Applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 9/9/2024 have been entered.
Claims 201-220 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 201-220 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,040,693 (‘693) in view of Franke et al., Fertility and Sterility, 2000, 74(3): 534-539. ‘693 and Franke et al. are reference of record.
‘693 teaches a genus of GnRH antagonists including the herein claimed compound, compound 233, as effective in treating endometriosis (see claim 30, col. 7, line 26 for example). . ‘693 teaches the effective amount of using the GnRH antagonists as 0.1-1,000 mg via oral administration (see col. 18, lines 60-63). ‘693 teaches additional agents can be used with the GnRH antagonist compounds; the secondary agents include estrogenic and progestins (see col. 19, lines 14-16).
‘693 does not expressly teach the herein claimed dosage of 100mg. ‘693 does not expressly teach the use of add back therapy as herein claimed.
Franke et al. teaches an add back therapy being used in a GnRH analogue to treat endometriosis-associated pain (see the abstract). Franke et al. teaches that Add back therapy is used in order to combat the adverse effect of hypoestrogenism caused by the GnRH analogue therapy (see page 535, col. 1, third paragraph). Franke et al. teaches the dosage of 2mg of 17β-estradiol and 1mg of norethindrone acetate (see page 535, col. 2, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the herein claimed dosage in the method of treating endometriosis and endometriosis-associated pain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the add back therapy into the method of treating pain associated with endometriosis.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the estradiol and norethindrone, in the herein claimed dosage of the actives, in the method of treating endometriosis and endometriosis-associated pain. The optimization of result effect parameters (e.g., dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The dosage of the Linzagolix taught in the cited prior art encompasses that recited in the claims. Therefore, case of obviousness exists. As for estradiol and norethindrone acetate, the dosage of the agents depends on the how much the level of estrogen being suppressed in the patient who receives GnRH blockage (such as Linzagolix) treatment. Adjusting the dosage of 17β-estradiol and norethindrone acetate to counter the hypoestrogenism caused by Linzagolix would be reasonably expected to be effective and thus, obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 201-220 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,621 (‘621). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘621 teaches the exact same method of treating endometriosis-associated pain and the composition of the compound of formula (II). However, ‘621 does not expressly teach the dosage of the active used in the method/composition as 100mg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust the dosage of compound of formula (II) to 100mg.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the dosage of compound of formula (II) to 100mg. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since ‘621 teaches the dosage of 200mg, reducing it to 100mg in order to minimize the severe side effects the patients would be seen as obvious.
Claims 217-220 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/244,773 (‘773) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘773 teaches a composition comprising 100mg of compound of formula (II) (see claims 17, 19 for example).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 217-220 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 220, 223-225, 228, 235-236 of copending Application No. 17/291, 192 (‘192) (reference application) in view of Franke et al.. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘192 teaches a method of treating endometriosis comprising 100mg of compound of formula (II) (see claims 220 for example). ‘192 teaches the add-back therapy (see claim 228).
‘192 does not expressly teach the specific add-back agents.
Franke et al. teaches an add back therapy being used in a GnRH analogue to treat endometriosis-associated pain (see the abstract). Franke et al. teaches that Add back therapy is used in order to combat the adverse effect of hypoestrogenism caused by the GnRH analogue therapy (see page 535, col. 1, third paragraph). Franke et al. teaches the dosage of 2mg of 17β-estradiol and 1mg of norethindrone acetate (see page 535, col. 2, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the estradiol and norethindrone, in the herein claimed dosage of the actives, in the method of treating endometriosis and endometriosis-associated pain.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the estradiol and norethindrone, in the herein claimed dosage of the actives, in the method of treating endometriosis and endometriosis-associated pain. Combining the known add-back therapy agents, such as estradiol and norethindrone acetate, into the method would be reasonably expected to be effective with GnRH antagonist therapy for endometriosis. As for estradiol and norethindrone acetate, the dosage of the agents depends on the how much the level of estrogen being suppressed in the patient who receives GnRH blockage (such as Linzagolix) treatment. Adjusting the dosage of 17β-estradiol and norethindrone acetate to counter the hypoestrogenism caused by Linzagolix would be reasonably expected to be effective and thus, obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 201-220 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 398, 401-414 of copending Application No. 17/633,479 (‘479) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘479 teaches the method of treating endometriosis using the herein claimed compound in a dosage of 100mg, with optional add-back therapy including estradiol and norethindrone acetate (see claim 398, 404, 410-412).
‘479 does not expressly teach the composition comprising the herein claimed compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to formulate the herein claimed composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the herein claimed composition. As it is known for the herein claimed compound being administered to treat endometriosis, therefore, it would be reasonably expected to be successful to formulate the composition of 100mg of the herein claimed compound.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627