DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to papers filed on 12 April 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Applicant's submission of references on form PTO-1449, filed on April 12, 2024, June 3, 2024 and August 20, 2025, have been considered. A signed copy of each form is attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites “container identification parameter to change an identify of the container”. The term “identify” is perceived as a typographical error and for purposes of examination the term “identity” is substituted in its place. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10-11, 13, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication No. US 2023/0276735 A1 to Corban et al..
The published reference of prior art to Corban et al. (herein after “Corban”) teaches of controlling transfer of agricultural material from one vehicle to another. In doing so, the reference teaches of the limitations of the instant invention as follows.
With regard to independent claims 1 and 14, a computer implemented method, comprising the following steps:
receiving an approval request from an approval system corresponding to a material transfer vehicle, the approval request including a plurality of unloading configuration parameters corresponding to an unloading operation for unloading
material from the material transfer vehicle into a container - (Corban teaches this in paragraph [0035] as “the controller 302 receives signals from the sensor 308 (provided via signals from the transmitter 310 on the grain cart and received by the receiver 322 located on the harvester) and, in response, sends signals to one or more actuators, either directly, via a network, or via a control system of the harvester, to control operation of an agricultural material conveyor of the harvester”. The request including unloading configuration parameters is determined by the controlling software as what is approved is wholly dependent on the endeavor.);
controlling a display device to display the plurality of unloading configuration parameters at a remote system, remote from the material transfer vehicle, along with a set of actuators including a modify actuator and an approve actuator - (Corban teaches the use of a display device as stated in paragraph [0032] where “the input device 312 is communicably coupled via a wired or wireless connection. Example input devices 312 include a keyboard, keypad, one or more buttons, a slider bar, a dial, a knob, a mouse, or a joystick. The display 314 is communicably coupled to the controller 302 via a wired or wireless connection. The display 314 displays information, such as information related to the operation of control system 300.”);
detecting user interaction with a selected actuator in the set of actuators - (Corban teaches of the user interaction in paragraph [0108] as “a computer having a display device for providing interaction with a user, including displaying information to (and receiving input from) the user.”); and
generating a control signal to control a communication system to send a response to the approval system corresponding to the material transfer vehicle based on the detected user interaction - (Corban teaches this feature in paragraph [0035] as “the controller 302 receives signals from the sensor 308 (provided via signals from the transmitter 310 on the grain cart and received by the receiver 322 located on the harvester) and, in response, sends signals to one or more actuators, either directly, via a network, or via a control system of the harvester, to control operation of an agricultural material conveyor of the harvester”).
As per claim 2, the computer implemented method of claim 1 and further comprises: generating a control signal to control an unloading subsystem on the material transfer vehicle based on the response. This is taught in paragraph [0036] by Corban as “the controller 302 receives signals from the sensor 308 representing a weight of agricultural material present in a storage bin of a grain cart. Using software 318, the controller 302 compares the sensed weight with a selected condition, such as a selected weight.”
In claim 10 the computer implemented method of claim 1 is cited as further comprising:
receiving at the remote system, image data indicative of an image captured by an image sensor, the image being from a perspective of the material transfer vehicle; and generating an image display at the remote system based on the image data. Corban teaches this in paragraph [0043] as “the imaging device 404 detects a level of agricultural material in the storage bin 230 and sends signals representing the detected fill level to the controller 406”.
Regarding claim 11, the computer implemented method of claim 1 wherein the container comprises a haulage vehicle and where the remote system comprises a remote computing system that is remote from the material transfer vehicle and remote from the haulage vehicle and wherein controlling a display device comprises at least one of:
controlling a display device on a mobile device;
controlling a display device mounted in an operator compartment of the haulage vehicle; or
controlling a display device at the remote computing system. In paragraph [0108] Corban describes the use of a display device on a computer and in paragraph [0054] the use of the display device on a mobile device is explained as “the illustrated computer 702 is intended to encompass any computing device such as a server, a desktop computer, a laptop/notebook computer, a wireless data port, a smart phone, a personal data assistant (PDA), a tablet computing device, or one or more processors within these devices, including physical instances, virtual instances, or both. The computer 702 can include input devices such as keypads, keyboards, and touch screens that can accept user information. Also, the computer 702 can include output devices that can convey information associated with the operation of the computer 702. The information can include digital data, visual data, audio information, or a combination of information.”
With claim 13, the computer implemented method of claim 1 and further comprises:
detecting, during the unloading operation, user activation of a stop actuator to stop the unloading operation - (taught by Corban in paragraph [0042] as “the sensed fill level satisfies the selected condition, the controller 406 stops operation of the agricultural material conveyor that is transferring the agricultural material to the grain cart 400.”); and
controlling the communication system to send a stop communication to the material transfer vehicle to stop the unloading operation - (described by Corban in paragraph [0043] wherein “if the detected fill level satisfied the selected condition, e.g., a maximum fill level, the controller 406 sends signals to cause filling of the storage bin 230 to stop” is stated.
Regarding independent claim 19, where an agricultural system, is stated as comprising:
at least one processor - (taught by Corban in paragraph [0030] as including “an electronic controller having a processor and a memory”) ; and
a data store storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform steps - (taught in paragraph [0031] by Corban as “the memory 306 communicates with the processor 304 and is used to store programs and other software, information, and data. The processor 304 is operable to execute programs and software and receive information from and send information to the memory 306”), comprising:
generating an unloading configuration approval request at an approval system corresponding to a material transfer vehicle, the unloading configuration approval request including a plurality of unloading configuration parameters corresponding to an unloading operation for unloading material from the material transfer vehicle into a container - (taught in paragraph [0035] by Corban wherein “the controller 302 is provided on a harvester, the controller 302 receives signals from the sensor 308 (provided via signals from the transmitter 310 on the grain cart and received by the receiver 322 located on the harvester) and, in response, sends signals to one or more actuators, either directly, via a network, or via a control system of the harvester, to control operation of an agricultural material conveyor of the harvester.” The parameters related to unloading are application specific.);
controlling a first communication system to send the unloading configuration approval request to a remote system that is remote from the material transfer vehicle - (the controlling to send an approval request is aforementioned; the use of a remote system is taught in paragraph [0030] by Corban.);
receiving the unloading configuration approval request at the remote system - (in paragraph [0035] the aspect of receiving signals is explained);
controlling a display device to display the plurality of unloading configuration parameters at the remote system along with a set of actuators including a modify actuator and an approve actuator - (paragraphs [0030] and [0035] explain the controlling of a display device as aforementioned);
detecting user interaction with a selected actuator in the set of actuators - (the presence and use of actuators is described in paragraph [0035] ; and
generating a control signal to control a second communication system to send a response, to the unloading configuration approval request, to the approval system corresponding to the material transfer vehicle based on the detected user interaction - (sending a response to the material transfer vehicle is taught in paragraph [0035] as aforementioned);
receiving, at the approval system corresponding to the material transfer vehicle, the response to the unloading configuration approval request - (this is also addressed by Corban in paragraph [0035] as stated above); and
controlling an unloading subsystem on the material transfer vehicle based on the response to the unloading configuration approval request - (the aspect of controlling the material transfer vehicle based on the response is explained in paragraph [0035] as stated above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9, 12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. US 2023/0276735 A1 to Corban et al. as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of International publication number WO 2023/009533 A1 to McKinney et al..
The teachings of Corban et al. are taught above in reference to claims 1 and 14.
The reference of prior art of McKinney et al. (herein after “McKinney”) in the same field of endeavor is introduced.
In claim 3 the computer implemented method of claim 1 cites wherein detecting user interaction comprises:
detecting user actuation of the modify actuator - (in paragraph [0029] McKinney teaches “the user-manipulatable interface element(s) 120 may correspond to any suitable interface elements such as buttons, switches, knobs, sliders, dials, levers, touch screens, and/or the like, for providing operator inputs”);
generating a parameter modification interface with a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify a selected unloading configuration parameter, of the plurality of unloading configuration parameters; and
detecting user interaction with the user actuatable modification element to obtain a modified parameter value - (taught by McKinney in paragraph [0034] as “the implement-based controller 140 may be configured to receive the input commands transmitted from the user interface component(s) 120 and relay the input commands (or related instructions or control requests) to a separate controller for execution of the associated control action).
Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
Regarding claim 4, the computer implemented method of claim 3 wherein generating a control signal to control the communication system to send a response comprises:
generating the response to indicate the modified parameter value; and
generating the control signal to control the communication system to send the response. McKinney teaches this feature in paragraph [0031] wherein “when using a separate control device 130 to provide input comments, the control device may include or incorporate one or more user-manipulatable interface elements for allowing an operator to provide input commands associated with controlling the operation” is stated).
Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
As per claim 5, the computer implemented method of claim 3 wherein generating a parameter modification interface comprises:
generating a user actuatable modification element corresponding to each of a plurality of unloading configuration parameters. McKinney teaches this aspect in paragraph [0037] as “the system 100 may, in several embodiments, include one or more implement-based user interface components 102 for receiving input commands associated with controlling the operation of the header 32 and an implement-based controller 140 communicatively coupled to the user interface component(s) 102, with both the user interface component(s) 102 and the implement-based controller 140 being supported on the header 32. For instance, the user interface component(s) 102 may include one or more user-manipulable interface elements supported directly on the header 32 (e.g., the interface elements 120 shown in FIG. 2) and/or one or more communications-type components supported on the header 32 that are configured to be communicatively coupled to a separate control device 130 via a wired or wireless connection (e.g., the communications port 122 shown in FIG. 3 and/or the wireless communications device 126 shown in FIG. 4)”.
Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
In claim 6, the computer implemented method of claim 5 wherein the plurality of unloading configuration parameters comprises a container identification parameter indicative of a container and wherein generating a parameter modification interface is stated and comprises:
generating a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify the
container identification parameter to change an identify of the container. This limitation is taught by McKinney in paragraph [0035] as “ the system 100 may include implement-based interface elements 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2) for allowing an operator to directly provide inputs via manipulation of the interface elements 120 and one or both of the communications port 122 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3) and wireless communications device 126 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4) to allow operator inputs to be communicated from the operator via a separate control device 130.”
Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
With regard to claim 7, the computer implemented method of claim 5 wherein the plurality of unloading configuration parameters comprises a material weight parameter indicative of a target weight of material to be transferred from the material transfer vehicle to the container during the unloading operation and wherein generating a parameter modification interface comprises:
generating a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify the
material weight parameter to change the target weight of material. Corban teaches this aspect in paragraph [0038] as “the controller 302 can use this amount of agricultural material in the agricultural conveyor and subtract that amount of material from the selected weight to define a target weight. The controller 302 utilizes the target weight of agricultural material such that, when the target weight is received, feed of agricultural material to the agricultural material conveyor is stopped,”
As per claim 8 the computer implemented method of claim 5 wherein the plurality of unloading configuration parameters comprises a fill profile parameter indicative of a target distribution of material to be transferred from the material transfer vehicle to the container during the unloading operation and wherein generating a parameter modification interface comprises:
generating a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify the fill profile parameter to change the target distribution of material. This aspect is also taught by Corban in paragraph [0038] as “the controller 302 utilizes the target weight of agricultural material such that, when the target weight is received, feed of agricultural material to the agricultural material conveyor is stopped, but the agricultural material conveyor continues to operate to clear out the agricultural material remaining resident therein. Thus, the controller 302 is operable to provide the selected weight of agricultural material while also emptying the agricultural material conveyor. Operation in this way avoids loss of agricultural material within the agricultural material conveyor, such as when the agricultural material conveyor is retracted into a stowed position.”
Regarding claim 9, the computer implemented method of claim 5 wherein the plurality of unloading configuration parameters comprises a fill pattern parameter indicative of a target fill pattern to be followed by the material transfer vehicle in performing the unloading operation and wherein generating a parameter modification interface comprises:
generating a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify the fill pattern parameter to change the target fill pattern to be followed by the material transfer vehicle in performing the unloading operation. Corban teaches this element in paragraph [0042] as “the fill detection system 402 includes a fill sensor 404, such as on or more imaging sensors, communicably coupled to a controller 406. In some implementations, the controller 406 is a computer system similar to computer system 700, discussed in more detail below. Further, although a single fill sensor 404 is illustrated, other implementations may include additional fill sensors. Using the fill sensor 404, the controller 406 determines whether a fill level of agricultural material in a storage bin satisfies a selected condition, such as a fill level in the storage bin. When the sensed fill level satisfies the selected condition, the controller 406 stops operation of the agricultural material conveyor that is transferring the agricultural material to the grain cart 400.”
In claim 12 the computer implemented method of claim 1 and further comprising:
detecting user activation of a user adjustment actuator, during the unloading operation, to change a landing point of the material in the container; and controlling the communication system to send an adjustment communication to the material transfer vehicle to change the landing point. McKinney explains this feature in paragraph [0038] wherein “the input commands received at the user interface component(s) 102 may then be transmitted to the implement-based controller 140 for subsequent processing and/or 11transmission. For instance, in one embodiment, the implement-based controller 140 may be configured to transmit control signals for controlling one or more of the implement-related components 160 of the harvester 10 in accordance with the input command(s) provided by the operator, such as by directly or indirectly controlling the operation of reel actuator 41, the cutter bar actuator 43, the gauge wheel actuator, height actuator 72, tilt actuator 74, and/or any other suitable component(s) based on the input command. For instance, if the operator provides an input command associated with raising or lowering the reel 40 or the cutter bar 42, the implement-based controller 140 may be configured to transmit suitable control signals to directly or indirectly control the operation of the associated actuator (e.g., when the actuator is a fluid driven actuator, by controlling the operation of one or more control valves configured to regulate the flow of fluid supplied to the actuator)” is explained. Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
With regard to claim 15 the computer implemented method of claim 14 wherein receiving the response comprises receiving a modified unloading configuration parameter value and wherein controlling the unloading subsystem comprises:
modifying the unloading configuration parameter based on the modified unloading configuration parameter value in the response; and controlling the unloading subsystem based on the modified unloading configuration parameter. McKinney teaches this aspect in paragraph [0037] as “the system 100 may, in several embodiments, include one or more implement-based user interface components 102 for receiving input commands associated with controlling the operation of the header 32 and an implement-based controller 140 communicatively coupled to the user interface component(s) 102, with both the user interface component(s) 102 and the implement-based controller 140 being supported on the header 32. For instance, the user interface component(s) 102 may include one or more user-manipulable interface elements supported directly on the header 32 (e.g., the interface elements 120 shown in FIG. 2) and/or one or more communications-type components supported on the header 32 that are configured to be communicatively coupled to a separate control device 130 via a wired or wireless connection (e.g., the communications port 122 shown in FIG. 3 and/or the wireless communications device 126 shown in FIG. 4)”. Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
As per claim 16, the computer implemented method of claim 15 wherein the material transfer vehicle comprises a grain cart is stated and further comprising:
generating a set of grain cart data indicative of characteristics of material in the grain cart to be unloaded during the unloading operation; and controlling the communication system to send the grain cart data to remote system. This aspect of the instant invention is taught by Corban in paragraphs [0024] where the filling of the grain cart is described and in [0029] where the use of a remote system is taught.
In claim 17 the computer implemented method of claim 15 wherein controlling the unloading subsystem comprises performing the unloading operation to unload the material into the container, and further comprising:
generating an unloading summary including unload data indicative of characteristics of the unloading operation - (Corban teaches this as being done by the display device in paragraph [0032]) ; and
controlling the communication system to send the unloading summary to the remote system -.(Corban teaches this element in paragraph [0056] as “the computer 702 is an electronic computing device operable to receive, transmit, process, store, and manage data and information associated with the described subject matter”.
With claim 18, the computer implemented method of claim 15 and further comprises:
capturing image data with an image sensor mounted on the material receiving vehicle, the image data being indicative of an image of the container; and controlling the communication system to send the image data to the remote system. This feature of the instant invention is taught Corban in paragraph [0043] wherein “the imaging device 404 detects a level of agricultural material in the storage bin 230 and sends signals representing the detected fill level to the controller 406” is stated.
Regarding claim 20, the agricultural system of claim 19 wherein detecting user interaction with the selected actuator comprises:
detecting user actuation of the modify actuator - (McKinney teaches this in paragraph [0038] as “the implement-based controller 140 may be
configured to transmit control signals for controlling one or more of the implement-related components 160 of the harvester 10 in accordance with the input command(s) provided by the operator, such as by directly or indirectly controlling the operation of reel actuator 41, the cutter bar actuator 43, the gauge wheel actuator, height actuator 72, tilt actuator 74, and/or any other suitable component(s) based on the input command.”);
generating a parameter modification interface with a user actuatable modification element that is actuatable to modify a selected unloading configuration parameter, of the plurality of unloading configuration parameters - (McKinney teaches this in paragraph [0038] as “the implement-based controller 140 may be configured to transmit control signals for controlling one or more of the implement-related components 160 of the harvester 10 in accordance with the input command(s) provided by the operator, such as by directly or indirectly controlling the operation of reel actuator 41, the cutter bar actuator 43, the gauge wheel actuator, height actuator 72, tilt actuator 74, and/or any other suitable component(s) based on the input command.”); and
detecting user interaction with the user actuatable modification element to obtain a modified unloading configuration parameter value, and wherein receiving the response comprises receiving the modified unloading configuration parameter value - (McKinney teaches this in paragraph [0038] as “the implement-based controller 140 may be configured to transmit control signals for controlling one or more of the implement-related components 160 of the harvester 10 in accordance with the input command(s) provided by the operator, such as by directly or indirectly controlling the operation of reel actuator 41, the cutter bar actuator 43, the gauge wheel actuator, height actuator 72, tilt actuator 74, and/or any other suitable component(s) based on the input command.”) and wherein controlling the unloading subsystem comprises:
modifying the unloading configuration parameter based on the modified unloading configuration parameter value in the response - (McKinney teaches this feature in paragraph [0035] as “the system 100 may include implement-based interface elements 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2) for allowing an operator to directly provide inputs via manipulation of the interface elements 120 and one or both of the communications port 122 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3) and wireless communications device 126 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4) to allow operator inputs to be communicated from the operator via a separate control device 130.); and
controlling the unloading subsystem based on the modified unloading configuration parameter - (taught by McKinney in paragraph [0038] as “the implement-based controller 140 may be
configured to transmit control signals for controlling one or more of the implement-related components 160 of the harvester 10 in accordance with the input command(s) provided by the operator, such as by directly or indirectly controlling the operation of reel actuator 41, the cutter bar actuator 43, the gauge wheel actuator, height actuator 72, tilt actuator 74, and/or any other suitable component(s) based on the input command”).
Since Corban teaches the controlling methodology in an agricultural harvest, the prior art does not particularly elaborate on the operations of actuators and the modification of parameters. For this reason the prior art McKinney is introduced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the above mentioned invention of Corban with the teachings of McKinney so as to increase production without experiencing time constraints.
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. US 2025/0291473 A1 Hu et al.
Relates to an electronic device and method for human-machine interaction (HMI) device touch-interaction control based on user-defined parameters.
US Patent Publication No. US 2024/0013124 A1 Vandike et al.
Relates to control of agricultural systems
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 July 8, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119