DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/19/2026. Claims remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 11, and 16 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (US 2020/0226814 A1, filed on 03/11/2019), hereinafter TANG in view of Ravasz et al. (US 2021/0090332 A1, filed on 09/20/2019), hereinafter Ravasz, Mendes et al. ("Mid-Air Interactions Above Stereoscopic Interactive Tables", 2014 IEEE Symposium on 3D User Interfaces (3DUI), March 29-30, 2014, pp. 3-10), hereinafter Mendes, and YANAI et al. (US 2015/0324001 A1, pub. date: 11/12/2015), hereinafter YANAI.
Independent Claims 1, 11, and 16
TANG discloses a method of interacting with a virtual object (TANG, ¶¶ [0002], [0014], and [0028]: various interaction methodologies have each been developed to facilitate a user's virtual interactions with computer generated three-dimensional object within virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and mixed reality (MR) environments; with ray-casting, a virtual light ray of sorts, projected from a user's hand or head, can enable the user to interact with virtual objects that are far away or presented as being out of arms' reach; facilitate user interaction with one or more rendered virtual objects , facilitated by one of a plurality of interaction methodologies), the method comprising:
receiving one or more images of a first hand and a second hand of a user (TANG, ¶ [0017]-[0018] with FIG. 1: the head-mounted display device 10 include a two-dimensional image camera 20 (e.g. a visible light camera and/or infrared camera) and a depth imaging device 22; depth imaging device 22 may include an infrared light-based depth camera (also referred to as an infrared light camera) configured to acquire video of a scene including one or more human subjects; ¶¶ [0026] and [0015] with 255 and 260 in FIG. 2: a first ray 265 is displayed as originating from the palm of the user's left hand 255, depicted as a dashed line terminating in a selection cursor 270; a second ray 275 is displayed as originating from the palm of the user's right hand 260, depicted as a dashed line terminating in a selection cursor 280; casting the ray through the user's modeled arm joint and their hand-tracked palm joint via hand-tracking technology; ¶¶ [0029]-[0032] with 320-350 in FIG. 3: receiving information from the depth camera about an environment; determine a position of the display device within the environment based on the information received from the depth camera and one or more additional sensor components (e.g., gyroscope , accelerometer , and magnetometer, infrared lights, infrared cameras, motion sensors, light sensors, 3D scanners, CMOS sensors, GPS radio, etc.); inferring a position of a joint of a user's arm based on the position of the head mounted display when the joint of the user's arm is not be visible to the depth camera of the head-mounted display; when an external camera is available, this calculation may not be needed; determining a position of a user's hand based on the information received from the depth camera);
analyzing the one or more images to detect a plurality of keypoints associated with each of the first hand and the second hand (TANG, ¶¶ [0033]-[0034] with 350 in FIG. 3: point clouds (e.g., portions of a depth map) corresponding to the user's hands may be further processed to reveal the skeletal substructure of the hands, and to identify components of the user's hands, such as wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.; a virtual skeleton is fit to the pixels of depth video that correspond to the user);
determining an interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand based on the plurality of keypoints associated with each of the first hand and the second hand, wherein determining the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand (TANG, ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] with 360-370 in FIG. 3: casting a ray from a portion of the user's hand based on the position of the joint of the user's arm and the position of the user's hand, which determines the poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand; e.g., lines may be generated for the shoulder, and/or elbow, as well as for the palm, wrist, knuckle, etc.; ¶¶ [0037]-[0040] with 410 in FIGS. 4A-4B and 4D and 460 in FIG. 4C: an initial ray 415 is positioned with an origin at the user's shoulder 405 passing through the user's palm 410; an initial ray 440 is positioned with an origin at the user's elbow 435 passing through the user's palm 410; rays may be cast from a user's fingertips; an initial ray 450 is positioned with an origin at the user's eye 455 passing through the user's finger 460; the ray may be cast based on palm orientation alone, e.g., a targeting ray 470 is extended from the user's palm 410 into the environment; i.e., interaction point – user's palm 410 or user's fingertips is selected/determined from a portion of the user's hand keypoints – wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.) includes:
identifying a first particular gesture performed by the first hand from a plurality of gestures (TANG, ¶ [0018]: process the acquired video to identify one or more objects within the operating environment, one or more postures and/or gestures of the user wearing head-mounted display device 10, one or more postures and/or gestures of other users within the operating environment, etc.; ¶¶ [0033]-[0034] with 350 in FIG. 3: a virtual skeleton is fit to the pixels of depth video that correspond to the user; by analyzing positional change in the various hand joints and/or segments, the corresponding poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand may be determined; ¶ [0036]: the user may be able to make a ray longer or shorter with a predetermined gesture; ¶ [0042]: pointing the palm up may be a gesture designated to signify another function; pointing down, making a fist or closed grip may also signal the user's intent not to cast the ray; this may enable the system to match the user's intent as to when they want to use the functionality and to cast a ray; other intentional gestures may be provided to the user for turning ray-casting on or off; semantic gestures such as finger pointing, or a "spiderman-style web-cast" gesture may also be used; ¶¶ [0048]-[0049]: once a virtual object is targeted, the head-mounted display may recognize a selection gesture from the user's hand based on information received from the depth camera , and select the targeted object responsive to recognizing the selection gesture; perform a finger-based gesture, such as a two-finger pinch to select the object; the appearance of the targeting cursor may be adjusted responsive to recognizing a selection gesture from the user's hand; ¶¶ [0051]-[0054] with FIG. 6: recognize a manipulation gesture from fingers of the user's hand based on information received from the depth camera; if a user is manipulating a proximal object, they do so with a predetermined set of actions and gestures; e.g., at 600 of FIG . 6, a user is shown grasping virtual ball 605 with a left hand 610 and pinching a control point 615 of virtual ball with a right hand 620; a pinch gesture may be used to scale an object, grasping may enable moving an object, etc.; examples presented herein are centered around a "pinch" gesture, but more generally any sort of suitable manipulation gesture may be used, e.g., pinch, point, grasp, wipe, push; objects may be rotated, translated, resized, stretched, deleted, etc.; to manipulate a distal object, the same actions and gestures can be used, because the user's palm sets the ray, and the fingers are left available for manipulation; e.g., at 630 of FIG . 6, a user is shown targeting virtual ball 605 with a first ray 635 emanating from left hand 610 and targeting virtual ball 605 with a second ray 640 emanating from left hand 620; the user may manipulate virtual ball 605 using the same manipulation gestures shown at 600, e.g., grasping virtual ball 605 with a left hand 610 and pinching a control point 615 of virtual ball with a right hand 620; ¶ [0015]: the user may make a selection gesture, such as an air-tap, to select an item that they are currently targeting);
selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand (TANG, ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] with 360-370 in FIG. 3: point clouds (e.g., portions of a depth map) corresponding to the user's hands may be further processed to reveal the skeletal substructure of the hands, and to identify components of the user's hands, such as wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.; casting a ray from a portion of the user's hand based on the position of the joint of the user's arm and the position of the user's hand, which determines the poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand; e.g., lines may be generated for the shoulder, and/or elbow, as well as for the palm, wrist, knuckle, etc.; ¶¶ [0037]-[0045] with 410 in FIGS. 4A-4B and 4D and 460 in FIG. 4C: an initial ray 415 is positioned with an origin at the user's shoulder 405 passing through the user's palm 410; an initial ray 440 is positioned with an origin at the user's elbow 435 passing through the user's palm 410; rays may be cast from a user's fingertips; an initial ray 450 is positioned with an origin at the user's eye 455 passing through the user's finger 460; the ray may be cast based on palm orientation alone, e.g., a targeting ray 470 is extended from the user's palm 410 into the environment; i.e., interaction point – user's palm 410 or user's fingertips is selected/determined from a portion of the user's hand keypoints – wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.; pointing the palm up may be a gesture designated to signify another function; pointing down, making a fist or closed grip may also signal the user's intent not to cast the ray; this may enable the system to match the user's intent as to when they want to use the functionality and to cast a ray; other intentional gestures may be provided to the user for turning ray-casting on or off; semantic gestures such as finger pointing, or a "spiderman-style web-cast" gesture may also be used; the ray may be cast based at least in part on dynamic positioning and not just a fixed location);
;
generating one or more rays based on the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand; and interacting with the virtual object using the one or more rays (TANG, ¶¶ [0043] and [0045] with 370 in FIG. 3: responsive to the ray intersecting with one or more control points of a virtual object, indicating to the user that the object is being targeted; a virtual object may be targeted when a cursor at the terminus of a cast ray is coincident with one or control points of the virtual object; ¶¶ [0046]-[0058] with FIGS. 5A-5B and FIG. 6: user casting a ray 500 from the user's palm 505; virtual ball 515 is selected based on the intersection of selection cursor 510 with bounding box 520; when selection is done (e.g., the user pinches their index and thumb together, as shown at 525 of FIG. 5B) the cursor is animated to match the finger actions (e.g., resize to dot ) as shown at 530 of FIG. 5B; grasping virtual ball 605 with a left hand 610 and pinching a control point 615 of virtual ball with a right hand 620; a pinch gesture may be used to scale an object, grasping may enable moving an object , etc.; targeting virtual ball 605 with a first ray 635 emanating from left hand 610 and targeting virtual ball 605 with a second ray 640 emanating from left hand 620; for two hand manipulation, two or more modes may be available; e.g., each hand may select a different affordance, thus enabling two hand scaling, rotation, manipulation, etc.; this may provide the user more control; movement of the user's hands may cause the manipulation; e.g., if the user's hands stay the same distance apart the object rotates; if the user's hands spread, the object may be resized, etc.).
TANG further discloses a system (TANG, ¶ [0060] with 700 in FIG. 7: a computing system 700) comprising: one or more processors (TANG, ¶¶ [0062]-[0063] with 710 in FIG. 7: the logic machine 710 may include one or more processors); and a machine-readable medium (TANG, ¶¶ [0064]-[0066] with 720 in FIG. 7: storage machine 720 may include optical memory, semiconductor memory, and/or magnetic memory, among others) comprising instructions (TANG, ¶ [0064]: storage machine 720 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations described above (TANG, ¶¶ [0062]-[0064]: logic machine 710 includes one or more physical devices configured to execute instructions; the logic machine 710 may include one or more processors configured to execute software instructions; storage machine 720 configured to hold instructions executable by the logic machine 710 to implement the methods and processes described herein)
TANG further discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium (TANG, ¶¶ [0064]-[0066] with 720 in FIG. 7: storage machine 720 may include optical memory, semiconductor memory, and/or magnetic memory, among others) comprising instructions (TANG, ¶ [0064]: storage machine 720 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions) that, when executed by one or more processors (TANG, ¶¶ [0062]-[0063] with 710 in FIG. 7: the logic machine 710 may include one or more processors), cause the one or more processors to perform operations described above (TANG, ¶¶ [0062]-[0064]: logic machine 710 includes one or more physical devices configured to execute instructions; the logic machine 710 may include one or more processors configured to execute software instructions; storage machine 720 configured to hold instructions executable by the logic machine 710 to implement the methods and processes described herein).
TANG fails to explicitly disclose (1) selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand that correspond to the first particular gesture to determine the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point); (2) wherein the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point) is determined based on the first particular gesture; (3) determining a bimanual interaction point as a midpoint between the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand; (4) generating one or more bimanual deltas based on the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand; and interacting with the virtual object using the one or more bimanual deltas and the bimanual interaction point.
Ravasz teaches a system and a method relating to object interaction in an artificial reality environment (Ravasz, ¶ [0002]), wherein the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point) is determined based on the first particular gesture (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0080]-[0081], [0084], [0086], [0100], [0104], and [0126] with 502 in FIG. 5; FIGS. 6-9; 1202 in FIG. 12; FIG. 13/42B; and FIG. 20: casting a ray projection with an origin point (e.g., a user's dominant eye, a point between the user's eyes, another point on the user's head, the user's hip, the user's shoulder, or a context variable point, e.g., between the user's hip and shoulder) and a control point (e.g., the tips of a user's finger, a user's palm, a user's wrist, or a center of a user's fist); track a portion of a hand as a control point; the control point can be identified in response to a user making a particular gesture, such as forming her fingers into a pinch; in some cases, the control point can be offset from a tracked portion of the user, e.g., the control point can be an offset from the users palm or wrist; determine a control point and a casting direction, for a ray projection, based on a tracked position of one or more body parts; a user's hand 1306/4252 has formed a gesture by connecting her thumb and middle/index finger, indicating initiation of a ray projection 1302 extended from the control point 1304 which is an offset from the user's middle/index finger; the user began by making a gesture 2002, bringing her thumb-tip, index fingertip, and middle fingertip together; the hand interaction system then began tracking control point 2004 (a point offset in front of the gesture 2002) and casting direction 2006; ¶¶ [0140]-[0141] with FIGS. 24A-B: selecting objects using a lasso gesture; in example 2400, the user began by making a gesture 2402, bringing her thumb-tip, index fingertip, and middle fingertip together; the hand interaction system then began tracking control point 2404 (a point offset in front of the gesture 2402) and a casting direction formed by determining the line connecting the user's eye (not shown) and the control point 2404; ¶¶ [0148]-[0148] with FIGS. 26A-B: selecting objects using a frame gesture; in example 2600, the user began by making gestures 2602A and 2602B, bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together and touching those gestures together at point 2612; the hand interaction system then began tracking opposite corners of rectangle 2604 based on the locations of gestures 2602A and 2602B, from the user's point of view; thus, from the user's point of view, moving gesture points 2602A and 2602B formed rectangle 2604; as the user moved her hands apart, the corners of rectangle 2604 moved apart, increasing the size of rectangle 2604; as the user formed this rectangle, the hand interaction system determined a pyramid formed with the pyramid tip at the user's dominant eye and with sides extending through the edges of rectangle 2604; the hand interaction system continuously selected (or deselected) objects that at least partially inter sect with the pyramid until the user released one of gestures 2602A or 2602B; in example 2650 , the user formed a rectangle 2652 by forming two pinch gestures and pulling them apart in a manner similar to example 2600; the hand interaction system formed a pyramid 2654 with the tip of the pyramid at the user's dominant eye 2656 and extending so that the four triangles that form edges of the pyramid coincide with rectangle 2652. The hand interaction system then determined any objects that are both beyond the rectangle 2652 (i.e. on the opposite side of the rectangle 2652 from the user) and that fall completely within the pyramid 2654) ; determining a bimanual interaction point based on the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand; generating one or more bimanual deltas based on the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand; and interacting with the virtual object using the one or more bimanual deltas and the bimanual interaction point (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0079]-[0085] with FIG. 5: track a portion of a hand as a control point; e.g., a control point can be the tips of a user's finger, a user's palm, a user's wrist, or a center of a user's fist; the control point can be offset from a tracked portion of the user; e.g., the control point can be an offset from the users palm or wrist; track a second body part as an origin point; origin point can be based on a position of a user's eye, shoulder, hip, etc.; a machine learning model can be used to analyze images from such a camera and to generate 3D position data for a model of the user's hands or other various body parts; determine a projection orientation that is centered on a line the passes through the origin point determined and the control point determined; the projection can be one of various types such as a ray, sphere, cylinder, cone, pyramid, etc.; the projection can extend outward from the user starting at the control point or offset from the control point; perform an action in relation to real or virtual objects, based on one or more locations of the projection; ¶¶ [0142]-[0166] with FIGS. 25-34: identify an action corresponding to starting object selection; the action can be a two-handed "pinch" gesture, formed with the user's thumb from each hand touching the index or middle finger of that hand, with the two pinches touching at the thumb/finger intersection point; the action can be a two-handed "L" gesture, formed with a first hand having the thumb sticking up perpendicular to the floor and the index finger parallel to the floor and with a second hand having the thumb sticking down perpendicular to the floor and the index finger parallel to the floor, defining two opposite corners of a rectangle; continuously determine a shape defined by a first tracked portion of a first user hand and a second tracked portion of a second user hand; display a representation (such as an outline) of the shape determined; identify a pyramid formed with the tip of the pyramid at one of the user's eyes and the pyramid walls being formed based on the shape determined; upon the user releasing the gesture identified, or when the velocity of the user's hand movement falls below a threshold, select the objects that fall within the pyramid (or other shape) identified; the user began by making gestures 2602A and 2602B , bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together and touching those gestures together at point 2612; began tracking opposite corners of rectangle 2604 (i.e., bimanual deltas) based on the locations of gestures 2602A and 2602B, from the user's point of view; from the user's point of view, moving gesture points 2602A and 2602B formed rectangle 2604; as the user moved her hands apart, the corners of rectangle 2604 moved apart, increasing the size of rectangle 2604; as the user formed this rectangle, determined a pyramid formed with the pyramid tip at the user's dominant eye and with sides extending through the edges of rectangle 2604; in example 2600, continuously selected (or deselected) objects that at least partially intersect with the pyramid until the user released one of gestures 2602A or 2602B; in example 2650, the user formed a rectangle 2652 by forming two pinch gestures and pulling them apart; formed a pyramid 2654 with the tip of the pyramid at the user's dominant eye 2656 and extending so that the four triangles that form edges of the pyramid coincide with rectangle 2652; determined any objects that are both beyond the rectangle 2652 (i.e. on the opposite side of the rectangle 2652 from the user) and that fall completely within the pyramid 2654; at block 2702, determine a control point and casting direction based on a tracked position of one or more body parts; at block 2704, generate a ray projection from the control point along the casting direction; at block 2706, continuously determine a distance relationship (i.e., bimanual deltas) between a first hand (e.g., a dominant hand) controlling the control point and a second hand (e.g., a non-dominant hand); the distance relationship can be linearly or exponentially proportional to the actual distance between the user's hands; this relationship can be based on a speed at which the user changes the distance between her hands; at block 2708, continuously set a length of the ray projection or a "hook" location based on the distance relationship determined at block 2706; instead of setting a ray length, set an interaction point along the ray based on the distance relationship; whether at the end of the ray or at a point along the ray, this interaction point is referred to herein as the "hook"; at block 2710, identify one or more objects based on an intersection with the hook; example 2800 begins with a user creating ray projection 2802 by performing pinch gesture 2804 between her thumb and middle finger on her dominant hand 2806; the user can position the ray 2802 so that it intersects with objects 2808 and 2810; the user can then control the length of the ray, with a hook 2814 at the end of the ray 2802, based on a distance 2816 between her dominant hand 2806 and non-dominant hand 2818; as the hook 2814 intersects with the object 2810, which the user intends to target, she can make a second pinch gesture (not shown), this time with her index finger and thumb on her dominant hand 2806; as the hand interaction system identifies this gesture, it selects object 2810, which the hook 2814 intersects at that moment; in example 2900, the user then changes the length of ray 2802, and accordingly the position of the hook 2814, by lengthening the distance 2816 (i.e., bimanual deltas) between her dominant hand 2806 and her non-dominant hand 2818, while still holding the first thumb/middle-finger pinch, causing the hook 2814 to intersect with object 2812; the user can also select object 2812, now that it intersects with the hook 2814, by again making the gesture 2902 with a further thumb/index-finger pinch; at block 3002, determine a control point and casting direction based on a tracked position of one or more body parts; at block 3004, generate a cone or cylinder projection from the control point along the casting direction; at block 3006, continuously determine a distance relationship (i.e., bimanual deltas) between a first hand (e.g., a dominant hand ) controlling the control point and a second hand (e.g., a non-dominant hand); at block 3008, continuously set a diameter of the cylinder or of the base of the cone based on the distance relationship determined at block 3006; at block 3010, identify one or more objects based on at least partial intersection or full encompassment by the cone or cylinder; the user can control the length of the cylinder or cone with one gesture (e.g., the distance between the tip of a thumb and forefinger on a dominant hand) and can control the diameter of the cylinder or cone base with another gesture (e.g., the distance between her two hands; example 3100 begins with a user creating cone projection 3102 by performing pinch gesture 3104 between her thumb and middle finger on her dominant hand 3106; the user can then control the diameter of the base 3114 of cone 3102 based on a distance 3116 between her dominant hand 3106 and non-dominant hand 3118; in example 3200, the user has changed the diameter of the base 3114 of cone 3102 by changing distance 3116 between her dominant hand 3106 and non-dominant hand 3118, while still holding the first thumb/middle-finger pinch gesture, causing the cone 3102 to intersect with only objects 3112 and 3108; example 3300 begins with a user creating cylinder projection 3302 by performing pinch gesture 3304 between her thumb and middle finger on her dominant hand 3310; the user can then control the diameter of the base 3314 of cylinder 3302 by changing the distance 3316 between her dominant hand 3310 and non-dominant hand 3318; in example 3400, the user then changes the diameter of the base 3314 of cylinder 3302 by changing distance 3316 between her dominant hand 3310 and non-dominant hand 3318, while still holding the first thumb/middle-finger pinch).
TANG and Ravasz are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method relating to object interaction in an artificial reality environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Ravasz to TANG. Motivation for doing so would (1) .
TANG in view of Ravasz fails to explicitly disclose (1) selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand that correspond to the first particular gesture to determine the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point); and (2) determining a bimanual interaction point as a midpoint between the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand.
Mendes teaches a system and a method relating to interaction with virtual objects (Mendes, ABSTRACT), wherein determining a bimanual interaction point as a midpoint between the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand (Mendes, Section 4 with FIGS. 3-8 of Pages 5-6: implement five different interaction techniques for object manipulation; four of these use mid-air interactions, both direct and indirect, and one is solely touch-based; all implemented techniques provide 7 DOF, three for translation, three for rotation, and a uniform scale; the 6-DOF Hand technique in FIG. 4: (a) the hand that grabs the object directly controls its translation and rotation; (b) the distance between both grabbed hands scales the object; and (c) the grabbed point in the object will remain the center of all transformations, during the entire manipulation, until the object is released; the 3-DOF Hand technique in FIG. 5: (a) the hand that grabs the object directly controls its translation; (b) the rotations of the other hand define the object orientation; (c) the distance between both hands scales the object; and (d) the grabbed point in the object will remain as the center of all transformations; the Handle-Bar technique in FIG. 6: (a) the middle point of both hands is used to manipulate the object, reacting as if the user was holding a bar placed across the object (i.e., the user can translate the object by moving both hands in the same direction and rotate it by moving the hands in different directions); and (b) the distance between both hands scales the object; the Air TRS technique in FIG. 7: (a) the first hand grabs and moves the object; (b) the movement of the second hand relatively to the first defines rotation and scale transformations; and (c) two transformations are centered in the object pinched point; the Touch TRS + Widgets technique in FIG. 8: (a) one touch bellow the object enables widget visibility and moves the object; (b) a second touch outside the widgets apply the TRS algorithm (translation and yaw rotation); and (c) the widgets offer height manipulation, roll and pitch rotations).
TAN and Mendes are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method relating to . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Mendes to TANG in view of Ravasz. Motivation for doing so would provide .
TANG in view of Ravasz and Mendes fails to explicitly disclose selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand that correspond to the first particular gesture to determine the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point).
YANAI teaches a system and a method relating to gesture-based UI control (YANAI, ¶¶ [0002]-[0003] and [0022]), wherein selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand that correspond to the first particular gesture to determine the first particular location (i.e., the interaction point) (YANAI, ¶¶ [0037]-[0039] and [0081] with FIGS. 2, 17A-B, and 18A-B: the UI control system 200 may be configured to perform one or more gesture-recognition techniques, and thus enable a gesture-based interface; as used herein, "gesture recognition" may refer to identifying specific movements or pose configurations performed by a user; e.g., gesture recognition may refer to identifying a swipe of a hand in a particular direction having a particular speed, a finger tracing a specific shape on a touch screen, or the wave of a hand; FIGS. 17A-B and 18A-B illustrate various gestures that may be recognized by the selection logic 212 to select an identified UI element; in particular, FIGS. 17 A-B illustrate a "pinch" gesture and FIGS. 18A-B illustrate a "grab" gesture, either or both of which may be recognized by the selection logic 212 to select an identified UI element; ¶¶ [0049]-[0056] and [0060]-[0067] with FIGS. 2-10: multiple landmarks that may be identified by the landmark logic 204 on a portion 300 of a user's body (e.g., a user's hand); several different types of landmarks are indicated in FIG. 3, including fingertip landmarks 302a-e, first finger joint landmarks 304a-e, second finger joint landmarks 306a-e, base joint landmarks 308a-e, a palm center landmark 314 and a hand base landmark 312; the landmark logic 204 may identify other landmarks of a user's hand (e.g., landmarks associated with edges of a user's hand in an image) and/or landmarks on other portions of a user's body; FIG. 3 also depicts structural lines 316, which may connect various landmarks identified by the landmark logic 204 to form a skeleton model of the portion 300 of the user's body; the landmark logic 204 may utilize such a model for tracking and landmark recognition purposes; FIG. 3 also depicts several auxiliary landmarks determined by the landmark logic 204 based on other landmarks; in particular, the auxiliary landmark 318 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 302c (the tip of the middle finger) and 302d (the tip of the index finger); the auxiliary landmark 320 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 302b (the tip of the ring finger) and 302e (the tip of the thumb); the auxiliary landmark 322 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 102d (the tip of the index finger) and 302e (the tip of the thumb); the control operations logic 202 may include pointer logic 206, which may be coupled to the landmark logic 204 and may be configured to determine a pointer based on the landmark locations determined by the landmark logic 204; the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a pointer in any of a number of ways; the pointer may be a multi-location pointer based on a plurality of landmark locations; the pointer may be a base pointer based on a location of a lower portion of an index finger of a user's hand; the pointer may be a virtual pointer based on a relative position of a landmark location with respect to a virtual interaction region; the control operations logic 202 may include identification logic 208, which may be coupled to the pointer logic 206 and may be configured to identify a UI element, from multiple UI elements, based on the pointer determined by the pointer logic 206; the control operations logic 202 may include display logic 210, which may be coupled to the display 222 and may be configured to adjust the display 222 based on various UI control operations performed by the control operations logic 202; e.g., the display logic 210 may be configured to visually indicate the pointer determined by the pointer logic 206 in the display 222, wherein the pointer may be visually indicated as a cursor, an arrow, an image of a hand or another visual indicator; the pointer is a virtual pointer based on a relative position of a landmark location and a virtual interaction region; the control operations logic 202 may include selection logic 212, which may be coupled to the identification logic 208 and may be configured to select the UI element identified by the identification logic 208 based on gesture data indicative of a gesture of the user; the gesture data analyzed by the selection logic 212 may include any of the kinds of data discussed above with reference to landmark location for the landmark logic 204; identify user gestures based on the color and/or depth data included in one or more images of the user's body captured by the depth camera; the landmark logic 204 may be configured to determine locations of multiple landmarks associated with a portion of a user's body, and the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a multi-location pointer based on the multiple landmark locations; FIG. 4 illustrates a multilocation pointer 400 that includes the landmarks 302c, 304c, 302d, 304d, 302e, 314, 318, 320 and 322; the pointer logic 206 determines a multi-location pointer, the identification logic 208 may identify a UI element by determining a pointer score for each element in a UI and identifying the UI element that has the highest score; the pointer score for each UI element may be equal to the sum of the number of landmarks included in the multi-location pointer that overlap with the UI element; in the case of a tie, the identification logic 208 may be configured to give priority to certain kinds of landmarks (e.g., tip landmarks may be more important than palm landmarks or auxiliary landmarks); the pointer score for each UI element may be equal to a weighted sum of the number of landmarks included in the multi-location pointer that overlap with the UI element; each landmark in the multi-location pointer may be associated with a weight, and this weight may be used to determine the contribution of that particular landmark to the pointer score of a UI element; these weights may be assigned in any desired manner, and may be dynamically determined (e.g., using a learning algorithm) based on the types of hand motions that a user typically or preferably uses to interact; a weight associated with a landmark in a multi-location pointer may change depending upon the distance between the landmark and a reference location on a portion of the user's body; such a weight adjustment may be performed to reduce the influence of landmarks on the fingers when those fingers are closed onto the user's palm; the weights associated with each of the landmarks may be nominal weights and may be reduced as the landmark approaches a reference location (e.g., a location at the center of the palm) until the weight is approximately 0 when the finger is fully folded; a multi-location pointer may be determined by calculating a weighted average location based on the landmark locations; this weighted average location may represent a single point in a UI, which may correspond to a cursor that may be used to identify a UI element (e.g., when the cursor overlaps with the UI element); a multi-location pointer may include an area, in addition to or instead of a collection of landmark locations; FIGS. 6-9 depict multi-location pointers 600-900 (for different gestures), each of which includes an area whose boundaries are based on one or more landmark locations determined by the landmark logic 204; in particular, the multi-location pointer 600 for a gesture shown in FIG. 6 may be based on the landmark 102e, the multilocation pointer 700 for a gesture shown in FIG. 7 may be based on the landmarks 302e and 302d, the multi-location pointer 800 for a gesture shown in FIG. 8 may be based on the landmark 302d, and the multi-location pointer 900 for a gesture shown in FIG. 9 may be based on the landmarks 302c, 302d and 302e; the boundaries of the multi-location pointers 600-900 may be set to be a particular distance away from an identified landmark, and may include regions between multiple landmarks included in the multi-location pointer; when the portion of the user's body includes the user's hand and one or more of the landmarks is associated with points on the user's fingers, a landmark located on a finger that is fully folded onto the palm may be ignored for the purposes of determining a pointer; i.e., landmarks located on a finger that is fully folded are not selected (or filtered out) for determining a pointer; a landmark on a finger must be greater than a threshold distance away from a reference location (e.g., the center of the palm) in order for the landmark to be used in the determination of the pointer; i.e., landmarks located on a finger less than a threshold distance away from the center of the palm are filtered out for determining a pointer; ¶¶ [0070]-[0074] with FIG. 13: the UI control system 200 may be configured to determine and utilize a virtual pointer; in particular, the landmark logic 204 may be configured to determine a location of a landmark associated with a portion of the user's body, and the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a virtual pointer based on a relative position of the landmark location with respect to a virtual interaction region; as used herein, a "virtual interaction region" may refer to a plane, a curved surface, a volume (such as a sphere or rectangular solid) or another region spaced away from UI hardware of a computing system (e.g., a display or input device), which may be used as a reference for user interaction with a computing system; a virtual interaction region may be a three-dimensional region in which UI elements are projected or otherwise displayed; e.g., FIG. 13 depicts a configuration 1300 in which a virtual interaction region 1302 is shown, where the virtual interaction region 1302 example of FIG. 13 is a concave curved surface spaced away from a display 222; the pointer logic 206 may determine the virtual pointer based on relative positions of landmarks on the user's body (e.g., landmarks on the index and middle fingers of the user 1304, and/or landmarks on the other fingers of the user 1304) and the virtual interaction region 1302; the landmark used by the pointer logic 206 to determine the virtual pointer may vary as the portion of the user's body changes position with respect to the virtual interaction region; the landmark logic 204 may determine the location of the landmark on the portion of the user's body by determining a location of a first landmark proximate to a tip of a finger of the user's hand (e.g., any of the tip landmarks 302a-e) and determine a location of a second landmark proximate to a base joint of the finger of the user's hand (e.g., any of the base joint landmarks 308a-e); when the first landmark (proximate to the tip of the finger) is positioned on a first side of the virtual interaction region, the pointer logic 206 may determine the virtual pointer based on the relative position of the location of the first landmark with respect to the virtual interaction region; when the first landmark is positioned on a second side of the virtual interaction region, the pointer logic may determine the virtual pointer based on the relative position of the location of the second landmark (proximate to the base joint of the finger) with respect to the virtual interaction region; as the tip of the user's finger approaches the virtual interaction region, intersects with the virtual interaction region, and proceeds through the virtual interaction region to the opposite side, the landmark used by the pointer logic 206 to determine the virtual pointer may change accordingly, and may transition from the first landmark to the second landmark).
TANG in view of Ravasz and Mendes, and YANAI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method relating to gesture-based UI control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of YANAI to TANG in view of Ravasz and Mendes. Motivation for doing so would achieve the user's intended purpose in a more robust and readily adoptable manner (YANAI, ¶¶ [0022] and [0090]-[0092]).
Claims 5, 15, and 20
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claims 1, 11, and 16 respectively and further discloses wherein determining the interaction point for the second hand further includes: determining, based on analyzing the one or more images, whether the second hand is making or is transitioning into making a second particular gesture from the plurality of gestures (TANG, ¶ [0018]: process the acquired video to identify one or more objects within the operating environment, one or more postures and/or gestures of the user wearing head-mounted display device 10, one or more postures and/or gestures of other users within the operating environment, etc.; ¶¶ [0033]-[0034] with 350 in FIG. 3: point clouds (e.g., portions of a depth map) corresponding to the user's hands may be further processed to reveal the skeletal substructure of the hands, and to identify components of the user's hands, such as wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.; a virtual skeleton is fit to the pixels of depth video that correspond to the user; by analyzing positional change in the various hand joints and/or segments, the corresponding poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand may be determined; ¶ [0051]: recognize a manipulation gesture from fingers of the user's hand based on information received from the depth camera) (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0062] and [0083]: one or more cameras included in the HMD 200 or external to it can monitor the positions and poses of the user's hands to determine gestures and other hand and body motions; a machine learning model can be used to analyze images from such a camera and to generate 3D position data for a model of the user's hands or other various body parts) (YANAI, ¶¶ [0037]-[0039] and [0081] with FIGS. 2, 17A-B, and 18A-B: the UI control system 200 may be configured to perform one or more gesture-recognition techniques, and thus enable a gesture-based interface; as used herein, "gesture recognition" may refer to identifying specific movements or pose configurations performed by a user; e.g., gesture recognition may refer to identifying a swipe of a hand in a particular direction having a particular speed, a finger tracing a specific shape on a touch screen, or the wave of a hand; FIGS. 17A-B and 18A-B illustrate various gestures that may be recognized by the selection logic 212 to select an identified UI element; in particular, FIGS. 17 A-B illustrate a "pinch" gesture and FIGS. 18A-B illustrate a "grab" gesture, either or both of which may be recognized by the selection logic 212 to select an identified UI element); and
in response to determining that the second hand is making or is transitioning into making the second particular gesture: selecting a subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the second hand that correspond to the second particular gesture; determining a second particular location relative to the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the second hand, wherein the second particular location is determined based on the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the second hand and the second particular gesture; and registering the interaction point for the second hand to the second particular location (TANG, ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] with 360-370 in FIG. 3: casting a ray from a portion of the user's hand based on the position of the joint of the user's arm and the position of the user's hand, which determines the poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand; e.g., lines may be generated for the shoulder, and/or elbow, as well as for the palm, wrist, knuckle, etc.; ¶¶ [0037]-[0045] with 410 in FIGS. 4A-4B and 4D and 460 in FIG. 4C: an initial ray 415 is positioned with an origin at the user's shoulder 405 passing through the user's palm 410; an initial ray 440 is positioned with an origin at the user's elbow 435 passing through the user's palm 410; rays may be cast from a user's fingertips; an initial ray 450 is positioned with an origin at the user's eye 455 passing through the user's finger 460; the ray may be cast based on palm orientation alone, e.g., a targeting ray 470 is extended from the user's palm 410 into the environment; i.e., interaction point – user's palm 410 or user's fingertips is selected/determined from a portion of the user's hand keypoints – wrist joints, finger joints, adjoining finger segments, knuckles, palm, dorsum, etc.; pointing the palm up may be a gesture designated to signify another function; pointing down, making a fist or closed grip may also signal the user's intent not to cast the ray; this may enable the system to match the user's intent as to when they want to use the functionality and to cast a ray; other intentional gestures may be provided to the user for turning ray-casting on or off; semantic gestures such as finger pointing, or a "spiderman-style web-cast" gesture may also be used; the ray may be cast based at least in part on dynamic positioning and not just a fixed location) (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0080]-[0081], [0084], [0086], [0100], [0104], and [0126] with 502 in FIG. 5; FIGS. 6-9; 1202 in FIG. 12; FIG. 13/42B; and FIG. 20: casting a ray projection with an origin point (e.g., a user's dominant eye, a point between the user's eyes, another point on the user's head, the user's hip, the user's shoulder, or a context variable point, e.g., between the user's hip and shoulder) and a control point (e.g., the tips of a user's finger, a user's palm, a user's wrist, or a center of a user's fist); track a portion of a hand as a control point; the control point can be identified in response to a user making a particular gesture, such as forming her fingers into a pinch; in some cases, the control point can be offset from a tracked portion of the user, e.g., the control point can be an offset from the users palm or wrist; determine a control point and a casting direction, for a ray projection, based on a tracked position of one or more body parts; a user's hand 1306/4252 has formed a gesture by connecting her thumb and middle/index finger, indicating initiation of a ray projection 1302 extended from the control point 1304 which is an offset from the user's middle/index finger; the user began by making a gesture 2002, bringing her thumb-tip, index fingertip, and middle fingertip together; the hand interaction system then began tracking control point 2004 (a point offset in front of the gesture 2002) and casting direction 2006) (YANAI, ¶¶ [0049]-[0056] and [0060]-[0067] with FIGS. 2-10: multiple landmarks that may be identified by the landmark logic 204 on a portion 300 of a user's body (e.g., a user's hand); several different types of landmarks are indicated in FIG. 3, including fingertip landmarks 302a-e, first finger joint landmarks 304a-e, second finger joint landmarks 306a-e, base joint landmarks 308a-e, a palm center landmark 314 and a hand base landmark 312; the landmark logic 204 may identify other landmarks of a user's hand (e.g., landmarks associated with edges of a user's hand in an image) and/or landmarks on other portions of a user's body; FIG. 3 also depicts structural lines 316, which may connect various landmarks identified by the landmark logic 204 to form a skeleton model of the portion 300 of the user's body; the landmark logic 204 may utilize such a model for tracking and landmark recognition purposes; FIG. 3 also depicts several auxiliary landmarks determined by the landmark logic 204 based on other landmarks; in particular, the auxiliary landmark 318 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 302c (the tip of the middle finger) and 302d (the tip of the index finger); the auxiliary landmark 320 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 302b (the tip of the ring finger) and 302e (the tip of the thumb); the auxiliary landmark 322 may be located at a point, such as the midpoint, on the line segment between the landmarks 102d (the tip of the index finger) and 302e (the tip of the thumb); the control operations logic 202 may include pointer logic 206, which may be coupled to the landmark logic 204 and may be configured to determine a pointer based on the landmark locations determined by the landmark logic 204; the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a pointer in any of a number of ways; the pointer may be a multi-location pointer based on a plurality of landmark locations; the pointer may be a base pointer based on a location of a lower portion of an index finger of a user's hand; the pointer may be a virtual pointer based on a relative position of a landmark location with respect to a virtual interaction region; the control operations logic 202 may include identification logic 208, which may be coupled to the pointer logic 206 and may be configured to identify a UI element, from multiple UI elements, based on the pointer determined by the pointer logic 206; the control operations logic 202 may include display logic 210, which may be coupled to the display 222 and may be configured to adjust the display 222 based on various UI control operations performed by the control operations logic 202; e.g., the display logic 210 may be configured to visually indicate the pointer determined by the pointer logic 206 in the display 222, wherein the pointer may be visually indicated as a cursor, an arrow, an image of a hand or another visual indicator; the pointer is a virtual pointer based on a relative position of a landmark location and a virtual interaction region; the control operations logic 202 may include selection logic 212, which may be coupled to the identification logic 208 and may be configured to select the UI element identified by the identification logic 208 based on gesture data indicative of a gesture of the user; the gesture data analyzed by the selection logic 212 may include any of the kinds of data discussed above with reference to landmark location for the landmark logic 204; identify user gestures based on the color and/or depth data included in one or more images of the user's body captured by the depth camera; the landmark logic 204 may be configured to determine locations of multiple landmarks associated with a portion of a user's body, and the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a multi-location pointer based on the multiple landmark locations; FIG. 4 illustrates a multilocation pointer 400 that includes the landmarks 302c, 304c, 302d, 304d, 302e, 314, 318, 320 and 322; the pointer logic 206 determines a multi-location pointer, the identification logic 208 may identify a UI element by determining a pointer score for each element in a UI and identifying the UI element that has the highest score; the pointer score for each UI element may be equal to the sum of the number of landmarks included in the multi-location pointer that overlap with the UI element; in the case of a tie, the identification logic 208 may be configured to give priority to certain kinds of landmarks (e.g., tip landmarks may be more important than palm landmarks or auxiliary landmarks); the pointer score for each UI element may be equal to a weighted sum of the number of landmarks included in the multi-location pointer that overlap with the UI element; each landmark in the multi-location pointer may be associated with a weight, and this weight may be used to determine the contribution of that particular landmark to the pointer score of a UI element; these weights may be assigned in any desired manner, and may be dynamically determined (e.g., using a learning algorithm) based on the types of hand motions that a user typically or preferably uses to interact; a weight associated with a landmark in a multi-location pointer may change depending upon the distance between the landmark and a reference location on a portion of the user's body; such a weight adjustment may be performed to reduce the influence of landmarks on the fingers when those fingers are closed onto the user's palm; the weights associated with each of the landmarks may be nominal weights and may be reduced as the landmark approaches a reference location (e.g., a location at the center of the palm) until the weight is approximately 0 when the finger is fully folded; a multi-location pointer may be determined by calculating a weighted average location based on the landmark locations; this weighted average location may represent a single point in a UI, which may correspond to a cursor that may be used to identify a UI element (e.g., when the cursor overlaps with the UI element); a multi-location pointer may include an area, in addition to or instead of a collection of landmark locations; FIGS. 6-9 depict multi-location pointers 600-900 (for different gestures), each of which includes an area whose boundaries are based on one or more landmark locations determined by the landmark logic 204; in particular, the multi-location pointer 600 for a gesture shown in FIG. 6 may be based on the landmark 102e, the multilocation pointer 700 for a gesture shown in FIG. 7 may be based on the landmarks 302e and 302d, the multi-location pointer 800 for a gesture shown in FIG. 8 may be based on the landmark 302d, and the multi-location pointer 900 for a gesture shown in FIG. 9 may be based on the landmarks 302c, 302d and 302e; the boundaries of the multi-location pointers 600-900 may be set to be a particular distance away from an identified landmark, and may include regions between multiple landmarks included in the multi-location pointer; when the portion of the user's body includes the user's hand and one or more of the landmarks is associated with points on the user's fingers, a landmark located on a finger that is fully folded onto the palm may be ignored for the purposes of determining a pointer; i.e., landmarks located on a finger that is fully folded are not selected (or filtered out) for determining a pointer; a landmark on a finger must be greater than a threshold distance away from a reference location (e.g., the center of the palm) in order for the landmark to be used in the determination of the pointer; i.e., landmarks located on a finger less than a threshold distance away from the center of the palm are filtered out for determining a pointer; ¶¶ [0070]-[0074] with FIG. 13: the UI control system 200 may be configured to determine and utilize a virtual pointer; in particular, the landmark logic 204 may be configured to determine a location of a landmark associated with a portion of the user's body, and the pointer logic 206 may be configured to determine a virtual pointer based on a relative position of the landmark location with respect to a virtual interaction region; as used herein, a "virtual interaction region" may refer to a plane, a curved surface, a volume (such as a sphere or rectangular solid) or another region spaced away from UI hardware of a computing system (e.g., a display or input device), which may be used as a reference for user interaction with a computing system; a virtual interaction region may be a three-dimensional region in which UI elements are projected or otherwise displayed; e.g., FIG. 13 depicts a configuration 1300 in which a virtual interaction region 1302 is shown, where the virtual interaction region 1302 example of FIG. 13 is a concave curved surface spaced away from a display 222; the pointer logic 206 may determine the virtual pointer based on relative positions of landmarks on the user's body (e.g., landmarks on the index and middle fingers of the user 1304, and/or landmarks on the other fingers of the user 1304) and the virtual interaction region 1302; the landmark used by the pointer logic 206 to determine the virtual pointer may vary as the portion of the user's body changes position with respect to the virtual interaction region; the landmark logic 204 may determine the location of the landmark on the portion of the user's body by determining a location of a first landmark proximate to a tip of a finger of the user's hand (e.g., any of the tip landmarks 302a-e) and determine a location of a second landmark proximate to a base joint of the finger of the user's hand (e.g., any of the base joint landmarks 308a-e); when the first landmark (proximate to the tip of the finger) is positioned on a first side of the virtual interaction region, the pointer logic 206 may determine the virtual pointer based on the relative position of the location of the first landmark with respect to the virtual interaction region; when the first landmark is positioned on a second side of the virtual interaction region, the pointer logic may determine the virtual pointer based on the relative position of the location of the second landmark (proximate to the base joint of the finger) with respect to the virtual interaction region; as the tip of the user's finger approaches the virtual interaction region, intersects with the virtual interaction region, and proceeds through the virtual interaction region to the opposite side, the landmark used by the pointer logic 206 to determine the virtual pointer may change accordingly, and may transition from the first landmark to the second landmark).
Claim 6
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 5 and further discloses wherein the plurality of gestures includes at least one of a grasping gesture, a pointing gesture, or a pinching gesture (TANG, ¶ [0042]: semantic gestures such as finger pointing, or a "spiderman-style web-cast" gesture may also be used; ¶ [0048]: the user may then perform a finger-based gesture, such as a two-finger pinch to select the object; ¶¶ [0052]-[0053] with FIG. 6: a user is shown grasping virtual ball 605 with a left hand 610 and pinching a control point 615 of virtual ball with a right hand 620; e.g., a pinch gesture may be used to scale an object, grasping may enable moving an object, etc.; any sort of suitable manipulation gesture may be used, e.g., pinch, point, grasp, wipe, push).
Claim 7
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more images include: a first image of the first hand and a second image of the second hand; or a single image of the first hand and the second hand (TANG, ¶¶ [0018] and [0034] with FIG. 1: acquire video of a scene including one or more human subject; identify one or more objects within the operating environment, one or more postures and/or gestures of the user wearing head-mounted display device 10, one or more postures and/or gestures of other users within the operating environment , etc.; by analyzing positional change in the various hand joints and/or segments, the corresponding poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand may be determined) (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0062] and [0083]: one or more cameras included in the HMD 200 or external to it can monitor the positions and poses of the user's hands to determine gestures and other hand and body motions; a machine learning model can be used to analyze images from such a camera and to generate 3D position data for a model of the user's hands or other various body parts).
Claim 8
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more images include a series of time-sequenced imaged (TANG, ¶¶ [0018] and [0034] with FIG. 1: acquire video of a scene including one or more human subject; the video may include a time- resolved sequence of images of spatial resolution and suitable frame rate; identify one or more objects within the operating environment, one or more postures and/or gestures of the user wearing head-mounted display device 10, one or more postures and/or gestures of other users within the operating environment , etc.; by analyzing positional change in the various hand joints and/or segments, the corresponding poses, movements, gestures or actions of the imaged hand may be determined) (Ravasz, ¶ [0148] with FIGS. 26A-B: the user began by making gestures 2602A and 2602B , bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together and touching those gestures together at point 2612; began tracking opposite corners of rectangle 2604 (i.e., bimanual deltas) based on the locations of gestures 2602A and 2602B, from the user's point of view; from the user's point of view, moving gesture points 2602A and 2602B formed rectangle 2604; as the user moved her hands apart, the corners of rectangle 2604 moved apart, increasing the size of rectangle 2604).
Claim 9
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more bimanual deltas are determined based on a frame-to-frame movement of the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand (Ravasz, ¶¶ [0148] and [0142] with FIGS. 26A-B: the user began by making gestures 2602A and 2602B , bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together and touching those gestures together at point 2612; began tracking opposite corners of rectangle 2604 (i.e., bimanual deltas) based on the locations of gestures 2602A and 2602B, from the user's point of view; from the user's point of view, moving gesture points 2602A and 2602B formed rectangle 2604; as the user moved her hands apart, the corners of rectangle 2604 moved apart, increasing the size of rectangle 2604).
Claims 10, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI as applied to Claims 9, 11, and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Everitt et al. (US 2014/0282274 A1, pub. date: 09/18/2014), hereinafter Everitt.
Claims 10, 13, and 18
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI discloses all the elements as stated in Claims 9, 11, and 16 respectively and further discloses wherein the one or more bimanual deltas include: (Ravasz, ¶ [0142]-[0149] with FIGS. 25 and 26A-B: identify an action corresponding to starting object selection; the action can be a two-handed "pinch" gesture, formed with the user's thumb from each hand touching the index or middle finger of that hand, with the two pinches touching at the thumb/finger intersection point; the action can be a two-handed "L" gesture, formed with a first hand having the thumb sticking up perpendicular to the floor and the index finger parallel to the floor and with a second hand having the thumb sticking down perpendicular to the floor and the index finger parallel to the floor, defining two opposite corners of a rectangle; continuously determine a shape defined by a first tracked portion of a first user hand and a second tracked portion of a second user hand; display a representation (such as an outline) of the shape determined; identify a pyramid formed with the tip of the pyramid at one of the user's eyes and the pyramid walls being formed based on the shape determined; upon the user releasing the gesture identified, or when the velocity of the user's hand movement falls below a threshold, select the objects that fall within the pyramid (or other shape) identified; the user began by making gestures 2602A and 2602B , bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together and touching those gestures together at point 2612; began tracking opposite corners of rectangle 2604 (i.e., bimanual deltas) based on the locations of gestures 2602A and 2602B, from the user's point of view; from the user's point of view, moving gesture points 2602A and 2602B formed rectangle 2604; as the user moved her hands apart, the corners of rectangle 2604 moved apart, increasing the size of rectangle 2604; as the user formed this rectangle, determined a pyramid formed with the pyramid tip at the user's dominant eye and with sides extending through the edges of rectangle 2604; in example 2600, continuously selected (or deselected) objects that at least partially intersect with the pyramid until the user released one of gestures 2602A or 2602B; in example 2650, the user formed a rectangle 2652 by forming two pinch gestures and pulling them apart; formed a pyramid 2654 with the tip of the pyramid at the user's dominant eye 2656 and extending so that the four triangles that form edges of the pyramid coincide with rectangle 2652; determined any objects that are both beyond the rectangle 2652 (i.e. on the opposite side of the rectangle 2652 from the user) and that fall completely within the pyramid 2654) (TANG, ¶ [0058] with FIG. 6: for two hand manipulation, two or more modes may be available; e.g., each hand may select a different affordance, thus enabling two hand scaling, rotation, manipulation, etc.; this may provide the user more control; as shown at 630 of FIG. 6, an affordanceless mode may also be called, where the user aims two rays at an object surface and performs scaling, rotation, translation, etc.; movement of the user's hands may cause the manipulation; e.g., if the user's hands stay the same distance apart the object rotates; if the user's hands spread, the object may be resized, etc.).
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more bimanual deltas include: a translation delta corresponding to a frame-to-frame translational movement of the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand.
Everitt teaches a system and a method relating to detecting gestures (Everitt, ¶ [0001]), wherein the one or more bimanual deltas include: a translation delta corresponding to a frame-to-frame translational movement of the interaction point for each of the first hand and the second hand (Everitt, ¶ [0014]: identifying a synchronous movements of the plurality of control objects to adjust/pan the displayed context based on the detected movement; the panning matches the detected synchronous movement of the plurality of control objects; the plurality of control objects are hands of a user; ¶¶ [0064]-[0075] with FIGS. 2A-C: user 210 is shown positioned in a positive z-axis location facing the x-y plane, and user 210 may thus make a gesture that may be captured by a camera, with the user facing the display, with the coordinates of the motion captured by the camera processed by a computer using the corresponding x, y, and z coordinates as observed by the camera; for a panning gesture illustrated by FIG. 2A, movement across x and y coordinates by control objects in a control plane may be the same or different from x and y coordinates used to display and manipulate content on a display surface; the user may then move the control objects, which are hands in FIG. 2A; detect the motion of the control objects, and translate this motion to pan content displayed in a display surface; two hands are used in a linear, open palm motion across the detection area as illustrated; a stream of frames containing x, y, and Z coordinates of the user hands and optionally other joint locations may then be received to identify the gesture; to engage the panning operation, the user may hold both hands still and level; once the system is engaged, panning may begin; while panning the application may track the average motion of the 2 hands onto the object being panned; when the user has moved the object to the desired location they may disengage the panning operation using a panning disengagement motion; during a panning gesture, first control object 230 moves from position 1A to position 1B, and second control object Substantially simultaneously moves in an approximately synchronized motion from location 2A to location 2B; the synchronized relative position (i.e., bimanual delta) between the first control object 230 and the second control object 240 is maintained during the gesture; in response to detection and processing of the gesture, a content portion 215 moves from an initial position 3a to a panned position 3b, where the movement from position 3a to 3b corresponds with the synchronized movement from locations 1A and 2A to locations 1B and 2B of control objects 230 and 240; a tolerance threshold may be identified for the level of synchronization of the control objects; FIG. 2C includes first control object 230 and second control object 240; during a panning gesture movement mode, an initial synchronized relative position may be established as synchronized relative position 220 when a user first places the first control object and the second control object 240 into a control plane; threshold 226 shows an allowable variation in the synchronized relative position 220 during a panning gesture; if synchronized relative position 220 varies beyond threshold 226, the panning gesture movement mode may be terminated, and the content presented at the content surface may stop panning to match movements of the first and second control objects; the threshold 226 may be variable, based on a number of different factors; e.g., the threshold may be made proportional to the velocity or speed of the control objects; during extended panning sessions, a user may grow tired, and the threshold may be increased over time to compensate for reduced user control as the user grows tired; ¶ [0104]: a gesture dictionary may store movement data or patterns for recognizing gestures that may include pokes, pats, taps, pushes, guiding, flicks, turning, rotating, grabbing and pulling, two hands with palms open for panning images, drawing (e.g., finger painting), forming shapes with fingers, and Swipes, all of which may be accomplished on or in close proximity to the apparent location of a virtual object in a generated display).
TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI, and Everitt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system and a method relating to detecting gestures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Everitt to TANG in view of Ravasz, Mendes, and YANAI. Motivation for doing so would provide more comprehensive gesture dictionary for users to perform various operations on virtual objects (Everitt, ¶ [0104]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/19/2026 with respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 9-12 of the Remarks that "determining a first particular location relative to the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand, wherein the first particular location is determined based on the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand and the first particular gesture; and registering the interaction point for the first hand to the first particular location" are not taught by Tang, Ravasz, Mendes, and Yanai, considered individually or in combination.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees. Tang teaches in ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] with 360-370 in FIG. 3 and ¶¶ [0037]-[0045] with 410 in FIGS. 4A-4B and 4D and 460 in FIG. 4C that "determining a first particular location (e.g., 430 in FIGS. 4A-D) relative to the subset of the plurality of keypoints (e.g., palm 410 in FIGS. 4A, B, and D or fingertip 460 in FIG. 4C) associated with the first hand, wherein the first particular location (e.g., 430 in FIGS. 4A-D) is determined based on the subset of the plurality of keypoints (e.g., palm 410 in FIGS. 4A, B, and D or fingertip 460 in FIG. 4C) associated with the first hand; and registering the interaction point (e.g., 430 in FIGS. 4A-D) for the first hand to the first particular location". Ravasz teaches in ¶¶ [0080]-[0081], [0084], [0086], [0100], [0104], [0126], [0140]-[0141], and [0149]-[0150] with 502 in FIG. 5; FIGS. 6-9; FIG. 12; FIG. 13/42B; FIG. 20; FIG. 24A-B, and FIGS. 26A-B that "the first particular location (e.g., control points 606 in FIG. 6, 704 in FIG. 7, 804 in FIG. 8, 904 in FIG. 9, 1304 in FIG. 13, 2004 in FIG. 20, 2404 in FIG. 24A, or 2602A and 2602B in FIG. 26A) is determined based on the subset of the plurality of keypoints (e.g., ¶ [0081]: a control point can be the tips of a user's finger, a user's palm, a user's wrist, or a center of a user's fist, see palm control point 606 in FIG. 6, fingertip control point 704 in FIG. 7, fist point 804 in FIG. 8, wrist point 904 in FIG. 9; also control points can be offset to the user's middle finger in FIG. 13, offset to thumb-tip, index fingertip, and middle fingertip together at 2002/2402 in FIG. 20/24A, or offset to thumb-tips and index fingertips together at 2602A and 2602B in FIG. 26) associated with the first hand and the first particular gesture (e.g., ¶ [081]: the control point can be identified in response to a user making a particular gesture , such as forming her fingers into a "pinch”, see a gesture by connecting her thumb and middle finger in FIG. 13, gesture 2402 bringing her thumb-tip, index fingertip, and middle fingertip together in FIG. 24A, or gesture 2602A and 2602B bringing her thumb-tips and index fingertips together in FIG. 26A)". Therefore, the combination of Tang and Ravasz teaches "determining a first particular location relative to the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand, wherein the first particular location is determined based on the subset of the plurality of keypoints associated with the first hand and the first particular gesture; and registering the interaction point for the first hand to the first particular location".
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HWEI-MIN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142