DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amended claims filed on 15 January 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that Kim and Shin, alone or in combination, fail to teach the processes of that in claims 1 and 11, as well as their dependents.
Applicant states that Kim fails to disclose claims 1 and 11 element “determining a plurality of candidate primary synchronization signal (PSS) parameter sets based on the selected frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets respectively includes any of a PSS symbol rate, a PSS sequence length, a cyclic shift, a sequence identifier, a cyclic prefix length, a pulse shape, or a PSS periodicity.” The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Kim explains that during initial cell search the UE uses the PSS/SSS to determine time and frequency parameters needed for synchronization (Kim, [0053]), which reflects an active determination process. Kim also discloses that the NR system defines multiple PSS sequences (Kim, [0122]) and supports multiple subcarrier spacings (Kim, [0116]-[0120], [0144]-[0148]). Since subcarrier spacing (selected frequency configuration) determines symbol rate and affects sequence length (Kim, [0148]), the disclosed alternatives represent different PSS configurations that are evaluated during synchronization. In order to synchronize, the UE evaluates these defined alternatives during cell search, thereby determining multiple possible PSS parameter configurations.
Applicant states Kim and Shin fail to disclose claims 1 and 11 element “determining a plurality of candidate secondary synchronization signal (SSS) parameter sets based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS or the selected synchronization frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SSS parameter sets respectively includes any of a SSS symbol rate, a SSS center frequency, a quasi collocation (QCL) type associated with the detected SC-PSS, or a PSS-to-SSS time offset relative to the detected SC-PSS.” The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Kim discloses that, for each detected NR-PSS, 334 corresponding NR-SSS hypotheses are defined (Kim, [0122]), and these hypotheses are generated using different sequence parameters (Kim, [0123]). Since the SSS hypotheses correspond to the detected PSS and are evaluated during synchronization (Kim, [0052]-[0053]), Kim teaches determining multiple SSS configurations that depend on the detected PSS.
Applicant states Kim and Shin fails to disclose claims 2-6 and 12-16 element “determining a PBCH resource using a first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC-SSS, wherein the SC-PBCH transmission is received using the determined PBCH resource.” The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Kim discloses that the UE acquires a cell identifier by receiving the S-SCH during initial cell search (Kim, [0043]). Kim further describes that the PSS, SSS, and PBCH are transmitted within an NR synchronization signal (SS) block having defined resource element mappings (Kim, [0114]-[0120], see fig. 9). Since the SS block includes the SSS and the associated PBCH mapped to predetermined resource elements within that block, detection of the SSS inherently identifies the SS block transmission instance and the predefined resource elements used for PBCH within that block. Thus, the PBCH resource is determined using sequence identifier indicated by the detected SSS, and the SC-PBCH transmission is received using that determined resource.
Applicant has amended claims 8 and 18 to recite “wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to: accessing the cell based on system information, wherein the SC-PBCH transmission includes system information associated with a cell of the wireless network.” The examiner respectfully maintains the rejection. Kim discloses that after detecting the PSS/SSS during initial cell search, a UE receives system information through PBCH, including master information block (MIB) and associated system information blocks (SIBs) (Kim, [0053]-[0055]). The MIB carried on PBCH includes parameters essential for cell access, such as system bandwidth and configuration information (Kim, [0055]), and additional system information may be obtained via SIBs (Kim, [0054]-[0057]). Kim further explains that the UE performs communication with the eNB only after obtaining the system information necessary for configuration of the UE from the eNB ([0053]). Thus, the SC-PBCH transmission includes system information associated with the cell, and the UE accesses the cell based on that system information as recited. Accordingly, the amendment does not overcome the rejection of claims 8 and 18.
Applicant states Kim and Shin fail to disclose claims 7-8, 10, 17-18, 20. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. As mentioned above for claim 1 and 11, while not identical to claims 1 and 11, the limitations of the dependent claims correspond to the functional steps of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 11.
Thus, the examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 based on US 20200015177 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) in view of US 20250048291 A1 to Shin et al. (hereinafter Shin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200015177 A1) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Shin et al. (US 20250048291 A1) (hereinafter Shin):
Regarding Claim 1, Kim-Shin teaches a method:
implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (Kim, Fig. 1, [0037]- [0041]: [0037] FIG. 1 illustrates control-plane and user-plane protocol stacks in a radio interface protocol architecture conforming to a 3GPP wireless access network standard between a User Equipment (UE) and an Evolved UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access Network (E-UTRAN). The control plane is a path in which the UE and the E-UTRAN transmit control messages to manage calls, and the user plane is a path in which data generated from an application layer, for example, voice data or Internet packet data is transmitted.):
selecting a synchronization frequency of a wireless network using single-carrier (SC) operation (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]- [0073]: [0051] An SS will be described in more detail with reference to FIG. 4. An SS is categorized into a PSS (primary synchronization signal) and an SSS (secondary synchronization signal). The PSS is used to acquire time-domain synchronization such as OFDM symbol synchronization, slot synchronization, etc. and/or frequency-domain synchronization. And, the SSS is used to acquire frame synchronization, a cell group ID, and/or a CP configuration of a cell (i.e. information indicating whether to a normal CP or an extended is used). Referring to FIG. 4, a PSS and an SSS are transmitted through two OFDM symbols in each radio frame. Particularly, the SS is transmitted in first slot in each of subframe 0 and subframe 5 in consideration of a GSM (Global System for Mobile communication) frame length of 4.6 ms for facilitation of inter-radio access technology (inter-RAT) measurement. Especially, the PSS is transmitted in a last OFDM symbol in each of the first slot of subframe 0 and the first slot of subframe 5. And, the SSS is transmitted in a second to last OFDM symbol in each of the first slot of subframe 0 and the first slot of subframe 5. Boundaries of a corresponding radio frame may be detected through the SSS. The PSS is transmitted in the last OFDM symbol of the corresponding slot and the SSS is transmitted in the OFDM symbol immediately before the OFDM symbol in which the PSS is transmitted. According to a transmission diversity scheme for the SS, only a single antenna port is used. However, the transmission diversity scheme for the SS standards is not separately defined in the current standard.);
determining a plurality of candidate primary synchronization signal (PSS) parameter sets based on the selected frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets respectively includes any of a PSS symbol rate, a PSS sequence length, a cyclic shift, a sequence identifier, a cyclic prefix length, a pulse shape, or a PSS periodicity (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0149]: [0122] In NR system, the number of NR-PSS sequences is defined as 3 to sort 1,000 cell IDs and the number of hypotheses of NR-SSS corresponding to each NR-PSS is defined as 334. [0123] NR-SSS sequence is generated as a single long sequence. To generate 334 hypotheses, the NR-SSS sequence is generated as a combination of 2 M-sequences having different polynomials. For example, if a cyclic shift value for a first M-sequence is 112 and a cyclic shift value for a second M-sequence is 3, total 336 hypotheses can be obtained. In this case, a scrambling sequence for NR-PSS can be obtained by applying a third M-sequence.);
detecting a SC-PSS using a candidate PSS parameter set of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]: [0053] Having demodulated a DL signal by performing a cell search procedure using the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission at an accurate time, a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information necessary for a system configuration of the UE from the eNB.);
detecting a first SC-SSS using a candidate SSS parameter set of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]-[0073]: [0053] Having demodulated a DL signal by performing a cell search procedure using the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission at an accurate time, a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information necessary for a system configuration of the UE from the eNB.); and
receiving a SC physical broadcast channel (SC-PBCH) transmission using the detected SC- SSS (Kim, Fig. 2, Fig. 8, [0042]- [0047], [0093]- [0126]: [0043] Referring to FIG. 2, when a UE is powered on or enters a new cell, the UE performs initial cell search (S201). The initial cell search involves acquisition of synchronization to an eNB. Specifically, the UE synchronizes its timing to the eNB and acquires a cell Identifier (ID) and other information by receiving a Primary Synchronization Channel (P-SCH) and a Secondary Synchronization Channel (S-SCH) from the eNB. Then the UE may acquire information broadcast in the cell by receiving a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) from the eNB. During the initial cell search, the UE may monitor a DL channel state by receiving a DownLink Reference Signal (DL RS).).
Thus, Kim does not explicitly teach a quasi collocation (QCL) type in the claimed element determining a plurality of candidate secondary synchronization signal (SSS) parameter sets based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS or the selected synchronization frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SSS parameter sets includes any of a SSS symbol rate, a SSS center frequency, a quasi collocation (QCL) type, or a PSS- to-SSS time offset relative to the detected SC-PSS.
Similar to the system of Kim teaching the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission while a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information, Shin teaches 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship, which combined can be seen as, determining a plurality of candidate secondary synchronization signal (SSS) parameter sets based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS or the selected synchronization frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SSS parameter respectively includes any of a SSS symbol rate, a SSS center frequency, a quasi collocation (QCL) type associated with the detected SC-PSS, (Shin, Fig. 2, [0081]: [0081] FIG. 2 is an example on μ=2 (SCS is 60 kHz), 1 subframe may include 4 slots referring to Table 3. 1 subframe= {1,2,4} slot shown in FIG. 2 is an example, the number of slots which may be included in 1 subframe is defined as in Table 3 or Table 4. In addition, a mini-slot may include 2, 4 or 7 symbols or more or less symbols. Regarding a physical resource in a NR system, an antenna port, a resource grid, a resource element, a resource block, a carrier part, etc. may be considered. Hereinafter, the physical resources which may be considered in an NR system will be described in detail. First, in relation to an antenna port, an antenna port is defined so that a channel where a symbol in an antenna port is carried can be inferred from a channel where other symbol in the same antenna port is carried. When a large-scale property of a channel where a symbol in one antenna port is carried may be inferred from a channel where a symbol in other antenna port is carried, it may be said that 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship. In this case, the large-scale property includes at least one of delay spread, doppler spread, frequency shift, average received power, received timing.) and (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Shin to reduce overhead and improve synchronization performance, as both references address the problem of enabling accurate and efficient initial access and synchronization in wireless network. Shin explicitly teaches the use of quasi co-location (QCL) relationships between antenna ports, which allow reuse of channel estimation results across ports, thereby minimizing measurement effort and signaling overhead (Shin, [0071]). Secondly, as Kim notes, enhanced mobile broadband communication trends, including mmWave deployment, rely on beamforming with multiple antenna elements to improve coverage and throughput (Kim, [0086]). Furthermore, combining Shin’s QCL teaching to Kim’s synchronization procedures to achieve predicable results of faster and more reliable PSS/SSS detection and PBCH acquisition.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the method of claim 1:
determining a frequency range or band from a set of frequency bands of the wireless network (Kim, Fig. 3, [0048]- [0049]: [0049] Referring to FIG. 3, a radio frame is 10 ms (327200×Ts) long and divided into 10 equal-sized subframes. Each subframe is 1 ms long and further divided into two slots. Each time slot is 0.5 ms (15360×Ts) long. Herein, Ts represents a sampling time and Ts=1/(15 kHz×2048)=3.2552×10−8 (about 33 ns). A slot includes a plurality of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols or SC-FDMA symbols in the time domain by a plurality of Resource Blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain. In the LTE system, one RB includes 12 subcarriers by 7 (or 6) OFDM symbols. A unit time during which data is transmitted is defined as a Transmission Time Interval (TTI). The TTI may be defined in units of one or more subframes. The above-described radio frame structure is purely exemplary and thus the number of subframes in a radio frame, the number of slots in a subframe, or the number of OFDM symbols in a slot may vary.); and
determining a set of candidate synchronization frequencies of the determined frequency range or band (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]- [0072]: [0057] A DL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained by MIB carried by PBCH. A UL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained through system information corresponding to a DL signal. Having received the MIB, if there is no valid system information stored in a corresponding cell, a UE applies a value of a DL BW included in the MIB to a UL bandwidth until system information block type 2 (SystemInformationBlockType2, SIB2) is received. For example, if the UE obtains the SIB2, the UE is able to identify the entire UL system bandwidth capable of being used for UL transmission through UL-carrier frequency and UL-bandwidth information included in the SIB2.),
wherein the selected synchronization frequency is from the set of candidate synchronization frequencies, and wherein the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets are associated with the determined frequency range or band (Kim, Fig. 4, Fig. 9, [0050]- [0072], [0114]-[0126]: [0126] For example, if an NR-SS burst set is transmitted 4 times within a default period, an original set of an NR-SSS sequence is applied to a first NR-SS burst set and an NR-SSS sequence different from the original set can be regarded as applied to second to fourth NR-SS burst sets. Moreover, if 2 different NR-SSS sequence sets are used, one NR-SSS sequence set is used for first and third NR-SSS burst sets and the other NR-SSS sequence set can be used for second and fourth NR-SSS burst sets.).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the method of claim 1:
determining a PBCH resource using a first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC-SSS (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: [0043] Referring to FIG. 2, when a UE is powered on or enters a new cell, the UE performs initial cell search (S201). The initial cell search involves acquisition of synchronization to an eNB. Specifically, the UE synchronizes its timing to the eNB and acquires a cell Identifier (ID) and other information by receiving a Primary Synchronization Channel (P-SCH) and a Secondary Synchronization Channel (S-SCH) from the eNB. Then the UE may acquire information broadcast in the cell by receiving a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) from the eNB. During the initial cell search, the UE may monitor a DL channel state by receiving a DownLink Reference Signal (DL RS).),
wherein the SC-PBCH transmission is received using the determined PBCH resource (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: [0046] After the above procedure, the UE may receive a PDCCH and/or a PDSCH from the eNB (S207) and transmit a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and/or a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) to the eNB (S208), which is a general DL and UL signal transmission procedure. Particularly, the UE receives Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a PDCCH. Herein, the DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE. Different DCI formats are defined according to different usages of DCI.).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim-Shin teaches the method of claim 3:
wherein the determining the PBCH resource using the first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC SSS includes (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: See [0043] above.):
determining a second sequence identifier based on the first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC-SSS (Kim, Fig.4, [0052]- [0073]: [0055] The MIB includes most frequently transmitted parameters which are essential for a UE to initially access a network served by an eNB. The UE may receive the MIB through a broadcast channel (e.g. a PBCH). The MIB includes a downlink system bandwidth (DL BW), a PHICH configuration, and a system frame number (SFN). Thus, the UE can explicitly know information on the DL BW, SFN, and PHICH configuration by receiving the PBCH. On the other hand, the UE may implicitly know information on the number of transmission antenna ports of the eNB. The information on the number of the transmission antennas of the eNB is implicitly signaled by masking (e.g. XOR operation) a sequence corresponding to the number of the transmission antennas to 16-bit CRC (cyclic redundancy check) used in detecting an error of the PBCH.);
determining the PBCH resource based on the detected second SC-SSS (Kim, Fig. 9, [0111]-[0126]: [0126] For example, if an NR-SS burst set is transmitted 4 times within a default period, an original set of an NR-SSS sequence is applied to a first NR-SS burst set and an NR-SSS sequence different from the original set can be regarded as applied to second to fourth NR-SS burst sets. Moreover, if 2 different NR-SSS sequence sets are used, one NR-SSS sequence set is used for first and third NR-SSS burst sets and the other NR-SSS sequence set can be used for second and fourth NR-SSS burst sets.).
Thus, Kim does not explicitly teach a quasi collocation (QCL) type in the claimed element detecting a second SC-SSS using (i) any of the SSS symbol rate, the SSS center frequency, the quasi collocation (QCL) type, or the PSS-to-SSS time offset of the candidate SSS parameter set used to detect the first SC-SSS and (ii) the second sequence identifier.
Similar to the system of Kim teaching the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission while a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information, Shin teaches 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship, which combined can be seen as, detecting a second SC-SSS using (i) any of the SSS symbol rate, the SSS center frequency, the quasi collocation (QCL) type, or the PSS-to-SSS time offset of the candidate SSS parameter set used to detect the first SC-SSS and (ii) the second sequence identifier (Shin, Fig. 2, [0081]: [0081] FIG. 2 is an example on μ=2 (SCS is 60 kHz), 1 subframe may include 4 slots referring to Table 3. 1 subframe= {1,2,4} slot shown in FIG. 2 is an example, the number of slots which may be included in 1 subframe is defined as in Table 3 or Table 4. In addition, a mini-slot may include 2, 4 or 7 symbols or more or less symbols. Regarding a physical resource in a NR system, an antenna port, a resource grid, a resource element, a resource block, a carrier part, etc. may be considered. Hereinafter, the physical resources which may be considered in an NR system will be described in detail. First, in relation to an antenna port, an antenna port is defined so that a channel where a symbol in an antenna port is carried can be inferred from a channel where other symbol in the same antenna port is carried. When a large-scale property of a channel where a symbol in one antenna port is carried may be inferred from a channel where a symbol in other antenna port is carried, it may be said that 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship. In this case, the large-scale property includes at least one of delay spread, doppler spread, frequency shift, average received power, received timing.) and (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Shin so that the PBCH resource determination taught by Kim would further utilize the quasi-colocation relationships between antenna ports as taught by Shin. By incorporating QCL information when detecting the second SC-SSS and determining the PBCH resource, it would reduce ambiguity in the cell and beam identification process and improve accuracy of PBCH resource mapping, which leads to more efficient initial access. Shin explicitly teaches that antenna ports may be in a QCL relationship, allowing a receiver to infer channel properties of one port from another, reducing measurement overhead and improving channel estimation (Shin, [0071]). Applying this to Kim’s PBCH resource determination procedure creates results by enabling a UE to reliably identify PBCH resources associated with the correct beam or TRP, would improve initial access performance and reduce the risk of decoding errors.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the method of claim 4:
wherein the SC-PSS and the first SC-SSS in combination include information indicating a first part of any of a cell identifier, a transmission/reception point (TRP) identifier, or a beam identifier, and wherein the SC-PSS and the second SC-SSS in combination include information indicating a second part of the cell identifier, the TRP identifier, or the beam identifier (Kim, Fig. 5, [0074]- [0079]: [0076] The PCFICH is a physical control format indicator channel carrying information about the number of OFDM symbols used for PDCCHs in each subframe. The PCFICH is located in the first OFDM symbol of a subframe and configured with priority over the PHICH and the PDCCH. The PCFICH includes 4 Resource Element Groups (REGs), each REG being distributed to the control region based on a cell Identity (ID). One REG includes 4 Resource Elements (REs). An RE is a minimum physical resource defined by one subcarrier by one OFDM symbol. The PCFICH is set to 1 to 3 or 2 to 4 according to a bandwidth. The PCFICH is modulated in Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK).).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the method of claim 4:
wherein the first sequence identifier is associated with a first plurality of sequence identifiers and the second sequence identifier is associated with a second plurality of sequence identifiers different than the first plurality of sequence identifiers (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0128]: [0122] In NR system, the number of NR-PSS sequences is defined as 3 to sort 1,000 cell IDs and the number of hypotheses of NR-SSS corresponding to each NR-PSS is defined as 334. [0123] NR-SSS sequence is generated as a single long sequence. To generate 334 hypotheses, the NR-SSS sequence is generated as a combination of 2 M-sequences having different polynomials. For example, if a cyclic shift value for a first M-sequence is 112 and a cyclic shift value for a second M-sequence is 3, total 336 hypotheses can be obtained. In this case, a scrambling sequence for NR-PSS can be obtained by applying a third M-sequence.).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the determining of the plurality of candidate SSS parameter sets is based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS and the selected synchronization frequency (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]-[0055]: [0053] Having demodulated a DL signal by performing a cell search procedure using the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission at an accurate time, a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information necessary for a system configuration of the UE from the eNB. [0054] The system information is configured with a master information block (MIB) and system information blocks (SIBs). Each SIB includes a set of functionally related parameters and is categorized into an MIB, SIB Type 1 (SIB1), SIB Type 2 (SIB2), and SIB3 to SIB8 according to the included parameters.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the method of claim 1:
further comprising: accessing the cell based on system information, wherein the SC-PBCH transmission includes system information associated with a cell of the wireless network (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0060]: [0057] A DL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained by MIB carried by PBCH. A UL carrier frequency and a corresponding system bandwidth can be obtained through system information corresponding to a DL signal. Having received the MIB, if there is no valid system information stored in a corresponding cell, a UE applies a value of a DL BW included in the MIB to a UL bandwidth until system information block type 2 (SystemInformationBlockType2, SIB2) is received. For example, if the UE obtains the SIB2, the UE is able to identify the entire UL system bandwidth capable of being used for UL transmission through UL-carrier frequency and UL-bandwidth information included in the SIB2.).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the PBCH transmission includes information indicating an index of a SSS/PBCH block comprising the detected SC-PSS, the detected first SC-SSS, and the PBCH transmission or a location of the SSS/PBCH block within a frame (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0158]: [0158] Meanwhile, in case of transmitting NR-PSS through N sub-symbol durations, N sequences should be generated respectively. The generated sequences have a length shorter by 1/N than a case of transmitting NR-PSS through 1 whole symbol. The generated sequences may have the same root index or different root indexes all.).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim-Shin teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU):
comprising: a processor, memory, and a transceiver which are configured to (Kim, Fig. 19, [0256]- [0262]: [0258] The memory 1920 is connected to the processor 1910 and stores an Operating System (OS), applications, program codes, data, etc. The RF module 1930, which is connected to the processor 1910, upconverts a baseband signal to an RF signal or downconverts an RF signal to a baseband signal. For this purpose, the RF module 1930 performs digital-to-analog conversion, amplification, filtering, and frequency upconversion or performs these processes reversely. The display module 1940 is connected to the processor 1910 and displays various types of information. The display module 1940 may be configured as, not limited to, a known component such as a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), a Light Emitting Diode (LED) display, and an Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED) display. The UI module 1950 is connected to the processor 1910 and may be configured with a combination of known user interfaces such as a keypad, a touch screen, etc.):
select a synchronization frequency of a wireless network using single carrier (SC) operation (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]- [0073]: See above for [0051]),
determine a plurality of candidate primary synchronization signal (PSS) parameter sets based on the selected frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets respectively, includes any of a PSS symbol rate, a PSS sequence length, a cyclic shift, a sequence identifier, a cyclic prefix length, a pulse shape, or a PSS periodicity (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0149]: See above for [0122] and [0123]),
detect a SC-PSS using a candidate PSS parameter set of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]: See above for [0053]),
detect a first SCSSS using a candidate SSS parameter set of the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]-[0073]: [0053] Having demodulated a DL signal by performing a cell search procedure using the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission at an accurate time, a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information necessary for a system configuration of the UE from the eNB.), and
receive a SC physical broadcast channel (SC-PBCH) transmission using the PBCH resource using the detected SC-SSS (Kim, Fig. 2, Fig. 8, [0042]- [0047], [0093]- [0126]: See above for [0043].).
Thus, Kim does not explicitly teach a quasi collocation (QCL) type in the claimed element determine a plurality of candidate secondary synchronization signal (SSS) parameter sets based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS or the selected synchronization frequency, wherein each of the plurality of candidate SSS parameter sets respectively includes any of a SSS symbol rate, a SSS center frequency, a quasi collocation (QCL) type associated with the detected SC-PSS.
Similar to the system of Kim teaching the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission while a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information, Shin teaches 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship, which combined can be seen as, determine a plurality of candidate secondary synchronization signal (SSS) parameter sets respectively includes any of a SSS symbol rate, a SSS center frequency, a quasi collocation (QCL) type associated with the detected SC-PSS (Shin, Fig. 2, [0081]: See above for [0081].) and (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Shin to reduce overhead and improve synchronization performance, as both references address the problem of enabling accurate and efficient initial access and synchronization in wireless network. Shin explicitly teaches the use of quasi co-location (QCL) relationships between antenna ports, which allow reuse of channel estimation results across ports, thereby minimizing measurement effort and signaling overhead (Shin, [0071]). Secondly, as Kim notes, enhanced mobile broadband communication trends, including mmWave deployment, rely on beamforming with multiple antenna elements to improve coverage and throughput (Kim, [0086]). Furthermore, combining Shin’s QCL teaching to Kim’s synchronization procedures to achieve predicable results of faster and more reliable PSS/SSS detection and PBCH acquisition.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 11:
wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to (Kim, Fig. 19, [0256]- [0262]: See above for [0258].):
determine a frequency range or band from a set of frequency bands of the wireless network (Kim, Fig. 3, [0048]- [0049]: See above for [0049].), and
determine a set of candidate synchronization frequencies of the determined frequency range or band (Kim, Fig. 4, [0050]- [0072]: See above for [0057].),
wherein the selected synchronization frequency is from the set of candidate synchronization frequencies, and wherein the plurality of candidate PSS parameter sets are associated with the determined frequency range or band (Kim, Fig. 4, Fig. 9, [0050]- [0072], [0114]- [0126]: See above for [0126].).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 11:
wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to (Kim, Fig. 19, [0256]- [0262]: See above for [0258].):
determine a PBCH resource using a first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC-SSS (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: See above for [0043].),
wherein the SC-PBCH transmission is received using the determined PBCH resource (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: See above for [0046].).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim-Shin teaches the WTRU of claim 13:
wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to determine the PBCH resource based on the first sequence identifier indicated by the detected first SC-SSS which includes to (Kim, Fig.2, [0042]- [0047]: See [0043] above.):
determine a second sequence identifier based on the first sequence identifier, indicated by the detected first SC- SSS (Kim, Fig.4, [0052]- [0073]: [0055] The MIB includes most frequently transmitted parameters which are essential for a UE to initially access a network served by an eNB. The UE may receive the MIB through a broadcast channel (e.g. a PBCH). The MIB includes a downlink system bandwidth (DL BW), a PHICH configuration, and a system frame number (SFN). Thus, the UE can explicitly know information on the DL BW, SFN, and PHICH configuration by receiving the PBCH. On the other hand, the UE may implicitly know information on the number of transmission antenna ports of the eNB. The information on the number of the transmission antennas of the eNB is implicitly signaled by masking (e.g. XOR operation) a sequence corresponding to the number of the transmission antennas to 16-bit CRC (cyclic redundancy check) used in detecting an error of the PBCH.),
determine the PBCH resource based on the detected second SC-SSS (Kim, Fig. 9, [0111]-[0126]: [0126] For example, if an NR-SS burst set is transmitted 4 times within a default period, an original set of an NR-SSS sequence is applied to a first NR-SS burst set and an NR-SSS sequence different from the original set can be regarded as applied to second to fourth NR-SS burst sets. Moreover, if 2 different NR-SSS sequence sets are used, one NR-SSS sequence set is used for first and third NR-SSS burst sets and the other NR-SSS sequence set can be used for second and fourth NR-SSS burst sets.).
Thus, Kim does not explicitly teach a quasi collocation (QCL) type in the claimed element detect a second SC-SSS using (i) any of the SSS symbol rate, the SSS center frequency, the QCL type, or the PSS-to-SSS time offset of the candidate SSS parameter set used to detect the first SC-SSS and (ii) the second sequence identifier.
Similar to the system of Kim teaching the PSS/SSS and determined time and frequency parameters necessary to perform UL signal transmission while a UE can communicate with an eNB only after obtaining system information, Shin teaches 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship, which combined can be seen as, detect a second SC-SSS using (i) any of the SSS symbol rate, the SSS center frequency, the QCL type, or the PSS-to-SSS time offset of the candidate SSS parameter set used to detect the first SC-SSS and (ii) the second sequence identifier (Shin, Fig. 2, [0081]: [0081] FIG. 2 is an example on μ=2 (SCS is 60 kHz), 1 subframe may include 4 slots referring to Table 3. 1 subframe= {1,2,4} slot shown in FIG. 2 is an example, the number of slots which may be included in 1 subframe is defined as in Table 3 or Table 4. In addition, a mini-slot may include 2, 4 or 7 symbols or more or less symbols. Regarding a physical resource in a NR system, an antenna port, a resource grid, a resource element, a resource block, a carrier part, etc. may be considered. Hereinafter, the physical resources which may be considered in an NR system will be described in detail. First, in relation to an antenna port, an antenna port is defined so that a channel where a symbol in an antenna port is carried can be inferred from a channel where other symbol in the same antenna port is carried. When a large-scale property of a channel where a symbol in one antenna port is carried may be inferred from a channel where a symbol in other antenna port is carried, it may be said that 2 antenna ports are in a QC/QCL (quasi co-located or quasi co-location) relationship. In this case, the large-scale property includes at least one of delay spread, doppler spread, frequency shift, average received power, received timing.) and (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim with Shin so that the PBCH resource determination taught by Kim would further utilize the quasi-colocation relationships between antenna ports as taught by Shin. By incorporating QCL information when detecting the second SC-SSS and determining the PBCH resource, it would reduce ambiguity in the cell and beam identification process and improve accuracy of PBCH resource mapping, which leads to more efficient initial access. Shin explicitly teaches that antenna ports may be in a QCL relationship, allowing a receiver to infer channel properties of one port from another, reducing measurement overhead and improving channel estimation (Shin, [0071]). Applying this to Kim’s PBCH resource determination procedure creates results by enabling a UE to reliably identify PBCH resources associated with the correct beam or TRP, would improve initial access performance and reduce the risk of decoding errors.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 14:
wherein the SC-PSS and the first SC-SSS in combination include information indicating a first part of any of a cell identifier, a transmission/reception point (TRP) identifier, or a beam identifier, and wherein the SC-PSS and the second SC-SSS in combination include information indicating a second part of the cell identifier, the TRP identifier, or the beam identifier (Kim, Fig. 5, [0074]- [0079]: See above for [0076].).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 14:
wherein the first sequence identifier is associated with a first plurality of sequence identifiers and the second sequence identifier is associated with a second plurality of sequence identifiers different than the first plurality of sequence identifiers (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0128]: See above for [0122].).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 11:
wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to determine the plurality of candidate SSS parameter sets based on the candidate PSS parameter set used to detect the SC-PSS and the selected synchronization frequency (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0055]: See above for [0053].).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 11:
wherein the processor, memory, and the transceiver are configured to: access the cell based on system information, wherein the SC-PBCH transmission includes system information associated with a cell of the wireless network (Kim, Fig. 4, [0052]- [0060]: See above for [0057].).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches the WTRU of claim 11:
Wherein the PBCH transmission includes information indicating an index of a SSS/PBCH block comprising the detected SC-PSS, the detected first SC-SSS, and the PBCH transmission or a location of the SSS/PBCH block within a frame (Kim, Fig. 9, [0114]- [0158]: See above for [0158].).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468