DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fry et al. (USPUB 2015/0171632).
As to Claim 1, Fry discloses a power storage system comprising: a movable cart comprising a support frame that includes a base, a plurality of sidewalls mounted vertically with respect to the base, a lid mounted with respect to the plurality of sidewalls, and a set of wheels mounted with respect to the base; an external frame mounted with respect to the base and configured to extend around the plurality of sidewalls, wherein the plurality of sidewalls are accessible from a position outside the external frame (Figure 1); a rechargeable battery (Element 14); and an electronic system including at least one output electrical receptacle and at least one input electrical receptacle, wherein the electronic system is configured to electrically connect with the rechargeable battery, and wherein the rechargeable battery and the electronic system are mounted with respect to the movable cart (Element 18).
As to Claim 2, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the electronic system comprises: a power supply configured to electrically connect to a power inlet and to the rechargeable battery, the power supply configured to recharge the rechargeable battery; a direct current (DC) module configured to electrically connect to the rechargeable battery and a DC power outlet; an alternating current (AC) inverter configured to electrically connect to the rechargeable battery and an AC power outlet, the AC inverter configured to convert DC voltage to AC voltage; and a controller communicatively coupled to at least the power supply, the DC module, the AC inverter, and the rechargeable battery (Paragraph 51-52).
As to Claim 3, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the movable cart further comprises: a display screen communicatively coupled with the electronic system, wherein the rechargeable battery, the electronic system, and the display screen are mounted with respect to the support frame (Figure 1, Element 34).
As to Claim 4, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 3, wherein the rechargeable battery comprises a plurality of rechargeable batteries (Paragraph 85).
As to Claim 6, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the rechargeable battery comprises at least one of a sodium-based battery, a lithium-ion battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel-cadmium battery, and a nickel-metal hydride battery (Paragraph 38).
As to Claim 7, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 6, wherein the sodium-based battery comprises at least one of a molten sodium battery and a sodium-ion battery (Paragraph 38).
As to Claim 9, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the support frame further includes at least one receptacle cover mounted with respect to at least one of the plurality of sidewalls that is configured to cover one or more of the at least one input electrical receptacle and the at least one output electrical receptacle (Paragraph 58).
As to Claim 10, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the at least one output electrical receptacle comprises one or more of a direct current (DC) receptacle, an alternating current (AC) receptacle, a universal serial bus (USB) A (USB-A) receptacle, a USB-C receptacle, a high-definition multimedia interface (HDMI) receptacle, a stage pin connector, and an external line return (XLR) connector (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 11, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, wherein the at least one input electrical receptacle comprises one or more of a direct current (DC) receptacle, an alternating current (AC) receptacle, an electric vehicle charging connector, and a solar charging connector (Paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry et al..
As to Claim 8, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the movable cart has a footprint that is configured to be received by a transportation vehicle, and wherein the movable cart has a width of about 75 centimeters (about 29.53 inches). However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to, to size the device to fit into the desired transport vehicle since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 12, Fry discloses A shipping assembly, comprising: the power storage system according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 Above). Shipping containers are a well known method to store and transport items, and a recitation of ‘ a shipping container, comprising: a container base, a plurality of container sidewalls mounted vertically with respect to the container base, and a container lid mounted with respect to the plurality of container sidewalls, thereby defining an enclosure having an open volume, wherein at least one of the plurality of container sidewalls comprises a removable container sidewall; and a ramp positionable between: a) a first area relative to at least one of the plurality of container sidewalls; and b) a second area relative to the removable container sidewall, wherein upon loading the power storage system of claim 1 into the open volume utilizing the set of wheels and the ramp, the power storage system is closed within the enclosure by the removable container sidewall, and the ramp is mounted with respect to at least one of the plurality of container sidewalls. ’ of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus claimed invention is only an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose, MPEP 2144.07.
As to Claim 13, Fry discloses a production equipment assembly, comprising: the power storage system according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 Above). A recitation of ‘production equipment configured to be electrically powered by the power storage system, wherein the power storage system is positioned within about 200 feet relative to the production equipment.’ of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus claimed invention is only an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose, MPEP 2144.07.
As to Claim 14, Fry discloses the production equipment assembly of claim 13, wherein the power storage system is positioned within about 10 feet relative to the production equipment (See Claim 13 Above).
As to Claim 15, Fry discloses a method of setting up and operating production equipment, the method comprising: providing the power storage system according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 Above.). A recitation of ‘electrically connecting the production equipment to the power storage system, wherein at least one receptacle cover mounted with respect to at least one of the plurality of sidewalls is configured to cover one or more of the at least one input electrical receptacle and the at least one output electrical receptacle, and wherein the at least one receptacle cover is moved from a first position to a second position to connect the production equipment to the power storage system; and providing power to the production equipment such that the production equipment is capable of being operated. ’ of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus claimed invention is only an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose, MPEP 2144.07.
As to Claim 16, Fry discloses a power storage system comprising: a movable cart comprising a support frame, wherein the support frame further comprises: a) a base; b) a plurality of sidewalls mounted vertically with respect to the base; c) a lid mounted with respect to the plurality of sidewalls; d) an external frame mounted with respect to the base and configured to extend around the plurality of sidewalls, wherein the plurality of sidewalls are accessible from a position outside the external frame; e) a first pair of wheels positioned along a first axis and mounted with respect to the base (Figure 1); a sodium-based battery mounted with respect to the base of the movable cart (Paragraph 38); and an electronic system including at least one input electrical receptacle and at least one output electrical receptacle mounted with respect to the movable cart and in electrical communication with the sodium-based battery, the electronic system further comprising: a) a power supply electrically connected to a power inlet and to the sodium-based battery, the power supply configured to recharge the sodium-based battery; b) a direct current (DC) module electrically connected to the sodium-based battery; c) an alternating current (AC) inverter electrically connected to the sodium-based battery, the AC inverter configured to convert DC voltage to AC voltage; d) a controller connected to at least the power supply, the DC module, the AC inverter, and the sodium-based battery; and e) a display screen electrically connected to the controller and configured to display at least one electrical characteristic of the power storage system, wherein at least one receptacle cover mounted with respect to at least one of the plurality of sidewalls is configured to cover one or more of the at least one input electrical receptacle and the at least one output electrical receptacle (Figure 1, Elements 14, 18, 34, and Paragraphs 51-52). Fry does not expressly disclose a second pair of rotatable wheels positioned along a second axis and mounted with respect to the base and opposite from the first pair of wheels. However, the Examiner takes official notice that a second pair of rotatable wheels are well known, and one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention would add a second rotatable set of wheels in order to allow the cart to be steered to the user.
As to Claim 17, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 16, wherein the at least one output electrical receptacle comprises one or more of a DC receptacle, an AC receptacle, a universal serial bus (USB) A receptacle (USB-A), a USB-C receptacle, a high-definition multimedia interface (HDMI) receptacle, and a stage pin connector, and an external line return (XLR) connector (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 18, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 16, wherein the at least one input electrical receptacle comprises one or more of a DC receptacle, an AC receptacle, an electric vehicle charging connector, and a solar charging connector (Paragraph 57).
As to Claim 19, Fry discloses a power storage system comprising: a movable cart comprising a support frame that includes a base, a plurality of sidewalls mounted vertically with respect to the base, a lid mounted with respect to the plurality of sidewalls, and a set of wheels mounted with respect to the base; an external frame mounted with respect to the base and configured to extend around the plurality of sidewalls, wherein the plurality of sidewalls are accessible from a position outside the external frame (Figure 1); at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery (Paragraph 38); and an electronic system comprising: at least one output electrical receptacle; at least one input electrical receptacle; a power inlet; a direct current (DC) power outlet; an alternating current (AC) power outlet; a power supply configured to electrically connect to the power inlet and to the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery, the power supply configured to recharge the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery; a DC module configured to electrically connect to the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery and the DC power outlet; an AC inverter configured to electrically connect to the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery and the AC power outlet, the AC inverter configured to convert DC voltage to AC voltage; and a controller communicatively coupled to at least the power supply, the DC module, the AC inverter, and the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery (Figure 1, Elements 14, 18, 34, and Paragraphs 51-52).
As to Claim 20, Fry discloses the power storage system of claim 19, wherein the at least one rechargeable sodium-based battery comprises one or more of a molten sodium battery and a sodium-ion battery (Paragraph 38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859