DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buehler et al. (WO 2021/224190 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Buehler teaches an aerosol-generation article (aerosol-generating article 5, p. 20, ll. 9–12), comprising:
a container (hollow tube 52, p. 22, ll. 20–23);
an accommodating cavity being formed inside the container (hollow interior of hollow tube 52, p. 22, ll. 20–23);
the accommodating cavity being provided with an opening at one end thereof (top end 520 of hollow tube 52, p. 22, ll. 23–26);
a heating element arranged in the accommodating cavity (cup-shaped susceptor 1 positioned within hollow tube 52, p. 22, ll. 20–27); and
wherein a heating cavity configured to accommodate an aerosol-generation substrate is formed inside the heating element (interior of cup-shaped susceptor 1 containing aerosol-forming gel 2, p. 22, ll. 31–35).
The recitation that the heating cavity is “configured to accommodate” an aerosol-generation substrate is functional language that does not impose an additional structural limitation on the claimed article. Nevertheless, Buehler actually teaches aerosol-forming gel 2 within the interior of cup-shaped susceptor 1 (p. 22, ll. 31–35).
Regarding claim 2, Buehler teaches the heating element comprises a susceptor material (cup-shaped casing 1 formed of susceptor material, p. 18, ll. 20–27).
Regarding claim 3, Buehler teaches the container comprises a tubular container side wall and a container bottom wall arranged on one end of the container side wall away from the opening (hollow tube 52 forming the tubular side wall and bottom 11 of cup-shaped susceptor 1 positioned flush with bottom end 521 of hollow tube 52, p. 22, ll. 20–30), and at least a part of an outer wall surface of the heating element is in interference fit with an inner wall surface of the container side wall (side walls 12 of cup-shaped susceptor 1 are compressed radially inward within hollow tube 52 and exert a retaining force against hollow tube 52, p. 13, ll. 1–11).
Regarding claim 4, Buehler teaches the heating element comprises a tubular heating side wall and a heating end wall arranged on one end of the heating side wall away from the opening (cup-shaped susceptor casing 1 having cylindrical side wall 12 extending from bottom 11, with opening 13 arranged opposite bottom 11, p. 18, ll. 20–25).
Regarding claim 5, Buehler teaches the container comprises a paper tube (hollow tube 52 comprising a cardboard tube, preferably a spiral-wound cardboard tube, p. 12, ll. 8–11), and at least a part of an outer wall surface of the heating side wall is in interference fit with an inner wall surface of the paper tube (cup-shaped susceptor 1 has a diameter larger than the inner diameter of hollow tube 52 such that side walls 12 are compressed radially inward upon insertion and exert a retaining force against hollow tube 52, p. 13, ll. 1–11).
Regarding claim 6, Buehler teaches the heating side wall comprises a first side wall close to the heating end wall and a second side wall away from the heating end wall, wherein an outer wall surface of the second side wall is in interference fit with the inner wall surface of the paper tube (cup-shaped susceptor 1 may have the larger diameter over the entire length of the susceptor, with side walls 12 compressed within and exerting a retaining force against hollow tube 52, p. 13, ll. 1–11).
Regarding claim 7, Buehler teaches the heating element comprises a tubular heating side wall and a heating end wall arranged on one end of the heating side wall away from the opening, wherein at least one vent hole is formed on the heating end wall (susceptor casing having cylindrical side wall 12 and bottom 11, wherein bottom 11 may comprise one or several openings for airflow to pass through the bottom into the casing, p. 4, ll. 1–13).
Regarding claim 11, Buehler teaches the aerosol-generation substrate arranged in the heating cavity (aerosol-forming gel 2 dosed into and contained within cup-shaped susceptor 1, p. 22, ll. 31–35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Buehler et al. (WO 2021/224190 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0282529 A1).
Regarding claims 8–9, Buehler teaches the aerosol-generation article of claim 1, but Buehler does not teach a limiting member arranged in the accommodating cavity, wherein the limiting member comprises a hot melt film.
Li teaches a limiting member arranged in a cavity (sealing structure 161a arranged at an end of liquid supply component 16a to seal liquid storage chamber 164a, ¶ [0035]), wherein the limiting member comprises a hot melt film (sealing structure 161a comprising a hot melt plastic film, ¶ [0035]).
Li is in the same field of endeavor as Buehler because both references are directed to aerosol-generating/electronic smoking articles having a consumable component containing an aerosol-forming material that is supplied to a heating or atomizing assembly. Li further teaches that sealing structure 161a seals the liquid storage chamber to prevent tobacco liquid from leaking (¶¶ [0035], [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buehler’s hollow tube 52 by providing Li’s hot-melt-film limiting member within the accommodating cavity in order to retain the aerosol-forming material and prevent leakage prior to use, as taught by Li.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Buehler et al. (WO 2021/224190 A1) in view of Batista et al. (US 2021/0282449 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Buehler teaches the aerosol-generation article of claim 1 but does not teach the limiting member comprises a mesh sheet, wherein a plurality of mesh holes are formed on the mesh sheet.
Batista teaches a mesh sheet, wherein a plurality of mesh holes are formed on the mesh sheet (cover layer comprising a net, mesh, or weave and comprising plural apertures through its thickness, ¶ [0030]).
Batista is in the same field of endeavor as Buehler because both references are directed to articles containing aerosol-forming substrate for forming an aerosol. Batista further teaches that the cover layer provides a barrier limiting contact between the aerosol-forming substrate and a user handling the article (¶ [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Buehler’s aerosol-generating article by providing Batista’s mesh cover layer as the limiting member in order to provide a barrier limiting contact between the aerosol-forming substrate and a user handling the article, as taught by Batista.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Buehler et al. (WO 2021/224190 A1) in view of Reevell (US 2018/0214645 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Buehler teaches the aerosol-generation article of claim 1 but does not teach a vaporization device comprising a vaporizer, wherein at least a part of the aerosol-generation article is detachably engaged in the vaporizer.
Reevell teaches a vaporizer, wherein at least a part of an aerosol-generation article is detachably engaged in the vaporizer (aerosol-generating device 1 comprising device housing 2 and receiving chamber 3, with consumable 41 inserted into and accommodated in receiving chamber 3 and extending from receiving chamber 3 to simplify removal after use, ¶ [0131]).
Reevell is in the same field of endeavor as Buehler because both references are directed to aerosol-generating systems employing aerosol-forming consumable articles. Reevell further teaches an induction coil surrounding the receiving chamber and a consumable comprising a susceptor for inductively heating aerosol-forming substrate (¶¶ [0141]–[0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Buehler’s aerosol-generation article with Reevell’s aerosol-generating device 1, such that at least a part of Buehler’s article is detachably received within the receiving chamber of the vaporizer, to simplify removal of the consumable after use, as taught by Reevell.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747