DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11985627 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitation “ A terminal device, comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to: determine an identity (ID) of the terminal device based on configuration status of extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) and current Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the terminal device; and determine one or both of paging frame (PF) and paging occasion (PO) based on the determined ID of the terminal device” which is anticipated by the Patent claim 1, “1. A terminal device, comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to: determine an identity (ID) of the terminal device based on configuration status of extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) and current Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the terminal device; and determine one or both of paging frame (PF) and paging occasion (PO) based on the determined ID of the terminal device; wherein determining the ID of the terminal device comprises determining the ID of the terminal device based on an identifier of the terminal device and an integer, wherein the integer is dependent on the configuration status of eDRX; and wherein the determining the ID of the terminal device comprises any of: determining the ID of the terminal device using a first integer when the current RRC state of the terminal device is consistent to an RRC state associated with configured eDRX allowed indication information; or determining the ID of the terminal device using a second integer in other cases, wherein the second integer is different from the first integer”.
Claims of the instant application is anticipated by patent claims in that claim of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 2 and 3 of the Instant application is rejected as being anticipated by the Claims 2 and 3 of the Patent, respectively.
Claims 4 and 5 of the instant application are anticipated by the claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 6-15 of the instant application are anticipate by the claims 4-13 of the Patent respectively.
Claims 16-18 of the instant application are anticipated by the claim 15 of the Patent.
Claims 19-22 of the instant application are anticipated by Claim s 16-19 of the Patent.
Claim 23 of the instant application is anticipated by the claim 21 of the Patent.
Claim 24 of the Instant application is anticipated by the claim 23 of the Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 15-16, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)as being anticipated by Rune (US 20210127354) (hereafter Rune) (See IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 15-16, 22-23 and 24, Rune discloses a terminal device, comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers ( [0164] FIG. 3 illustrates an example wireless device (WD) for PO (paging occasion) allocation, according to certain embodiments.--- Examples of a WD include, but are wireless local loop phone, a desktop computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wireless cameras, a gaming console or device, a music storage device, a playback appliance, a wearable terminal device, a wireless endpoint, a mobile station, a tablet, a laptop, a laptop-embedded equipment (LEE), a laptop-mounted equipment (LME), a smart device, a wireless customer-premise equipment (CPE). a vehicle-mounted wireless terminal device, etc). [0169] As illustrated, processing circuitry 120 includes one or more of RF transceiver circuitry 122,--- In some embodiments, RF transceiver circuitry 122 may be a part of interface 114. RF transceiver circuitry 122 may condition RF signals for processing circuitry 120.)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal
device to:
determine an identity (ID) of the terminal device based on configuration status of extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) and current Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the terminal device; and determine one or both of paging frame (PF) and paging occasion (PO) based on the determined ID of the terminal device ([0010] In LTE, a UE in RRC_IDLE state camps on a cell and, while camping, monitors the paging channel associated with that cell. The UE is configured to monitor repeatedly occurring paging occasions (POs) and may reside in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) sleep mode in between the POs. When the UE is paged at such a PO, the paging is indicated on the PDCCH in the form of a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI) (which is shared by all UEs. ( Reads on “determine an identity (ID) of the terminal device based on configuration status of extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) and current Radio Resource Control (RRC) state of the terminal device”; and “determine one or both of paging frame (PF) and paging occasion (PO) based on the determined ID of the terminal device.” )). This DL scheduling allocation indicates the DL transmission resources on the PDSCH, where the actual Paging message is transmitted. A UE in RRC_IDLE state, which receives a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the P-RNTI at one of the UE's POs, receives and reads the Paging message from the allocated DL transmission resources to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE. The UE(s) that is (are) subject to the paging is (are) indicated in the Paging message through one or more UE paging identifiers (e.g., S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (S-TMSI) or International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)), wherein each UE paging identifier is included in a paging record.( Reads on determine an identity (ID) of the terminal device )Reads on determining identity of Up to 16 UEs may be addressed (i.e., there may be up to 16 paging records in one Paging message).
Regarding claim 16, Rune discloses a network device, comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the network device to:
determining an identity, ID, of a terminal device based on configuration status of extended Discontinuous Reception, eDRX, and current Radio Resource Control, RRC, state of the terminal device (see [0010]: "In LTE, a UE in RRC_IDLE state camps on a cell and, while camping, monitors the paging channel associated with that cell. The UE is configured to monitor repeatedly occurring paging occasions (POs) and may reside in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) sleep mode in between the POs. When the UE is paged at such a PO, the paging is indicated on the PDCCH in the form of a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the Paging Radio Network Temporary Identifier (P-RNTI) (which is shared by all UEs). This DL scheduling allocation indicates the DL transmission resources on the PDSCH, where the actual Paging message is transmitted. AUE in RRC_IDLE state, which receives a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the P-RNTI at one of the UE's POs, receives and reads the Paging message from the allocated DL transmission resources to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE. The UE(s) that is (are) subject to the paging is (are) indicated in the Paging message through one or more UE paging identifiers (e.g., STemporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (S - TMSI) or International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)), wherein each UE paging identifier is included in a paging record. Up to 16 UEs may be addressed (i.e., there may be up to 16 paging records in one Paging message) ";
thus: based on the "UE in RRC_IDLE state", i.e. the "current RRC state of the terminal device", and the UE residing in DRX sleep mode, i.e. "configuration status of DRX", the UE must monitor POs. A paging is indicated on the PDCCH addressed to the P-RNTI. Thus, the UE has to determine such a P-RNTI, i.e. "an identity of the terminal device", in order to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE. Furthermore, it is noted that the UE may be configured in eDRX, as indicated in paragraph [0017], which remarks one of the differences between DRX
and eDRX, i.e. that the DRX cycle a UE use is the shortest of the default DRX cycle, see: [0017]: "In both LTE and NR, the time interval between two POs for a certain UE is governed by a paging DRX cycle (henceforth referred to as "DRX cycle"). In other words, there is one PO allocated to the UE during each DRX cycle
(the UE is aware of all POs, but "selects" one based on its UE ID). Unless the UE is configured with an extended DRX (eDRX) cycie, the DRX cycle a UE uses is the shortest of the default DRX cycle (also referred to as the default paging cycle), which is announced in the SI (then denoted defaultPagingCycle), or a UE specific DRX cycle negotiated with the CN. For regular UEs (i.e., UEs that are not configured with any type of eDRX cycle), the shortest of the default DRX cycle and the UE-specific DRX cycle (if available) is used. In NR, a UE can also be configured with a DRX cycle to be used in RRC_INACTIVE state. This DRX cycle is assigned to the UE when the UE is moved to RRC_INACTIVE state); and
determining one or both of paging frame, PF, and paging occasion, PO, based on the determined ID of the terminal device ([0010]: "A UE in RRC_IDLE state, which receives a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the P-RNTI at one of the UE's POs, receives and reads the Paging message from the allocated DL transmission resources to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE. The UE(s) that is (are) subject to the paging is (are) indicated in the Paging message through one or more UE paging identifiers (e.g., S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (S-TMSI) or International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI)), wherein each UE paging identifier is included in a paging record. Up to 16 UEs may be addressed (i.e., there may be up to 16 paging records in one Paging message)"; thus: based on the "P-RNTI" I "one or more UE paging identifiers", i.e. the "determined ID of the terminal device", the UE "receives and reads the Paging message from the allocated DL transmission resources to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE ", i.e. the UE determines "one or both of paging frame, PF, and paging occasion, PO";
[0017]: "In both LTE and NR, the time interval between two POs for a certain UE is governed by a paging DRX cycle (henceforth referred to as "DRX cycle"). In other words, there is one PO allocated to the UE during each DRX cycle (the UE is aware of all POs, but "selects" one based on its UE ID). Unless the UE is configured with an extended DRX (eDRX) cycie, the DRX cycle a UE use is the shortest of the default DRX cycle (also referred to as the default paging cycle), which is announced in the SI (then denoted defaultPagingCycle), or a UE specific DRX cycle negotiated with the CN. For regular UEs (i.e., UEs that are not configured with any type of eDRX cycle), the shortest of the default DRX cycle and the UE-specific DRX cycle (if available) is used. In NR, a UE can also be configured with a DRX cycle to be used in RRC_INACTIVE state. This DRX cycle is assigned to the UE when the UE is moved to RRC_INACTIVE state").
For claim 23, all limitations are same as in claim 1
For claim 24, all limitations are same as in claim 16.
Regarding claim 12, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 1, and in addition Rune discloses following limitation: the integer comprises any of: 1024, 2048, 4096, 16384, or 65536 (Rune, [0076] UE_ID: IMSI mod 1024. [0079] IMSI is given as sequence of digits of type Integer (0 . . . 9). IMSI shall in the formulae above be interpreted as a decimal integer number, where the first digit given in the sequence represents the highest order digit. For example: [0080] IMSI =12 (digit1=1, digit2=2)).
Regarding claims 15 and 22, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as
applied to preceding claims 1 and 16 respectively, and in addition Rune discloses following limitation: wherein the terminal device is further caused to: monitor a paging message at one or both of the determined PF and the determined PO (Rune: [0010] The UE is configured to monitor repeatedly occurring paging occasions (POs) and may reside in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) sleep mode in between the POs. A UE in RRC_IDLE state, which receives a DL scheduling allocation addressed to the P-RNTI at one of the UE's POs, receives and reads the Paging message from the allocated DL transmission resources to find out whether the Paging message is intended for the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 2-3 , 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune in view of Mouquet et al (US 20230077257) (hereafter Mouquet) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Mouquet, as follows:
wherein the configuration status of eDRX indicates whether eDRX allowed indication information is signaled and which RRC state is associated with the eDRX allowed indication information.
(Mouquet: , [0059], following a movement of the terminal 100 while the terminal is in a CM-Idle or “CM-Connected with RRC inactive” state, the entity transmitting the paging messages may not consider the eDRX function for establishing contact with the terminal 100. The method thus allows the AMF management entity or an access station managing the radio access to transmit at least one paging message during a waking phase of the terminal 100, whether said entity considers that the terminal 100 is being served by an access station that supports eDRX or by an access station that does not support eDRX,
whether the terminal uses eDRX or not.
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of ‘Mouquet with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Regarding claim 3, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Mouquet, as follows: wherein the configuration status of eDRX indicates whether to enable or allow use of the eDRX or not.
Mouquet: [0059] The method thus allows the AMF management entity or an access station managing the radio access to transmit at least one paging message during a waking phase of the terminal 100, whether said entity considers that the terminal 100 is being served by an access station that supports eDRX or by an access station that does not support eDRX, whether the terminal uses eDRX or not.
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of ‘Mouquet with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Regarding claim 13, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Mouquet, as follows:
wherein the RRC state comprises an RRC idle state and an RRC inactive state; and/or wherein the eDRX allowed indication information is specific to the RRC state (Mouquet , [0059] Furthermore, in a CM-Idle or “CM-Connected with RRC inactive” mode, the terminal 100 may use the eDRX function, which consists in the terminal 100 placing itself, successively, in a waking state in which it listens for contact-establishment request messages, also known as paging messages, and in a sleep state in which the terminal does not listen to the signaling messages.
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of ‘Mouquet with those of Rune for the advantage of
managing the periods for power conservation.
Regarding claim 21, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 16, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Mouquet, as follows:
wherein the RRC state comprises RRC idle state and RRC inactive state, the eDRX is configured by eDRX allowed indication information, and the eDRX allowed indication information is specific to the RRC state.
(Mouquet , [0059] Furthermore, in a CM-Idle or “CM-Connected with RRC inactive” mode, the terminal 100 may use the eDRX function, which consists in the terminal 100 placing itself, successively, --- the terminal 100 is in fact being served by the cell Cell7 of the access station 105, which does support the eDRX function, for example following a movement of the terminal 100 while the terminal is in a CM-Idle or “CM-Connected with RRC inactive” state, the entity transmitting the paging messages may not consider the eDRX function for establishing contact with the terminal 100.)
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of ‘Mouquet with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Claim(s) 4, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune in view of LIU, XU (WO 2018028052) (hereafter Xu) (see IDS).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claim 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Xu, as follows:
wherein determining the ID of the terminal device comprises determining the ID of the terminal device based on an identifier of the terminal device and an integer, wherein the integer is dependent on the configuration status of eDRX.
(Xu: pages 2 and 3, the identification value of the user equipment UE-ID and the total number of all the selected carriers N .sub.NB are substituted into the following formula to calculate the index value P .sub.NB : P .sub.NB = (floor(UE-ID/Y1)+T .sub.eDRX, H modk) modN .sub.NB ; where floor() is a round-down function, UE-ID=IMSI mod 1024 or UE-ID=IMSI mod 4096 or UE-ID=IMSI mod 16384 or UE-ID=IMSI mod (4096 × k1 × N .sub.NB ), k1 is any integer from 1 to floor ((10 .sup.10 -1) / (4096 × N .sub.NB )); Y1 is any one of 1 to k1 × (N × Ns) Integer, N represents the maximum number of paging frames in a paging cycle, N .sub.S represents the maximum number of paging slots in a paging frame, k is 1 to T .sub.eDRX, any integer in .sub.H , T .sub.eDRX, H is an extended discontinuous reception eDRX period value of the user equipment; the IMSI is an international mobile subscriber identity..
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of Xu with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Regarding claim 8, Rune in view of Xu discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claims 1 and 4, in addition, Rune discloses following limitation:
wherein the identifier of the terminal device is any of a Fifth Generation System Temporary Mobile Station Identifier (5G-S-TMSI); an International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI); or a short version of Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI); or a full version of Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (Rune:, [0122], The parameter UE_ID would preferably be the same as used in the regular PF/PO algorithm (e.g., IMSI mod 1024 or 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Rune, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WU et al (US 20180279256) (hereafter Wu) (See IDS).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claims 1 and 16, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Wu, as follows: wherein determining the ID of the terminal device comprises determining the ID of the terminal device further based on a configured eDRX cycle.
(Wu: [0010] wherein the determining uses at least a value corresponding to an identification of a user equipment and the duration of an extended discontinuous reception period to determine the specific hyper frame.)
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of Wu with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune in view of Wu, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of BANGOLAE et al (CN 107534937) (hereafter Bangolae) (see IDS) (see Corresponding US publication 2018/0338281 for translation).
Regarding claim 10, Rune in view of Wu discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claims 1 and 16, with the exception of following
limitation, which is disclosed by Bangolae, as follows:
wherein an integer for determining the ID of the terminal device is determined based on a configured eDRX cycle. (Bangolae, para [0028], After the eDRX timer expires, the next some of the PO to be monitored may be defined as the first NDRXPO after each periodic time TN, where TN=Tref + N* TeDRX (where N is a non-negative integer or a positive integer). a paging configuration in a cell of a serving eNB for the UE may be based on, for example, (non-extended) DRX cycle TDRX; and the UE ID.)
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of Wu with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune, as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 20160295504), (hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claims 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by Wang, as follows:
wherein the eDRX is signaled by broadcast signaling or dedicated signaling; and/or. wherein the broadcast signaling comprises system information block 1 (SIB1) carrying eDRX allowed indication information.
(Wang: [0003], a WTRU configured to use eDRX may receive paging signals for system information (SI) change over a prolonged Broadcast Control Channel (BCCH) modification period, such that the paging signals may include a flag to indicate paging message that are for eDRX WTRUs only. [0116] In an example, a WTRU may receive an indication from the network (e.g. MME) that it needs to read system information block 1 (SIB1) systemInfoValueTag at each wakeup when eDRX is used. )
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of Bangolae with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune, as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of SHIH et al (US 20200322918) (Hereafter Shih).
Regarding claim 14, Rune discloses all limitations of subject matter, as applied to preceding claims 1, with the exception of following limitation, which is disclosed by ‘918, as follows:
wherein the ID of the terminal device is determined by a modulo operation. (Shih, [0003], a WTRU configured to use eDRX may receive paging signals for system information (SI) change over a prolonged Broadcast Control Channel (BCCH) modification period, such that the paging signals may include a flag to indicate paging message that are for eDRX WTRUs only. [0058] In addition, in Equation (1), the parameter “PF_offset” may be an offset used for PF determination, and “UE_ID” may be UE ID modulo 1024 (e.g., 5G-S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) mod 1024, or Inactive RNTI (I-RNTI) mod 1024).)
It is obvious before the effective date of invention to a person of ordinary skill to combine limitations of Shih with those of Rune for the advantage of managing the periods for power conservation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TSUDA et al (US 20180234919) discloses a wireless telecommunications system including first and second groups of terminal devices operable to communicate with a base station via respective first and second network nodes. Each of the first and second groups of terminal devices are synchronized to communicate with the first and second network nodes, respectively, in a discontinuous mode including a repeating signaling cycle including first and second wake periods. The first wake period is a first portion of the repeating signaling cycle and the start of the first wake period is defined by a first offset value relative to the start of the repeating signaling cycle. The second wake period is a second portion of the repeating signaling cycle and the start of the second wake period is defined by a second offset value relative to the start of the repeating signaling cycle, being different from the first offset value.
Cui et al. (US2025/0176065) discloses DRX cycle determination.
Li (US2025/0008485) discloses method and apparatus for paging monitoring, communication device.
Jeong et al. (US2024/0357552) discloses method and device for extended discontinuous reception for paging in next generation mobile system.
Yang (US2024/0292485) discloses DRX parameter communication.
Zhang (US2024/0179679) discloses paging method and apparatus.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631