Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayoz et al. (EP 2180583) in view of Pilgrim et al. (US 11394255).
1. Hayoz et al. teach:
A system (fig 1), comprising:
a magnetic coupler 30 comprising:
an inner coupling 32 comprising at least two first sections, wherein the inner coupling is configured to be coupled to a drive shaft 22 of a vessel (for mixing vessel, see title); and
an outer coupling 34 comprising at least two second sections, wherein the outer coupling is configured to coaxially surround the inner coupling with a radial gap 70/602 disposed therebetween; and
a drive source (for motor, see machine translation para 0021) configured to be coupled to the outer coupling of the magnetic coupler (fig 2); but does not teach that the inner and outer couplings have two 1st sections and two second sections.
Pilgrim et al. teach that the inner coupling/rotor 120 and outer coupling/stator 140 have two 1st sections 120a & 120b and two 2nd sections 140a & 140b which would aid in the transport and assembly of the device (col 2 4th para).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Hayoz et al. being filed to modify it such that the inner and outer couplings have two 1st sections and two second sections, as taught by Pilgrim et al. so as to ease assembly of the system.
2. Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al. teach:
The system of claim 1, comprising a hub mount (338 of Pilgrim et al.) comprising at least two third sections/shaft collar 334 & 336 coupled directly together (Pilgrim et al. fig 16).
3. Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al. teach:
The system of claim 2, wherein the hub mount is configured to be directly coupled to the drive shaft 10 (of Piglrim et al.) of the vessel (of Hayoz et al.) and disposed about the drive shaft of the vessel (of Hayoz et al.).
4. Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al. teach:
The system of claim 3, wherein the hub mount comprises metal (it is not only inherent that the collar of Pilgrim et al. is composed of such material as that would be the only material strong enough to hold a rotor of that size, but known to construct a collar of such material…the examiner is hereby taking official notice, MPEP 2112) or a carbon-metal composite (it is not only inherent that the collar of Pilgrim et al. is composed of such material as that would be the only material strong enough to hold a rotor of that size, but known to construct a collar of such material…the examiner is hereby taking official notice, MPEP 2112).
5. Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al. teach:
The system of claim 4, wherein the inner coupling (of Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al.) is configured to be disposed about and directly coupled to the hub mount (of Hayoz et al. in view of Pilgrim et al.).
15. Hayoz et al. teach:
A system (fig 1), comprising:
a magnetic coupler 30 comprising:
a drive shaft 22 of a vessel (for mixing vessel, see title);
an inner coupling 32 comprising a first magnet (fig 8 below) and a second magnet (fig 8 below) and a 3rd magnet (fig 8 below), and
an outer coupling 34 and a fourth magnet (fig 8 below), and
wherein the outer coupling is configured to coaxially surround the inner coupling with a radial gap 70/602 disposed therebetween; but does not teach a hub mount comprising a first section and a second section configured to be coupled directly together, wherein the hub mount is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about a drive shaft; the inner coupling comprising a third section comprising a first magnet and a fourth section directly coupled to the third section; wherein the inner coupling is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about the hub mount; and an outer coupling comprising a fifth section comprising a third magnet and a sixth section directly coupled to the fifth section; wherein the fifth section comprises a fourth magnet.
Pilgrim et al. teach that a hub mount (338 of Pilgrim et al.) comprising a first section 115a band a second section 115b configured to be coupled directly together, wherein the hub mount is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about a drive shaft 10; the inner coupling 120 comprising a third section 120a comprising a first magnet (of Hayoz et al.) and a fourth section 120b directly coupled to the third section (Pilgrim et al. fig 8 above); wherein the inner coupling is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about the hub mount (Pilgrim et al. fig 8 above); and an outer coupling 140 comprising a fifth section 140a comprising a third magnet (of Hayoz et al.) and a sixth section 140b directly coupled to the fifth section (Pilgrim et al. fig 8 above); wherein the fifth section comprises a fourth magnet (of Hayoz et al.) to aid in the transport and assembly of the device (col 2 4th para).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Hayoz et al. being filed to modify it such that a hub mount comprising a first section and a second section configured to be coupled directly together, wherein the hub mount is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about a drive shaft; the inner coupling comprising a third section comprising a first magnet and a fourth section directly coupled to the third section; wherein the inner coupling is configured to be directly coupled to and disposed about the hub mount; and an outer coupling comprising a fifth section comprising a third magnet and a sixth section directly coupled to the fifth section; wherein the fifth section comprises a fourth magnet, as taught by Pilgrim et al. so as to ease assembly of the system.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilgrim et al. in view of Hayoz et al.
19. Pilgrim et al. teach:
A method, comprising:
directly coupling a first section 115a of a hub mount 115 to a second section 115b of the hub mount about a drive shaft 10 of a vessel (col 4 9th para);
directly coupling a third section 120a of an inner coupling 120 comprising a first magnet to a fourth section 120b of the inner coupling comprising a second magnet about the hub mount; and
directly coupling a fifth section 140a of an outer coupling 140 comprising a third magnet to a sixth section 140b of the outer coupling comprising a fourth magnet about the inner coupling with a radial gap (inherently disclosed) disposed therebetween; but does not teach that the inner and outer couplings form a magnetic coupler comprising the hub mount, the inner coupling, and the outer coupling with the 1st-4th magnets disposed in the aforementioned sections.
Hayoz et al. teach that the inner and outer couplings 32 & 34 form a magnetic coupler 30 comprising the hub mount (of Pilgrim et al.), the inner coupling, and the outer coupling with the 1st-4th magnets (see annotated Hayoz et al. above) disposed in the aforementioned sections. By having the method of Pilgreim et al. used on the magnetic coupler of Hayoz et al. the method would have improved versatility.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Pilgrim et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the inner and outer couplings form a magnetic coupler comprising the hub mount, the inner coupling, and the outer coupling with the 1st-4th magnets disposed in the aforementioned sections, as taught by Hayoz et al. so as to improve the versatility of the method.
20. Pilgrim et al. in view of Hayoz et al. teach:
The method of claim 19, comprising disposing the magnetic coupler (of Hayoz et al.) in a mounting bracket (312 + 314 of Pilgrim et al.) configured to support the magnetic coupler while allowing for rotational movement of the magnetic coupler with respect to the mounting bracket (Pilgrim et al. fig 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834