DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith (US 2010/0297902 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Smith teaches a cross-linked waterproof membrane comprising: a reinforcement scrim (a support carrier) composed of a nonwoven fabric (Smith: abstract; par. 0008-0011) which may be formed of polypropylene fibers and would inherently have a first and second surface (Smith cites Horne US 2007/0065630 A1 as a source of suitable fiber materials; par. 0009 of Horne cites polypropylene fibers). The fabric may be fully impregnated with a mixture and cured (a cured precoat) (Smith: par. 0009-0011). As the nonwoven fabric is impregnated with the precoat, it would inherently fill spaces between the fibers and as the fabric is fully impregnated it would fill spaces in the first surface of the nonwoven fabric. Additionally, as the fabric may be coated and/or impregnated, there would exist an embodiment in which no film is formed on the fabric forming a support carrier first surface. Additionally, Smith further disclosed additional coating process may be utilized with the mixture with the language of “coat and/or impregnate” which suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art an additional coating step that is separate from the precoat impregnation. The additional coating step may be considered to form a topcoat layer bonded to said support carrier first surface (Smith: par. 0009-0011). The topcoat may comprise a mixture that is composed of polyurethane that has free reactive polyisocyanate groups that react upon curing (a crosslinked polyurethane) (Smith: par. 0011).
The limitation requiring the nonwoven fabric to be “spunbound” is a product by process limitation. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113. In this case, there appears to be no structural difference between the generally claimed “spunbound” polypropylene nonwoven fabric and the disclosed polypropylene nonwoven fabric.
Regarding claims 3 and 4,
Smith teaches the cross-linked waterproof membrane required by claim 1. Smith further teaches the precoat may comprise a mixture of polyurethane and a polypropylene (Smith: par. 0010).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Baba et al. (JP H1150609 A; machine translation).
Regarding claim 2,
Smith teaches the cross-linked waterproof membrane required by claim 1. Smith is silent towards the thickness of the topcoat layer being from 0.4 to 1.9 mm.
Baba teaches a waterproof membrane comprising a coating, comprising polyurethane, on a spun bound non-woven fabric composed of polypropylene fibers, in which the coating is 600 µm (converts to 0.6 mm which is within the claimed range) and provides improved nail hole sealing properties while maintaining moisture permeability and water pressure resistance (Baba: abstract; par. 0015-0017).
Smith and Baba are in the corresponding field of waterproof membranes composed of polyurethane coatings on fabric carrier layers for use in roofing. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a thickness for the topcoat of Smith to be within the claimed range to provide adequate nail hole sealing properties while maintain moisture permeability and water pressure resistance as taught by Baba.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funkhouser (US 5,979,133 A) in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 5,
Funkhouser teaches a waterproof multilayer system for roofing, comprising in order from a roof (11): a) a roofing primer (13); b) an adherent tacky rubberized layer (15, an adhesive layer); a reinforcing mesh layer (16); and an outer sealant layer (17, a top finish layer) comprising a polyurethane (Funkhouser: abstract; Fig. 2; col. 2, lin. 5-17; col. 3, lin. 7-14).
Funkhouser does not explicitly teach the reinforcing mesh layer (16) is a cross-linked waterproof membrane of claim 1.
Smith teaches the cross-linked waterproof membrane required by claim 1 as explained above. That is, Smith teaches a cross-linked waterproof membrane having improved UV stability without adversely affecting the flexibility of the dried and/or cured blend comprising: a reinforcement scrim (a support carrier) composed of a nonwoven fabric (Smith: abstract; par. 0008-0011) which may be formed of polypropylene fibers and would inherently have a first and second surface (Smith cites Horne US 2007/0065630 A1 as a source of suitable fiber materials; par. 0009 of Horne cites polypropylene fibers). The fabric may be fully impregnated with a mixture and cured (a cured precoat) (Smith: par. 0009-0011). As the nonwoven fabric is impregnated with the precoat, it would inherently fill spaces between the fibers and as the fabric is fully impregnated it would fill spaces in the first surface of the nonwoven fabric. Additionally, as the fabric may be coated and/or impregnated, there would exist an embodiment in which no film is formed on the fabric forming a support carrier first surface. Additionally, Smith further disclosed additional coating process may be utilized with the mixture with the language of “coat and/or impregnate” which suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art an additional coating step that is separate from the precoat impregnation. The additional coating step may be considered to form a topcoat layer bonded to said support carrier first surface (Smith: par. 0009-0011). The topcoat may comprise a mixture that is composed of polyurethane that has free reactive polyisocyanate groups that react upon curing (a crosslinked polyurethane) (Smith: par. 0011).
The limitation requiring the nonwoven fabric to be “spunbound” is a product by process limitation. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113. In this case, there appears to be no structural difference between the generally claimed “spunbound” polypropylene nonwoven fabric and the disclosed polypropylene nonwoven fabric.
Funkhouser and Smith are in the corresponding field of membrane laminates for use in roofing. Therefore, it would be obvious to utilize the cross-linked waterproof membrane of Smith in place of the reinforcing fabric of Funkhouser to provide improved UV stability without adversely affecting the flexibility while maintaining waterproofing properties as taught by Smith. The resulting laminate would have the cross-linked waterproof membrane support carrier second surface adhered to the roofing primer by the adhesive layer.
Funkhouser is also silent towards the polyurethane in the top finish layer being cured. However, the top finish layer would be on the topcoat surface of the cross-linked waterproof membrane.
Smith teaches using moisture-curing polyurethane to provide improved UV resistance, good resistance to oxidation, and aging (Smith: par. 0011 and 0021). Therefore, it would be obvious to utilize a cured polyurethane, such as taught by Smith, in the top finish layer of Funkhouser to provide the improved UV light resistance and good resistance to oxidation and aging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue that Smith cannot teach all limitations of claim 1 as the water-proof or resistant seal is placed on a roof surface and does not teach or imply a topcoat layer or the claimed membrane of a cured precoated nonwoven layer.
The argument is not found as Smith explicitly teaches a polypropylene fiber that may be fully impregnated and/or coated and cured (Smith: par. 0009-0011). There is an additional coating step in which the mixture, that comprises a polyurethane that reacts upon curing, may be coated as a top surface and thus may be considered a topcoat (Smith: par. 0009-0011). Thus, Smith does teach the claimed structural limitations required by claim 1.
Applicant argues against the Section 103 rejections and notes the same deficiencies as previously argued.
The argument is not found persuasive for the same reasons explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783