DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 7/16/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (3/18/25 IDS Foreign Patent Doc cite No 1, CN 113867006 A, hereinafter Yao).
For claim 1, Yao discloses a contact lens (Figs 1,2,7) (Pgs 15-19), comprising inter alia:
a polymer matrix (polymer elements 1-3 and 1-8) (Figs 1,2) (Pgs 15-19); and
a nanowire mesh network (nano sheet sensor layer element 1-5 is shown in Fig 2 as spiral formed and may be fairly and reasonably considered at least a mesh network, as seen in the weblike pattern/construction of interconnected peaks and valleys in Fig 4 ) embedded in the polymer matrix (Figs 1,2) (Pgs 15-19).
For claim 2, Yao discloses an apparatus for measuring intraocular pressure (IOP) (Figs 1,2,7) (Pgs 15-19), comprising inter alia:
the contact lens of claim 1; and
an electrically conductive coil (coil element 1-9) (Figs 1,2,7) (Pgs 15-19) adapted to share radiofrequency (RF) energy with the nanowire network of the contact lens (Figs 1,2,7, especially Fig 7) (Pgs 15-19, especially Pg 17-18).
For claim 3, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electrically conductive coil has a selected resonant frequency (Fig 7) (Pg 19).
For claim 4, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the resonant frequency changes in response to a change in configuration of the nanowire network (Fig 7) (Pg 19).
For claim 5, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the change in resonant frequency is correlated with a change in IOP (Fig 7) (Pg 19).
For claim 6, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a device (tesla meter elements 1-10) (Figs 1,7) (Pgs 15-17) connected to the electrically conductive coil that produces and measures the frequency of the RF energy (Figs 1,7) (Pgs 15-17).
For claim 7, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electrically conductive coil is connected to a control unit (tesla meter elements 1-10) (Figs 1,7) (Pgs 15-17); wherein the control unit comprises one or more of signal generator, oscillator, amplifier, analogue to digital converter (ADC), logic circuitry, processor, memory device, wireless communications device, power supply, and actuator (Figs 1,7) (Pgs 15-17, especially wireless communications).
For claim 8, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the control unit provides one or more of data acquisition, processing, identification of resonant frequency, and wireless data communications to a connected device (Figs 1,7) (Pgs 15-17, especially wireless communications).
For claim 9, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive coil and the control unit are adapted to be worn by a user (on eyeglasses in Fig 1).
For claim 10, Yao discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive coil and the control unit are adapted to be mounted on a pair of glasses (on eyeglasses in Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Abbasi et al. (US 2018/0267331 A1, hereinafter Abbasi).
For claims 11 and 12, Yao discloses the claimed invention as set forth hereinabove, including the use of a polymeric contact lens material with a sensing nanowire mesh network but appears silent with respect to the polymers used therein. Yao discloses the claimed invention, except for explicitly disclosing, wherein the polymer matrix comprises at least one of a hydrogel and polydimethylsiloxane and/or the polymer matrix comprises a hydrogel comprising poly (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate) (pHEMA). However, Abaasi in the same field of endeavor, teaches a pHEMA hydrogel polymer matrix ([0114-0120]) used for a contact lens and includes a nanowire mesh sensing matrix that further is operably communicated for data transfer (Figs 1D, 10, 12). Yao and Abbasi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of intraocular sensing contact lens with data communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact lens of Yao to incorporate the specific hydrogel material teachings of Abbasi to provide a known polymer for a contact lens because doing so would aid in providing a known material for a sensing contact lens that responds ocular parameters and provides data indicative thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the anticipatory rejection of the newly amended claim, specifically arguing Yao does not disclose a nanowire mesh network because:
As known in the art, nanowires are individual fibres or rods that are highly elongated to the extent that they effectively exhibit a one-dimensional surface area.
However, Yao does not teach or suggest a nanowire mesh network. Instead, Yao describes a γ-Fe₂O₃@NiO magnetic oxide nanosheet. As known in the art, a nanosheet has a two-dimensional sheet structure that maximizes planar surface area. A nanosheet is therefore morphologically distinct from nanowires, and the morphological differences result in different physical, magnetic, and electrochemical properties of the two. Indeed, the photomicrograph of Fig. 4 of Yao clearly shows a uniform crystalline structure devoid of nanowires.
In the invention a nanowire solution (e.g., individual nanowires suspended in alcohol) was used to obtain the nanowires that were dispersed in a polymer which was then
cured, resulting in the nanowire mesh network.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “individual fibres or rods that are highly elongated to the extent that they effectively exhibit a one-dimensional surface area”, “nanosheet is therefore morphologically distinct from nanowires”, and/or “a nanowire solution (e.g., individual nanowires suspended in alcohol) was used to obtain the nanowires that were dispersed in a polymer which was then cured, resulting in the nanowire mesh network”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conversely, the Examiner respectfully notes that the positive recitation of (i) the nanowire mesh network including individual fibers or rods embedded in the polymer matrix, (ii) a nanowire mesh network not comprising a nanosheet, and/or (iii) the nanowire mesh network resulting from a nanowire solution used to obtain nanowires that were disposed in a polymer which was cured would appear to overcome the anticipatory rejection as set forth hereinabove under Yao.
Further, the Examiner respectfully notes that absent any special definition in the instant Specification upon which Applicant does not appear to rely, the claims have been treated on the merits in light of the instant Specification consistent with the plain meaning of the terms therein. As such it is more than fair and reasonable consider Yao’s spiral formed nano sheet sensor layer element 1-5 to be a “wire” (a thin flexible metallic thread/rod shaped conductor as seen in spiral of Fig 2) within nanometer proportion(s) that includes a “mesh network” (the weblike patter/construction of interconnected peaks and/or valleys of the sheet as seen in Fig 4). The mere fact that Yao’s nano sensor is a nano sheet does not preclude it from fairly and reasonably being considered nanowire mesh network, particularly absent and structural requirements to the contrary and/or as broadly as structurally claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791