DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s arguments regarding the restriction requirement between inventions I and III have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the restriction between Inventions I and III is withdrawn. Applicant’s non-election (and cancellation of the associated claims) of invention II is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 and 12-20 remain for examination.
Drawings
Figure 1a, 1b should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 7, 9, 12 -18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102018105161 (hereinafter DE ‘161) in view of Sieth (US 5,127,111) EP 3296473 (hereinafter EP ‘473).
Regarding claim 1, DE ‘161 discloses an installation arrangement for a toilet system (fig. 2), wherein the toilet system includes a toilet bowl (5) defining a mounting cavity (20) on a rear side thereof(16, 17), the installation arrangement comprises: a first unit adapted to enable mounting of the toilet bowl on a wall (fig. 3), the first installation unit including: a mounting pin (14) adapted to be mounted on the wall; a mounting bracket (2) adapted to carry weight of the toilet bowl thereon; and a mounting nut (21) adapted to lock the mounting bracket mounted on the mounting pin.
DE ‘161 does not show that the mounting nut is a flange nut, instead appearing to show a separate washer. Attention is turned to Sieth which teaches that it is common to use a flange nut (52) to lock a structure (44) onto a wall (12’)(fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided a flange nut in place of the separate nut and washer in order to reduce the part count and make installation simpler.
DE ‘161 does not explicitly show two installation arrangements for engagement with two mounting cavities. Attention is turned to DE ‘473 which teaches a similar toilet having first and second mounting assemblies (2) in associated first and second mounting cavities (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided first and second mounting installations and cavities to better distribute the weight of the toilet on the wall.
Regarding claim 2, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows that the mounting brackets each define a through-hole (12) for receiving the mounting pin therethrough and a slanted protruded surface (3, 6) adapted to lock and support the toilet bowl thereon, and wherein the mounting brackets are each mounted on the respective mounting pin, to be fixed thereon, by the mounting flange nut (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention and further the slanted protruded surface of the mounting bracket enables locking of the toilet bowl to the wall. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 4, as shown in figure 3, the mounting brackets (2) are a single part structure adapted to be received in the mounting cavities. See continuous hatch marks in fig. 3 Also note that element 8 is a spacer device not part of the bracket and the claim does not have closed construction.
Regarding claim 5, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows the mounting brackets each define a continuous flat surface (4) adapted to hold the weight of the toilet bowl thereon by the continuous flat surface.
Regarding claim 6, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows the mounting brackets each define a wall mounting surface on a rear side thereof, the wall mounting surface adapted to come into contact with the wall when mounted thereon. See annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 7, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further provides the mounting brackets each define a flange nut interfacing surface on a front side therefore, the flange nut interfacing surface adapted to come into contact with the respective flange nut. See annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and further shows that the wall is the wall of a toilet cabinet (13, abstract).
Regarding claim 12, DE ‘161 discloses a toilet system (fig. 2) comprising, a toilet bowl (5) defining a mounting cavity (20) on a rear side thereof(16, 17), and a first installation unit adapted to enable mounting of the toilet bowl on a wall (fig. 3), the first installation unit including: a mounting pin (14) adapted to be mounted on the wall; a mounting bracket (2) adapted to carry weight of the toilet bowl thereon; and a mounting nut (21) adapted to lock the mounting bracket mounted on the mounting pin.
DE ‘161 does not show that the mounting nut is a flange nut, instead appearing to show a separate washer. Attention is turned to Sieth which teaches that it is common to use a flange nut (52) to lock a structure (344) onto a wall (12’)(fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided a flange nut in place of the separate nut and washer in order to reduce the part count and make installation simpler.
DE ‘161 does not explicitly show two installation arrangements for engagement with two mounting cavities. Attention is turned to DE ‘473 which teaches a similar toilet having first and second mounting assemblies (2) in associated first and second mounting cavities (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have provided first and second mounting installations and cavities to better distribute the weight of the toilet on the wall.
Regarding claim 13, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows that the mounting brackets each define a through-hole (12) for receiving the mounting pin therethrough and a slanted protruded surface (3, 6) adapted to lock and support the toilet bowl thereon, and wherein the mounting brackets are each mounted on the respective mounting pin, to be fixed thereon, by the mounting flange nut (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention and further the slanted protruded surface of the mounting bracket enables locking of the toilet bowl to the wall. See fig. 3.
Regarding claim 15, as shown in figure 3, the mounting brackets (2) are a single part structure adapted to be received in the mounting cavities. See continuous hatch marks in fig. 3 Also note that element 8 is a spacer device not part of the bracket and the claim does not have closed construction.
Regarding claim 16, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows the mounting brackets each define a continuous flat surface (4) adapted to hold the weight of the toilet bowl thereon by the continuous flat surface.
Regarding claim 17, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows the mounting brackets each define a wall mounting surface on a rear side thereof, the wall mounting surface adapted to come into contact with the wall when mounted thereon. See annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 18, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further provides the mounting brackets each define a flange nut interfacing surface on a front side therefore, the flange nut interfacing surface adapted to come into contact with the respective flange nut. See annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 20, DE ‘161 as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and further shows that the wall is the wall of a toilet cabinet (13, abstract).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE ‘161, Sieth, and EP ‘473, as applied to claims 1 and 12, in view of Stonecipher et al. (US 8,528,121 hereinafter Stonecipher).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, DE ‘161 shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, but is silent as to the material of the brackets. Attention is turned to Stonecipher which teaches a wall mounted urinal bracket (210) made from ABS plastic (col. 8, ln. 14-25). It would have been obvious to have formed the brackets form ABS plastic since it is rigid, tough, and stable under load. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reed (US 784,962), DE 1093741, and GB 1005686 all show brackets for a wall mounted sanitary unit representative of the prior art.
/ERIN DEERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754