CTNF 18/634,004 CTNF 77565 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-7 and 10-11 in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 8-9 and 12-13 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/9/2026. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 4 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: “particle s size d1” (emphasis added) on line 4 of claim 4 and on line 5 of claim 10 should read “particle size d1” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term "substantially normally incident" in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially normally incident” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, it is unclear whether the claimed "substantially normally incident" is required to be within 30 degrees, 20 degrees, 10 degrees, 5 degrees, or 3 degrees, etc., of normal. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do (US2016/0234981A1) in view of Fang ( Physical and Chemical Basis and Experimental Design of Chemical Plating , cited on the Information Disclosure Statement dated 7/1/2024) and in further view of Hahn (KR20180011487A, please refer to the attached machine translation for the below cited sections). Do teaches a thermally-conductive electromagnetic interference (EMI) absorber comprising a plurality of particles dispersed in a matrix binder (Paragraph 0050), wherein the thermally-conductive EMI absorber is configured to have high thermal conductivity of at least 2 Watts per meter per Kelvin (W/mK, as in instant claim 2) and high EMI absorption or attenuation, such as an attenuation of at least about 9 decibels per centimeter (dB/cm) for frequencies from 1 to 6 gigahertz (GHz) or at least 17 dB/cm at a frequency of at least 15 GHz (Abstract; Paragraph 0023, as in instant claims 3 and 7), and the thermally-conductive EMI absorber may be operable for absorbing a portion of the EMI incident upon the EMI absorber, thereby reducing transmission of EMI therethrough over a range of operational frequencies, such as from about 2 GHz to about 18 GHz, with at least one example exhibiting an attenuation of at least 50 dB/cm (i.e., 5 dB/mm) at a frequency of from about 20 GHz to about 70 GHz (Entire document, particularly Abstract, Paragraphs 0023, 0045, 0050, and 0062; Figures, as in instant claims 3, 7 and 11). Do teaches that the matrix may be silicone elastomer or gel matrix, with other suitable resin materials listed in Paragraph 0050, selected based on the particular fillers and/or particular amounts of fillers that may be suspended or added to the matrix, wherein “the matrix may also be substantially transparent to electromagnetic energy so that the matrix does not impede the absorptive action of the EMI absorbing filler in the matrix,” for example, “a matrix exhibiting a relative dielectric constant of less than approximately 4 and a loss tangent of less than approximately 0.1 is sufficiently transparent to EMI” (Paragraph 0050; reading upon the claimed “plurality of…particles dispersed in a binder” as in instant claims 1 and 10) . Do teaches that in addition to thermally-conductive particles and EMI absorbing particles, the thermally-conductive EMI absorber comprises silicon carbide particles in an amount sufficient to synergistically enhance thermal conductivity and/or EMI absorption of the thermally-conductive EMI absorber (Abstract), wherein thermally-conductive particles include alumina particles that may be of two different types or grades, particularly of different sizes allowing for nesting or packing of the particles to increase volume loading for higher thermal conductivity; and/or one or more other thermal conductors or thermally-conductive fillers such as zinc oxide, boron nitride, silicon nitride, aluminum, aluminum nitride, alumina, iron, metallic oxides, graphite, ceramics, and combinations thereof (Paragraphs 0035-0036, and 0049) that may also include different grades, including different sizes, different purities, different shapes, etc.; wherein by varying the types and grades of the thermally-conductive fillers, the final characteristics of the thermally-conductive EMI absorber, e.g. thermal conductivity, cost, hardness, etc., may be varied as desired, and particularly to have a thermal conductivity of at least 2 W/mK or higher (Paragraph 0049, as in instant claim 2). Do teaches that EMI absorbing particles include carbonyl iron powder which offers better performance for frequencies of interest ranging from about 5 GHz to about 15 GHz, magnetic flakes, manganese zinc ferrite, and/or one or more other EMI absorbers as listed in Paragraph 0048, in different shapes, sizes and/or amounts based upon the frequencies of interest and desired absorption/attenuation properties as well as the intended application or end use (Paragraphs 0035, 0045-0048, and 0056-0063). Do does not specifically limit the type(s), size(s), and content(s) for the silicon carbide particles, thermally-conductive particles, and EMI absorbing particles, given that such parameters can be varied based upon the desired end properties of the thermally-conductive EMI absorber, however, Do does teach several exemplary embodiments including silicon carbide particles that have a mean particle size of about 30 microns; carbonyl iron powder that may range in particle sizes from about 1 micron to about 6 microns; and alumina particles that may include first alumina particles that may range in particle sizes from about 1 micron to about 9 microns with, for example, a mean particle size of about 2 microns, and second alumina particles that may range in particle sizes from about 26 microns to about 65 microns with, for example, a mean particle size of about 45 microns; with the silicon carbide, alumina, and carbonyl iron particles being mostly spherical in shape (Paragraphs 0023-0029); and a further or “fourth” embodiment also including manganese zinc ferrite particles having a mean particle size of about 6.5 microns and of irregular spherical shape; and flaked magnetic material having a diameter of about 80 microns and a thickness of about 1 micron, formed of a magnetic metal alloy, wherein the fourth formulation has a thermal conductivity of 2 W/mK, with attenuation, absorption and real electrical permittivity (e) performance data shown in Figs. 3 through 7 (Paragraphs 0024, and 0035-0038). Do also teaches that by way of example only, exemplary embodiments may comprise a silicone elastomer matrix loaded with about 21 to about 27 vol% silicon carbide, about 8 to about 38 vol% carbonyl iron powder, and about 6 to about 44 vol% alumina; with one embodiment comprising, by way of further example only, about 4 to 10 vol% silicon carbide, about 3 to 5 vol% carbonyl iron powder, about 18 to 23 vol% alumina, about 27 to 40 vol% manganese zinc ferrite, and about 2 to 4 vol% of flaked magnetic material (Paragraph 0023); wherein the volume percentages of each formulation may be varied in other exemplary embodiments to improve or optimize certain properties of the thermally-conductive EMI absorber (Paragraph 0025), wherein in general, a material with higher imaginary magnetic permeability (u″) and higher imaginary electrical permittivity (e″) will have a higher attenuation (Paragraph 0043). Hence, with respect to the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 1-4 and 10, Do teaches a thermally conductive electromagnetically absorbing material comprising a plurality of first, second, and third particles dispersed in a binder such that the material has a thermal conductivity of at least 2 W/(m-K) along at least one direction as in instant claim 2, and for at least one frequency in a frequency range of about 20 GHz, attenuates a “substantially normally” incident radiation having the at least one frequency by at least 5 dB/mm as in instant claim 3, and although Do teaches that various particle types and sizes may be utilized, particularly from the standpoint of allowing for nesting or packing of the particles to increase volume loading, wherein Do provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion that the particle size distribution may comprise at least three peaks as in instant claims 1 and 10, and the volume loading of the particles may be “at least about 50 percent” as in instant claim 10, Do does not teach that at least a majority of particles within a half width at half maximum (HWHM) of one, but not the other ones, of the at least three peaks are at least partially coated with an electromagnetically absorbing coating” as recited in instant claim 1, nor more specifically, that the particle size distribution comprising peaks at sizes d1, d2, and d3, with d1>d2>d3, has at least a majority of particles within a HWHM of the peak corresponding to the particle size d1 (e.g., the largest particle size), but not d2 and d3, that are at least partially coated with an electromagnetically absorbing coating as in instant claims 4 and 10. However, it is first noted that it is well established in the art that deposition of a layer of nickel (e.g., an electromagnetically absorbing coating) or cobalt or iron on a silicon carbide particle surface can improve its wave absorbing properties as taught by Fang (Section 4.5.6) and given that Do teaches that the silicon carbide particles are present in the thermally-conductive EMI absorber in an amount to synergistically enhance thermal conductivity and/or EMI absorption of the thermally-conductive EMI absorber, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a nickel coating on the silicon carbide particles of Do to increase the EMI absorption properties thereof as taught by Fang, wherein one skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilized routine experimentation to determine the optimum coverage (e.g., full or partial as in instant claims 5-6) and/or coating weight to provide the desired wave absorbing properties for a particular end use wherein it is known that an increase in coating coverage and/or coating weight provides an increase in the wave absorbing properties. Further, Hahn teaches a similar thermally conductive composite material having superior thermal conductivity comprising a plurality of particles including metal particles that have relatively excellent thermal conductivity and ductility, primary non-metallic inorganic particles exhibiting superior thermal conductivity compared to metallic materials, and secondary inorganic particles that have a thermal conductivity equal to or higher than that of the metal particle material and increase the packing density of the composite material, wherein the volume content and average particle sizes of the plurality of particles are selected to provide a minimum coordination number that allows the primary non-metallic inorganic particles to come into continuous contact with each other and thus improve thermal conductivity of the composite material while also allowing contact between the metal particles such that mechanical properties of the composite material are not reduced, and with the secondary inorganic particles having the smallest average particle size(s) to allowing for increased particle packing (Entire document, particularly (Title, Paragraphs 0001, 0012-0013, 0023, and 0037-0047). More specifically, Hahn teaches that the primary non-metallic inorganic particles have an equivalent sphere particle size (D 50 , 1 ) within the range of more than ½ to less than the equivalent sphere particle size of the metal particles (D 50,m ), wherein for example, D 50 , 1 may preferably have a value within the range of about 0.1 µm to 25 µm, more preferably about 0.25 µm to 10 µm when D 50,m is in the range of about 0.1 to about 50 µm; while the secondary inorganic particles have an equivalent size (D 50,2 ) of less than ½ D 50,m and may have more than one value in order to increase the filling degree, wherein it is desirable for the second largest value to be less than or equal to half of the largest value, and for the third largest value to be less than or equal to half of the second largest value, such that for example, if D 50,m is set to 6µm, the values of D 50,2 can be determined to be 2 µm, or 2 µm and 1 µm, or 2 µm and 0.2 µm, or 2 µm, 1µm, and 0.2 µm, etc. (Paragraphs 0043-0047). Hahn teaches that the material of the metal particles is selected from one or more combinations of metals and/or alloys thereof having relatively high thermal conductivity such as copper, aluminum, silver, iron, magnesium, nickel, tin, zinc, etc. (Paragraph 0028); the material of the primary non-metallic inorganic particles is selected as one or more combinations of non-metallic inorganic materials such as carbon and carbon compounds, nitrides, and inorganic oxides, having a thermal conductivity higher than that of the selected metal material, with examples thereof including diamond and silicon carbide (Paragraphs 0029-0030); while the material of the secondary inorganic particles is selected from one or more combinations of inorganic materials such as metals and alloys thereof, carbon and carbon compounds, nitrides, and inorganic oxides, which have a thermal conductivity equal to or higher than that of the selected metal, with examples thereof including the above exemplified materials for the metal particles and/or the primary non-metallic inorganic particles (Paragraph 0031). Hahn also teaches that the particles may be surface-modified particles to improve the dispersibility of each particle, for example, poly(N-vinyl-2-pyrrolidone) (PVP) coated copper, graphite coated copper, boron-doped diamond, aluminum-coated diamond, copper-coated diamond, aluminum-coated cubic boron nitride, etc., may be used (Paragraph 0050); wherein the selection of particle materials may be determined to achieve the desired final properties for a particular end use, such as for mixing or combining with materials or sheets used for electromagnetic wave shielding and blocking to enhance their functionality, with examples providing a composite sheet of a thermally conductive layer and an electromagnetic wave absorbing layer (Entire document, particularly Paragraphs 0020-0031, 0037, 0058 and 0078; Examples). Hence, given that both Hahn and Do are directed to similar composite materials comprising a plurality of particles that are of different particle sizes to allow for nesting or packing of the particles to increase volume loading for higher thermal conductivity, wherein both Do and Hahn provide a clear teaching and/or suggestion of a particle size distribution comprising at least three peaks of sizes d1, d2, and d3 with d1>d2>d3 as in instant claims 1, 4 and 10, and given that Do in view of Hahn provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion that the composite material may comprise silicon carbide particles with a larger particle size than two or more types of particles of smaller particle sizes that may be utilized to increase the packing density, and that as discussed above, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to at least partially coat all of the larger silicon carbide particles to improve the EMI absorption properties thereof as taught by Fang, the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 1-5 and 10 would have been obvious over the teachings of Do in view of Fang and in further view of Hahn given that it is prima facie obviousness to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success and prima facie obviousness to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. With respect to instant claim 6, given that it is known in the art that the particles may be surface treated with a dispersant or polymer to improve dispersibility thereof as taught by Hahn as noted above as well as by Do (Paragraphs 0027-0029, 0031, and 0051-0052), with Hahn specifically teaching the use of PVP reading upon the claimed “electrically insulative material” and Do teaching examples utilizing isopropyl triisostearoyl titanate, also reading upon the claimed “electrically insulative material”, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 6 would have been obvious over the teachings of Do in view of Fang and in further view of Hahn. With respect to instant claims 7 and 11, Do teaches that the thermally-conductive EMI absorber or “thermally conductive electromagnetically absorbing material” may include an adhesive layer such as a pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer formed of an acrylic, silicone, or rubber to affix the thermally-conductive EMI absorber to a portion of an EMI shield, to a cover, lid, frame or other portion of a multi-piece shield or EMI shielding wall, or may itself be tacky to self-adhere to another surface without an adhesive layer as discussed in Paragraphs 0053-0054, and/or may be utilized in various applications in a wide range of devices including those as recited in Paragraphs 0055-0058, including various electronic devices such as laptop and notebook computers; and although Do does not specifically teach an “anti-reflection film for at least one frequency in a range of about 20 GHz to about 120 GHz disposed on a layer comprising the thermally conductive electromagnetically absorbing material” as in instant claims 7 and 11, given that the claimed invention does not specifically limit the “anti-reflection film” to any particular material, and that EMI shields and/or electronic devices as taught by Do such as the laptop and notebook computers are known to include an “anti-reflection” layer, the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 7 and 11 would have been obvious over the teachings of Do in view of Fang and in further view of Hahn given that it is prima facie obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and particularly given that the claimed invention does not require the anti-reflection layer to be disposed directly on the thermally conductive electromagnetically absorbing material. Citation of pertinent prior art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goris (US2022/0259398A1) discloses a composite material comprising a plurality of thermally-conductive particles and magnetic particles dispersed in a polymeric network, wherein the thermally conductive particles can be mixed to have multimodal size distributions which may allow for optimal packing density. Kuehnle (US2005/0074611A1) discloses encapsulated nanoparticles that allow for selective absorption of electromagnetic radiation and particularly to composite materials that absorb strongly within a chosen, predetermined portion of the electromagnetic spectrum while remaining substantially transparent outside said portion by tailoring the core and shell materials as well as the core diameter and shell thickness of the encapsulated nanoparticles . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MONIQUE R JACKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1508. The examiner can normally be reached Mondays-Thursdays from 10:00AM-5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Callie Shosho can be reached at 571-272-1123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MONIQUE R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 2 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 3 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 4 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 5 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 6 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 7 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 8 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 9 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 10 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 11 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/634,004 Page 12 Art Unit: 1787