DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because i) reference character 22 has been used to designate two different components in Figs. 1 and 3, and ii) reference character 25 has been used to designate two different water outlet structures in Figs. 1-2.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters 32 and 36 have both been used to designate the first sealing strip in Figs. 4 and 6-9.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 1, term “the mounting head” is believed to be in error for - - the annular mounting head - -, term “the axial line” is believed to be in error for - - the imaginary axial line - -, term “the circular line” is believed to be in error for - - the imaginary circular line - -
Regarding claims 1 and 4, term “the connecting member” is believed to be in error for - - the shell-shaped connecting member - -
Regarding claims 1 and 4-5, term “the water outlet member” is believed to be in error for - - the disk-shaped water outlet member - -
Regarding claim 2, terms “the two first lines, the two second lines, the two third lines, the two fourth lines” are believed to be in error for - - the two imaginary first lines, the two imaginary second lines, the two imaginary third lines, the two imaginary fourth lines - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and its dependents, the recitation “where the axial direction of the water inlet pipe deviates from the axial line” is unclear what “the axial direction of the water inlet pipe” means, e.g., the recitation meant to define an axis of the water inlet pipe?
Regarding claim 2 and its dependent, it is unclear term “the axial line” refers to the axial line of the mounting head or the axial line of the water inlet pipe. The same rejection is also applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 3, i) term “the arc direction of the blocking structure” lack antecedent basis and is unclear whether it refers to a direction related to the circular sector configuration previously claimed in claim 2, and ii) it is unclear whether term “the radial outer periphery” refers to an outer periphery defined by what direction, e.g., the radial direction relative to the axial line of the mounting head or a respective radial direction relative to a respective center of the claimed component.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear whether term “the radial outer periphery” refers to an outer periphery defined by a radial direction relative to the axial line of the mounting head or a radial direction relative to the axial line of the water inlet pipe.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear whether terms “the first sealing strip”, “the elastic first sealing strip”, and “the annular first sealing strip” refer to the same sealing strip or different sealing strips.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leber 8028935.
Regarding claim 1, Leber teaches the invention as claimed: A water outlet device capable of adjusting sprinkler patterns (100, Figs. 1-2 and 26), comprising:
a shell-shaped connecting member (102, Fig. 3) having a front end (350) forming an annular mounting head (222, see Fig. 26) and an interior shaping a water inlet pipe (370, see Figs. 17 and 26);
an imaginary axial line (annotated Fig. 26) is defined passing through the radial center of the mounting head (222) and extending along the axial direction thereof (see annotated Fig. 26), where the axial direction (along the axis) of the water inlet pipe (370) deviates from the axial line (see annotated Fig. 26);
a disk-shaped water outlet member (250, Figs. 26 and 22) having a center plate (400, Fig. 26) and an annular ring (298, Fig. 22), the center plate (400) being connected to the inner annular edge of the annular ring (see Figs. 22 and 26), the annular ring (298) being sleeved on the mounting head (222) to allow the water outlet member (250) to rotate relative to the connecting member (102, see Fig. 3 and col. 12, ll. 35-51), and the center plate (400) forming a first water outlet structure (264) and a second water outlet structure (272, see Fig. 22 and col. 21, ll. 3-15);
an imaginary circular line (annotated Fig. 22) is defined with the axial line passing through the center of the circular line (see annotated Fig. 22), the first water outlet structure (264) and the second water outlet (272) structure are spaced apart along the circular line (see annotated Fig. 22), and the water inlet pipe (370) is axially aligned and communicated with either the first water outlet structure or the second water outlet structure (see Figs. 17-22 and col. 12, ll. 35-51);
the first water outlet structure (264) and the second water outlet structure (272) each having at least one water outlet hole (see Fig. 22) to allow water to pass through the first water outlet structure or the second water outlet structure to form different sprinkler patterns (see Figs. 13-21 and col. 12, ll. 35-51); and
a blocking structure (376, Fig. 26) connected to the water inlet pipe (370), the blocking structure being extended with a passage (378) communicating with the water inlet pipe (370), the blocking structure (376) forming two blocking segments (374s) and the passage (378) being located between the two blocking segments (374s, see Fig. 26), the two blocking segments (374s) and the passage (378) being configured along the circumferential direction centered around the axial line (see annotated Fig. 26), and the blocking structure (376) elastically abutting against (by spring 382, col. 19, ll. 5-20) the water outlet member (250).
Regarding claim 2, Leber teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Leber further teaches wherein the blocking structure (376) forms a circular sector configuration (see Fig. 26), with the axial line (the axis of the water inlet pipe 370) passing through the center (center of the passage 378) of the blocking structure (see Figs. 26 and 22).
Regarding claim 3, Leber teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Leber further teaches two imaginary first lines (annotated Fig. 22) are defined, each being perpendicular to the axial line and each passing through the axial line (see annotated Fig. 22) and the end of each blocking segment (each 374) furthest from the passage (378) along the arc direction (the circumferential direction that 376 circumferentially extends) of the blocking structure (376, see Fig. 22), the two first lines forming a first angle (annotated Fig. 22);
two imaginary second lines (annotated Fig. 22) are defined, each being perpendicular to the axial line (see annotated Fig. 22) and each being tangent to the radial outer periphery (see annotated Fig. 22) of the passage (378) on two sides, the two second lines forming a second angle (annotated Fig. 22);
two imaginary third lines (annotated Fig. 22) are defined, each being perpendicular to the axial line (see annotated Fig. 22) and each being tangent to the radial outer periphery (see annotated Fig. 22) of the first water outlet structure (264) on two sides, the two third lines forming a third angle (annotated Fig. 22); and
two imaginary fourth lines (annotated Fig. 22) are defined, each being perpendicular to the axial line (see annotated Fig. 22) and each being tangent to the radial outer periphery (see annotated Fig. 22) of the second water outlet structure (272) on two sides, the two fourth lines forming a fourth angle (annotated Fig. 22);
wherein, the first angle is equal to or greater than the sum of the second angle, the third angle, and the fourth angle (to prevent leakage, see annotated Fig. 22 and col. 19, ll. 5-20).
Regarding claim 4, Leber teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Leber further teaches wherein the water inlet pipe (370) is sleeved on the radial outer periphery of the blocking structure (376) in the radial direction (see Figs. 17 and 26), a holding spring (382, col. 19, ll. 5-20) is provided inside the water inlet pipe (370, see Figs. 17 and 26), the blocking structure (376) is
positioned between the holding spring (382) and the water outlet member (370, see Figs. 17 and 26), and one end of the holding spring (382) abuts against the connecting member (102) while the other end abuts against the blocking structure (376, see Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leber 8028935 in view of Nakamura 4043511.
Regarding claim 5, Leber teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above.
Leber further teaches wherein on the side (annotated Fig. 26) facing the water outlet member (250), the blocking structure (376) forms a surface (see annotated Fig. 26), the surface elastically abut against (via spring 382) the water outlet member (250).
Leber does not teach wherein on said side facing said water outlet member, said blocking structure forms a first sealing strip and two second sealing strips, the first sealing strip and the two second sealing strips elastically abut against said water outlet member, the first sealing strip is adjacent to the edge of said blocking structure, and the two second sealing strips are adjacent to the two sides of the passage, respectively, with each second sealing strip being connected to the first sealing strip.
However, Nakamura teaches a blocking structure (annotated Fig. 9) for a water outlet device capable of adjusting sprinkler patterns (Figs. 1, 3 and 8-9), wherein on the side (as shown in Fig. 9) facing a water outlet member (100), the blocking structure (annotated Fig. 9) forms a first sealing strip (edge strip 140, 143, 144) and two second sealing strips (annotated Fig. 9; col. 4, ll. 47-65), the first sealing strip (edge strip 140, 143, 144) and the two second sealing strips (annotated Fig. 9) elastically abut against (via spring 71) the water outlet member (100), the first sealing strip (edge strip 140, 143, 144) is adjacent to the edge of the blocking structure (see Fig. 9), and the two second sealing strips (annotated Fig. 9) are adjacent to the two sides of the passage (82), respectively, with each second sealing strip being connected to the first sealing strip (see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Leber with Nakamura’s first sealing strip and two second sealing strips deposited on the side of the block structure facing the water outlet member in order to ensure no transverse leakage from a water outlet to other water outlet(s) located laterally from the water outlet (Nakamura, col. 4, ll. 60-65) .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
QIU 20110073678 teaches a water outlet device capable of adjusting sprinkler patterns comprising a connecting member, a water outlet member having a center plate and an annular ring, the center plate forming a first water outlet structure and a second water outlet structure, a blocking structure being extended with a passage communicating with the water inlet pipe, the blocking structure forming two blocking segments and the passage being located between the two blocking segments.
Urry 11931750 teaches a water outlet device capable of adjusting sprinkler patterns comprising a connecting member, a water outlet member having a center plate and an annular ring, the center plate forming a first water outlet structure and a second water outlet structure, a blocking structure being extended with a passage communicating with the water inlet pipe, the blocking structure forming two blocking segments and the passage being located between the two blocking segments.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINGCHEN LIU/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741