DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20180027429 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teach An apparatus (Li second UE31 in Fig. 3) for wireless communication at a network entity (Note: the network entity in the claim is interpreted as the second UE 31 in Li), comprising:
one or more memories (Li memory 2004 in Fig. 20); and
one or more processors (Li processor 2001 in Fig. 20) coupled with the one or more memories (Li Fig. 20) and configured to cause the network entity to:
determine a broadcast reception capability of the network entity (Li [0131] if after performing self assessment, the second UE 31 determines that it is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, 305 is performed), wherein the broadcast reception capability comprises a capability to receive a broadcast signal (Li [0131] capable of providing a relay service . Note: the capability of providing relay service includes a broadcast reception capability and a transmission capability in order to receive a signal and relay it);
output, for a user equipment (UE) (Li [0133] the first UE 20), a first signal that indicates the broadcast reception capability of the network entity (Li [0133] the second UE 31 may send the relay response message to the first UE 20 , Li [0008] receiving, by first user equipment (UE), a first message sent by second UE, where the first message includes indication information that the second UE is capable of acting as relay UE ) based at least in part on the determined broadcast reception capability (Li step 305 based on step 304 in Fig. 3); and
communicate, with the UE, based at least in part on the broadcast reception capability at the network entity (Li [0009] performing, by the first UE, data transmission with a base station via the second UE, where the second UE acts as relay UE , Li [0276] the base station 10 may send the downlink data to the second UE 31 by using a cellular link. The second UE 31 may send the downlink data to the second UE 31 by using the D2D resource pool.).
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to output the first signal, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to:
determine that the network entity comprises a capability to receive the broadcast signal Li [0131] if after performing self assessment, the second UE 31 determines that it is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, 305 is performed. Note: the capability of providing relay service includes a broadcast reception capability in order to receive a signal and relay it) ; and
output, for the UE, the first signal, the first signal indicative that the network entity comprises the capability to receive the broadcast signal ( Li [0008] receiving, by first user equipment (UE), a first message sent by second UE, where the first message includes indication information that the second UE is capable of acting as relay UE).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to output the first signal, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to:
determine that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal (Li [0128] if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the relay service cannot be provided for the first UE 20); and
output, for the UE, the first signal, the first signal indicative that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal ([0128] the UE may send a relay refusing message to the first UE 20).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
determine that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal Li [0128] if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the relay service cannot be provided for the first UE 20);
output, for a second network entity, a second signal that queries the broadcast reception capability at the second network entity (Li [0119] If no available cell can be found, the first UE searches for available relay UE again by sending a relay request message); and
obtain, from the second network entity, a third signal that indicates the second network entity comprises a capability to receive the broadcast signal, wherein the output of the first signal is based at least in part on acquisition of the third signal ([0129] After the self assessment is performed, if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the UE is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, the UE may send a relay response message to the first UE 20).
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
obtain, from the UE, a second signal that queries the broadcast reception capability of the network entity ([0128] the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 ), wherein the output of the first signal that indicates the broadcast reception capability (Relay response message 305 in Fig. 3)) is based at least in part on the second signal (Relay request message 303 in Fig. 3. Note: the response message 305 is based on the request message 303).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the broadcast reception capability at the network entity is based at least in part on at least one of a circuitry included in the network entity, a broadcast reception quality at the network entity (Li [0148] the predetermined criterion may include at least one of the following: .. channel quality between the one UE and a Uu interface of the base station 10 is the optimal), a current load at the network entity, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the broadcast signal is obtained from a broadcast transmitter (Li [0092] the base station Broadcasts the D2D resource pool in a Broadcast manner,), and wherein a distance between the broadcast transmitter and the UE is greater than a distance between the network entity and the UE (Li Fig. 2 shows the distance between base station 10 and UE 20 is larger than the distance between the relay UE 30 and UE20).
Regarding claim 21, Li et al. teach A method for wireless communications by a network entity (Li [0131] the second UE 31), comprising:
determining a broadcast reception capability of the network entity (Li [0131] if after performing self assessment, the second UE 31 determines that it is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, 305 is performed), wherein the broadcast reception capability comprises a capability to receive a broadcast signal ([0131] capable of providing a relay service . Note: the capability of providing relay service includes a broadcast reception capability and a transmission capability in order to receive a signal and relay it);
outputting, for a user equipment (UE) (Li [0133] the first UE 20), a first signal that indicates the broadcast reception capability of the network entity (Li [0133] the second UE 31 may send the relay response message to the first UE 20 , Li [0008] receiving, by first user equipment (UE), a first message sent by second UE, where the first message includes indication information that the second UE is capable of acting as relay UE ) based at least in part on the determined broadcast reception capability (Li step 305 based on step 304 in Fig. 3); and
communicating, with the UE, based at least in part on the broadcast reception capability at the network entity (Li [0009] performing, by the first UE, data transmission with a base station via the second UE, where the second UE acts as relay UE, Li [0276] the base station 10 may send the downlink data to the second UE 31 by using a cellular link. The second UE 31 may send the downlink data to the second UE 31 by using the D2D resource pool.).
Regarding claim 22, Li et al. teach the method of claim 21, the outputting comprising:
determining that the network entity comprises a capability to receive the broadcast signal Li [0131] if after performing self assessment, the second UE 31 determines that it is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, 305 is performed. Note: the capability of providing relay service includes a broadcast reception capability in order to receive a signal and relay it) ; and
outputting, for the UE, the first signal, the first signal indicative that the network entity comprises the capability to receive the broadcast signal ( Li [0008] receiving, by first user equipment (UE), a first message sent by second UE, where the first message includes indication information that the second UE is capable of acting as relay UE).
Regarding claim 23, Li et al. teach the method of claim 21, the outputting comprising:
determining that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal (Li [0128] if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the relay service cannot be provided for the first UE 20); and
outputting, for the UE, the first signal, the first signal indicative that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal ([0128] the UE may send a relay refusing message to the first UE 20).
Regarding claim 24, Li et al. teach the method of claim 21, further comprising:
determining that the network entity does not support reception of the broadcast signal Li [0128] if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the relay service cannot be provided for the first UE 20);
outputting, for a second network entity, a second signal that queries the broadcast reception capability at the second network entity (Li [0119] If no available cell can be found, the first UE searches for available relay UE again by sending a relay request message); and
obtaining, from the second network entity, a third signal that indicates the second network entity comprises a capability to receive the broadcast signal, wherein the output of the first signal is based at least in part on acquisition of the third signal ([0129] After the self assessment is performed, if the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 determines that the UE is capable of providing a relay service for the first UE 20, the UE may send a relay response message to the first UE 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. in view of Zheng (US 20110103269 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but do not teach
wherein, to output the first signal, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to:
broadcast the first signal that indicates the broadcast reception capability via a first frequency, wherein the broadcast signal is acquired from a broadcast transmitter via a second frequency.
In a similar Zheng. teaches
broadcast the first signal that indicates the broadcast reception capability via a first frequency, wherein the broadcast signal is acquired from a broadcast transmitter via a second frequency (Zheng [0039] a downlink from a base station to a relay station and another downlink from the relay station to a wireless communication device (user equipment, also called UE) are separated into different carriers, so that the interface between the relay station and the wireless communication device and the interface between the base station and the relay station do not share a same carrier)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li et al. by incorporating Zheng. Different carriers for Un and Uu to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have mitigated interference
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. in view of Tenny et al. (US 20190182140 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1
wherein the broadcast signal is obtained from a broadcast transmitter (Li [0092] the base station broadcasts the D2D resource pool in a broadcast manner,), but do not teach
wherein the broadcast transmitter comprises a new radio broadcast transmitter and the network entity comprises a new radio small cell.
In a similar endeavor, Tenny et al. teach
wherein a broadcast transmitter comprises a new radio broadcast transmitter (Tenny [0054] next generation (NG) Node Bs (gNBs), )and the base station comprises a new radio small cell (Tenny [0054] RNs may also be commonly referred to as remote radio heads (RRHs), pico cells, femto cells, low power cells, relay UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Li et al. by incorporating Tenny et al. 5g system to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have utilized new radio components to extend cell coverage.
Claims 10-11, 15-17, 25-26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 20110103269 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20180159671 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Zheng [0007] relay station 102), comprising:
one or more memories (Note: inherent in a UE); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Note: inherent in a UE) and configured to cause the network entity to:
output, for a user equipment (UE), a configuration signal that indicates a transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0007] the wireless communication device 103 receives schedule information and a hybrid-automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback signal transmitted from the type 1 relay station 102);
obtain a broadcast signal based at least in part on a broadcast reception capability at the network entity (Zheng [0014] the relay station receives data or a control signal in the time slot 1),; and
output, for the UE, a relay signal within at least a portion of a time slot based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0014] the wireless communication device can receive the data or control signal from the relay station in the time slot 2), wherein the relay signal comprises a relay of the broadcast signal (Zheng [0019] The relay station is adapted for relaying data or control signalling data between at least a base station and at least a wireless communication device).
Zheng does not teach
wherein the broadcast signal comprises one or more systematic information bits and one or more redundancy coding bits.
In a similar endeavor, Kim et al. teach
wherein the broadcast signal comprises one or more systematic information bits and one or more redundancy coding bits (Kim [0048]-[0050] the BS transmits broadcast information to the UE through the PBCH in a communication system ... The BS generates a total of 40 bits of an MIB bit sequence by adding Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) bits of 16 bits to the MIB of 24 bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Zheng by incorporating Kim et al. broadcasting signal generation to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have detected transmission errors.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
configure the UE to identify a start time for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0014] There is required a gap for transiting from receiving state to transmitting state between the time slot 1 and the time slot 2 ); and
configure the UE to initiate, at the identified start time, a monitor procedure to monitor the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity (Zheng [0014] There is required a gap for transiting from receiving state to transmitting state between the time slot 1 and the time slot 2 such that the wireless communication device can receive the data or control signal from the relay station in the time slot 2). .
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein a timing boundary associated with the output of the relay signal (Note: interpreted as the starting boundary of time slot 2 in Zheng Fig. 2B where the time slot 2 is associated with the output of the relay signal) is equal to a timing boundary associated with acquisition of the broadcast signal (Note: interpreted as the end boundary of time slot 1 in Zheng Fig. 2B where the time slot 1 is associated with the acquisition of the broadcast signal by the relay station)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the broadcast signal is obtained from at least one of a broadcast transmitter, a second network entity (Zheng [0019] The relay station is adapted for relaying data or control signalling data between at least a base station and at least a wireless communication device), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the relay signal comprises an in-band signal (Zheng [0059] in the time slot 1, both the base station 601 and the type 2 relay station 602 both transmit downlink data or downlink control signalling data to the wireless communication device 603 by using the second band f2), or an out-of-band signal, or both.
Regarding claim 25, Zheng teaches A method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
outputting, for a user equipment (UE), a configuration signal that indicates a transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0007] the wireless communication device 103 receives schedule information and a hybrid-automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback signal transmitted from the type 1 relay station 102);
obtaining a broadcast signal based at least in part on a broadcast reception capability at the network entity (Zheng [0014] the relay station receives data or a control signal in the time slot 1),; and
outputting, for the UE, a relay signal within at least a portion of a time slot based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0014] the wireless communication device can receive the data or control signal from the relay station in the time slot 2), wherein the relay signal comprises a relay of the broadcast signal (Zheng [0019] The relay station is adapted for relaying data or control signalling data between at least a base station and at least a wireless communication device).
Zheng does not teach
wherein the broadcast signal comprises one or more systematic information bits and one or more redundancy coding bits.
In a similar endeavor, Kim et al. teach
wherein the broadcast signal comprises one or more systematic information bits and one or more redundancy coding bits (Kim [0048]-[0050] the BS transmits broadcast information to the UE through the PBCH in a communication system ... The BS generates a total of 40 bits of an MIB bit sequence by adding Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) bits of 16 bits to the MIB of 24 bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Zheng by incorporating Kim et al. broadcasting signal generation to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have detected transmission errors.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising:
configuring the UE to identify a start time for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity(Zheng [0014] There is required a gap for transiting from receiving state to transmitting state between the time slot 1 and the time slot 2 ); and
configuring the UE to initiate, at the identified start time, a monitor procedure to monitor the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity (Zheng [0014] There is required a gap for transiting from receiving state to transmitting state between the time slot 1 and the time slot 2 such that the wireless communication device can receive the data or control signal from the relay station in the time slot 2). .
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 25, wherein a timing boundary associated with the output of the relay signal (Note: interpreted as the starting boundary of time slot 2 in Zheng Fig. 2B where the time slot 2 is associated with the output of the relay signal) is equal to a timing boundary associated with acquisition of the broadcast signal (Note: interpreted as the end boundary of time slot 1 in Zheng Fig. 2B where the time slot 1 is associated with the acquisition of the broadcast signal by the relay station)
Claims 12 and 27 /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., in view of Kim et al , and in further view of Seo et al. (EP 2706689 B1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
output, for the UE, a physical downlink control channel based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0048] he type 1 relay station 502 transmits the downlink data or the downlink control signalling data to the wireless communication device 503 by using the second band f2), wherein the physical downlink control channel is output in a time instance identified in the configuration signal (Zheng Fig. 5B showing the transmission in Time slot 1).
The combination of Zheng and Kim et al. does not teach
configure the UE to initiate a monitor procedure to monitor at least the portion of the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on receipt of the physical downlink control channel.
In a similar endeavor, Seo et al. teach
configure the UE to initiate a monitor procedure to monitor at least the portion of the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on receipt of the physical downlink control channel (Seo Fig. 9, Seo [0045] Referring to FIG. 9, in a first subframe that is a normal subframe, a downlink (i.e., an access downlink) control signal and data are transmitted from a relay node to a user equipment, Seo [0045] The PDCCH informs each user equipment or UE group of resource allocation information on transport channels PCH (paging channel) and DL-SCH (downlink-shared channel), uplink scheduling grant, HARQ information and the like. The PCH (paging channel) and the DL-SCH (downlink-shared channel) are carried on the PDSCH. Therefore, a base station or a user equipment normally transmits or receives data via the PDSCH except specific control information or specific service data. Note: the UE monitor the data portion of the first subframe for receiving the relay signal based on the PDCCH received in the control information portion of the first subframe) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. by incorporating Seo et al. and replacing Zheng second subframe by Seo first subframe structure to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the UE to receive the relay signal.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising:
outputting, for the UE, a physical downlink control channel based at least in part on the transmission mode of the network entity (Zheng [0048] he type 1 relay station 502 transmits the downlink data or the downlink control signalling data to the wireless communication device 503 by using the second band f2), wherein the physical downlink control channel is output in a time instance identified in the configuration signal (Zheng Fig. 5B showing the transmission in Time slot 1).
The combination of Zheng and Kim et al. does not teach
configuring the UE to initiate a monitor procedure to monitor at least the portion of the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on receipt of the physical downlink control channel.
In a similar endeavor, Seo et al. teach
configuring the UE to initiate a monitor procedure to monitor at least the portion of the time slot for reception of the relay signal from the network entity based at least in part on receipt of the physical downlink control channel (Seo Fig. 9, Seo [0045] Referring to FIG. 9, in a first subframe that is a normal subframe, a downlink (i.e., an access downlink) control signal and data are transmitted from a relay node to a user equipment, Seo [0045] The PDCCH informs each user equipment or UE group of resource allocation information on transport channels PCH (paging channel) and DL-SCH (downlink-shared channel), uplink scheduling grant, HARQ information and the like. The PCH (paging channel) and the DL-SCH (downlink-shared channel) are carried on the PDSCH. Therefore, a base station or a user equipment normally transmits or receives data via the PDSCH except specific control information or specific service data. Note: the UE monitor the data portion of the first subframe for receiving the relay signal based on the PDCCH received in the control information portion of the first subframe) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. by incorporating Seo et al. and replacing Zheng second subframe by Seo first subframe structure to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the UE to receive the relay signal.
Claim 13, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., in view of Kim et al , and in further view of Li et al.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10,, but does not teach
wherein the broadcast reception capability at the network entity is based at least in part on at least one of a circuitry included in the network entity, a broadcast reception quality at the network entity, a current load at the network entity, or a combination thereof.
In similar endeavor, Li et al. teach
wherein the broadcast reception capability at the network entity is based at least in part on at least one of a circuitry included in the network entity, a broadcast reception quality at the network entity (Li [0148] the predetermined criterion may include at least one of the following: .. channel quality between the one UE and a Uu interface of the base station 10 is the optimal), a current load at the network entity, or a combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. by incorporating Li et al. channel quality to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have provided optimal channel quality.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10,but does not teach
further comprising an antenna configured to:
receive, from the UE, a second signal that queries the broadcast reception capability of the network entity, wherein the output configuration signal indicates the broadcast reception capability.
In similar endeavor, Li et al. teach
receive, from the UE, a second signal that queries the broadcast reception capability of the network entity(Li [0128] the UE that receives the relay request message sent by the first UE 20 ) , wherein the output configuration signal indicates the broadcast reception capability (Li Relay response message 305 in Fig. 3) based at least in part on the second signal (Li Relay request message 303 in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. by incorporating Li et al. query to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have provided searched for a relay node.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 25, but does not teach
wherein the broadcast reception capability at the network entity is based at least in part on at least one of a circuitry included in the network entity, a broadcast reception quality at the network entity, a current load at the network entity, or a combination thereof.
In similar endeavor, Li et al. teach
wherein the broadcast reception capability at the network entity is based at least in part on at least one of a circuitry included in the network entity, a broadcast reception quality at the network entity (Li [0148] the predetermined criterion may include at least one of the following: .. channel quality between the one UE and a Uu interface of the base station 10 is the optimal), a current load at the network entity, or a combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. by incorporating Li et al. channel quality to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have provided optimal channel quality.
Claim 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., in view of Kim et al , and in further view of Khandani (US 20180309502 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach
wherein, to output the relay signal, the one or more processors are configured to cause the network entity to:
output, for the UE, a beamformed transmission that comprises the relay signal.
In a similar endeavor, Khandani teaches
output, for the UE, a beamformed transmission that comprises the relay signal (Khandani [0097] a transmitter1 including RF beamforming filter 1502 and a transmitter 2 including RF beamforming filter 1504 operate to relay signals received via Receivers 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. by incorporating Khandani beamforming to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have reduced self interference.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Zheng and Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 25, but does not teach
the outputting the relay signal comprising: outputting, for the UE, a beamformed transmission that comprises the relay signal.
In a similar endeavor, Khandani teaches
the outputting the relay signal comprising: outputting, for the UE, a beamformed transmission that comprises the relay signal (Khandani [0097] a transmitter1 including RF beamforming filter 1502 and a transmitter 2 including RF beamforming filter 1504 operate to relay signals received via Receivers 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. by incorporating Khandani beamforming to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have reduced self interference.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., in view of Kim al. , and in further view of Miao et al. (US 20180249461 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach
wherein the relay signal is output via millimeter wave frequencies and the broadcast signal is output via sub-6 frequencies.
In a similar endeavor, Miao et al.
wherein the relay signal is output via millimeter wave frequencies (Miao [0062] the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal transmitted by the RN-5 128 may be used by other relay nodes for uplink beam alignment (as described in further detail with reference to FIG. 5, identifying possible backhaul routes by newly camped relay nodes, or by UEs that are to use mmWave RAT as a user-access mechanism) and the broadcast signal is output via sub-6 frequencies (Miao [0074] The first radio circuitry 608 may include a radio transceiver that is to operate in a mobile broadband spectrum. For example, the first radio circuitry 608 may include radio transmit/receive circuitry that is configured to transmit/receive RF signals having frequencies less than approximately 6 GHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. by incorporating Miao et al. relay system to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have increased the special reuse factor (See Miao [0004])
Regarding claim 19, modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 10, but does not teach
wherein the broadcast signal is obtained from a broadcast transmitter, and wherein the broadcast transmitter comprises a new radio broadcast transmitter and the network entity comprises a new radio small cell.
In a similar endeavor, Miao et al.
wherein the broadcast signal is obtained from a broadcast transmitter, and wherein the broadcast transmitter comprises a new radio broadcast transmitter (Miao [0003] Millimeter-wave (mmWave) communication has been considered as a promising technique to fulfill prospective requirements of 5G mobile system) and the network entity comprises a new radio ((Miao [0062] the RN-5 128 may start to transmit the discovery signal. The discovery signal transmitted by the RN-5 128 may be used by other relay nodes for uplink beam alignment (as described in further detail with reference to FIG. 5), identifying possible backhaul routes by newly camped relay nodes, or by UEs that are to use mmWave RAT as a user-access mechanism ) small cell (Miao [0023] A relay node as described herein may provide backhaul support and, in some embodiments, may also be equipped to provide radio access to users through a small cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zheng et al. and Kim et al. by incorporating Miao et al. relay system to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have increased the special reuse factor (See Miao [0004]).
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644