DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12006709. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed limitations of the current applications are either disclosed or inherently disclosed by the claims of the patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a second body part includes:” should be “the second body part includes:”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kusakari (JP 3050367).
Regarding claim 1, Kusakari discloses a binding machine (Fig. 1-7) comprising: a first body part (shown below); a second body part (shown below); and an elongated connecting part (shown below) that connects the first body part and the second body part, wherein the first body part includes a grip part; a second body part includes: a feeding unit (3) configured to feed a wire; a first guide (11) extending in a first direction (left and right direction as viewed in Fig. 2) from an end portion (left end portion) on one side of the body part, configured to guide the wire fed by the feeding unit, and having a first induction part (part of 11 on the left end side) provided on a tip end-side (left end side) in the first direction; a second guide (part of 12) spaced from the first guide with an interval (interval between 11 and 12), in which a binding object (a) is inserted, in a second direction (vertical as viewed in Fig. 2) orthogonal to the first direction, and configured to guide the wire fed by the feeding unit; and a twisting unit (9) configured to twist the wire guided by the first guide and the second guide, wherein the first induction part is constituted by a surface inclined (16) in a direction in which the interval between the first guide and the second guide decreases from a tip end-side (left end side) toward a base end-side (right end side) of the first induction part in the first direction. (see Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 2, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 1, wherein the first guide has a groove portion (see Fig. 3: part of groove 11b is a groove portion that is away from the further tip end-side than the first induction part) configured to guide the wire, and wherein the first induction part is provided on a further tip end-side than an end portion of the groove portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 1, wherein an inclination angle of the first induction part relative to an axis line (horizontal line) of the twisting unit is equal to or smaller than 45.
Regarding claim 5, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to further comprising a first visible part (top part of 11) for enabling a position of the first guide to be visually recognized via the body part from an opposite side to the first guide.
Regarding claim 6, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 5, wherein the first visible part protrudes further outward than an outer shape of the body part (see below).
Regarding claim 7, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 6, wherein the first visible part is provided on a base end-side (right end side of 11) of the first guide and protrudes in the second direction (vertical direction. Top portion of 11 protrudes from the bottom side of 11).
Regarding claim 8, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to further comprising a second visible part (11a – capable of aligning from the side) capable of aligning a direction of the first guide with respect to the binding object.
Regarding claim 9, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to further comprising a second induction part (16 of 12) positioned on a side on which the second guide is provided, and configured to guide the binding object between the first guide and the second guide.
Regarding claim 10, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 9, further comprising a third guide (shown above. examiner notes that there are 4 quadrants to the loop 2 and 3rd guide guides the loop on the bottom left and the 2nd guide guide the loop on the bottom right) provided on a tip end-side (left end tip) of the second guide, wherein the second induction part (16 of 12) is provided to the third guide.
Regarding claim 11, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 10, wherein the second induction part is constituted by providing a surface (surface of 16) along which an interval (gap between the 3rd guide and the 1st guide) between the third guide and the first guide decreases from a tip end (left end of 3rd guide) of the third guide toward the tip end-side (left end of 2nd guide) of the second guide.
Regarding claim 12, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to wherein the first guide comprises a guide arm (14) configured to guide the wire fed by the feeding unit, and wherein the first induction part is detachably (11 and 16 are detachably mounted on 14) mounted to the guide arm.
Regarding claim 13, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to wherein the first guide comprises a protrusion (shown below) protruding in a third direction (into the pg. of Fig. 2) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 14, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to Claim 13, wherein the first guide comprises a guide arm (shown below) configured to guide the wire fed by the feeding unit, and a cover part (shown below) configured to cover the guide arm (covers from the back and side), and wherein the cover part is provided with the protrusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusakari
Regarding claim 4, Kusakari discloses the binding machine according to claim 1.
Kusakari fails to disclose wherein a length of the first guide in the first direction is equal to or smaller than 110mm.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose a length of the first guide in the first direction to be equal to or smaller than 110mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, it would be obvious to choose a size based on the material size that is configured to be bound by the binding machine since the material is required to be inside/ between the guides.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 1418124 and US 5944064 teach similar binding machines with an induction part a surface inclined.
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3725