Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I in the reply filed on 07/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15-line 4, it appears that the second occurrence of “light emitter” should be –light receiver—since it is not clear how the light emitter can be spaced from itself. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al., US 2019/0346305.
Ho et al. shows the invention as claimed including an optoelectronic device, comprising:
A substrate 20;
A sensing element 22 disposed on the substrate 20;
A light emitting element 21 disposed on the substrate 20;
A first dam (for example, a lower portion of 23 or region 13) disposed on the substrate and covering a side of the sensing element (see, for example, figs. 1, 2A-6C and their descriptions); and
A second dam (for example, an upper portion of 23) disposed on the first dam; wherein the first dam and the second dam are located between the sensing element and the light emitting element (see paragraphs 0020-0047).
Regarding dependent claim 2, note that the first dam includes a main body and an extending portion (see, for example, figs. 1 and 2A) connected to the main body, and the extending portion extends to an upper surface of the sensing element.
With respect to dependent claim 3, note that the main body and the extending portion are tapered structures that taper from bottom to top (see semicircular shape of region 23).
As to dependent claim 7, Ho et al. discloses the device further comprising a first encapsulant 24 disposed on the substrate and covering the sensing element and the light emitting element.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ho et al. discloses an optoelectronic device further comprising a second encapsulant (or peripheral edges of the first encapsulant) surrounding the first encapsulant.
As to independent claim 15, note that Ho et al. shows the invention as claimed including an optoelectronic device, comprising:
A substrate 20;
A light receiver 22 disposed on the substrate;
A light emitter 21 disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the light emitter; and
A light blocking structure (for example, 23)disposed between the light receiver and the light emitter and covering a side and partially a top of the light receiver (see, for example, figs. 1, 2A-6C and their descriptions and paragraphs 0020-0047).
Concerning dependent claim 16, Ho et al. discloses wherein light blocking structure comprises a first dam (see region 23) that tapers from bottom to top.
With respect to dependent claim 17, Ho et al. discloses wherein the light blocking structure comprises a first dam (lower portion of dam 23) disposed on the carrier and a second dam (upper portion of dam 23) disposed on the top of the first dam.
As to dependent claim 19, Ho et al. discloses further comprising a first encapsulant 24 disposed on the carrier and covering the light emitter and the light receiver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al., US 2019/0346305.
Ho et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the specific dimensions of the dam configuration. However, a prima facie case of obviousness is established because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As to dependent claim 13, Ho et al. does not expressly disclose the relative Shore hardness of the first and second dams. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum Shore hardness of the dam based upon a variety of factors including the desired resistance to deformation and potential damage and would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al., US 2019/0346305 in view of Liu et al., US 2021/0305441.
Ho et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose carbon black disposed as part of the light shielding or dam structure. Liu et al. discloses the use of carbon black in dam configurations in light emitting and sensing structures (see, for example, paragraph 0073). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to compose the light shielding or dam structure of Ho et al. with carbon black as suggested by Liu et al. because this material is shown to be suitable as a light shielding material. Concerning the concentration of carbon black, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsuyama, US 2009/0128794 discloses light emission structures and light receiving structures separated in a substrate (see abstract and fig. 1).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
October 2, 2026