DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/30/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 10 in the reply filed on 7/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kawahara et al. (US 2009/0258982, cited by applicant).
Kawahara discloses a stretch blow-molded article comprising:
a polyester; a wax; and at least one selected from the group consisting of an inorganic layered double hydroxide and zeolite (paragraphs [0006], [0012], [0020-0027], [0031], [0033-0034], [0038-0041]).
Kawahara also discloses wherein the inorganic layered double hydroxide comprises a hydrotalcites compound, wherein the polyester
comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate
and polyethylene naphthalate and a molded article (paragraphs [0006], [0012], [0020-0027], [0031], [0033-0034], [0038-0041]).
Kawahara does not specifically disclose a toner bottle, however, absent any further limitations, the examiner is of the position that the disclosed containers (paragraph [0041]) are capable of storing/containing toner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara et al. (US 2009/0258982, cited by applicant).
Kawahara does not disclose wherein a total content of the inorganic layered double hydroxide and the zeolite is 0.09 to 1.2 mass% based on a mass of the stretch blow-molded article. However, discovering the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited mass% in order to lower costs and/or provide improved physical, mechanical and/or thermal properties.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara et al. (US 2009/0258982, cited by applicant) in view of Hase et al. (US 2012/0184686).
Kawahara does not disclose wherein the polyester is a material recycled polyester.
Hase discloses the use of recycled polyester in food containers (paragraphs [0001-0003], [0023) for the purpose of providing an environmentally friendly product and/or improve physical properties (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the polyester is a material recycled polyester in Kawahara in order to provide an environmentally friendly product and/or improve physical properties as taught or suggested by Hase.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
August 26, 2026