DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 February 2026. These drawings are unacceptable because new Figure 9 contains new matter (e.g. the specific combination of anti-rotating elements along with the specific features of each including the relative shape, size, positions, quantity, etc. of such) and will not be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the combination of one of the plurality of anti-rotating features being located at one of the overlapping ends (claims 5 and 12) in combination with the anti-rotating feature being a plurality of anti-rotating features (claim 4, on which claim 5 relies, and claim 11 on which claim 12 relies), and a combined axial thickness of the piston ring and anti-rotating feature is greater than or equal to a combined axial thickness of the groove and the slot (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. As it does not appear that Applicant can add the above claimed subject matter to the drawings without adding at least some small amount of new matter, Examiner recommends Applicant cancel these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anglin et al. (US 2016/0281536).
With regard to claim 1, Anglin discloses a piston ring (22a or 22b) for use with a gas turbine engine (as disclosed in para. [0001], etc.), comprising: a circular body (as seen in Figs. 1-4) having a rectangular cross section (as seen in Fig. 1 it has as much of a rectangular cross-section as Applicant’s disclosed ring is) with circumferentially overlapping open free ends (as seen in Figs. 2A-3 they overlap along the circumferential direction. Additionally see the below annotated Fig. illustrating such); and an anti-rotating feature (28a/b or 128a/b) extending from an axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Figs. 2B-3), the anti-rotating feature being integrally formed with the circular body such that the circular body and the anti-rotating feature are formed from a single unitary member (as seen in Figs. 2B-3).
With regard to claim 2, Anglin discloses that anti-rotating feature is located at one of the overlapping free ends such that an axial thickness of the one of the overlapping free ends is greater than the rectangular cross section of the circular body (as seen in Figs. 2B-3).
With regard to claim 3, Anglin discloses that the axial surface of the circular body is opposite to an axial side of the piston ring that provides an axial sealing interface (i.e. as seen in Figs. 1-3 the axial surface opposite the axial surface with the anti-rotating feature, and as interpreted in light of the above 112b rejection is configured to provide a sealing interface by virtue of its shape and ability to seal when placed against another cooperating surface).
With regard to claim 4, Anglin discloses that the anti-rotating feature is a plurality of anti-rotating features extending from the axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Fig. 2B).
With regard to claim 5, Anglin discloses that one of the plurality of anti-rotating features is located at one of the overlapping ends (as seen in Fig. 2B).
With regard to claim 6, Anglin discloses that the axial surface of the circular body is opposite to an axial side of the piston ring that provides an axial sealing interface (i.e. as seen in Figs. 1-3 the axial surface opposite the axial surface with the anti-rotating feature, and as interpreted in light of the above 112b rejection is configured to provide a sealing interface by virtue of its shape and ability to seal when placed against another cooperating surface).
With regard to claim 7, Anglin discloses a seal assembly (as seen in Figs. 1-3, etc.) for use in a gas turbine engine (as disclosed in para. [0001], etc.), comprising: a first inner cylindrical component (18); a second outer cylindrical component (12); a groove (20a/b) located in the first inner cylindrical component or the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1), the groove defined by a seal side rail (e.g. one of the left or right hand side wall) that extends radially away from a surface of the first inner cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) or a surface of the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) and a non-seal side rail (e.g. the other of the left or right hand side wall) that extends radially away from the surface of the first inner cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) or the surface of the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1), the seal side rail and the non-seal rail being in a facing spaced relationship (as seen in Fig. 1 they face each other axially); and a piston ring (22a or 22b) located in the groove between the first inner cylindrical component and the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1, etc.), the piston ring being located between the seal side rail and the non-seal side rail (as seen in Fig. 1, etc.), the piston ring having a circular body (as seen in Figs. 1-4) having a rectangular cross section (as seen in Fig. 1 it has as much of a rectangular cross-section as Applicant’s disclosed ring is) with circumferentially overlapping open free ends (as seen in Figs. 2A-3 they overlap along the circumferential direction. Additionally see the above annotated Fig. illustrating such); and an anti-rotating feature (28a/b or 128a/b) extending from an axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Figs. 2B-3), the anti-rotating feature being integrally formed with the circular body such that the circular body and the anti-rotating feature are formed from a single unitary member (as seen in Figs. 2B-3), wherein the anti-rotating feature is received within a slot (as seen in Figs. 2B-3) formed in the non-seal side rail (as seen in Figs. 2B-3) and contact between the anti-rotating feature and the slot prevents circumferential movement of the piston ring in the groove (as described in para. [0017], etc.).
With regard to claim 8, Anglin discloses that the slot extends from or up to an upper surface of the non-seal side rail (as seen in Figs. 2A-3) so that the anti-rotating feature can be received in a radial direction in the slot as the piston ring is radially inserted to the groove (as seen in Figs. 2A-3) and the slot is configured to allow for thermal expansion of the piston ring (as seen in Figs. 2B-3 as there is at least some amount of space between the wall of the slot and the piston ring it allows for such).
With regard to claim 9, Anglin discloses that anti-rotating feature is located at one of the overlapping free ends such that an axial thickness of the one of the overlapping free ends is greater than the rectangular cross section of the circular body (as seen in Figs. 2B-3).
With regard to claim 10, Anglin discloses that the axial surface of the circular body is opposite to an axial side of the piston ring that provides an axial sealing interface with the seal side rail (i.e. as seen in Figs. 2A-3 as the axial surface with the anti-rotating feature is opposite to another axial surface that can be a sealing interface with the seal side rail as it is at least in close proximity therewith) and a combined axial thickness of the piston ring and anti-rotating feature is greater than or equal to a combined axial thickness of the groove and the slot (i.e. as seen in Figs. 2A-3 as they are approximately equal due to thermal expansion and/or contraction during operation they will be exactly equal at at least one condition).
With regard to claim 11, Anglin discloses that the anti-rotating feature is a plurality of anti-rotating features extending from the axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Fig. 2A), and the slot is a plurality of slots (i.e. the slot if defined by two smaller slots the each receive one of the anti-rotating features shown in Fig. 2A) formed in the non-seal side rail (as seen in Fig. 2A) each of the plurality of anti-rotating features being received within a respective one of the plurality of slots formed in the non-seal side rail (as seen in Fig. 2A as one of each is in each slot).
With regard to claim 12, Anglin discloses that one of the plurality of anti-rotating features is located at one of the overlapping free ends (as seen in Fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 13, Anglin discloses that the axial surface of the circular body is opposite to an axial side of the piston ring that provides an axial sealing interface with the seal side rail (i.e. as seen in Figs. 2A-3 as the axial surface with the anti-rotating feature is opposite to another axial surface that can be a sealing interface with the seal side rail as it is at least in close proximity therewith).
With regard to claim 14, Anglin discloses that the first inner cylindrical component is a bearing housing cover (as seen in Fig. 1 as it covers bearing 16) and the second outer cylindrical component is a housing slid over the piston ring (as seen in Fig. 1 as it is over such and thus houses it).
With regard to claim 15, Anglin discloses that the first inner cylindrical component is a bearing housing cover (as seen in Fig. 1 as it covers bearing 16) and the second outer cylindrical component is a housing slid over the piston ring (as seen in Fig. 1 as it is over such and thus houses it).
With regard to claim 16, Anglin discloses a method for providing a seal (i.e. the piston ring seal as shown as provided in Figs. 1-3, etc.) in a gas turbine engine (as disclosed in para. [0001], etc.), comprising: inserting a piston ring (22a or 22b) between a first inner cylindrical component (18) and a second outer cylindrical component (12), the piston ring having a circular body (as seen in Figs. 1-4) having a rectangular cross section (as seen in Fig. 1 it has as much of a rectangular cross-section as Applicant’s disclosed ring is) with circumferentially overlapping open free ends (as seen in Figs. 2A-3 they overlap along the circumferential direction. Additionally see the above annotated Fig. illustrating such); and an anti-rotating feature (28a/b or 128a/b) extending from an axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Figs. 2B-3), the anti-rotating feature being integrally formed with the circular body such that the circular body and the anti-rotating feature are formed from a single unitary member (as seen in Figs. 2B-3), wherein a groove (20a/b) is located in the first inner cylindrical component or the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1 it is in the first inner cylindrical component), the groove defined by a seal side rail (e.g. one of the left or right hand side wall) that extends radially away from a surface of the first inner cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) or a surface of the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) and a non-seal side rail (e.g. the other of the left or right hand side wall) that extends radially away from the surface of the first inner cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1) or the surface of the second outer cylindrical component (as seen in Fig. 1), the seal side rail and the non-seal rail being in a facing spaced relationship (as seen in Fig. 1 they face each other axially); and preventing circumferential movement of the piston ring within the groove by locating the anti-rotating feature within a slot formed in the non-seal side rail such that contact between the anti-rotating feature and the slot prevents circumferential movement of the piston ring in the groove (as seen in Figs. 2A-3 and as disclosed in paras. [0017], etc.).
With regard to claim 17, Anglin discloses that the slot extends from or up to an upper surface of the non-seal side rail (as seen in Figs. 2A-3) so that the anti-rotating feature can be received in a radial direction in the slot as the piston ring is radially inserted to the groove (as seen in Figs. 2A-3).
With regard to claim 18, Anglin discloses that anti-rotating feature is located at one of the overlapping free ends (as seen in Figs. 2B-3).
With regard to claim 19, Anglin discloses that the axial surface of the circular body is opposite to an axial side of the piston ring that provides an axial sealing interface with the seal side rail (i.e. as seen in Figs. 2A-3 as the axial surface with the anti-rotating feature is opposite to another axial surface that can be a sealing interface with the seal side rail as it is at least in close proximity therewith).
With regard to claim 20, Anglin discloses that the anti-rotating feature is a plurality of anti-rotating features extending from the axial surface of the circular body (as seen in Fig. 2A) and the slot is a plurality of slots(i.e. the slot if defined by two smaller slots the each receive one of the anti-rotating features shown in Fig. 2A) formed in the non-seal side rail (as seen in Fig. 2A) each of the plurality of anti-rotating features being received within a respective one of the plurality of slots formed in the non-seal side rail (as seen in Fig. 2A as one of each is in each slot).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new/amended ground(s) of rejection. In so much as they may apply to the above new/amended grounds of rejection, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
At the outset Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments did overcome the prior 112(a) rejection.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objections are not persuasive as they drawing amendments are not entered for containing new matter (see above) and thus the drawings are still objected to.
Applicant’s main argument against the prior art rejection is that Anglin fails to disclose the “circumferentially overlapping free ends”. Examiner notes that this argument is not persuasive as the new limitation has been fully rejected in the above new/amended grounds of rejection. In the Figs. of Anglin, though there is no overlap at the free ends an axial direction of the rings there is clearly circumferential overlap (see the above annotated Fig.). Examiner notes that Applicant appears to be arguing a different interpretation than what is recited in the claims (i.e. the lap joint shown in the Figs. as opposed to what is BRI of the recitations of the claims which would include a butt joint as in Anglin). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further Examiner notes that the specification fails to recite Applicant’s interpretation of the overlap.
Examiner recommends amending the claim language to read “overlapping free ends with a lap joint configuration” or “free ends that overlap along the axial direction”, though such would likely be an obvious modification of Anglin in view of references such as JPS6117487U – cited by Applicant.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675