DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in view of the amendment of 27 October 2025have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as indicated below.
The claims have been amended to address the current rejections. However, Applicant is silent with respect to any patentability arguments describing how and why the claims patentably distinguish over the prior art of record. Thus, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 11-12, and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0153057 to Cho et al. (“Cho”) in view of US 2008/0282746 to Komori.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, 12, and 16-20, Cho discloses a laundry treating appliance, comprising:
a cabinet (4) defining a front panel opening (5);
a tub (20) supported within the cabinet, wherein the tub defines a tub opening (5), and wherein the tub opening is partially aligned with the front panel opening and a vertical offset is provided between the front panel opening at a higher position than the tub opening (see Fig. 7);
drum (30) provided within the tub to define at least a portion of a treating chamber;
a drive system (38) operably coupled to the drum, wherein the drive system rotationally drives the drum about a rotational axis, the rotational axis being inclined at a predefined angle relative to a horizontal axis (see Fig. 7 and operation of motor 38);
a bellows (40) sealingly coupling the tub opening with the front panel opening, wherein the bellows has an inner surface forming an angled profile with a downward slope between the front panel opening and the tub opening (see Fig. 7); and
a door assembly (8) operably coupled to the cabinet,
wherein the bellows has an S-shaped profile that includes an angled profile of the inner surface and terminates at the bottom point of the inner surface (see Fig. 7),
a laundry treating appliance, comprising: a cabinet defining a front panel opening, the front panel opening defining a panel axis; a tub supported within the cabinet and defining a tub opening, the tub opening defining a tub axis, wherein a vertical offset is provided between the front panel opening and the tub opening such that the panel axis is above the tub axis; a drum provided within the tub to define at least a portion of a treating chamber; an angled bellows extending between the front panel opening and the tub opening, wherein the angled bellows angles downwardly from the front panel opening to the tub opening to promote movement of liquid and laundry items toward the treating chamber, and wherein the angled bellows forms an S-shaped profile, and further wherein the angled bellows defines a visual portion at an upper portion thereof configured to be visible through the front panel opening; and a door assembly operably coupled to the cabinet to selectively allow access to the treating chamber (see Cho above),
further comprising: a drive system (38) operably coupled to the drum, wherein the drive system rotationally drives the drum about a rotational axis, the rotational axis being inclined at a predefined angle relative to a horizontal axis (see Fig. 7 of Cho),
a laundry treating appliance, comprising: a cabinet defining a front panel opening; a tub supported within the cabinet, wherein the tub defines a tub opening and at least partially defining a treating chamber, and wherein the front panel opening is at a higher position than the tub opening to define a vertical offset therebetween; a drum provided within the tub to further define at least a portion of the treating chamber; a drive system operably coupled to the drum, wherein the drive system rotationally drives the drum about an angled rotational axis, the angled rotational axis being inclined at a predefined angle relative to a horizontal axis; an oblique bellows extending between the front panel opening and the tub opening, wherein the oblique bellows angles downwardly from the front panel opening to the tub opening to direct liquid and items toward the treating chamber, and wherein the oblique bellows has an S-shaped profile; and a door assembly operably coupled to the cabinet to selectively access the treating chamber (see Cho above),
wherein the oblique bellows defines a visual portion facing towards and viewable through the front panel opening, and wherein the visual portion is at an upper portion of the oblique bellows (see Fig. 7 of Cho),
wherein the tub and the drum are disposed at an angle for the drum to rotate about the angled rotational axis, and wherein top portions of the drum and the tub are disposed farther from a front surface of the cabinet than bottom portions of the drum and the tub, respectively (see Fig. 7 of Cho),
wherein the S-shaped profile at a top portion of the oblique bellows is different than the S-shaped profile at a bottom portion of the oblique bellows (see Fig. 7 of Cho),
wherein the tub has a top portion with a front edge proximate to a front of the cabinet and a rear edge proximate to a rear of the cabinet, and wherein the tub is angled for the front edge to be vertically higher than the rear edge (see Fig. 7 of Cho).
Cho discloses the claimed bellows including an angled profile forming an S-shaped profile as claimed. Cho does not expressly disclose wherein a bottom point of the inner surface of the bellows is situated above a bottom point of the tub opening, thereby allowing a liquid to run directly into the tub from the downward slope of the bellows, as recited in claim 1, or with a lower segment extending downward to a terminal end of the angled bellows proximate the tub opening, the terminal end being situated above a bottom point of the tub opening, as recited in claim 9. Komori teaches an art-related washing machine having an angled bellows with an S-shape and a configuration wherein a bottom point of the inner surface of the bellows is situated above a bottom point of the tub opening, thereby allowing a liquid to run directly into the tub from the downward slope of the bellows (see Figs. 2 and 9 of Komori, particularly at opening 21a), and with a lower segment extending downward to a terminal end of the angled bellows proximate the tub opening, the terminal end being situated above a bottom point of the tub opening (see Figs. 2 and 9 of Komori, particularly at opening 21a).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to modify the bellows configuration of Cho with that of Komori to yield the same and predictable draining results of an angled bellows.
Regarding claim 3 Cho, supra, discloses the claimed invention including the vertically offset between the front panel opening and the tub opening, but does not expressly disclose the range of the offset difference. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the vertical offset range to achieve the desired sloping bellows to direct laundry into the tub/drum, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II) regarding Obviousness and Routine Optimiziation.
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the angled bellows having a front opening that is the same size as the tub opening (see above). Cho does not expressly disclose the front opening being larger than the tub opening. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the bellows opening and/or tub opening to a desired size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Size.
Regarding claims 21-23, Cho and Komori, supra, disclose the claimed invention including an S-shaped angled bellows with various straight and curved portions. Cho and Komori do not expressly disclose the precise configuration of various portions and seconds as claimed. However, absent evidence of secondary considerations and criticality of such shape modifications, the position is taken that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the bellows configuration in such manner, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B) regarding Obviousness and Changes in Shape.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Komori, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2018/0340286 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
Cho, supra, discloses the claimed invention including a washing machine with door and bellows. Cho does not expressly disclose wherein the door assembly includes an access opening through which the treating chamber can be selectively accessed and a window panel movably coupled to the door assembly to selectively allow access to the treating chamber through the access opening as recited in claim 15. Kim teaches an art-related washing machine having a door assembly (100) including an access opening (110a) through which the treating chamber can be selectively accessed and a window panel (160/162) movably coupled to the door to selectively allow access to the treating chamber (see Figs. 4-5 and ¶ [0097] et seq.).
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to provide the washing machine door of Cho with the movably coupled window panel taught by Kim to yield the predictable results of accessing the washing chamber through the closed main door as desired.
Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Komori, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, US 2016/0145790 to Burgess et al. (“Burgess”).
Cho, supra, discloses the claimed invention including an angled bellows. Cho does not expressly disclose use of a deflector as recited in claim 7. Burgess (in Figs. 3-6 and ¶ [0032]) teaches an art-related washing machine with bellows having a deflector 150 that “functions to encourage movement of the laundry… protect the bellows 36 from frictional wear… and help prevent laundry and possible other items… from undesirably falling through the gap 134 into the space 136.”
Therefore, the position is taken that it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to provide the bellows of Cho with a deflector, such as that taught in Burgess, to yield the predictable results of directing movement into the tub/drum and protect the bellows.
Further regarding claim 13, Burgess does not expressly disclose the material of the deflector. However, the position is taken that it would have been prima facie obvious to select a known material such as foamed vinyl or PVC-coated foam, based on the material’s known properties such as strength and low friction coefficient taking into consideration the general knowledge and skill of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711