DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (US 20200196967 A1).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses an X-ray imaging system comprising:
a C-shaped support arm 30 (Fig. 1A);
an X-ray source 10 [0028] contained in a first portion of the support arm near a first end of the support arm (Fig. 1A);
an X-ray detector 20 [0028] contained in a second portion of the support arm near a second end of the support arm (Fig. 1A);
wherein the support arm contains a repositioning mechanism 40 between the first and second portions that allows the location of the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector to be repositioned relative to each other [0029] (Figs. 2A and 2B).
With regards to claim 11, D1 discloses a method comprising:
providing an X-ray device (Fig. 1A) containing:
a C-shaped support arm 30 (Fig. 1A);
an X-ray source 10 [0028] contained in a first portion of the support arm near a first end of the support arm (Fig. 1A);
an X-ray detector 20 [0028] contained in a second portion of the support arm near a second end of the support arm (Fig. 1A);
wherein the support arm contains a repositioning mechanism 40 between the first and second portions that allows the location of the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector to be repositioned relative to each other [0029] (Figs. 2A and 2B);
taking an X-ray image of a patient using the X-ray device (when properly aligned);
repositioning the X-ray source or the X-ray detector [0030-0032]; and
performing a medical procedure on the patient near the location where the X-ray source or the X-ray detector was previously located [0030-0032].
With regards to claims 2 and 12, D1 discloses wherein the repositioning mechanism can be expanded to move the X-ray source or the X-ray detector outside a field of a medical procedure in which the X-ray device is used to take an image without moving the rest of the X-ray device (Figs. 2C and 2D) [0030].
With regards to claims 3 and 13, D1 discloses wherein the repositioning mechanism can be rotated to move the X-ray source or the X-ray detector outside a field of a medical procedure in which the X-ray device is used to take an image without moving the rest of the X-ray device (Fig. 2E) [0030].
With regards to claims 4 and 14, D1 discloses wherein the repositioning mechanism comprises a joint, hinge, or linkage [0029].
With regards to claims 5 and 15, D1 discloses wherein the repositioning mechanism can be slid to move the X-ray source or the X-ray detector outside a field of a medical procedure in which the X-ray device is used to take an image without moving the rest of the X-ray device [0032-0033].
With regards to claims 6 and 16, D1 discloses wherein the repositioning mechanism comprises linear actuators, tracks, or a roller bearing mechanism [0033].
With regards to claim 19, D1 discloses wherein the free space between the X-ray source and the X-ray detector has been increased by at least about 5% when the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector has been repositioned (Figs 2C-2E).
With regards to claim 20, D1 discloses wherein the free space between the X-ray source and the X-ray detector has been increased by up to about 40% when the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector has been repositioned (Figs 2C-2E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claims 7, 8, 17, and 18, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the X-ray imaging system is configured to be portable or mobile. However, those skilled in the art recognize that portable X-ray imaging systems and mobile X-ray imaging systems were generally known in the art and provide convenience for patients who are unable to be moved to the radiology department for X-ray imaging (for example, patients in Intensive Care Units). Therefore, in view of the recited benefit, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 such that the X-ray imaging system is portable and/or mobile.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884