DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, and 16-24, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, upon further review of the Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art references (Abdelghaffar and Zou) fail to show certain features of the Applicant’s amended invention as argued by the Applicant.
First, with respect to the Applicant’s limitation A in question (i.e. “the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal device, the following actions after activating the first TRP: performing a random access procedure; performing an uplink synchronization process; and transmitting uplink data”). (Emphasis Added).
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and kindly directs the Applicant to Zou, e.g. fig. 4, and pp0100, which explicitly discussed the concept wherein at step 416, the target DU/TRP 406 sends a MAC CE for target activation to the UE 404 (i.e. claimed limitation “after activating the first TRP”). And then, if the tight synchronization condition is not met, the UE will start random access to the target. After the random access is successfully completed, the data transmissions between the UE and the target starts (i.e. claimed limitations “performing a random access procedure; and transmitting uplink data”). Although, Zou implicitly discussed the concept of determining “if the tight synchronization condition is not met”, Zou does not explicitly teach the at least claimed limitation (i.e. claimed limitation “performing an uplink synchronization process”). Therefore, the at least limitation in question (i.e. “performing an uplink synchronization process”) will be addressed in the new grounds of rejection.
Secondly, with respect to the Applicant’s limitation B in question (i.e. “wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells, or different TRPs in the at least one TRP correspond to different physical cell identifiers (PCIs)”). (Emphasis Added).
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and kindly directs the Applicant to Zou, e.g. fig. 2 and pp0091, which explicitly discussed the concept of multiple TRPs e.g. TRP1 and TRP2 with respective coverage area 222 and 220 (i.e. claimed limitations “wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells”). Thus, the claim does not uniquely and/or particularly define the limitation in question so as to distinguish from the applied prior art. During patent examination, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. See also MPEP §2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, and 16-24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al. (US Publication No. 20230062459) in view of Zou et al. (US Publication No. 20200305037) and further in view of Sharma et al. (US Publication No. 20210329515).
As to claims 1 and 9, Abdelghaffar teaches a wireless communication method and a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to perform operations of (fig. 1, fig. 5, and fig. 7, UE): activating a first transmission reception point (TRP) of at least one TRP (fig. 1, fig. 5, #515, pp0060, base station may also transmit control signaling to indicate or activate a TCI state for each TRP communicating with the UE, and pp0121) in response to a first condition being satisfied; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: indication information that is configured to indicate activating the first TRP being received (fig. 1, fig. 5, #515, pp0060, base station may also transmit control signaling to indicate or activate a TCI state for each TRP communicating with the UE, and pp0121); or channel quality of the first TRP being greater than or equal to a first threshold. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal device, the following actions after activating the first TRP: performing a random access procedure; performing an uplink synchronization process; and transmitting uplink data; wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells, or different TRPs in the at least one TRP correspond to different physical cell identifiers (PCIs).
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zou teaches wherein the method further comprises: performing, by the terminal device, the following actions after activating the first TRP (fig. 2, fig. 4, #416): performing a random access procedure; and transmitting uplink data (fig. 2, fig. 4, #416, and pp0100, If the tight synchronization condition is not met, the UE will start random access to the target. After the random access is successfully completed, the data transmissions between the UE and the target starts); wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells (fig. 2 and pp0091, multiple TRPs e.g. TRP1 and TRP2 with respective coverage area 222 and 220), or different TRPs in the at least one TRP correspond to different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Zou to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing the likelihood of HO failure due to poor channel quality between the source TRP and the UE in a communication system (Zou, pp0036). However, they failed to explicitly teach performing, by the terminal device, the following actions after activating the first TRP: performing an uplink synchronization process.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept of performing, by the terminal device, the following actions after activating the first TRP: performing an uplink synchronization process (fig. 6, S617, S619, S621, activate or deactivate the TRP and synchronize to the new TRPs, pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, Abdelghaffar fails to explicitly teach wherein the indication information that is configured to indicate activating the first TRP is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zou teaches wherein the indication information that is configured to indicate activating the first TRP is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device (fig. 5, #510, #514, fig. 8, #812, #816, and pp0029, wherein activating the TRP for data communication according to a measurement of an uplink reference signal from the UE). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Zou to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing the likelihood of HO failure due to poor channel quality between the source TRP and the UE in a communication system (Zou, pp0036).
As to claims 4, 12, and 19, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the indication information that is configured to indicate activating the first TRP is carried via downlink control information (DCI) or a media access control control element (MAC CE) (fig. 1, fig. 5, pp0025, pp0026, the indication to activate the two or more beam configurations may be received in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and pp0104, control signaling 220 (e.g., a MAC CE) from the base station 105 may indicate or activate a TCI state for each TRP 210 communicating with UE 115-a (e.g., TRPs 210-a and 210-b)).
As to claims 5, 13, and 20, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the DCI or the MAC CE further comprises at least one of: a service cell identifier, a band width part (BWP) identifier, an identifier of the first TRP, or beam information corresponding to the first TRP (fig. 1, fig. 5, pp0025, pp0026, the indication to activate the two or more beam configurations may be received in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and pp0104, control signaling 220 (e.g., a MAC CE) from the base station 105 may indicate or activate a TCI state for each TRP 210 communicating with UE 115-a (e.g., TRPs 210-a and 210-b)).
As to claims 6 and 14, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein the beam information comprises at least one of the following: a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (fig. 1, fig. 5, and pp0128, indication to activate the two or more beam configurations may include and indication for UE 115-b to activate each of the multiple candidate beam configurations. For example, the multiple candidate beam configurations may represent multiple TCI states (e.g., two TCI states)), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS).
As to claims 8 and 16, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Abdelghaffar further teaches wherein in a case where the number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2 (fig. 1, #110, coverage area for base station 105, fig. 2, fig. 3, pp0057, a UE and a base station may communicate via a first TRP and a second TRP corresponding to the base station. While the examples described herein refer to two TRPs, it is to be understood that the same examples may also apply to any number of TRPs (e.g., greater than two TRPs)), different TRPs in the at least one TRP are configured with different sets of reference signals (fig. 2, fig. 3, #310-a, #310-b, pp0058, pp0111, transmissions from each TRP may be associated with different channel characteristics and different corresponding reference signal characteristics), and different TRPs in the at least one TRP are configured with different resources (fig. 2, fig. 3, #310-a, #310-b, pp0058, pp0111, transmissions from each TRP may be associated with different channel characteristics and different corresponding reference signal characteristics).
As to claim 17, Abdelghaffar teaches a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to enable the network device to perform (fig. 1, fig. 5, fig. 11, base station): sending first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate the terminal device to activate a first transmission reception point (TRP) of at least one TRP (fig. 1, fig. 5, #515, pp0060, base station may also transmit control signaling to indicate or activate a TCI state for each TRP communicating with the UE, and pp0121). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein after the first TRP is activated by the first indication information, the following actions are performed by the terminal device: a random access procedure, an uplink synchronization process, and an uplink data transmission; wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells, or different TRPs in the at least one TRP correspond to different physical cell identifiers (PCIs).
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zou teaches wherein after the first TRP is activated by the first indication information (fig. 2, fig. 4, #416), the following actions are performed by the terminal device: a random access procedure and an uplink data transmission (fig. 2, fig. 4, #416, and pp0100, If the tight synchronization condition is not met, the UE will start random access to the target. After the random access is successfully completed, the data transmissions between the UE and the target starts); wherein in a case where a number of the at least one TRP is greater than or equal to 2, different TRPs in the at least one TRP belong to different cells (fig. 2 and pp0091, multiple TRPs e.g. TRP1 and TRP2 with respective coverage area 222 and 220), or different TRPs in the at least one TRP correspond to different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar with the teachings of Zou to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing the likelihood of HO failure due to poor channel quality between the source TRP and the UE in a communication system (Zou, pp0036). However, they failed to explicitly teach wherein after the first TRP is activated by the first indication information, the following actions are performed by the terminal device: an uplink synchronization process.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept wherein after the first TRP is activated by the first indication information, the following actions are performed by the terminal device: an uplink synchronization process (fig. 6, S617, S619, S621, activate or deactivate the TRP and synchronize to the new TRPs, pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
As to claim 21, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first TRP is a primary TRP of the terminal device, and in response to a second condition being satisfied, the wireless communication method further comprises: activating, by the terminal device, a second TRP of the at least one TRP, the second TRP being a secondary TRP of the terminal device; de-activating, by the terminal device, the first TRP; and updating, by the terminal device, the second TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device; wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP being received; or the channel quality of the first TRP being less than the first threshold.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept wherein the first TRP is a primary TRP of the terminal device (fig. 6, #603, serving or source TRP), and in response to a second condition being satisfied, the wireless communication method further comprises: activating, by the terminal device, a second TRP of the at least one TRP, the second TRP being a secondary TRP of the terminal device (fig. 6, S617, S619, detach from old TRP and activating and synchronize with new TRP); de-activating, by the terminal device, the first TRP (fig. 6, S617, S619, detach from old TRP and activating and synchronize with new TRP); and updating, by the terminal device, the second TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device (fig. 6, S617, S619, detach from old TRP and activating and synchronize with new TRP or changing to new TRP, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153); wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP being received (fig. 6, S617, S619, activate or deactivate the TRP and synchronize to the new TRPs, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153); or the channel quality of the first TRP being less than the first threshold. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
As to claim 22, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP is further configured to indicate the terminal device to update the second TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device; and the indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept wherein the indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP is further configured to indicate the terminal device to update the second TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device (fig. 6, S617, S619, activate or deactivate the TRP and synchronize to the new TRPs, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153); and the indication information that is configured to indicate de-activating the first TRP is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device (fig. 6, S611, S613, S616, based on reference signal measurement report, deactivate or change TRP to target TRP or new TRP, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
As to claim 23, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the network device further performs: sending second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the terminal device to de-activate the first TRP, the first TRP being a primary TRP of the terminal device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept wherein the network device further performs: sending second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the terminal device to de-activate the first TRP, the first TRP being a primary TRP of the terminal device (fig. 6, S617, S619, activate or deactivate the TRP and synchronize to the new TRPs, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153); or the channel quality of the first TRP being less than the first threshold. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
As to claim 24, Abdelghaffar in view of Zou and Sharma teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second indication information is further configured to indicate the terminal device to update a second TRP of the at least one TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device, and the second indication information is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sharma teaches the concept wherein the second indication information is further configured to indicate the terminal device to update a second TRP of the at least one TRP to be the primary TRP of the terminal device, and the second indication information is determined based on a channel measurement result for the at least one TRP that is reported by the terminal device (fig. 6, S611, S613, S616, based on reference signal measurement report, deactivate or change TRP to target TRP or new TRP, and pp0121, fig. 11, pp0147, pp0153). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abdelghaffar and Zou with the teachings of Sharma to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing information to avoid signaling overhead and reducing risk of service interruption in a communication system (Sharma, pp0023).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645