DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-4, 6-14, 16-22, 30-31, 33, 35-37, 40, 42, 45, 48-55, and 57-64 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 15, 23-29, 32, 34, 38-39, 43-44, 46-47, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509 (of record), and WO 2022/229919 (of record) in view of Grogan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0086131).
U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509, and WO 2022/229919 are equivalent documents. These documents have the same applicant as the instant application but no common inventors with the instant application. Each of these documents disclose the bispecific binding protein having the anti-PD-1 antibody and anti-TIGIT antibody sequences recited in instant claim 1, 15, and 44. See at least claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382 and U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744. See at least paragraph [0062, 0064-0065, 0067, 0069, 0071, 0081, 0136] for the limitations of instant claims 23-29, 34, 38-39. The light chains would implicitly have either a kappa or lambda constant region. See instant claim 32. Treatment of cancer with the bispecific antibodies is disclosed. The documents do not disclose the amounts of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg.
Grogan et al. discloses administering anti-TIGIT antibodies. The antibodies can be bispecific with PD-1 antibodies. Pharmaceutical compositions and kits including instructions are disclosed. Treating cancers such as non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) are disclosed. The NSCLC cancer can be late state (i.e. advanced). (See instant claim 39.) The amount administered can be about 100 mg to about 1400 mg. About 700 mg and about 800 mg are disclosed. (See instant claims 1 and 44.) They can be administered every week (i.e. every 7 days) and the patient can receive from about two to about twenty doses (i.e. up to 35 cycles. (See instant claim 5.) See at least claims 1, 81-84, 87, 179, and 181-182 and paragraphs [0259, 0334, and 0388].
It would have been obvious to administer the bispecific antibodies of any of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509, and WO 2022/229919 in the amount of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg as suggested by Grogan et al. to treat cancer The pharmaceutical compositions of instant claims 44, 46-47, and 56 would have been obvious. One would have been motivated to do so to provide additional methods of treatment using the bispecific antibodies. The disclosure of about 700 mg or 800 mg suggests the claimed “about 750 mg” in instant claim 46. The disclosure of about 1400 mg suggests the claimed “about 1500 mg” in instant claim 47. With respect to instant claim 43, none of the references indicate that the subject or patient was previously treated with a checkpoint inhibitor. This fairly suggests checkpoint inhibitor naïve subjects.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509, and WO 2022/229919 in view of Grogan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0086131) as applied to claims 1, 5, 15, 23-29, 32, 34, 38-39, 43-44, 46-47, and 56, above, and further in view of Goodenow et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0078639).
None of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509, WO 2022/229919 or Grogan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0086131) discloses that the subject has a PD-L1 tumor proportion score of greater than or equal to 1% as in instant claim 41.
Goodenow et al. discloses anti-PD-1 antibodies can be administered to treat NSCLC in subjects having a PD-L1 tumor proportion score (PD-L1 TPS) between 1% and 50% or 50% or greater. See at least paragraph [0045].
It would have been obvious to administer the bispecific antibodies of any of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382; U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0411509, and WO 2022/229919 in the amount of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg as suggested by Grogan et al. to treat cancer where the subjects have a PD-L1 tumor proportion score (PD-L1 TPS) between 1% and 50% or 50% or greater as taught by Goodenow et al. One would have been motivated to do so to provide additional methods of treatment using the bispecific antibodies.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 15, 23-24, 28, 32, 34, 38-39, 43-44, 46-47, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382 in view of Grogan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0086131).
Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382 disclose bispecific antibodies meeting the sequence limitations of instant claims 1, 15, and 44. Issued claim 4 meets the limitations of instant claims 23-24 and 28 as well as claim 34. Issued claim 8 is a pharmaceutical composition as is instant claim 44. Issued claims 16-17 are directed to a method of treating cancer as in claim 38. The claims of the ‘382 patent do not disclose the amounts of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg.
Grogan et al. discloses administering anti-TIGIT antibodies. The antibodies can be bispecific with PD-1 antibodies. Pharmaceutical compositions and kits including instructions are disclosed. (See instant claims 44, 46-47, and 56.) Treating cancers such as non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) are disclosed. The NSCLC cancer can be late state (i.e. advanced). (See instant claim 39.) The amount administered can be about 100 mg to about 1400 mg. About 700 mg and about 800 mg are disclosed. (See instant claims 1 and 44.) They can be administered every week (i.e. every 7 days) and the patient can receive from about two to about twenty doses (i.e. up to 35 cycles. (See instant claim 5.) See at least claims 1, 81-84, 87, 179, and 181-182 and paragraphs [0259, 0334, and 0388].
It would have been obvious to administer the bispecific antibodies claimed in U.S. Patent No. 11,939,382 in the amount of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg as suggested by Grogan et al. to treat cancer. The pharmaceutical compositions of instant claims 44, 46-47, and 56 would have been obvious. One would have been motivated to do so to provide additional methods of treatment using the bispecific antibodies. The light chains would implicitly have either a kappa or lambda constant region. See instant claim 32. The disclosure of about 700 mg or 800 mg suggests the claimed “about 750 mg” in instant claim 46. The disclosure of about 1400 mg suggests the claimed “about 1500 mg” in instant claim 47. With respect to instant claim 43, none of the references indicate that the subject or patient was previously treated with a checkpoint inhibitor. This fairly suggests checkpoint inhibitor naïve subjects.
The instant claims are not patentably distinct from the issued claims in view of Grogan et al.
Claims 1, 5, 15, 23-29, 32, 34, 43-44, 46-47, and 56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744 in view of Grogan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0086131).
Grogan et al. is applied as above.
Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744 disclose bispecific antibodies meeting the sequence limitations of instant claims 1, 15, and 44. Issued claims 4 and 6-9 meet the limitations of instant claims 23-28. Issued claim 4 meets the limitations of instant claim 34. Issued claim 10 meets the limitations of instant claim 29. Issued claim 11 is a pharmaceutical composition as is instant claim 44. Issued claims 17-178 are directed to a method of treating cancer as in claim 38. The claims of the ‘744 patent do not disclose the amounts of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg.
It would have been obvious to administer the bispecific antibodies claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,570,744 in the amount of about 70 mg to about 1500 mg as suggested by Grogan et al. to treat cancer. The pharmaceutical compositions of instant claims 44, 46-47, and 56 would have been obvious. One would have been motivated to do so to provide additional methods of treatment using the bispecific antibodies. The light chains would implicitly have either a kappa or lambda constant region. See instant claim 32. The disclosure of about 700 mg or 800 mg suggests the claimed “about 750 mg” in instant claim 46. The disclosure of about 1400 mg suggests the claimed “about 1500 mg” in instant claim 47. With respect to instant claim 43, none of the references indicate that the subject or patient was previously treated with a checkpoint inhibitor. This fairly suggests checkpoint inhibitor naïve subjects.
The instant claims are not patentably distinct from the issued claims in view of Grogan et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 is confusing in reciting “at least one substitution selected from” and naming multiple substitutions at the same position. See for example 221K and 221Y. Both of these substitutions cannot occur simultaneously. Clarification is requested.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
Mpa20170088613