DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 – 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/24/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 17 – 36 in the reply filed on 07/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 – 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the female hitch" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the connector mechanism" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the truck stake pocket" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arndt (US 12,528,319 B1).
For claim 17, Arndt discloses a system 2 for improving functionality of trucks, comprising:
a retrofit hitch system configured for use with a truck (truck) having a truck bed (rear bed, fig. 5, col. 5, lines 47 – 49), a tailgate (rear hatch, fig. 5, col. 5, lines 47 – 49), and a hitch (col. 7, lines 40 – 43), [wherein the tailgate is moveable into an open position in which the truck bed and a surface of the tailgate provide an extended truck bed] (fig. 5, col. 5, lines 47 – 49), [the retrofit hitch system being able to accommodate a plurality of truck accessories] (intended use), the retrofit hitch system comprising:
a hitch mechanism having a male hitch end 12 and a female hitch end 12’, [the male hitch end being configured for engagement with the hitch] (col. 7, lines 40 – 43), [the female hitch comprising a standard truck hitch] (fig. 1),
[a reinforcement bar connected to the hitch mechanism and extending laterally across a width of the truck bed] (drawing 1 below),
[at least one support arm extending upwardly from an end of the reinforcement bar] (fig.5), [the at least one support arm being configured to detachably engage with the truck] (col. 7, lines 59 – 63) [such that the reinforcement bar is positioned to underlie the tailgate when the tailgate is in the open position] (fig. 5).
Drawing 1
For claim 27, Arndt discloses the system [wherein the at least one support arm further comprises a first arm extending from a first end of the reinforcement bar configured to connect to a first part of the bedrail and a second arm extending from a second end of the reinforcement bar configured to connect to a second part of the bedrail] (drawing 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 12,528,319 B1) in view of Farmer et al. (US 11,858,403 B1).
For claim 18, Arndt does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the at least one support arm comprises an attachment plate, the attachment plate being configured to be detachably affixed to a truck stake pocket on a bedrail of the truck.
Farmer et al. discloses a convertible body 100 comprising first and second sidewall extenders 146; and sidewall beams 126, 128 including a plurality of securing posts 130, protrusions configured to be inserted into some or all of bed openings 114] (col. 6, lines 25 – 28); [a plurality of mounting brackets 168 may also be included to connect the convertible body ramp 120 to a cargo bed 102 to keep the convertible ramp body from shifting vertically, or lifting upward, which might remove the securing posts 130 from the bed openings 114] (col. 6, lines 31 – 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the side beams, securing posts, mounting brackets; and bed openings of Farmer et al. in place of the eyelets and straps of Arndt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more secure attachment to the truck, thus reducing overall unwanted detachment and movement.
For claim 31, Arndt does not explicitly disclose the retrofit hitch system wherein the first arm comprises a first attachment plate and the second arm comprises a second attachment plate, the first attachment plate being configured to be detachably affixed to a first part of the truck stake pocket located on the first part of the bedrail, the second attachment plate being configured to be detachably affixed to a second part of the truck stake pocket located on the second part of the bedrail.
Farmer et al. discloses a convertible body 100 comprising first and second sidewall extenders 146; and sidewall beams 126, 128 including a plurality of securing posts 130, protrusions configured to be inserted into some or all of bed openings 114] (col. 6, lines 25 – 28); [a plurality of mounting brackets 168 may also be included to connect the convertible body ramp 120 to a cargo bed 102 to keep the convertible ramp body from shifting vertically, or lifting upward, which might remove the securing posts 130 from the bed openings 114] (col. 6, lines 31 – 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the side beams, securing posts, mounting brackets; and bed openings of Farmer et al. in place of the eyelets and straps of Arndt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more secure attachment to the truck, thus reducing overall unwanted detachment and movement.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 12,528,319 B1) in view of Farmer et al. (US 11,858,403 B1), and further in view of Faley (US D803126 S).
For claim 28, Arndt modified as above does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the reinforcement bar comprises a grooved step portion, the grooved step portion being configured to allow a user to stand on the reinforcement bar with increased grip and reduced slippage.
Faley discloses a rectangular bar with two steps] (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the steps of Faley with the reinforcement bar of Arndt modified as above with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for an operator easier traversal into and out of the bed of the truck, thus reducing bodily injury.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 12,528,319 B1) in view of Faley (US D803126 S).
For claim 30, Arndt does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the reinforcement bar comprises a grooved step portion, the grooved step portion being configured to allow a user to stand on the reinforcement bar with increased grip and reduced slippage.
Faley discloses a rectangular bar with two steps] (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the steps of Faley with the reinforcement bar of Arndt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for an operator easier traversal into and out of the bed of the truck, thus reducing bodily injury.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 – 26, 29, and 32 – 36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose:
For claim 19 – 26, 29, 32 – 34: the at least one support arm comprises a connector mechanism comprising an upper connecting slot containing a fixed pin; and a lower connecting slot configured to receive a removable pin; and
For claim 35 and 36: an extender body having a wider end and a tapered end; and an adjustable tensioning mechanism comprising a tension bolt; a tension nut; a flared portions, wherein when the tension bolt is engaged with the tension nut, the tapered end is pulled into a female hitch end and the flared portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-10384621 – comprising an article transport system comprising a stationary lower base; a tubular swing arm mounted hitch; a locking post; and a pivot support post; and
US-7118053 – comprising a mounting assembly comprising a main frame; a pair of vertical supports; and a bracket assembly.
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611