disclosure may define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures provided by previous owners of the electronic coin to subsequent owners of the electronic coin. In the illustrated embodiment, the electronic coin 200 is owned by an owner 202, and FIG. 2 illustrates how the electronic coin 200 is defined by the digital signatures of the previous owners 204, 206, and 208. Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises the monetary value of the assigned token, a reference, including a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair, [[and a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements,]] (see Tian at ¶ 20: In the illustrated embodiment, the electronic coin 200 is owned by an owner 202, and FIG. 2 illustrates how the electronic coin 200 is defined by the digital signatures of the previous owners 204, 206, and 208. Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206. See also ¶ 39: The method 100 then proceeds to block 106 where virtual currency transactions are performed to transfer predefined amounts of virtual currency from the first user primary wallet to the first user secondary wallets. In some embodiments, the virtual currency transactions are performed at block 106 by the system provider device(s) 402. For example, the system provider device(s) 402 may access the first user primary wallet private keys for the first user primary wallet in the wallet database 404, and use those first user primary wallet private keys to sign virtual currency transactions that transfer the association of predefined amounts of virtual currency from the first user primary wallet to the first user secondary wallets. See also ¶ 17: As discussed below, a first user may have a first user primary wallet that is associated with a virtual currency (e.g., the first user primary wallet generated public address(es) to which virtual currency was previously sent, and includes private key(s) that may “sign” transactions to transfer the association of the virtual currency at those public address(es) to public address(es) generated by a second user primary wallet of a second user).)
wherein the secure transaction unit is configured for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system without an online connection. (see Tian at ¶ 18: The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt, an analogous art of identifying issuers of a secure transaction unit, e.g., credit card, discloses:
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operate the secure transaction unit, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 14: Tian discloses:
A token reference register comprising: one or more storage units for storing token references for registering tokens in an electronic payment transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key of a token-individual key pair; (see Tian at ¶ 20: Referring now to FIG. 2, an embodiment of an electronic coin 200 that may provide some or all of the virtual currency in the wallets discussed below is illustrated and described briefly for reference in the discussion below. In those embodiments, a virtual currency system associated with the present disclosure may define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures provided by previous owners of the electronic coin to subsequent owners of the electronic coin. See also ¶ 18: For example, if the instruction is received to transfer 14.56 electronic coins to the second user, the systems and methods may operate to allocate to the second user a first user secondary wallet private key included in a first user secondary wallet that is associated with 10 electronic coins, first user secondary wallet private keys included in four first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 1 electronic coin, first user secondary wallet private keys included in 5 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.1 electronic coins, and first user secondary wallet private keys included in 6 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.01 electronic coins. The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously. See also ¶ 3: For example, Bitcoin is a type of decentralized virtual currency that provides for peer-to-peer transactions without an intermediary, with those peer-to-peer transactions verified by Bitcoin network nodes and recorded in a public distributed ledger called a blockchain.)
one or more verifying units for verifying whether the token reference of a received registration request is stored in the token reference register, wherein each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token; (see Tian at ¶ 21: As is understood in the art, any payee receiving an electronic coin (e.g., owner 206 in transaction A, owner 204 in transaction B, and owner 202 in transaction C) can verify the signatures to verify the chain of ownership of the electronic coin. In the discussion below, it should be understood that the term “electronic coin(s)” may be used to encompass any amount or type of electronic coins.)
wherein each stored token reference in the token reference register comprises the monetary value of the token and a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair; (see Tian at ¶ 20: In those embodiments, a virtual currency system associated with the present disclosure may define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures provided by previous owners of the electronic coin to subsequent owners of the electronic coin. In the illustrated embodiment, the electronic coin 200 is owned by an owner 202, and FIG. 2 illustrates how the electronic coin 200 is defined by the digital signatures of the previous owners 204, 206, and 208. Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
wherein the token reference register is configured for use without an online connection. (see Tian at ¶ 18: The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein at least a subgroup of token references in the token reference register further comprises a transaction unit group identifier as a token reference element, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operate the secure transaction unit, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 18: Tian discloses:
A secure transaction unit for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system, the secure transaction unit comprising: one or more processors and one or more non-transitory storage media configure: (see Tian at ¶ 65: In accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure, computer system 900, such as a computer and/or a network server, includes a bus 902 or other communication mechanism for communicating information, which interconnects subsystems and components, such as a processing component 904 (e.g., processor, micro-controller, digital signal processor (DSP), etc.), a system memory component 906 (e.g., RAM), a static storage component 908 (e.g., ROM), a disk drive component 910 (e.g., magnetic or optical), a network interface component 912 (e.g., modem or Ethernet card), a display component 914 (e.g., CRT or LCD), an input component 918 (e.g., keyboard, keypad, or virtual keyboard), a cursor control component 920 (e.g., mouse, pointer, or trackball), and/or a location determination component 922 (e.g., a Global Positioning System (GPS) device as illustrated, a cell tower triangulation device, and/or a variety of other location determination devices known in the art).)
for receiving and transmitting one or more tokens to one or more other secure transaction unit in the electronic payment transaction system to cause an exchange of the one or more tokens between secure transaction units in the electronic transaction system, wherein each token comprises at least a monetary value and a private key (e.g., obfuscation amount) of a token-individual key pair; and (see Tian at ¶ 18: For example, if the instruction is received to transfer 14.56 electronic coins to the second user, the systems and methods may operate to allocate to the second user a first user secondary wallet private key included in a first user secondary wallet that is associated with 10 electronic coins, first user secondary wallet private keys included in four first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 1 electronic coin, first user secondary wallet private keys included in 5 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.1 electronic coins, and first user secondary wallet private keys included in 6 first user secondary wallets that are each associated with 0.01 electronic coins. The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously.)
for transmitting one or more registration requests to a token reference register of the electronic transaction system, wherein each registration request comprises one or more token references to be stored in the token reference register, each token reference being uniquely assigned to a token in the electronic payment transaction system; (see Tian at ¶ 20: In those embodiments, a virtual currency system associated with the present disclosure may define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures provided by previous owners of the electronic coin to subsequent owners of the electronic coin. In the illustrated embodiment, the electronic coin 200 is owned by an owner 202, and FIG. 2 illustrates how the electronic coin 200 is defined by the digital signatures of the previous owners 204, 206, and 208. Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises the monetary value of the assigned token, a reference, including a public key corresponding to the private key of the token-individual key pair, [[and a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements,]] (see Tian at ¶ 20: In the illustrated embodiment, the electronic coin 200 is owned by an owner 202, and FIG. 2 illustrates how the electronic coin 200 is defined by the digital signatures of the previous owners 204, 206, and 208. Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206. See also ¶ 39: The method 100 then proceeds to block 106 where virtual currency transactions are performed to transfer predefined amounts of virtual currency from the first user primary wallet to the first user secondary wallets. In some embodiments, the virtual currency transactions are performed at block 106 by the system provider device(s) 402. For example, the system provider device(s) 402 may access the first user primary wallet private keys for the first user primary wallet in the wallet database 404, and use those first user primary wallet private keys to sign virtual currency transactions that transfer the association of predefined amounts of virtual currency from the first user primary wallet to the first user secondary wallets. See also ¶ 17: As discussed below, a first user may have a first user primary wallet that is associated with a virtual currency (e.g., the first user primary wallet generated public address(es) to which virtual currency was previously sent, and includes private key(s) that may “sign” transactions to transfer the association of the virtual currency at those public address(es) to public address(es) generated by a second user primary wallet of a second user).)
wherein the secure transaction unit is configured for managing payment transactions in an electronic payment transaction system without an online connection. (see Tian at ¶ 18: The allocation to the second user of the first user secondary wallet private keys including in the first user secondary wallets ensures the second user that they now control the electronic coins associated with those first user secondary wallets, and that allocation (whether performed in a backend system provider process or via a transmittal of the first user secondary wallet private keys directly to the second user) may occur almost instantaneously.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein one or more token references of a registration request comprises a transaction unit group identifier as token reference elements, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is configured to uniquely identify an issuer of the secure transaction unit and/or a service provider unit that issued the secure transaction unit and/or that is configured to operate the secure transaction unit, (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
wherein the transaction unit group identifier does not carry any information about any owner of the one or more tokens. (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material as it recites the content of the data, i.e., transaction unit group identifier, but the claimed invention has no functional relationship to this data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 3: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more non-transitory storage media are further configured to generate one or more of the token references of a registration request to be transmitted to the token reference register, (see Tian at ¶ 20: Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein during generation, the control means is further configured to: insert the transaction unit group identifier into one of the token references generated by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference generated by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a generated by the secure transaction unit; and/or insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a plurality of registration requests, preferably a sequence of registration requests, generated by the secure transaction unit in a batch operation. (see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 4: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more non-transitory storage media are further configured to forward the registration request with one or more token references not having transaction unit group identifiers to an electronic terminal device that is assigned to the secure transaction unit, (see Tian at ¶ 20: Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein the electronic terminal device is configured to: insert the transaction unit group identifier into one of the token references forwarded by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference forwarded by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a specific registration request forwarded by the secure transaction unit; and/or insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a plurality of registration requests, preferably a sequence of registration requests, forwarded by the secure transaction unit in a batch operation. (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to be outside the scope of the claim because the independent claim covers the secure transaction unit while this claim element covers the electronic terminal device which is not positively recited. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 5: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more non-transitory storage media are further configured to forward the registration request with one or more token references not having transaction unit group identifiers to a service provider unit that has one or more processors, (see Tian at ¶ 20: Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein the service provider unit is configured to: insert the transaction unit group identifier into one of the token references forwarded by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference forwarded by the secure transaction unit; insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a specific registration request forwarded by the secure transaction unit; and/or insert the transaction unit group identifier into each token reference of a plurality of registration requests, preferably a sequence of registration requests, forwarded by the secure transaction unit in a batch operation. (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to be outside the scope of the claim because the independent claim covers the secure transaction unit while this claim element covers the service provider unit which is not positively recited. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 63: The prefix comprises a bank identification number (BIN) reserved by the issuer 7 specifically for the limited use credit card number service. Also a suffix digit comprising a Look-up number (LUN) is added to the number to form a 16 digit number that has the format of a credit card number (step S3). The Internet communications module 23 then transmits the generated limited use credit card number, the user ID and PIN to the validation server 12 for validation of the generated limited use credit card number.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 7: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 5, from which claim 7 depends. However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein the service provider unit is configured to issue the secure transaction unit and/or the token that is assigned to the token reference and/or is configured to manage the secure transaction unit and/or wherein the service provider unit is configured to perform a service provider unit replacement request. (see Arndt at ¶ 56: It is possible for the apparatus used by the cardholder 1 to include a card-issuing device to enable the cardholder to be provided with a temporary physical credit card. This will enable the cardholder to make a purchase from the merchant 2 using the temporary credit card in a conventional manner. The preferred method is however simply the issuance of the number to allow the cardholder 1 to send (3) the number to the merchant 2 for the purchase of goods or services.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the electronic coin transactions include additional information using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the transaction.
Per Claim 9: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends. Tian further discloses:
being assigned to a service provider unit in the electronic payment transaction system, the service provider unit having a storage unit being configured to store protocol data of one or more payment transactions involving secure transaction units being issued by this particular service provider unit or being managed by this particular service provider unit, wherein the protocol data comprise the one or more token references of the tokens involved in the payment transaction. (Examiner’s Note: the service provider unit is outside the scope of the claim as the claim covers a secure transaction unit. Therefore, such subject matter fails to distinguish over the prior art. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Tian at ¶ 49: In an embodiment, the subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys are allocated at block 108 by the first user device 408. For example, the first user device 408 may transmit to the second user (e.g., via a variety of secure communication techniques) the second user secondary wallet private keys for secondary wallets that are associated with predefined virtual currency amounts that add up to the payment amount. As discussed above, the transfer of the subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys to the second user by the first user device 408 may be accompanied by the performance of private key disablement functionality by the first user device 408 that renders any copy of that subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys that may exist on the first user device 408 unusable in signing a transaction. Such private key disablement functionality may include erasing or deleting that subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys from the first user device 408, modifying that subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys on the first user device 408, and/or otherwise making the copy of that subset of the first user secondary wallet private keys that may exist on the first user device 408 invalid for signing a transaction that would transfer the association of the predefined amounts of virtual currency in their respective first user secondary wallets to any other user.)
Per Claim 10: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 9, from which claim 10 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the protocol data are used for a surveillance of payment transactions within the electronic payment transaction system, wherein the protocol data and/or the registration requests comprising the transaction unit group identifier are used for fraud detection. (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite an intended use of the protocol data and transaction unit group identifier. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Tian at ¶ 22: As discussed above, the virtual currency public ledger 300 operates to verify that payers transferring an electronic coin (e.g., referring back to FIG. 2, owner 206 in transaction A, owner 204 in transaction B, and owner 202 in transaction C) did not “double-spend” (e.g., use a private key to sign any previous transactions involving) that electronic coin.)
Per Claim 11: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 9, from which claim 11 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the protocol data are used for a conflict resolution in case of a payment transaction error within the electronic payment transaction system using the protocol data and/or the registration requests comprising the transaction unit group identifier. (Examiner’s Note: this claim element has been considered and determined to recite an intended use of the protocol data. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Tian at ¶ 22: As discussed above, the virtual currency public ledger 300 operates to verify that payers transferring an electronic coin (e.g., referring back to FIG. 2, owner 206 in transaction A, owner 204 in transaction B, and owner 202 in transaction C) did not “double-spend” (e.g., use a private key to sign any previous transactions involving) that electronic coin.)
Per Claim 15: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 14, from which claim 15 depends. However, Tian fails to disclose but Arndt discloses:
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is stored as a part of protocol data of a payment transaction in the token reference register. (Examiner’s Note: this claim limitation has been considered and determined to recite non-functional descriptive material. It is non-functional descriptive material because it recites the content of data, i.e., the transaction unit group identifier, without reciting a functional relationship to this data. See MPEP 2111.05. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Arndt at ¶ 73: The validation interface 68 then looks-up the number in the customers database 64 (step S15) to determine if the number can be found. If the number is in not the customers database 64 (step S16), the issuers interface 68 returns an invalid signal to the issuer 7 (step S18). The issuer 7 can then refuse to authorise the transaction in the conventional manner. If the number is in the customers database 64 (step S16), the issuers database can retrieve the customer's conventional credit card number against which the limited use credit card has been issued and send this to the issuer 7 (step S17).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the identifier is stored using the techniques disclosed in Arndt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the system.
Per Claim 17: Claim 17 recites a method for registering token using a secure transaction unit according to claim 1, which Tian discloses (see ¶ 6: FIG. 1 is a flow chart illustrating an embodiment of a method for providing expedited virtual currency transactions)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian and Arndt as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0328063 to Li et al.
Per Claim 6: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 5, from which claim 6 depends. Tian further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more non-transitory storage media are further configured to forward the registration request with one or more token references not having transaction unit group identifiers to the token reference register, (see Tian at ¶ 20: Specifically, in transaction A, a hash of the public key of owner 206 (i.e., the owner receiving, as a result of transaction A, an electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) and the previous transaction (not illustrated, but occurring prior to transaction A) was signed by owner 208 (i.e., the owner providing, as a result of transaction A, the electronic coin 200 1 defined by digital signatures provided up to transaction A) using a private key and added to an initial electronic coin (which was defined by digital signatures provided up to the transaction prior to transaction A) such that the electronic coin 200 1 was transferred to owner 206.)
However, the combination of Tian and Arndt fails to disclose but Li, an analogous art of authentication, discloses:
wherein the token reference register is configured to request an authentication from the service provider unit to insert the transaction unit group identifier. (Examiner’s Note: this claim element has been considered and determined to be outside the scope of the claim because the independent claim covers the secure transaction unit while this claim element covers the token reference register which has not been positively recited. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Li at ¶ 8: The terminal sends an authentication request to a policy control apparatus, where the authentication request carries authentication information, and the authentication information is used by the policy control apparatus to perform authentication on the terminal based on the authentication information. The terminal receives a trust identifier from the policy control apparatus, and saves the trust identifier. Finally, when the terminal accesses an application server, the environment awareness client in the terminal obtains the trust identifier from the terminal and adds the trust identifier to a first access request, and the terminal sends the first access request, so that the policy control apparatus determines that the terminal is a trusted terminal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that a node requests authentication using the techniques disclosed in Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian and Arndt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0221022 to Goloschchuk.
Per Claim 8: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. However, the combination of Tian and Arndt fails to disclose but Goloschchuk, an analogous art of secure elements, discloses:
wherein the secure transaction unit is a secure element that is operatively connected to an electronic terminal device of a participant in the electronic payment system. (see Goloschchuk at ¶ 28: The mobile phone of FIG. 2 also comprises in this case a cryptocurrency client 203b in the application space 203 and a cryptocurrency wallet 202b in the memory 202—these are shown here in the main application space, but one or both could for additional security be located in a secure element such as the SIM.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the devices use secure elements using the techniques disclosed in Goloschchuk. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the system.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian and Arndt as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0180330 to Feldman.
Per Claim 12: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 9, from which claim 12 depends. However, the combination of Tian and Arndt fails to disclose but Feldman, an analogous art of recovering lost payment cards, discloses:
wherein the transaction unit group identifier is used for a lost-card-recovery. (Examiner’s Note: this claim element has been considered and determined to recite an intended use of the transaction unit group identifier. Therefore, it fails to distinguish over the prior art. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Feldman at ¶ 36: The processing server 112 may include a receiving unit 202. The receiving unit 202 may be configured to receive data over one or more networks via one or more network protocols. The receiving unit 202 may receive an authorization request for a payment transaction that includes an account identifier associated with a lost payment card 104 and also includes a data field indicating that the payment transaction is for the lost payment card 104. The data field may be the transaction amount field, which may include a zero transaction amount as the indication. In some embodiments, the data field may be a reserved data field that is used for the recovery of lost payment cards. The authorization request may also include a merchant identifier associated with the merchant 108 involved in the payment transaction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the data is used to recover a lost payment account using the techniques disclosed in Feldman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the payment account.
Claim(s) 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian and Arndt as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of WO 2020/212331 to Gawlas et al.
Per Claim 13: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 9, from which claim 13 depends. However, the combination of Tian and Arndt fails to disclose but Gawlas, an analogous art of token registration, discloses:
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more non-transitory storage media of the service provider unit are configured to generate a registration request for a switch-command, in which a registered token reference is replaced by a new token reference, wherein the registration request comprises a signature of the service provider unit instead of a signature based on the private key of the token-individual key pair of the token reference. (Examiner’s Note: this claim element has been considered and determined to be outside the scope of the claim as the independent claim covers the secure transaction unit while this claim element covers the service provider unit which is not positively recited. However, for compact prosecution purposes, the following citation is provided: see Gawlas at p. 2: When switching the transmitted coin data set, in one embodiment, the monetary amount of the transmitted electronic coin data set corresponds to the monetary amount of the further electronic coin data set from the first terminal. When dividing the transmitted electronic coin data set, in one embodiment, the monetary amount of the transmitted electronic coin data set corresponds to the monetary total amount of the further electronic coin partial data sets created from the transferred electronic coin data set. In one embodiment, the monetary total amount corresponds to the monetary amount of the connected electronic coin data set from the transmitted electronic coin data set with the second electronic coin data set. A registration request (such as command for switching, connecting or splitting) sent by the terminal to the monitoring entity accordingly preferably comprises: exactly one masked electronic coin data set to be registered and exactly one registered masked electronic coin data set, or at least two masked split modified electronic coin data sets (and the masked received electronic coin data set) to be registered, or at least two registered masked electronic coin datasets (one of which is the masked received electronic coin dataset and the masked connected electronic coin dataset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that the cryptocurrency is switched from the first user to the second user using the techniques disclosed in Gawlas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to increase the security of the system.
Per Claim 16: The combination of Tian and Arndt discloses the subject matter of claim 1, from which claim 16 depends. However, the combination of Tian and Arndt fails to disclose but Gawlas discloses:
a minting unit configured to generate a new token to be issued in the electronic transaction system; and (see Gawlas at p. 7: Preferably, the at least one initial electronic coin data set is created exclusively by the issuing entity, wherein preferably the divided electronic coin data sets, in particular electronic coin partial data sets, can also be generated by a terminal.)
a melting unit configured to delete tokens to be deleted from the electronic transaction system; (see Gawlas at p. 7: Preferably, the issuing entity can deactivate an electronic coin data set which is in possession (that is to say knows the monetary amount and the obfuscation amount) by masking the masked electronic coin data set to be deactivated with the homomorphic one-way function and preparing a deactivation command for the monitoring entity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tian so that money supply is created or destroyed using the techniques disclosed in Gawlas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to control the supply of money.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0065629 discloses that to secure communications in an untrusted environment for a commercial transaction on an account between the account's holder and a merchant, an identifier and a signature can be derived from a token. The identifier is associated by use of a directory with an application context that identifies the account's issuer. The merchant will provide the signature to the account's issuer, or agent thereof, to be verified. In practice, a merchant to the identified issuer of an account an authorization request message for a transaction that includes a signature and an identifier for the account upon which the transaction is to be conducted. The account's issuer responds with an authorization response message that includes an indicator that the signature has been verified. After notice of the signature's verification, the transaction on the account is deemed authorized and the merchant can proceed.
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0046337 discloses a method of conducting an offline virtual currency transaction is disclosed. The method may include steps of generating one or more virtual wallets; depositing certain amount of virtual currency in said virtual wallets; a payer transmitting at least a portion of said virtual currency to a payee through an offline platform; and payee confirming reception of the virtual currency. In one embodiment, the step of transmitting at least a portion of said virtual currency to another user through an offline platform may include a step of scanning a QR (Quick Response) code to transmit the virtual currency. In another embodiment, the virtual currency can also be transmitted through infrared. In a further embodiment, the step of confirming reception of the virtual currency may include a step of said payee deleting private key.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NILESH B KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699