DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Li et al (US20240162508A1).
A vehicle (fig. 1) comprising:
an electric machine (“electrified vehicle 12 in the form of a battery electric vehicle (BEV)”);
a traction battery (traction battery 24); and
a controller(“controller 48”, BECM 50 is a traction battery controller) programmed (¶0095-0096 “pre-programmed profile”, “Once the pre-programmed profile is completely executed”) to command discharge of power from the traction battery (¶0033 last sentence) for the electric machine (figure 1 & 8A) according to data of the traction battery (e.g., “capacity”, “first terminal voltage”, “SOC”, “parameter estimations” etc.) from instances of time (“first time”, “second time”, ¶0011 “given time”, ¶0066 “discrete time state”) selected based on a net amp-hour (“Ah”, “ampere-hour”, equation 00007) throughput uncertainty associated with the instances of time (see equation 00002 “Uncertainties associated with equation (1)” equation 1 is Q capacity equation, two paragraphs above).
Claim 14 Li discloses the vehicle of claim 13, wherein the controller is further programmed to selectively store the data based on the net amp-hour throughput uncertainty (figures 7, 8A/B, “battery energy control module (BECM)”, ¶0074 “BECM 50 obtains a measurement of the current discharged from traction battery 24 during the drive time (i.e., the ampere-hour (Ah) “, “BeCM 50 is to detect the final SOC (independent of the Ah integration) process”).
Claim 15 Li discloses the vehicle of claim 13, wherein the data include a current of the traction battery (Abstract 1st sentence, claim 10 & figures 9A/C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107179509A in view of applicant cited Li et al (US 9187007).
An automotive power system (fig. 1) comprising:
a traction battery (124 & “traction battery pack 200” see fig. 2); and
a controller (148 fig. 1) programmed to adjust a maximum discharge power of the traction battery (¶0013 “changing the maximum charge/discharge power limit of the traction battery by a controller”) according to an estimated capacity (¶0013 “wherein the capacity change of the traction battery is derived from open-loop estimation and closed-loop estimation”) that depends on data of the traction battery (fig. 2 “Battery Energy Control Module (BECM)”) from instances of time selected based on a delta state of charge uncertainty (fig. 5 shows ΔSOC and current with SOC related to time, ¶0039) associated with the instances of time.
CN107179509A does not disclose the concept of “uncertainty associated with the instances of time”.
Li discloses an automotive power system with batteries and SOC measuring and ΔSOC (col. 2 ll 9-11). Li also discloses uncertainty associated with instances of time in measuring the ΔSOC (Abstract 2nd sentence, claim 1). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to upgrade the controller of CN107179509A with the SOC uncertainty measuring as taught by Li. A motivation for this improvement to CN107179509A would be to quantify the confidence with the estimations. This combination follows KSR case law rationale A; combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2 CN107179509A discloses the automotive power system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to selectively store the data based on the delta state of charge uncertainty (¶0041 “a closed-loop battery SOC estimator, a battery cell model compact enough to be executed in a microcontroller, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control system”).
Claim 3 CN107179509A discloses the automotive power system of claim 1, wherein the data include states of charge of the traction battery (¶0005).
Claim 4 CN107179509A discloses the automotive power system of claim 3, wherein some of the states of charge are measured (¶0036 “battery pack current measurement module 208” & 212) and other of the states of charge are estimated (¶0039 & ¶0054 “SOC estimation”).
Claim 5 CN107179509A discloses the automotive power system of claim 1, wherein the estimated capacity further depends on a charge or discharge experienced by the traction battery (claim 6) during a time period that corresponds with the instances of time (figures 5 & 6 shows instances and periods of time on X axis).
Claim 6 CN107179509A discloses the automotive power system of claim 1, wherein the delta state of charge uncertainty (¶0025 & 0026 with figures 5 & 6) depends on states of charge of the traction battery (claims 6 & 10).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107179509A in view of Belt et al (US20180056973A).
A method comprising: adjusting (“controller 148”, fig. 1) a maximum discharge power for a traction battery (124 & “traction battery pack 200” see fig. 2) according to an estimated capacity (¶0013 “wherein the capacity change of the traction battery is derived from open-loop estimation and closed-loop estimation”) that depends on data of the traction battery (fig. 2 “Battery Energy Control Module (BECM)”) from instances of time corresponding to a delta state of charge uncertainty (fig. 5 shows ΔSOC and current with SOC related to time, ¶0039) value less than a predefined threshold.
CN107179509A does not disclose the concept of SOC uncertainty less than a predefined threshold.
Belt discloses a method involving a traction battery (fig. 2 & “battery 66 (e.g., traction battery)”) and a delta state of charge uncertainty value less than a predefined threshold (¶0004 “the state of charge is depleted below a predefined threshold”, ¶0015 “the battery SOC 10 decreases to a predefined charge”, ¶0050 “the SOC 10 is depleted to or below a predefined threshold (e.g, 50%, 25%, 10%, 5%, or 0%)”). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to modulate the method of CN107179509A with a ΔSOC uncertainty value less than a predefined threshold as taught by Belt. One motivation for this change to CN107179509A would be to increase the functionality of CN107179509A. This combination follows KSR case law rationale A; combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 CN107179509A discloses the method of claim 7 further comprising selectively storing the data based on the delta state of charge uncertainty value (¶0041 “a closed-loop battery SOC estimator, a battery cell model compact enough to be executed in a microcontroller, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control system”).
Claim 9 CN107179509A discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the data includes states of charge of the traction battery (¶0005).
Claim 10 CN107179509A discloses the method of clam 9 further comprising measuring (¶0036 “battery pack current measurement module 208” & 212) some of the states of charge and estimating (¶0039 & ¶0054 “SOC estimation”) other of the states of charge.
Claim 11 CN107179509A discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the estimated capacity further depends on a charge or discharge experienced by the traction battery (claim 6) during a time period that corresponds with the instances of time (figures 5 & 6 shows instances and periods of time on X axis).
Claim 12 CN107179509A discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the delta state of charge uncertainty value depends on states of charge (¶0025 & 0026 with figures 5 & 6) of the traction battery.
Conclusion
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658