Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment and Argument
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments, see P. 1-5, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to claims 1, 9, and 10, have been fully considered but are not found convincing. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of 04/03/2026 has NOT been withdrawn.
In addition, a 35 U.S.C. 112(a) lack of written description rejection will be introduced specifically for the language of “inverse” in the amended independent claims.
Regarding the amended claim 1, the applicant argued that Upretee and the Qi references both fail to teach “a probability map obtaining step of obtaining one or more probability maps by performing a predicting process on the first augmented image obtained through a positional transformation performed one or more times by using the deep neural network; and a probability map average value calculating step of performing an inverse positional transformation which is an inverse of the positional transformation, on each of the one or more probability maps and further calculating a probability map average value of one or more probability maps resulting from the inverse positional transformation”, as recited in amended Claim 1. In addition, an example is made to state the difference between “reverse” and “inverse”. Examiner appreciates the detailed example
However, Qi teaches an inverse process of the map after their flipping and rotating operation of the map (Equation (3)). Further, a summation and an average is taken after all these steps to reach a final prediction for the unlabeled image (Equation (4)).
As such, the examiner does not find the argument convincing, and the 103 rejection of the amended claim 1 (previously claim 6) will not be withdrawn.
Amended claims 9 and 10 are amended in a similar manner to claim 1, as such, similar logic is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Currently, the support for introducing “inverse positional transformation” is only within the remark: “Applicant notes that Claim 1 is amended to recite an inverse positional transformation, which is a more accurate translation from the original Japanese”.
Since there is no direct recitation of the “inverse” in the specification, or a figure clearly showing the process, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Applicant is invited to highlight places, within the specification and the drawings, that support the “inverse positional transformation”, or provide an affidavit from an expert that guarantee the translation meaning and between the priority Japanese patent application (or the priority Chinese patent) and the current United Stated patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upretee et al. (FixMatchSeg: Fixing FixMatch for Semi-Supervised Semantic Segmentation, hereinafter Upretee) in view of Qi et al. (PICS FOR SEMISUPERVISED REMOTE SENSING IMAGES SEMANTIC SEGMENTATION, hereinafter Qi).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Upretee discloses
Claim 1: A medical image processing method, comprising:
Claim 9: A medical image processing apparatus, comprising processing circuitry configured:
Claim 10: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing therein a program that causes a computer to perform:
a labeled image data training step of training a deep neural network used for performing medical image processing, by using labeled image data being input (Section 3 Para. 1: “Using the notations of FixMatch [1] for consistency, let
X
=
{
(
x
b
,
p
b
)
:
b
|
∈
1
,
…
,
B
}
be a labeled data set of size
B
, where
x
b
is an image and
p
b
is the corresponding ground truth mask. Let unlabeled batch be represented by a set
U
=
{
u
b
:
b
∈
(
1
,
…
,
μ
B
)
}
where
μ
is a hyperparameter of the model determining the ratio of the unlabeled data to the labeled data. Thus, we have
B
labeled examples and
μ
B
unlabeled examples in the training data.”, Section 3 Para. 4: “
p
b
is the ground truth label and
p
m
is the predicted mask”);
a first augmenting step of obtaining a first augmented image by carrying out a weak data augmentation on unlabeled image data being input (P. 5 Para. 1: “For each unlabeled input image
u
b
, we obtained an artificial label from its weakly augmented version
α
(
u
b
)
.”);
an attention setting step of performing a predicting process on the first augmented image by using the deep neural network, and determining whether or not each of pixels in the first augmented image is able to serve as a pseudo-label based on prediction information of the pixel (Section 3 Para. 3: “FixMatchSeg uses two types of image augmentations: strong denoted by and weak denoted by
α
…For weak augmentation
α
,we chose random rotation and elastic distortions.”, P. 5 Para. 1: “We compute pixel-wise max of this image to obtain
q
b
, and compute pixel-wise argmax to obtain pseudo-label,
q
b
^
=
a
r
g
m
a
x
[
p
m
(
y
|
α
(
u
b
)
)
]
. Thus,
q
b
^
is the segmentation output predicted by the model for the weakly augmented unlabeled image. In order to decide whether to use
q
b
^
as a pseudo-label or not, we first compute the confidence score as the mean of the pixel values of
q
b
, denoted by
q
b
-
which gives us the average maximum confidence of the model in predicting different classes over the whole image. Note that while
q
b
^
is an integer image,
q
b
-
is a scalar number. If the average
q
b
-
is higher than the confidence threshold τ , it is considered as a pseudo-label, i.e. ground truth for the strongly augmented unlabeled image A(
α
(
u
b
)
)
.”);
a second augmenting step of obtaining a second augmented image by carrying out a strong data augmentation on the first augmented image (Section 3 Para. 3: “FixMatchSeg uses two types of image augmentations: strong denoted by and weak denoted by
α
… For strong augmentation A, we modified the sharpness and contrast of the weakly augmented images and added Gaussian blur. In order to have the same output target from the weakly augmented and strongly augmented images, instead of applying strong augmentation directly to the unlabeled image, we applied it to the weakly augmented version of that image. For the strong augmentation, we did not apply any kind of geometric or shape-changing transformation, which thus maintains the same geometrical shape of the objects in both weakly and strongly augmented images.”);
an unlabeled image data training step of training the deep neural network, by using the second augmented image and the pseudo-labels determined at the attention setting step (P. 5 Para. 1: “If the average
q
b
-
is higher than the confidence threshold τ , it is considered as a pseudo-label, i.e. ground truth for the strongly augmented unlabeled image A(
α
(
u
b
)
)
… Thus, we have unsupervised loss defined as follows:
Then, the total loss for FixMatchSeg,
l
is given by
l
=
l
s
+
λ
u
l
u
, where
λ
u
is the weight for the unsupervised loss.”); and
an image processing step of processing a medical image being input, by using the deep neural network updated based on a training result of the labeled image data and a training result of the unlabeled image data (Table 1-4, Fig. 2).
wherein the attention setting step includes:
a pseudo-label determining step of judging whether or not the probability map average value corresponding to each of the pixels in the first augmented image is larger than a prescribed threshold value and determining the probability map average values of certain pixels larger than the prescribed threshold value as the pseudo-labels (P. 5 Para. 1: “If the average
q
b
-
is higher than the confidence threshold τ , it is considered as a pseudo-label, i.e. ground truth for the strongly augmented unlabeled image A(
α
(
u
b
)
)
”).
However Upretee does not explicitly disclose
a probability map average value obtaining step of obtaining probability maps by performing the predicting process on the first augmented image while using the deep neural network and calculating probability map average values of the first augmented image;
generating probability map average value corresponding to each of the pixels;
wherein the probability average value obtaining step includes: a probability map obtaining step of obtaining one or more probability maps by performing a predicting process on the first augmented image obtained through a positional transformation performed one or more times by using the deep neural network; and
a probability map average value calculating step of performing an inverse positional transformation which is an inverse of the positional transformation, on each of the one or more probability maps and further calculating a probability map average value of one or more probability maps resulting from the inverse positional transformation.
Qi teaches
a probability map average value obtaining step of obtaining probability maps by performing the predicting process on the first augmented image while using the deep neural network and calculating probability map average values of the first augmented image; generating probability map average value corresponding to each of the pixels (Fig. 3, P. 5 Section 1 Pseudolabels’ Generation: “As shown in Fig. 3, the weak disturbance Disturb (∙) contains common augmentation operations, such as flipping and rotating. For each batch, the labeled image
X
is first stochastically augmented once, and
|
{
u
i
;
i
∈
|
(
1
,
…
,
N
)
}
. unlabeled images are stochastically augmented
K
times… Then, the consistency prediction result
P
i
-
for the original unlabeled image
u
i
-
is obtained through the average operation of the transformed probability maps, which is formulated as follows:
”).
wherein the probability average value obtaining step includes: a probability map obtaining step of obtaining one or more probability maps by performing a predicting process on the first augmented image obtained through a positional transformation performed one or more times by using the deep neural network (Fig. 3, P. 5 Section 1 Pseudolabels’ Generation: “As shown in Fig. 3, the weak disturbance Disturb (∙) contains common augmentation operations, such as flipping and rotating. For each batch, the labeled image
X
is first stochastically augmented once, and
|
{
u
i
;
i
∈
|
(
1
,
…
,
N
)
}
. unlabeled images are stochastically augmented
K
times”); and
a probability map average value calculating step of performing an inverse positional transformation which is an inverse of the positional transformation, on each of the one or more probability maps and further calculating a probability map average value of one or more probability maps resulting from the inverse positional transformation (Fig. 3, P. 5 Section 1 Pseudolabels’ Generation: By means of the previously recorded augmentation operation indexes, we reversely transform
{
P
^
i
k
;
k
∈
(
1
,
…
,
K
)
}
through the Inverse (∙) operation to obtain the label probabilities map
{
P
'
^
i
k
;
k
∈
(
1
,
…
,
K
)
}
corresponding to each pixel of the origin unlabeled image
u
i
, which can be formulated as follows:
where Inverse (∙) uses the previously recorded augmentation indexes
I
i
k
;
k
∈
(
1
,
…
,
K
)
}
of each augmented unlabeled image to conduct the corresponding inverse augmentation transformation… Then, the consistency prediction result
P
-
i
, for the original unlabeled image
u
i
, is obtained through the average operation of the transformed probability maps, which is formulated as follows:
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Upretee with generating multiple probability maps of the image with different weak augmentation, including an inverse function, and average the probability maps to form a high quality pseudolabel of Qi as both Upretee and Qi utilizes pseudolabel for segmentation task and it is obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to try improving the probability map of Qi.
Regarding claim 3, dependent upon claim 1, Upretee in view of Qi teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Upretee further discloses
at the unlabeled image data training step, the deep neural network is trained by using the second augmented image, the pseudo-labels, and the reliability weights (P. 5 Para. 1: “If the average
q
b
-
is higher than the confidence threshold τ , it is considered as a pseudo-label, i.e. ground truth for the strongly augmented unlabeled image A(
α
(
u
b
)
)
… Thus, we have unsupervised loss defined as follows:
Then, the total loss for FixMatchSeg,
l
is given by
l
=
l
s
+
λ
u
l
u
, where
λ
u
is the weight for the unsupervised loss.”).
Qi further teaches
the attention setting step further includes: a reliability weight determining step of setting a reliability weight with respect to each of the pixels in the first augmented image, in correspondence with a magnitude of the probability map average value of the pixel (Fig. 3, P. 5 Section 1 Pseudolabels’ Generation: “As shown in Fig. 3, the weak disturbance Disturb (∙) contains common augmentation operations, such as flipping and rotating. For each batch, the labeled image
X
is first stochastically augmented once, and
|
{
u
i
;
i
∈
|
(
1
,
…
,
N
)
}
. unlabeled images are stochastically augmented
K
times… Then, the consistency prediction result
P
i
-
for the original unlabeled image
u
i
-
is obtained through the average operation of the transformed probability maps, which is formulated as follows:
”
Based on the specification of the current application, Para [0079] of the application publication, the reliability weight and the probability map average value can be the same).
Regarding claim 4, dependent upon claim 3, Upretee in view of Qi teaches everything regarding claim 3.
Upretee further discloses
at the unlabeled image data training step, the second augmented image is input to the deep neural network; a probability map of the second augmented image is predicted on a basis of the deep neural network; and a training result taking the reliability weights into consideration is obtained on a basis of the probability map of the second augmented image, the pseudo-labels, and the reliability weights of the pixels (Fig.1, P. 5 Para. 1: “If the average
q
b
-
is higher than the confidence threshold τ , it is considered as a pseudo-label, i.e. ground truth for the strongly augmented unlabeled image A(
α
(
u
b
)
)
… Thus, we have unsupervised loss defined as follows:
Then, the total loss for FixMatchSeg,
l
is given by
l
=
l
s
+
λ
u
l
u
, where
λ
u
is the weight for the unsupervised loss.”; Loss function implies training of machine learning model. The loss function is based on the pseudo-labels, which is based on the probability map. Since the probability map value of each pixel can be the same as reliability weight, the loss function is based on pseudo-labels and reliability weight, which means the training of the model with the second augmented image as the input is based on pseudo-labels and reliability weight ).
Regarding claim 8, dependent upon claim 1, Upretee in view of Qi teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Upretee further discloses
at the image processing step, at least one selected from between segmentation of a medical anatomical structure and segmentation in units of organ functions is performed on the medical image being input (Table 1-4, Fig. 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Upretee et al. (FixMatchSeg: Fixing FixMatch for Semi-Supervised Semantic Segmentation, hereinafter Upretee) in view of Qi et al. (PICS FOR SEMISUPERVISED REMOTE SENSING IMAGES SEMANTIC SEGMENTATION, hereinafter Qi) and Arora et al. (US 2024/0331872 A1, hereinafter Arora).
Regarding claim 5, dependent upon claim 1, Upretee in view of Qi teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Upretee further discloses
at the first augmenting step, the first augmented image is obtained by carrying out a weak data augmentation on the region of interest data (P. 5 Para. 1: “For each unlabeled input image
u
b
, we obtained an artificial label from its weakly augmented version
α
(
u
b
)
.”).
However Upretee in view of Qi does not explicitly teach
a region of interest extracting step at which, prior to the first augmenting step, partial data including a region of interest in the unlabeled image data is extracted as region of interest data, with respect to the input unlabeled image data, on a basis of a prediction result obtained by the deep neural network, wherein
at the first augmenting step, the first augmented image is obtained by carrying out a weak data augmentation on the region of interest data.
Arora teaches
a region of interest extracting step at which, prior to the first augmenting step, partial data including a region of interest in the unlabeled image data is extracted as region of interest data, with respect to the input unlabeled image data, on a basis of a prediction result obtained by the deep neural network (Para [0056]: “The processor (201) may be configured to execute instructions stored in the Region of Interests (RoI) identification module (206) for analyzing the one or more target chest X-ray images for identifying one or more Region of Interests (RoI's).”, Para [0059]: “The processor (201) may be configured to execute instructions stored in the anatomical segmentation module (207) for performing an anatomical segmentation on the one or more Roi's to detect one or more medical abnormalities using the trained artificial intelligence model.”), wherein
at the first augmenting step, the first augmented image is obtained by carrying out a weak data augmentation on the region of interest data (Para [0059]: “The processor (201) may be configured to execute instructions stored in the anatomical segmentation module (207) for performing an anatomical segmentation on the one or more Roi's to detect one or more medical abnormalities using the trained artificial intelligence model.”, Para [0069]: “In anatomical segmentation module (207), a training set of chest X-rays may be annotated at the pixel level with anatomical labels. A U-net based neural network was trained to output anatomical segmentation masks corresponding to the lungs, diaphragm, mediastinum and ribs.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Upretee in view of Qi with determining region of interests and perform segmentation only on the region of interests of Arora to effectively reduce the time needed for generating diagnosis of medical images.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Upretee et al. (FixMatchSeg: Fixing FixMatch for Semi-Supervised Semantic Segmentation, hereinafter Upretee) in view of Qi et al. (PICS FOR SEMISUPERVISED REMOTE SENSING IMAGES SEMANTIC SEGMENTATION, hereinafter Qi) and De Fauw et al. (US 2019/0005684 A1, hereinafter De Fauw).
Regarding claim 7, dependent upon claim 1, Upretee in view of Qi teaches everything regarding claim 1.
Qi further teaches
a probability map obtaining step of obtaining a plurality of probability maps…a probability map average value calculating step of calculating an average value of the plurality of probability maps as a probability map average value (Fig. 3, P. 5 Section 1 Pseudolabels’ Generation: “Then, the consistency prediction result
P
i
-
for the original unlabeled image
u
i
-
is obtained through the average operation of the transformed probability maps, which is formulated as follows:
”).
However Upretee in view of Qi does not explicitly teach
a probability map obtaining step of obtaining a plurality of probability maps, by performing the predicting process on the first augmented image while using each of two or more of the deep neural networks corresponding to the training performed multiple times.
De Fauw teaches
a probability map obtaining step of obtaining a plurality of probability maps, by performing the predicting process on the first augmented image while using each of two or more of the deep neural networks corresponding to the training performed multiple times (Para [0013]: “The system may have a plurality of different first, image segmentation neural networks, each coupled to the image data input, and each providing different said tissue segmentation map data to one or more of the second, classification neural networks…Thus the system may include a set of different, more particularly differently trained, image seg mentation neural networks to allow the system to produce a corresponding set of classifications. The different image segmentation neural networks will typically produce broadly similar tissue segmentation maps differing in details of the mapping, particularly with "difficult" or ambiguous images. This allows the system to produce a set of different classifications, each corresponding to a slightly different hypothesis regarding the underlying tissue map.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Upretee in view of Qi with generating multiple segmentation with multiple models of De Fauw to effectively increase the reliability of the segmentation results.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Sohn et al. (FixMatch: Simplifying Semi-Supervised Learning with Consistency and Confidence, hereinafter Sohn) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Sohn discloses FixMatch, an algorithm that is a significant simplification of existing SSL methods. FixMatch first generates pseudo-labels using the model’s predictions on weakly augmented unlabeled images. For a given image, the pseudo-label is only retained if the model produces a high-confidence prediction. The model is then trained to predict the pseudo-label when fed a strongly-augmented version of the same image.
Jiao et al. (Learning with Limited Annotations: A Survey on Deep Semi-Supervised Learning for Medical Image Segmentation, hereinafter Jiao) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Jiao discloses a comprehensive review of recently proposed semi-supervised learning methods for medical image segmentation and summarized both the technical novelties and empirical results.
Seibold et al. (Reference-guided Pseudo-Label Generation for Medical Semantic Segmentation, hereinafter Seibold) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Seibold discloses a novel approach to generate supervision for semi-supervised semantic segmentation using a small number of labeled images as reference material and match pixels in an unlabeled image to the semantics of the best fitting pixel in a reference set to avoid pitfalls such as confirmation bias, which is common in purely prediction-based pseudo-labeling.
Bengtsson et al. (US 12,115,015 B2, hereinafter Bengtsson) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Bengtsson discloses techniques for segmenting tumors with positron emission tomography (PET) using deep convolutional neural networks for image and lesion metabolism analysis.
LISOUSKI et al. (WO 2022/129628 A1, hereinafter Lisouski) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Lisouski discloses computer-implemented method for determining a region-of-interest in medical images having a first and high resolution by downscaling the image for a first segmentation and region-of-interest identification and subsequently, the region of interest upscaled for final neural network supported image segmentation to produce a segmentation output image using a single neural network for both segmentations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J. C./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665