DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 – 21 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended as filed on 11/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (Patent No. US 11,487,788 B1), hereinafter Gupta, in view of Hartlaub et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2020/0311293 A1), hereinafter Hart, and in further view of Ahmed et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2024/0289330 A1), hereinafter Ahmed.
2. With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Gupta taught a method comprising: receiving, by a network-based data system, a query related to metadata (2:42-49), the metadata being stored in a storage location using version stamps (2:36-42), each of the version stamps comprising a register value corresponding to an order the metadata was written into the storage location (2:36-42, where the cloud storage location is a distributed storage location); scanning, by at least one hardware processor, the storage location to retrieve relevant metadata for the query to generate a first data set (6:1-11. See also: 7:11-14); recording a maximum version stamp value in the first data set (2:36-42, where the absolute version number is a maximum version number that is pointing to the next register location under broadest reasonable interpretation); scanning the storage location to retrieve relevant metadata for the query using the maximum version stamp value as a lower bound to generate a second data Set (2:36-42, where the absolute version number is a maximum version number that is pointing to the next register location under broadest reasonable interpretation. See also: 11:35-48); combining the first data set and the second data set to generate a combined data set (15:32-40. See also: 11:4-8); and outputting the combined data set as a result of the query (6:1-11).
However, while Gupta did teach a cloud storage system, which is (de facto) a distributed storage system (4:18-21), in order to maintain a more compact prosecution, it will be argued that Gupta did not explicitly state that the storage system comprised a first storage location and a second storage. On the other hand, Hart did teach that the storage system comprised a first storage location and a second storage (0054). Both of the systems of Gupta and Hart are directed towards managing data and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Gupta, to utilize a specified separate storage location, as taught by Hart, in order to efficiently operate a cloud network.
However, Gupta did not explicitly state that the data sets were combined without de-duplication. On the other hand, Ahmed did teach that the data sets were combined without de-duplication (0039, where union-all doesn’t use de-duplication). Both of the systems of Gupta and Ahmed are directed towards managing data and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Gupta, to utilize a specific data combination techniques that were taught by Ahmed, in order to maintain complete data sets where needed.
3. As for claims 2, 9, and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Gupta taught wherein metadata written into the first storage location is ingested into the second storage location (1:26-39, the copy command under broadest reasonable interpretation).
4. As for claims 5, 12, and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Gupta taught wherein the combining is performed using a union-all command (16:60-67).
5. As for claims 6, 13, and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Hart taught scanning the second storage location for a first set of permission data; scanning the first storage location for a second set of permission data using the maximum version stamp value; and combining the first set of permission data and the second set of permission data to generate a combined set of permission data (0074, the permissions based on the stored indexes).
6. As for claims 7, 14, and 21, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 6, 13, and 20 (respectively). In addition, Hart taught determining a role of a user who issued the query; and filtering out at least one row in the combined data set based on the role of the user and the combined set of permission data (0074, where the users, to which the permissions are related, can be seen in 0005).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, in view of Hart, in view of Ahmed, and in further view of Whitesage (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2002/0010686 A1), hereinafter White.
7. As for claims 3, 10, and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). However, Gupta did not explicitly state wherein the first data set is provided in a first format and the second data set is provided in a second format, the method further comprising: converting the first data set into a common format; and converting the second data set into the common format, wherein the combined data set is in the common format. On the other hand, White did teach wherein the first data set is provided in a first format and the second data set is provided in a second format, the method further comprising: converting the first data set into a common format; and converting the second data set into the common format, wherein the combined data set is in the common format (0061 & 0087). Both of the systems of Gupta and White are directed towards managing databases and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Gupta to utilize different types of databases with different types of data formats, as taught by White, in order to ensure that the system is running optimally.
8. As for claims 4, 11, and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 8, and 15 (respectively). In addition, Gupta taught wherein the second storage location is a database stored in a plurality of storage devices in the data system (2:36-42, the cloud). However, Gupta did not explicitly state wherein the first storage location is a transactional database in the data system. On the other hand, White did teach wherein the first storage location is a transactional database in the data system (0180). Both of the systems of Gupta and White are directed towards managing databases and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Gupta to utilize different types of databases with different types of data formats, as taught by White, in order to ensure that the system is running optimally.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443