DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) anticipated by Prins is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 7/13/2026.
A new Final Office Action is follows.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,180,706 in view of view of Al-Ghamdi et al. (WO 2018/094346 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a process for converting crude oil to olefins utilizing separation, deasphalting, and steam cracking steps. The differences between the two sets of claims would have been obvious to one of skill in the art in view of Al-Ghamdi.
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,976,245 in view of Al-Ghamdi et al. (WO 2018/094346 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a process for converting crude oil to olefins utilizing separation, deasphalting, and steam cracking steps. The differences between the two sets of claims would have been obvious to one of skill in the art in view of Al-Ghamdi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Oprins et al. (WO 2018/142351 A1) in view of Al-Ghamdi et al. (WO 2018/094346 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oprins teaches separating crude into hydrocarbon fractions; routing a heavy fraction to solvent deasphalting to form a DAO/DMO fraction and asphalt/pitch fraction; hydroprocessing the DAO/DMO and another crude fraction; and thereafter steam cracking the hydroprocessed material to form light olefins (¶¶[19], [43]–[44], [46]–[63]; Fig. 1). In particular, Oprins ¶[44] teaches combining hydrocarbon fraction 82 with solvent-free DAO/DMO stream 26 and hydrogen and charging the combined stream to hydroprocessing reaction zone 4.
Oprins does not expressly teach hydroprocessing these two feed fractions in separate units.
Al-Ghamdi, however, teaches precisely the use of separate hydroprocessing units for different crude fractions. The second middle-distillate fraction 122 is processed in diesel/distillate hydroprocessing zone 180 (¶[85]), while vacuum gas oil and DAO 864 from SDA zone 860 are processed in the physically separate VGO hydroprocessing zone 320 (¶¶[89], [146], [217]; Fig. 15). Al-Ghamdi further routes hydroprocessed products from these systems to steam cracking: wild naphtha 184 from zone 180 is routed to mixed-feed steam cracking zone 230 (¶[86]), and hydroprocessed gas-oil products from zone 320 are routed to the gas-oil steam cracking zone 250 (¶¶[90]–[91], [245]–[251]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Oprins by separately hydroprocessing the intermediate/medium-boiling fraction and the DAO fraction as taught by Al-Ghamdi, rather than co-processing them in Oprins's common zone 4. Al-Ghamdi demonstrates that refinery fractions having substantially different boiling ranges and compositions are conventionally routed to different hydroprocessing units suited to those respective feeds. Such modification would predictably permit independent selection of hydroprocessing severity and operating conditions while retaining Oprins's downstream steam-cracking arrangement.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the respective medium-boiling and high-boiling-residue property limitations remain subject to the findings previously made with respect to the conventional properties of the corresponding refinery fractions. The amendment to claim 1 does not alter these limitations or the prior findings concerning them.
Regarding claim 4, Oprins and Al-Ghamdi teach processes expressly directed to maximizing conversion of crude-oil feeds into olefinic petrochemicals through hydroprocessing followed by steam cracking (Oprins ¶¶[19], [61]–[63]; Al-Ghamdi ¶¶[64]–[65], [245]–[251]).
The references do not expressly state an overall olefin production of at least 65 wt.%. However, olefin yield is a result-effective variable dependent upon feed quality and cracking severity, including temperature, residence time and degree of upstream hydroconversion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oprins/Al-Ghamdi by optimizing these known operating variables to increase olefin production, including attaining the claimed value, absent evidence that the recited threshold produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 6, Al-Ghamdi expressly teaches recycling/integrating steam-cracker pyrolysis oil into the SDA system. Paragraph [101] teaches that heavy pyrolysis oil may be routed to SDA zone 860 and that all or a substantial portion of pyrolysis oil may be processed in the SDA zone; see also claims 3–4 and ¶¶[284]–[285].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process Oprins by incorporating this recycle into Oprins to increase utilization of heavy steam-cracker products and reduce disposition of pyrolysis oil as low-value fuel.
Regarding claim 7, Al-Ghamdi teaches hydroprocessing middle-distillate fraction 122 in zone 180 and producing wild naphtha 184, which is routed to mixed-feed steam cracking zone 230 (¶¶[85]–[86]). Thus, Al-Ghamdi teaches destructive hydrogenation of the medium-boiling material to lighter, steam-crackable products.
Regarding claim 8, Al-Ghamdi teaches routing DAO 864 to VGO hydroprocessing zone 320 under hydrocracking conditions (¶¶[89], [146], [217]) and thereafter routing the resulting hydroprocessed gas-oil/naphtha products to steam cracking (¶¶[90]–[91], [245]–[251]). Accordingly, converting DAO hydrocarbons to primarily steam-crackable products would have been an obvious application of Al-Ghamdi's expressly disclosed hydroprocessing/cracking integration.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Oprins in view of Al-Ghamdi and further in view of Yeh et al. (WO 2017/117178 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Oprins teaches the basic integrated crude-separation/SDA/hydroprocessing/steam-pyrolysis process (¶¶[19], [43]–[63]). As discussed above, Al-Ghamdi teaches separating different crude fractions and hydroprocessing them in separate units: middle-distillate fraction 122 in hydroprocessing zone 180 and DAO 864 in separate hydroprocessing zone 320 (¶¶[85], [89], [146], [217]; Fig. 15), followed by steam cracking of the resulting upgraded streams (¶¶[86], [90]–[91], [245]–[251]).
Al-Ghamdi additionally teaches the claimed pyrolysis-oil integration. Pyrolysis oil is a heavy C10+ fraction derived from steam cracking (¶[71]). Paragraph [101] teaches that light pyrolysis oil may be blended with DAO from SDA zone 860 and processed in the VGO hydroprocessing zone, while heavy pyrolysis oil may be routed directly to SDA zone 860; all or a substantial portion of pyrolysis oil may be processed in the SDA zone. Similar teachings appear at ¶¶[284]–[285] and claims 3–4.
Yeh teaches the conventional SDA environment, namely contacting heavy hydrocarbon feed with added paraffinic hydrocarbon solvent. Yeh ¶¶[47]–[50] disclose suitable SDA solvents including propane, butane, pentane and other C3-C7 alkane hydrocarbons, alone or in mixtures. Thus, the SDA unit conventionally receives a heavy hydrocarbon feed together with an added liquid hydrocarbon medium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oprins according to Al-Ghamdi to route recycled pyrolysis oil into the SDA feed system and separately hydroprocess the middle-boiling and DAO/pyrolysis-oil streams. Al-Ghamdi expressly supplies the pyrolysis-oil recycle and the separate hydroprocessing architecture, while Yeh confirms that addition of a liquid hydrocarbon medium to a heavy SDA feed is conventional. Because claim 9 recites no particular dilution ratio, viscosity reduction, or chemical property required of the “diluent,” addition of Al-Ghamdi's recycled pyrolysis-oil stream to the heavy SDA feed predictably dilutes that feed while the conventional paraffinic SDA solvent performs the deasphalting extraction.
Regarding claim 10, the ≥65 wt.% overall chemicals-production limitation would have been obvious for the same reasons stated for claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Al-Ghamdi expressly teaches that the VGO hydroprocessing zone 320, which may process DAO 864, operates under hydrocracking conditions and produces a hydrocracked naphtha fraction 326 (¶[89]). Therefore, conversion of hydrocarbons originating from the high-boiling residue/DAO fraction to naphtha-range hydrocarbons is expressly suggested.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's argument concerning the previous §102 rejection is persuasive to the extent that Oprins alone does not disclose the newly recited separate first and second hydroprocessing units. Oprins ¶[44] instead combines fraction 82 and DAO/DMO stream 26 and processes the combined stream in zone 4. The §102 rejection of claims 1–3 over Oprins is therefore withdrawn.
The amendment, however, does not overcome obviousness. Applicant argues that neither Oprins nor Al-Ghamdi discloses separately hydroprocessing the medium-boiling fraction and DAO fraction. That assertion is not persuasive. Al-Ghamdi ¶[85] expressly processes middle-distillate fraction 122 in hydroprocessing unit 180, whereas ¶[89] expressly processes DAO 864 in a separate VGO hydroprocessing unit 320, as also shown in Fig. 15. Both upgraded streams are thereafter directed to steam-cracking operations. The claimed separation of hydroprocessing duties therefore corresponds to an arrangement expressly taught in the prior art.
Applicant further relies upon the specification's statement that separate trains may improve catalyst life and turnaround time. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive of nonobviousness because Al-Ghamdi already teaches separating hydroprocessing duties according to the nature and boiling range of the respective feeds. A benefit that flows naturally from use of an otherwise obvious prior-art arrangement does not render that arrangement patentable absent persuasive evidence of an unexpected result attributable to the claimed configuration.
Applicant's characterization of amended claim 1 as requiring separate “fixed bed conditioning systems” is also noted. The actual amended claim recites a first and second hydroprocessing unit, not “fixed bed conditioning systems.” The claims are examined according to their actual language.
Regarding amended claim 9, Applicant argues that Yeh's first and second hydroprocessing stages are serial rather than separate parallel systems. That argument does not address the rejection as presently formulated. Yeh is not relied upon for the claimed separate hydroprocessing systems. Al-Ghamdi supplies that teaching through its separate hydroprocessing zones 180 and 320. Yeh is relied upon only for the conventional SDA use of an added liquid hydrocarbon medium.
Applicant's argument that claim 9 has removed the light-boiling fraction is acknowledged. The amended claim presently recites only “at least a medium boiling fraction and a high boiling residue fraction”; the rejection above is based on that actual language and does not require a light-boiling fraction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771