DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 26 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered and are persuasive. In view of Applicant’s arguments, the rejection has been modified to further include Hahn et al. (US 20170127397 A1) (hereinafter Hahn) in combination with Zhou et al. (US 20230284065 A1) (hereinafter Zho). Huang et al. (US 20170048093 A1) (hereinafter Huang) is further relied upon with respect to dependent claims 2 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230284065 A1) (hereinafter Zho) which was cited in the IDS filed on 1/27/2026 in view of Hahn et al. (US 20170127397 A1) (hereinafter Hahn).
In regards to claim 1 and 12, Zho-Hahn teach a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
Implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising (Zho, fig. 15A, [0207]- [0215]):
a processor, a transmitter, a receiver and a memory, and configured to (Zho, fig. 15A, [0207]- [0215]: [0213] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively.):
receiving a first message comprising information indicating a primary synchronization signal (PSS) time period for a synchronization frequency, …within the PSS time period, …, and a PSS-based reporting configuration, wherein a …comprises a set of time offsets (Zho, fig. 7-9, fig. 10A-10B, fig. 11A-11B, fig. 13A-13C, fig. 29A-29B, fig. 33, fig. 35, fig. 40-41,fig. 43, fig. 46, [0069]-[0184], [0185]-[0230], [0231]-[0343], [0344]-[0448], [0449]-[0504]: [0147] The SS/PBCH block may span one or more OFDM symbols in the time domain (e.g., 4 OFDM symbols, as shown in FIG. 11A or any other quantity/number of symbols) and may span one or more subcarriers in the frequency domain (e.g., 240 contiguous subcarriers or any other quantity/number of subcarriers). The PSS, the SSS, and the PBCH may have a common center frequency. The PSS may be sent/transmitted first and may span, for example, 1 OFDM symbol and 127 subcarriers. The SSS may be sent/transmitted after the PSS (e.g., two symbols later) and may span 1 OFDM symbol and 127 subcarriers. The PBCH may be sent/transmitted after the PSS (e.g., across the next 3 OFDM symbols) and may span 240 subcarriers (e.g., in the second and fourth OFDM symbols as shown in FIG. 11A) and/or may span fewer than 240 subcarriers (e.g., in the third OFDM symbols as shown in FIG. 11A). [0372] The wireless device may in the process of beam/cell measurement, for example, in a time period (a number of symbols, mini-slots, slots, subframes, millisecond, etc.) during which the base station reduces transmission power (or increase transmission periodicity value, reduce a transmission number, etc.) of SSBs/CSI-RSs. The wireless device may perform beam/cell measurement per slot (e.g., if measurement periodicity is configured as small as 1 slot based on at least some wireless communications). The wireless device may perform beam/cell measurement over a number of slots (e.g., 5 slots if configured). In such a case, the beam/cell measurement may occur in time overlapping with the time period, for example, if the base station reduces transmission power of the SSBs/CSI-RSs. Implementing at least some technologies for beam/cell measurement in the energy saving state may result in incorrect beam/cell measurement report. [0410] The wireless device may perform beam/cell measurement based on the second measurement object, for example, in the energy saving state. The measurement periodicity of the second measurement object in the energy saving state may be configured longer than a time period (e.g., indicated by the DCI/MAC CE) of the energy saving state. The wireless device may skip beam/cell measurement (and/or reporting) in the time period of the energy saving state, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) the measurement periodicity being longer than the time period. A measurement time window, determined based on the second SMTC configuration, may not overlap the time period of the energy saving. The wireless device may skip beam/cell measurement (and/or reporting) in the time period of the energy saving state, for example, based on (e.g., in response to) the measurement time window not overlapping the time period of the energy saving. [0475] The wireless device may obtain the layer 3 filtered RSRP value, for example, based on filtering the first cell measurement with a layer 3 filter coefficient associated with a layer 3 filter. The command may indicate a power offset of the SSBs for the cell in the energy saving state. [0444] The wireless device may determine (or assume) that the reference signals are sent (e.g., transmitted) by the base station with the same first transmission power during a time window. The wireless device may determine (or assume) that the SSBs are sent (e.g., transmitted) by the base station with the same 1.sup.st Tx power during a time window from T0 to T1, for example, after receiving the DCI (or the MAC CE) at T0, wherein a time offset between T0 and T1 is the time gap. The wireless device may determine (or assume) that the SSBs are sent (e.g., transmitted) by the base station with 2.sup.nd Tx power from T1, for example, after receiving the DCI (or the MAC CE) at T0, wherein a time offset between T0 and T1 is the time gap.);
determining one or more PSS measurement values for the …(Zho, fig. 7-9, fig. 10A-10B, fig. 11A-11B, fig. 13A-13C, fig. 29A-29B, fig. 33, fig. 35, fig. 40-41,fig. 43, fig. 46, [0069]-[0184], [0185]-[0230], [0231]-[0343], [0344]-[0448], [0449]-[0504]: [0148] The location of the SS/PBCH block in the time and frequency domains may not be known to the wireless device (e.g., if the wireless device is searching for the cell). The wireless device may monitor a carrier for the PSS, for example, to find and select the cell. The wireless device may monitor a frequency location within the carrier. The wireless device may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, for example, if the PSS is not found after a certain duration (e.g., 20 ms). The wireless device may search for the PSS at a different frequency location within the carrier, for example, as indicated by a synchronization raster. The wireless device may determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively, for example, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block if the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). A primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. A cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB.);
determining a…, based on at least one PSS measurement value of the one or more PSS measurement values, wherein the at least one PSS measurement value is associated with the.., wherein determining the … comprises evaluating each of the one or more PSS measurement values for the …against the …, such that … whose associated with the at least one of the one or more PSS measurements values satisfying at least one of the … are included in the … (Zho, fig. 7-9, fig. 10A-10B, fig. 11A-11B, fig. 13A-13C, fig. 29A-29B, fig. 33, fig. 35, fig. 40-41,fig. 43, fig. 46, [0069]-[0184], [0185]-[0230], [0231]-[0343], [0344]-[0448], [0449]-[0504]: [0341] The wireless device may derive cell measurement results based on CSI-RS and/or layer 3 filtered beam measurements. For each measurement identity (e.g., measId) included in the measurement identity list (e.g., measIdList) within an accumulated configuration of measurements (e.g., VarMeasConfig), for example, if the report type (e.g., reportType) for the associated reporting configuration (e.g., reportConfig) is periodical (e.g., periodical), event-triggered (e.g., eventTriggered) or conditional triggering configuration (e.g., condTriggerConfig), if a measurement configuration (e.g., s-MeasureConfig) is set to SSB-RSRP (e.g., ssb-RSRP) and the SpCell RSRP (e.g., NR SpCell RSRP) based on SSB, after layer 3 filtering, is lower than SSB-RSRP (e.g., ssb-RSRP) or if a measurement configuration (e.g., s-MeasureConfig) is set to CSI-RSRP (e.g., csi-RSRP) and the SpCell RSRP (e.g., NR SpCell RSRP) based on CSI-RS, after layer 3 filtering, is lower than CSI-RSRP (e.g., csi-RSRP), the wireless device may derive cell measurement results based on CSI-RS for the trigger quantity and each measurement quantity indicated in cell quantities report (e.g., reportQuantityCell) using parameters from the associated measurement object (e.g., measObject), if report quantity RS indexes (e.g., reportQuantityRS-Indexes) and maximum number of RS indexes to report (e.g., maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport) for the associated reporting configuration (e.g., reportConfig) are configured and if the measurement object (e.g., measObject) is associated to NR and the RS type (e.g., rsType) is set to CSI-RS (e.g., csi-rs) and may derive layer 3 filtered beam measurements only based on CSI-RS for each measurement quantity indicated in report quantity RS indexes (e.g., reportQuantityRS-Indexes) if report quantity RS indexes (e.g., reportQuantityRS-Indexes) and maximum number of RS indexes to report (e.g., maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport) for the associated reporting configuration (e.g., reportConfig) are configured.); and
transmitting a second message to a network based on the at least one PSS measurement value associated with the subset of segments satisfying the at least one of the one or more segment-based events criteria, wherein the second message is transmitted according to the PSS-based reporting configuration, wherein the second message comprises a PSS-based measurement information, and wherein the PSS- based measurement information indicates the subset of segments and the at least one PSS measurement value associated with the subset of segments (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0498] A wireless device may perform a method comprising multiple operations. A wireless device may receive one or more first messages. The one or more first messages may indicate a threshold for cell measurement and a downlink transmission power of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs). The wireless device may receive one or more second messages. The one or more second messages may comprise an indication of a transition associated with a base station to an energy saving state and a command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is stopped. The wireless device may skip, based on the command, measurement of the SSBs during which the transmission of the SSBs is stopped. The wireless device may skip, based on the skipping the measurement of the SSBs, transmission of a measurement report. The wireless device may determine, for each of a plurality of reference signals, a reference signal received power (RSRP) value, before the receiving the one or more second messages. The wireless device may determine an average of RSRP values, for the plurality of reference signals, that are greater than the threshold. The wireless device may transmit a message comprising an indication of the average of the RSRP values. The one or more first messages may further indicate a reduced power threshold for cell measurement during an energy saving state. The wireless device may transmit a message, and the message may comprise wireless device assistance information requesting a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state. The one or more second messages may comprise at least one of: downlink control information (DCI); a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); and a radio resource control (RRC) message. The wireless device may receive a second command indicating that transmission of the SSBs is resumed. The wireless device may transmit, based measurement of the SSBs, a measurement report. The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements. A system may comprise a wireless device configured to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements; and a base station configured to communicate with the wireless device. A computer-readable medium may store instructions that, when executed, cause performance of the described method, additional operations, and/or include the additional elements.).
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “set of segments”, “one or more segment-based events criteria”, “segment of the set of segments”, “subset of segments from the set of segments”, and “subset of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as, “set of segments”, “segment of the set of segments”, “subset of segments from the set of segments”, and “subset of segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: Whole sections of measurement gap, can be seen as “set of segments”. A section where PSS is detected, can be seen as “segment of the set of segments”. The shortened measurement gap comprising selected subframes can be seen as a “subset of segments from the set of segments and a “subset of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn further teaches reporting criteria associated with measurements, wherein the reporting criterion may comprise an event that triggers the UE to send a measurement report when the measurement result satisfies the event, which can be seen as, “one or more segment-based events criteria” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: [0168] (2) Reporting configuration information: The information is on a reporting condition and a reporting type about the timing of reporting the transmitted measurement result. The reporting configuration information may include a list of reporting configurations. Each of the reporting configurations may include a reporting criterion and a reporting format. The reporting criterion is used to trigger the UE to send a measurement report and may either be periodical or a single event description. The reporting format is information on which type of the measurement result is configured.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
In regards to claim 3 and 14, Zho teaches a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
wherein the one or more PSS measurement values comprise one or more power values of one or more PSS peaks that occurred during at least one …, and wherein the at least one of the … comprises a highest value of at least one power value of the one or more power values, wherein the at power value corresponds to a respective at least one PSS peak of the one or more PSS peaks satisfies a first threshold (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: The examiner interprets the PSS peak as PSS measurement within the SSB, and the first threshold as the absolute threshold used to evaluate the SSB measurement values. [0347] The wireless device may derive cell measurement results based on beam measurement on a cell. The wireless device may derive cell measurement results based on beam measurement of SSB and/or CSI-RS on a cell. For each cell measurement quantity to be derived based on SSB, the wireless device may derive each cell measurement quantity, for example, based on SSB as the highest beam measurement quantity value (e.g., wherein each beam measurement quantity is described below and/or also in specification of TS 38.215) if a beam measurement based on SSB to be averaged (e.g., nrofSS-BlocksToAverage) is not configured in the associated measurement object (e.g., measObject) in RRC_CONNECTED or in the associated entry in a measurement idle NR carrier list (e.g., measIdleCarrierListNR) within an idle measurement configuration (e.g., VarMeasIdleConfig) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE, or if an absolute threshold for the consolidation of measurement results per SSB (e.g., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) is not configured in the associated measurement object (e.g., measObject) in RRC_CONNECTED or in the associated entry in measurement idle NR carrier list (e.g., measIdleCarrierListNR) within an idle measurement configuration (e.g., VarMeasIdleConfig) in RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE, or if the highest beam measurement quantity value is below or equal to the absolute threshold for the consolidation of measurement results per SSB (e.g., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation), otherwise, the wireless device may derive each cell measurement quantity based on SSB as the linear power scale average of the highest beam measurement quantity values above the absolute threshold for the consolidation of measurement results per SSB (e.g., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) where the total number of averaged beams may not exceed beam measurement based on SSB to be averaged (e.g., nrofSS-BlocksToAverage), and where each beam measurement quantity is described below and/or also in specification of TS 38.215. The wireless device may apply/use layer 3 cell filtering for the measurement quantity if in RRC_CONNECTED, for example, after obtaining the cell measurement based on SSB.).
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “set of segments”, “one or more segment-based events criteria”, “segment of the set of segments”, “subset of segments from the set of segments”, and “subset of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as “segment of the set of segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: A section where PSS is detected, can be seen as “segment of the set of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn further teaches reporting criteria associated with measurements, wherein the reporting criterion may comprise an event that triggers the UE to send a measurement report when the measurement result satisfies the event, which can be seen as, “one or more segment-based events criteria” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: [0168] (2) Reporting configuration information: The information is on a reporting condition and a reporting type about the timing of reporting the transmitted measurement result. The reporting configuration information may include a list of reporting configurations. Each of the reporting configurations may include a reporting criterion and a reporting format. The reporting criterion is used to trigger the UE to send a measurement report and may either be periodical or a single event description. The reporting format is information on which type of the measurement result is configured.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
In regards to claim 6 and 17, Zho-Hahn teaches a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
Wherein the at least one PSS measurement value associated with the … comprises a plurality of PSS measurement values associated with a plurality of the …, and wherein transmitting the second message to the network comprises transmitting the second message to the network based on the plurality of PSS measurement values satisfying the at least one of the … (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0114] An RRC state may be associated with a mobility management mechanism. During the RRC idle state (e.g., RRC idle 606) and the RRC inactive state (e.g., the RRC inactive 604), mobility may be managed/controlled by the wireless device via a cell reselection. The purpose of mobility management during the RRC idle state (e.g., the RRC idle 606) or during the RRC inactive state (e.g., the RRC inactive 604) may be to enable/allow the network to be able to notify the wireless device of an event via a paging message without having to broadcast the paging message over the entire mobile communications network. [0222] A wireless device may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells (e.g., a primary cell, one or more secondary cells). The wireless device may communicate with at least one base station (e.g., two or more base stations in dual-connectivity) via the plurality of cells. The one or more messages (e.g. as a part of the configuration parameters) may comprise parameters of PHY, MAC, RLC, PCDP, SDAP, RRC layers for configuring the wireless device. The configuration parameters may comprise parameters for configuring PHY and MAC layer channels, bearers, etc. The configuration parameters may comprise parameters indicating values of timers for PHY, MAC, RLC, PCDP, SDAP, RRC layers, and/or communication channels.).
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “one or more segment-based events criteria” and “subset of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as, “subset of segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: The shortened measurement gap comprising selected subframes can be seen as a “subset of segments from the set of segments and a “subset of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn further teaches reporting criteria associated with measurements, wherein the reporting criterion may comprise an event that triggers the UE to send a measurement report when the measurement result satisfies the event, which can be seen as, “one or more segment-based events criteria” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: [0168] (2) Reporting configuration information: The information is on a reporting condition and a reporting type about the timing of reporting the transmitted measurement result. The reporting configuration information may include a list of reporting configurations. Each of the reporting configurations may include a reporting criterion and a reporting format. The reporting criterion is used to trigger the UE to send a measurement report and may either be periodical or a single event description. The reporting format is information on which type of the measurement result is configured.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
In regards to claim 7 and 18, Zho-Hahn teaches a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
wherein determining one or more PSS measurement values comprises ((Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See above for paragraph [0390].):
performing PSS detection during the PSS time period for the synchronization frequency ((Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See above for paragraph [0176].); and
determining the one or more PSS measurement values based on the PSS detection (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0390] The wireless device may (periodically) update layer 3 cell measurements (by applying/using the higher layer filtering based on examples as described herein with respect to FIG. 35), for example, based on an old layer 3 cell measurement value and a new layer 1 cell measurement obtained in a new measurement time window. A measurement time window may be implemented based on example as described herein with respect to FIG. 35 and/or FIG. 36. The new layer 1 cell measurement may be obtained by averaging the number of highest beam measurements of beam measurements obtained in the new measurement time window, for example, if there is at least one beam measurement of the beam measurements being greater than the first threshold, as described herein. [0395] The base station may determine the transitioning, for example, based on uplink signal (e.g., SRS, PRACH, DM-RS, UCI, etc.) measurement/assessment/detection at the base station. The base station may determine the transitioning, for example, based on information exchange from a neighbor base station via X2 interface, wherein the information exchange may comprise indication of the transitioning, traffic load information, etc.); and
wherein determining the … comprises (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0304] FIG. 34 shows an example indication of SSB location in an SSB burst. Indication of SSB location may be in form of an indication of a presence of an SSB group among a plurality of SSB groups. Each group may comprise a subset of a plurality of candidate SSBs (e.g., maximum possible quantity of candidate SSBs) in an SSB burst. For example, a maximum possible quantity of candidate SSBs in an SSB burst may be equal to 64 (e.g., for SCS =120 kHz or 240 kHz, and f.sub.c > 6 GHz). The candidate SSBs in the SSB burst may comprise SSBs with indexes from 0 to 63. The candidate SSBs in an SSB burst may be divided into SSB groups.):
determining the … based on the one or more PSS measurements values (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See above for paragraph [0388].).
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “subset of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as, “subset of segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: The shortened measurement gap comprising selected subframes can be seen as a “subset of segments from the set of segments and a “subset of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
In regards to claim 8 and 19, Zho teaches a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
wherein the one or more PSS measurement values comprise any of one or more PSS peaks with corresponding power values, one or more time offsets in relation to a start of the PSS time period, one or more frequency offsets in relation to the synchronization frequency, and one or more PSS sequence indexes (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0299] FIG. 32 shows example SSB configurations. FIG. 32 shows an example table for determination of a starting OFDM symbol index of candidate SSBs. OFDM starting symbols may be determined as a function of a SCS and carrier frequency. For example, starting OFDM symbol indexes of SSBs in an SSB burst, for a cell configured with 15 kHz SCS and carrier frequency fc<3GHz (e.g., L.sub.max=4), may be 2, 8, 16, and 22. OFDM symbols in a half-frame may be indexed with the first symbol of the first slot being indexed as 0. Starting OFDM symbol indexes of SSBs in an SSB burst, for a cell configured with 15 kHz and carrier frequency 3 GHz<fc<6GHz (L.sub.max=8) may be 2, 8, 16, 22, 30, 36, 44 and 50. Starting OFDM symbol indexes for other SCSs and carrier frequencies may be similarly determined in accordance with the table shown in FIG. 32. The base station may send/transmit only one SSB by using the first SSB starting position, for example, if the base station is not transmitting the SSBs with beam forming.).
In regards to claim 9 and 20, Zho-Hahn teaches a method (Zho, see fig. 45)/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Zho, see fig. 15A):
wherein performing PSS detection comprises determining one or more PSS detection values, wherein the information further indicates a set of PSS filtering thresholds, the method comprising (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See above for paragraph [0390].):
determining a PSS filtering threshold and one or more filtered PSS detection values based on the one or more PSS detection values, wherein the one or more filtered PSS detection values correspond to a respective one or more of the one or more PSS detection values that are above the PSS filtering threshold (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See below for paragraph [0337].); and
determining the … and the one or more PSS measurement values based on the filtered PSS detection values (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: See above for paragraph [0390].
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “subset of segments from the set of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as, “subset of segments from the set of segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: The shortened measurement gap comprising selected subframes can be seen as a “subset of segments from the set of segments and a “subset of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
In regards to claim 10, Zho teaches the method of claim 9 (Zho, see fig. 45):
wherein the PSS-based measurement information indicates the PSS filtering threshold (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0337] A network may configure the wireless device to report measurement information per beam (which may either be measurement results per beam with respective beam identifier(s) or only beam identifier(s)). The wireless device may apply/use the layer 3 beam filtering, for example, if beam measurement information is configured to be included in measurement reports. On the other hand, the exact L1 filtering of beam measurements used to derive cell measurement results may be implementation dependent. [0349] A wireless device may derive layer 3 beam filtered measurement. The wireless device may derive layer 3 beam filtered measurement, for example, based on SSB and/or CSI-RSs. For each layer 3 beam filtered measurement quantity to be derived based on SSB, the wireless device may derive each configured beam measurement quantity, for example, based on SSB as described below and/or also in specification of TS 38.215 and apply/use layer 3 beam filtering. For each layer 3 beam filtered measurement quantity to be derived based on CSI-RS, the wireless device may derive each configured beam measurement quantity, for example, based on CSI-RS as described below and/or also in specification of TS 38.215 and apply/use layer 3 beam filtering. In this specification, a higher layer filtered RSRP/RSRQ/SINR may be referred to as a L3-RSRP/RSRQ/SINR, in contrast to a physical layer measured RSRP/RSRQ/SINR. A higher layer filter configured with a layer 3 (or L3) filter coefficient for layer 3 (or L3) measurement may be referred to as a layer 3 (or L3) filter. A physical layer measured RSRP/RSRQ/SINR which is a RSRP/RSRQ/SINR measured by a physical layer of a wireless device, before filtered by a layer 3 (or L3) filter of the wireless device, may be referred to as a L1-RSRP/RSRQ/SINR.).
In regards to claim 11, Zho-Hahn teaches the method of claim 1 (Zho, see fig. 45):
wherein the information indicates a configuration associated with the …, wherein the configuration associated with the … comprises any of configuration information indicating the set of segments, a first time-frequency …corresponding to a positive frequency offset from the synchronization frequency, and a second time-frequency … corresponding to a negative frequency offset from the synchronization frequency (Zho, fig. 13a-13c, fig. 34-35, fig. 40-41, [0146]-[0165], [0174]-[0198], [0294]-[0299], [0304]-[0311], [0312]-[0344], [0372]-[0383], [0428]-[0431], [0459]-[0484], [0486]-[0498]: [0269] A wireless device, in an RRC idle state (e.g., RRC_IDLE) or in an RRC inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE), may periodically monitor POs for receiving paging message(s) for the wireless device. The wireless device, in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state and before monitoring the POs, may wake up at a time before each PO for preparation and/or to activate (e.g., turn on) all components in preparation of data reception (e.g., warm up stage). The gap between the waking up and the PO may be set to be sufficient to accommodate all the processing requirements. The wireless device may perform, after the warming up, timing acquisition from SSB and coarse synchronization, frequency and time tracking, time and frequency offset compensation, and/or calibration of local oscillator. The wireless device, after warm up, may monitor a PDCCH for a paging DCI via one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions. The wireless device may monitor the PDCCH, for example, based on configuration parameters of the PCCH configuration (e.g., as configured in SIB1). The configuration parameters of the PCCH configuration may be as described with respect to FIG. 25.).
Thus, the system of Zho does not explicitly the terms/phrases “set of segments”.
Similar to the system of Zho, Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes and configuring a shortened measurement gap based on the section/subframe in which a synchronization signal is detected, which can be seen as, “set of segments”(Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: Whole sections of measurement gap, can be seen as “set of segments”. [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zho with Hahn to satisfy the delay requirements for a specific service by configuring a shorter measurement gap (Hahn, [0178]).
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al. (US 20170127397 A1) (hereinafter Hahn) as applied to claims 1/12 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 20170048093 A1) (hereinafter Huang).
In regards to claim 2 and 13, Hahn-Huang teaches a method/ A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU):
Hahn teaches dividing a measurement gap into multiple sections/subframes, which can be seen as, “segments” (Hahn, fig. 3-5, fig. 6-9, fig. 10-11, fig. 15-22, fig. 24, [0079]-[0122], [0123]-[0221], [0222]-[0314], [0315]-[0363], [0364]-[0379]: [0211] Particularly, a UE receives the indication information (e.g., half Measurement GAP Indication) indicating that the measurement gap that is currently configured is able to be configured to a short (e.g., half) measurement gap from a (serving) BS (step, S1110). [0212] Later, the UE monitors or measures the primary synchronization signal (PSS) of the neighboring BS(s) in the whole sections of the measurement gap that is currently configured (step, S1120). [0213] Then, when the UE identifies the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1130), the UE performs a measurement by shortly configuring the measurement gap as the section where the primary synchronization signal is detected (step, S1140. [0224] In particular, FIG. 12a shows an example of the case that each of the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into four subframes and three subframes, respectively, and FIG. 12b shows an example of the case that the measurement gaps configured with six subframes are divided into three subframes, two subframes and three subframes, respectively.).
Thus, the system of Hahn does not explicitly teach wherein the … further comprises a set of frequency offsets.
Similar to the system of Hahn, Huang teaches multiple receiving antennas that each determine a frequency offset, which can be seen as, wherein the … further comprises a set of frequency offsets (Huang, fig. 2, fig. 4-5, [0020]-[0092], [0093]-[0101]: [0072] It should be noted that, when a frequency offset compensation operation is performed on a received signal, the set K⊂N, that is, the set of receiving antennas for frequency offset estimation may not include all receiving antennas but include some receiving antennas. When frequency offset compensation is performed on a received signal, an antenna that belongs to the set K estimates a carrier frequency offset estimation value of the antenna and then performs frequency offset compensation on the antenna. To reduce complexity, a particular receiving antenna may not participate in frequency offset estimation, but perform frequency offset compensation by using a carrier frequency offset estimation value of a combination of receiving antennas whose carrier frequency offsets are close or the same. For example, a receiving antenna p.Math.K but p.Math.N. When frequency offset compensation is performed on y.sub.p(l), [AltContent: rect](l)=y.sub.p(l)×e.sup.−j2πΔf.sup.c.sup.lT.sup.s.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hahn with Huang to optimize the network on the basis of the measurement result reported from UEs which assist the network operation (Huang, [0160]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhamri et al. (US 20250106661 A1), the abstract discusses a first signaling information from a network, the first signaling information indicating a RS resource and a corresponding association to at least one waveform; receive a second signaling information from the network, the second signaling information indicating a reporting configuration for performing measurements on the RS resource and the corresponding at least one waveform; generate a measurement report according to the reporting configuration; and transmit the measurement report to the network. (See fig. 6 and 7).
Subramanian et al. (US 20180287683 A1), the abstract discusses a user equipment (UE) may report metrics (e.g., received signal power, beam identifier) about synchronization signal (SS) beams using the same (e.g., or a similar) framework that is used for channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) reporting. Because SSs are intended to be broadcast across a wide coverage area in a beamformed manner, the SSs represent a promising complement to existing beam management techniques. Accordingly, beam management may be achieved at least in part based on reporting one or more metrics of beamformed SSs through a channel feedback framework. (See fig. 7).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Patent Examiner, AU 2465B
18 August 2026