DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0223797 A1 (“Chen”) in view of Algorithm description of Enhanced Compression Model 8 (ECM 8) (“Coban”) (Note: Coban is provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising: determining, by a computing device (e.g. see system 100 in Fig. 1 including video encoder 200 and video decoder 300, paragraphs [0039], [0053]) and for a current block (CB) of content (e.g. see at least current block in Figs. 8-10), a reference block (RB) (e.g. see at least reference block in Figs. 8-10) based on a template matching (TM) cost (e.g. see at least TM cost, paragraphs [0120]-[0122]) between: a reference template of the RB (e.g. see at least left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10), and a current template, of the CB, flipped in a direction relative to the reference template (e.g. see at least corresponding templates of the current block to the left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10); coding a residual block using (e.g. see at least transform processing unit 206 in Fig. 12 applying one or more transforms to the residual block, paragraph [0171]).
Although Chen discloses coding the residual block using transform (e.g. see at least transform processing unit 206 in Fig. 12 applying one or more transforms to the residual block, paragraph [0171]), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose after the determining the RB: determining a gradient associated with the RB by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to one of the RB, the reference template, or the current template; and coding a residual block using at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform determined based on the gradient. Coban however, teaches after the determining the RB: determining a gradient associated with the RB by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to one of the RB, the reference template, or the current template (e.g. see at least for blocks predicted via intraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection… horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3; note that the calculation of horizontal gradient and vertical gradient in DIMD process is well known to use filter kernels similar to Gx and Gy in Section 3.1.13.6); and coding a residual block using at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform determined based on the gradient (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen and Coban before him/her, to modify the Template matching for flipped intra block copy of Chen with the teachings of Chen in order to enhance compression beyond the current capabilities of VVC standard.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Coban further teaches further comprising determining, based on the gradient, the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform by: determining an intra-mode corresponding to the gradient (Coban: e.g. see at least intra prediction mode, Section 3.3.3); and based on the intra-mode, determining the at least one of the horizontal transform and the vertical transform (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Coban further teaches wherein the determining the gradient associated with the RB comprises: based on the applying the flipped kernel to one of the RB, the reference template, or the current template: calculating the gradient for samples of the RB or the reference template (Coban: e.g. see at least horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated, Section 3.3.3); and selecting an intra-mode based on the gradient (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Coban further teaches further comprising: based on the gradient, determining the horizontal transform and the vertical transform; and coding the residual block using the horizontal transform and the vertical transform (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Coban further teaches further comprising: based on the gradient, determining a secondary transform wherein the coding the residual block may further comprise using the secondary transform (Coban: e.g. see at least secondary transformation, Section 3.3.5).
The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 7, Chen further discloses wherein the direction is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction (e.g. see at least Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, although Chen discloses wherein the residual block is received from a bit stream (e.g. see at least encoded video bitstream in Fig. 13 received, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]), and the coding the residual block using the transform comprises: decoding the residual block using the transform (e.g. see at least inverse transform processing unit 308 in Fig. 13, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]); determining a reconstructed block based on combining the RB with the decoded residual block (e.g. see reconstruction unit 310, paragraph [0200]); and decoding the CB (e.g. see Fig. 13) based on whether the reference template, associated with the RB, is flipped in the direction relative to the current template (e.g. see at least left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10, and also see paragraphs [0090]-[0091]), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose using the at least one of horizontal transform or the vertical transform. Coban however teaches using the at least one of horizontal transform or the vertical transform (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses a method comprising: determining, by a computing device (e.g. see system 100 in Fig. 1 including video encoder 200 and video decoder 300, paragraphs [0039], [0053]) and for a current block (CB) of content (e.g. see at least current block in Figs. 8-10), a reference block (RB) (e.g. see at least reference block in Figs. 8-10) based on a template matching (TM) cost (e.g. see at least TM cost, paragraphs [0120]-[0122]) between a reference template of the RB (e.g. see at least left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10) and a current template, of the CB, flipped in a direction relative to the reference template (e.g. see at least corresponding templates of the current block to the left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10); and coding a residual block using transform (e.g. see at least transform processing unit 206 in Fig. 12 applying one or more transforms to the residual block, paragraph [0171]).
Although Chen discloses coding the residual block using transform (e.g. see at least transform processing unit 206 in Fig. 12 applying one or more transforms to the residual block, paragraph [0171]), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose after the determining the RB: determining an intra-mode by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to the RB; based on the determined intra-mode, determining at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform; and coding a residual block using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform. Coban however, teaches after the determining the RB: determining an intra-mode by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to the RB; based on the determined intra-mode, determining at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform (e.g. see at least for blocks predicted via intraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection… horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3; note that the calculation of horizontal gradient and vertical gradient in DIMD process is well known to use filter kernels similar to Gx and Gy in Section 3.1.13.6); and coding a residual block using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen and Coban before him/her, to modify the Template matching for flipped intra block copy of Chen with the teachings of Chen in order to enhance compression beyond the current capabilities of VVC standard.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Coban further teaches wherein the determining the intra-mode further comprises, based on the applying the flipped kernel to the RB: determining an amplitude of a gradient of the RB; and selecting the intra-mode based on the amplitude (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 9 applies here.
Regarding claim 11, although Chen discloses coding the residual block using transform, it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising: based on the intra-mode, determining the horizontal transform and the vertical transform; and coding the residual block using the horizontal transform and the vertical transform. Coban however, teaches further comprising: based on at least one of the intra-mode and the gradient, determining the horizontal transform and the vertical transform; and coding the residual block using the horizontal transform and the vertical transform (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 9 applies here.
Regarding claim 13, Chen further discloses further comprising: receiving, in a bitstream, an indication (e.g. see at least syntax, paragraphs [0083]) of the CB being encoded in a template matching prediction (TMP) mode associated with candidate templates that are flipped in the direction (e.g. see performing template matching for a coded block using RR-IBC, paragraphs [0115]-[0117]; [0091], [0097], [0106], [0146]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen further discloses further comprising: determining the TM costs (e.g. see at least TM costs, paragraphs [0120]-[0122], and [0097], [0103]) for first candidate templates of first candidate RBs, wherein the first candidate templates each correspond to the current template of the CB (e.g. see reference templates in Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0117]); determining the TM costs (e.g. see at least TM costs, paragraphs [0120]-[0122], [0103]) for second candidate templates of second candidate RBs, wherein the second candidate templates each correspond to the current template flipped in the direction (e.g. see reference templates in Fig. 9 and/or Fig. 10, paragraphs [0116]-[0117]); and selecting, based on the TM costs, a first reference template from the first candidate templates and the second candidate templates, wherein the first reference template corresponds to the current template, flipped in the direction, and indicates the determined RB (e.g. see searching for the most similar template to the current template and signalling the usage of the mode, paragraphs [0120]-[0122], and [0097], [0103]).
Regarding claim 17, although Chen discloses wherein the coding the residual block using the transform (e.g. see at least transform processing unit 206 in Fig. 12 applying one or more transforms to the residual block, paragraph [0171]) comprises: generating transform coefficients by applying the transform to the residual block (e.g. see at least transform coefficients, paragraph [0171]); and transmitting, in a bitstream (e.g. see at least bitstream in Fig. 12), the residual block (e.g. see at least residual block, paragraph [0171]) and an indication (e.g. see at least syntax, paragraphs [0083]) of the CB being encoded in a template matching prediction (TMP) mode that uses candidate templates that are flipped in the direction relative to the current template (e.g. see performing template matching for a coded block using RR-IBC, paragraphs [0115]-[0117]; [0091], [0097], [0106], [0146]), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform. Coban however, teaches using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 9 applies here.
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses a method comprising: determining, by a computing device (e.g. see system 100 in Fig. 1 including video encoder 200 and video decoder 300, paragraphs [0039], [0053]) and for a current block (CB) of content (e.g. see at least current block in Figs. 8-10), a reference block (RB) (e.g. see at least reference block in Figs. 8-10) based on a template matching (TM) cost (e.g. see at least TM cost, paragraphs [0120]-[0122]) between a reference template of the RB (e.g. see at least left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10) and a current template, of the CB, flipped in a direction relative to the reference template (e.g. see at least corresponding templates of the current block to the left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10); decoding a residual block, received from a bitstream (e.g. see at least encoded video bitstream in Fig. 13 received, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]), using the transform (e.g. see at least inverse transform processing unit 308 in Fig. 13, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]); determining, based on combining the RB with the decoded residual block, a reconstructed block (e.g. see reconstruction unit 310, paragraph [0200]); and decoding the CB (e.g. see Fig. 13) based on whether the reference template related to the RB is flipped in the direction in relation to the current template (e.g. see at least left/above ref templates in Figs. 8-10, and also see paragraphs [0090]-[0091]).
Although Chen discloses decoding a residual block, received from a bitstream (e.g. see at least encoded video bitstream in Fig. 13 received, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]), using the transform (e.g. see at least inverse transform processing unit 308 in Fig. 13, paragraphs [0196]-[0197]), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose after the determining the RB: determining an intra-mode by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to the RB; based on the determined intra-mode, determining at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform; decoding a residual block, received from a bitstream, using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform. Coban however, teaches after the determining the RB: determining an intra-mode by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to the RB; based on the determined intra-mode, determining at least one of a horizontal transform or a vertical transform (e.g. see at least for blocks predicted via intraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection… horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3; note that the calculation of horizontal gradient and vertical gradient in DIMD process is well known to use filter kernels similar to Gx and Gy in Section 3.1.13.6); decoding a residual block, received from a bitstream, using the at least one of the horizontal transform or the vertical transform (e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen and Coban before him/her, to modify the Template matching for flipped intra block copy of Chen with the teachings of Chen in order to enhance compression beyond the current capabilities of VVC standard.
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Coban further teaches further comprising: based on the intra-mode, determining a secondary transform (Coban: e.g. see at least secondary transformation, Section 3.3.5); and decoding the residual block using the at least one of the horizontal transform, the vertical transform, or the secondary transform (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3), and the secondary transform (Coban: e.g. see at least secondary transformation, Section 3.3.5). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 18 applies here.
Regarding claims 16, 20, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Coban in further view of US 2022/0329800 A1 (“Ray”).
Regarding claim 5, although Chen in view of Coban further teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the horizontal transform and the vertical transform comprises using: the gradient; or an angular intra-mode determined based on the gradient (Coban: e.g. see at least for MTS, only DST7 and DCT8 transform kernels are utilized which are used for intra and inter coding… MTS set is made dependent on the TU size and intra mode information. For blocks predicted via IntraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection. Specifically, a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude values is used to the MTS transform set, Section 3.3.3), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose accessing a lookup table. Ray however, teaches accessing a lookup table (e.g. see at least look-up table, paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen, Coban and Ray before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Ray into the Template matching for flipped intra block copy of Chen as modified by Coban in order to enable utilizing the video device to transmit, receive, encode, decode, and/or store digital video information efficiently by implementing such video coding techniques, thus configuring the video coder to select the MTS scheme according to the size of the block and the intra-prediction mode for the current block.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations to the claims above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Coban in further view of US 2023/0217030 A1 (“Li”).
Regarding claim 15, although Chen in view of Coban teaches determining the intra-mode (e.g. see intra prediction mode, Section 3.3.3) by either applying: the flipped kernel to the RB; or the kernel to the flipped RB (e.g. see at least horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated, Section 3.3.3), it is noted Chen differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the kernel is a Sobel filter. Li however, teaches wherein the kernel is a Sobel filter (e.g. see Sobel filter, paragraphs [0088]-[0093]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Chen, Coban and Li before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Li into the Template matching for flipped intra block copy of Chen as modified by Coban in order to efficiently implement computation of horizontal gradient and vertical gradient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 7-9 of the Remarks that the prior art does not teach “after the determining the RB: determining a gradient associated with the RB by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to one of the RB, the reference template, or the current template” because “the proposed combination of Chen and Coban is improper because it appears that the Action is relying on information gleaned solely from Applicant’s specification.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen is directed to techniques for encoding and decoding a current block of video data using intra-block copy (IBC) by using intra template matching prediction (IntraTMP) to find a block vector that identifies a prediction block for the current block (see at least paragraph [0005]) and further to flipping the current block around the horizontal or vertical axis to improve prediction when a symmetric reference block can be used to predict the block (see paragraphs [0028]-[0029]). It is noted that Coban specifically teaches that for blocks predicted via intraTMP, DIMD process is used on the prediction block to derive an intra mode that is used for transform selection… horizontal gradient and vertical gradient are calculated for each predicted sample to build a HoG. Then the intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude is used to the MTS transform set (see Section 3.3.3) (as noted above, the calculation of horizontal gradient and vertical gradient in DIMD process is well known to use filter kernels similar to Gx and Gy in Section 3.1.13.6). Since the current block of Chen is predicted via intraTMP, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the enhanced MTS for intra coding as taught by Coban including the calculation of horizontal and vertical gradients since this technique is specifically for blocks predicted via intraTMP.
The teachings of Chen and Coban as a whole meet the limitation “after the determining the RB: determining a gradient associated with the RB by applying a kernel, flipped in the direction, to one of the RB, the reference template, or the current template”. A PHOSITA would have no difficulty recognizing to take into account the flipped direction of the RB, the reference template or the current template, as disclosed by Chen, e.g. see Fig. 9, before calculating the horizontal gradient and vertical gradient or before applying the filter kernels, as taught by Coban, so that correct intra prediction mode with the largest histogram amplitude can be determined that corresponds to the correct flipped direction, so that the correct intra prediction mode is used to the MTS transform set.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2024/148162 A1, Lee et al., Template matching prediction with multiple template types (previously attached)
EP 4346201 A1, Andrivon et al., Encoding/decoding video picture data (previously attached)
US 2025/0150599 A1, Deng et al., Method, apparatus, and medium for video processing
WO 2024/189262 A1, Ghaznavi et al., An apparatus, a method and a computer program for video coding and decoding (previously attached)
WO 2024/151830 A1, Lee et al., Adjusting template matching predicted block vector for candidate list (previously attached)
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619