DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Reply submitted 19 September 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 September 2025 was filed after the mailing date of this present application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 5, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the embodiment of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. US 2024/0356381.
Regarding Claims 1, 5, and 18, Feng teaches a wireless power transfer system comprising:
a transmitter (wireless charging transmitting apparatus21, fig. 2) comprising a transmitter resonator comprising a plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes (first transmitting plate 211 and second transmitting plate221, fig. 2), and
an inverter (inverter circuit 210, fig. 2); and
a receiver (wireless charging receiving apparatus 22, fig. 2) comprising a receiver resonator comprising a plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes (first receiving plate 221 and second receiving plate 222, fig. 2), and
a rectifier (rectifier 220, fig. 2),
the inverter electrically connected to each of the transmitter electrodes, the inverter electrically connected at offset points on the transmitter electrodes (see nodes on fig. 2), and
the rectifier electrically connected to each of the receiver electrodes, the rectifier electrically connected at offset points on the receiver electrodes (see nodes on fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter and the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes are longitudinally parallel (211, 212, 221, and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the offset points on the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes form a first line and the offset points on the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes form a second line, wherein the first line has one of a positive and a negative slope, and the second line has the other of a positive and a negative slope (refer to nodes and 211, 212, 221, and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above however is silent wherein the offset points are centrally offset points ((refer to nodes and 211, 212, 221, and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches wherein the offset points are offset from a central axis ((refer to nodes and 211, 212, 221, and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above and further teaches wherein the central axis is defined by the plurality of one-dimensional electrodes (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above and further teaches wherein the central axis is perpendicular to longitudinal axis of the plurality of one-dimensional electrodes (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above and further teaches wherein the offset points are offset on opposing sides of the central axis (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches wherein the offset points are offset from each other (refer to nodes and 211, 212, 221, and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches wherein terminals of the inverter are electrically connected to the plurality of one-dimensional electrodes (210, 211, and 212, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches wherein the plurality of one-dimensional electrodes comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (211 and 212, or 221 and 222, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 13 above and further teaches wherein the inverter is electrically connected at a first point on the first electrode and a second point on the second electrode (210, 211, and 212, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 14 above and further teaches wherein the first and second points are on opposite sides of a central axis of at least one of the first and second electrodes (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 14 above and further teaches wherein the first and second points are equidistant from a central axis of at least one of the first and second electrodes (refer to fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches comprising a power source (direct current power supply U1, fig. 2) for providing a power signal, the power source electrically connected to the resonator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. US 2024/0356381, in view of Almudallal et al. US 2020/0203998.
Regarding Claim 4, Feng teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above however is silent wherein at least one of: the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes are concentric; the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes are concentric; the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes comprise circular, cylindrical transmitter electrodes; and the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes comprise circular, cylindrical receiver electrodes.
Almudallal teaches wherein at least one of: the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes are concentric; the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes are concentric; the plurality of one-dimensional transmitter electrodes comprise circular, cylindrical transmitter electrodes; and the plurality of one-dimensional receiver electrodes comprise circular, cylindrical receiver electrodes (fig. 15 and refer to [0145]-[0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the arrangement as taught by Almudallal with the wireless power transfer system of Feng in order to improve the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
/BRIAN K BAXTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
29 December 2025
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836