DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This office action is issued in response to communication filed on 10/23/2025. Claims 1-26 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Objection to claim 2 has been withdrawn in response to applicant’s amendment that overcomes the objection.
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/23/2025 with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered and are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully traverses applicant’s arguments.
Applicant argues “Applicant respectfully asserts the Office Action’s mapping to be incorrect and inconsistent with itself, because the mapping fails to disclose the claimed scenario of, while starting in an initial state (e.g., FIG. 19A), an input directed to the first touch screen causes the first and second touch screens to be modified, while an input directed to the second touch screen, starting from the same initial state (e.g., FIG. 19A), causes only the second touch screen to be modified while the first touch screen remains unchanged. The Office Action’s mapping to Seo relies on mapping to two different initial states in Seo, not the same initial state. In other words, the Office Action’s mapping to Seo relies on different inputs directed to the device in Seo while it is in different states, rather than relying on different inputs directed to the device in Seo while it is in the same initial state, as required by claim 1.” (Applicant’s arguments at page 13)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 as recited does not require that the different inputs directed to the same initial state as applicant asserts. Claim 1 recites in part “while concurrently displaying the first content and the second content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to change currently-displayed content on the electronic device”. That is an input is “to change the currently displayed content on the electronic device”, NOT the input to change the “concurrently displaying the first and second content” (bold and underlined emphasis added) . In other words, claim 1 does not require that the input is directed to the same initial state as applicant asserts. Claim 1 only requires input to change currently display content on the device which the examiner interprets to be a different state. Accordingly, Seo teaches or anticipates the claim 1.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the remaining claims are substantially encompassed in the argument above, therefore examiner responds with the same rationale as stated above.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the examiner maintains prior art rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,5-6 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al.(US Patent Application Publication 2013/0321340 A1, hereinafter “Seo”)
As to claim 1, Seo teaches a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a first display, a second display (Seo Fig.19a) , and one or more input devices: concurrently displaying:
first content on the first display; and second content associated with the first content on the second display (Fig.19A);
while concurrently displaying the first content and the second content, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to change currently-displayed content on the electronic device; and in response to receiving the input (Seo par [0344] teaches tap gesture on conference restart key 902c):
in accordance with a determination that the input was directed towards the first display: updating the first display to display third content, different from the first content; and updating the second display to display fourth content associated with the third content (Seo par [0344] teaches tap gesture on conference restart key 902c on the first touch screen the device display a participant list area 906 expanded from the participant list area 902d of the first video conference in the first touch screen 12 and displays a shared board area 14 for the first video conference in the second touch screen 14) ); and
in accordance with a determination that the input was directed towards the second display: updating the second display to display fifth content associated with the first content on the first display while maintaining display of the first content on the first display. (Seo Fig.19D-19E and par [0349]-[0350] teaches tap gesture on the whiteboard key 908a on the second touch screen 14, the device replaces the document file display in the shared board area 908 of the second touch screen 14 with a white board area 912)
As to claim 2, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to receiving the input corresponding to the request to change the currently-displayed content on the electronic device, displaying a first portion of the first content on the first display (Seo Fig.19A and par [0342] teaches areas 902a-902d); and in accordance with the determination that the input was directed towards the second display:
in accordance with a determination that the input was directed to a first displayed portion of the second display, updating the first display to display a second portion of the first content, different from the first portion of the first content, corresponding to the first displayed portion of the second display (Seo par [0343] teaches when a tap gesture is detected on the conference item of the list of conference items on the second touch screen, the device replaces information 902a-902b on the first touch screen 12) ; and
in accordance with a determination that the input was directed to a second displayed portion of the second display, different from the first displayed portion of the second display, updating the first display to display a third portion of the first content, different from the first portion of the first content and the second portion of the first content, corresponding to the second displayed portion of the second display (Seo par [0343] teaches when a tap gesture is detected on the conference item of the list of conference items on the second touch screen, the device replaces information 902a-902b on the first touch screen 12).
As to claim 5, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the fifth content is related to key words associated with the first content. (Seo par [0350] teaches free hand drawing objects 912a-c, the free drawing objects 912a-c refer to graphic data in a form of a text or image input by the respective participants)
As to claim 6, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the fifth content includes commentary about the first content. (Seo par [0350] teaches free hand drawing objects 912a-c, the free drawing objects 912a-c refer to graphic data in a form of a text or image input by the respective participants)
As to claim 24, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to displaying the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display, displaying, on the electronic device a home screen user interface (Seo par [0029] teaches home screen) ,
wherein displaying the home screen comprises concurrently displaying: on the first display, one or more first items that are not customized to a user of the electronic device (Seo par [0120] teaches first touch screen 12 displays a first page 202 designated as the home screen); and on the second display, one or more second items that are customized to the user of the electronic device (Seo par [0120] teaches second touch screen 14 display second page 204 of the home screen. Seo par [0117] teaches home screen can be edited by the user), wherein: the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display are displayed in response to detecting selection of a respective item of the one or more first items or the one or more second items, the first content on the first display comprises content corresponding to the selected respective item (Seo Fig.27N shows first screen play list and second screen the selected song ) , and
the second content on the second display comprises one or more controls for navigating the first content on the first display.(Seo Fig.27N shows playback controls)
Claims 25-26 merely recite an electronic device and non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs when executed by one or mor processors , performs the method of claim 1. Accordingly, Seo teaches every limitation of claim 25-26 as indicates in the above rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo and further in view of Graham.(US Patent Application Publication 2014/0164365 A1, hereinafter “Graham”)
As to claim 3, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the input comprises an input directed towards the second display. (Seo Fig.19D-19E and par [0349]-[0350] teaches tap gesture on the whiteboard key 908a on the second touch screen 14, the device replaces the document file display in the shared board area 908 of the second touch screen 14 with a white board area 912. The examiner interprets the white board key is the filter)
Seo fails to expressly teach the input corresponds to a request to filter the second content displayed on the second display, and the fifth content on the second display comprises the second content having been filtered based on the requested filter
However, Graham teaches the input corresponds to a request to filter the second content displayed on the second display, and the fifth content on the second display comprises the second content having been filtered based on the requested filter.(Graham par [0007] teaches viewing users may select viewing filters for the presented new stories)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Seo and Graham to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make such combination to improve user interaction with content.(Graham par [0004])
As to claim 4, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 3, wherein the fifth content selected by the requested filter is related to the first content.(Graham par [0005] teaches filtering based on connections to other users )
As to claim 8, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 3, wherein: the requested filter corresponds to a requested category-filter, and the fifth content filtered based on the requested category-filter comprises content, of the requested category, related to the first content. ( Graham par [0005] teaches filtering based on one or more criteria)
As to claim 9, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 3, wherein: the requested filter corresponds to a people-filter, and the fifth content selected based on the requested filter comprises a plurality of representations of people associated with the first content that include information about the people associated with the first content. (Graham par [0005] teaches filters news stories based on connections to other users)
As to claim 10, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 3, further comprising: while displaying the first content on the first display and displaying the second content on the second display, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to move the second content to the first display; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to move the second content to the first display, ceasing the display of the first content on the first display; and displaying the second content on the first display.(Seo Fig.9G-9H and par [0194] teaches first touch screen displays plurality of thumbnails and second screen displays image 308a and in response to a predetermined gesture on the image 308, the image is fully filled the first screen)
As to claim 11, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 3, wherein: the first display comprises a touch screen, and the input directed towards the first display comprises a selection of an affordance displayed on the first display, corresponding to the third content. (Seo Fig.21C and par n[0385] teaches tap gesture on the mode key)
As to claim 12, Seo and Graham teach the method of claim 11, wherein: before receiving the selection of the affordance corresponding to the third content and while displaying the first content on the first display and displaying the second content on the second display, the second content was filtered according to first filtering criteria (Seo Fig.21A and par [0376] teaches the first screen displaying mode selection area 1102 corresponding to month, week ,day and list and calendar area 1102a. The second touch screen displaying list items 1104b) and
in response to receiving the selection of the affordance corresponding to the third content and while displaying the third content on the first display and displaying the fourth content on a fourth display, the fourth content is filtered according to the first filtering criteria. (Seo Fig.21C-21D and par [0385]-[0386] teaches in response to the tap gesture on the day mode key, the device displays today’s date in the first touch screen 12 and event lists 1104f in the second touch screen 14)
Claims 7 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo and further in view of multiple embodiments of Seo.
As to claim 7, Seo teaches the method of claims 1 but fails to expressly teach wherein the first content comprises one or more links to additional content, and the fifth content comprises one or more previews of content corresponding to the one or more links.
However, in a separate embodiment, Seo teaches wherein the first content comprises one or more links to additional content, and the fifth content comprises one or more previews of content corresponding to the one or more links. (Seo Fig.21A and par [0376] teaches calendar area 1102a with plurality of dates (interpreted as claimed invention link). Seo par [0378] teaches the second screen displays event lists 1104 including registered event items of the selected date of the calendar area 1102a)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine separate embodiments of Seo to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make such combination to allow user to more conveniently use portable device.(Seo par [0008])
As to claim 13, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second display comprises a touch screen (Seo Fig.19D-19E and par [0349]-[0350] teaches second touch screen 14), and the method further comprises:
Seo fails to expressly teach while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content, including one or more content items corresponding to respective portions of the first content on the first display, on the second display ,
receiving, at the touch screen, a second input; and in response to receiving the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input comprises a single-contact selection of a respective content item displayed on the second display that corresponds to a respective portion of the first content on the first display :
displaying, on the first display, the respective portion of the first content related to the selected respective content item ; and
in accordance with a determination that the second input comprises a two-contact swipe input: scrolling the first content on the first display in accordance with the two-contact swipe input.
However, in a separate embodiment, Seo teaches while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content, including one or more content items corresponding to respective portions of the first content on the first display, on the second display (Seo Fig.21C-21D and par [0385]-[0386] teaches in response to the tap gesture on the day mode key, the device displays today’s date in the first touch screen 12 and event lists 1104f in the second touch screen 14),
receiving, at the touch screen, a second input; and in response to receiving the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input comprises a single-contact selection of a respective content item displayed on the second display that corresponds to a respective portion of the first content on the first display (Seo par [0387] teaches tap gesture on the event item on the second display 14):
displaying, on the first display, the respective portion of the first content related to the selected respective content item (Seo Fig.21E and par [0388] teaches the device replace the calendar area 1102d of the first touch screen 12 with event lists 1104g) ; and
in accordance with a determination that the second input comprises a two-contact swipe input: scrolling the first content on the first display in accordance with the two-contact swipe input. (Seo FIG.9A-B and par [0184] teaches double contact touch flics or drags from first fist and/or second touch screens 12 and / or 14)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine separate embodiments of Seo to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make such combination to allow user to more conveniently use portable device.(Seo par [0008])
As to claim 14, Seo teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: before detecting the single-contact selection of the respective content item of the second content, displaying, on the second display, a first representation of the respective content item including first information corresponding to the respective content item (Seo Fig.21C and par [0387] teaches displaying event lists 1104f on the second touch screen); and
in response to receiving the single-contact selection of the respective content item: displaying, on the second display, a second representation of the respective content item that includes second information corresponding to the respective content item, more than the first information; and updating the first content on the first display to visually emphasize one or more portions of the first content associated with the respective content item.(Seo Fig.21E and par [0388] teaches the device replaces the calendar area 1102d of the first touch screen with the event list 1104g including the event item selected by tap gesture and displaying detail information associated with the selected item on the second touch screen)
As to claim 15, Seo teaches the method of claim 1 but fails to expressly teach further comprising: while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display while the electronic device is in a first orientation, detecting that the electronic device has been rotated to a second orientation, different than the first orientation; and in response to detecting that the electronic device has been rotated to the second orientation: updating the first display to display a first portion of the first content; and updating the second display to display a second portion of the first content.
However, in a separate embodiment, Seo teaches while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display while the electronic device is in a first orientation, detecting that the electronic device has been rotated to a second orientation, different than the first orientation; and in response to detecting that the electronic device has been rotated to the second orientation: updating the first display to display a first portion of the first content; and updating the second display to display a second portion of the first content. (Seo par [0167] teaches when the touch screens are switched to landscape view mode, the items within the grid may be rotated and scrolled)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine separate embodiments of Seo to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make such combination to allow user to more conveniently use portable device.(Seo par [0008])
As to claim 16, Seo teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: in response to the detecting that the electronic device has been rotated from the first orientation to the second orientation, ceasing the displaying of the second content on the second display.(Seo par [0172] teaches when switching to the landscape view mode is performed, the second touch screen replaces the page of the home screen with the at least one pre-designated application )
As to claim 17, Seo teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising:
while displaying the second portion of the first content on the second display, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a selection of a respective item of the second portion of the first content that corresponds to a respective portion of the first portion of the first content; and in response to receiving the selection of the respective item of the second portion of the first content, updating the first display to display the respective portion of the first portion of the first content. (Seo Fig.21E and par [0388] teaches the device replaces the calendar area 1102d of the first touch screen with the event list 1104g including the event item selected by tap gesture and displaying detail information associated with the selected item on the second touch screen)
As to claim 18, Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second display comprises a touch screen (Seo Fig.19D-19E and par [0349]-[0350] teaches second touch screen 14) , but fails to expressly teach and the method further comprises: while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to selection and movement of a respective content item of the second content towards the first display ; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the selection and movement of the respective content item of the second content towards the first display, updating the first display to display content corresponding to the respective content item of the second content.
However, in a separate embodiment, Seo teaches while displaying the first content on the first display and the second content on the second display, receiving, via the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to selection and movement of a respective content item of the second content towards the first display ; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the selection and movement of the respective content item of the second content towards the first display, updating the first display to display content corresponding to the respective content item of the second content. (Seo Fig.7E-7F and par [0145] –[0147] teaches dragging icon from second touch screen and dropping the icon on the first touch screen )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine separate embodiments of Seo to achieve the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to make such combination to allow user to more conveniently use portable device.(Seo par [0008])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN L DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147