DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,180,706. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a process for converting crude oil to olefins utilizing separation, deasphalting, and steam cracking steps. There are minor differences between the two sets of claims and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,976,245. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a process for converting crude oil to olefins utilizing separation, deasphalting, and steam cracking steps. There are minor differences between the two sets of claims and such differences would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oprins et al. (WO 2018/142351 A1).
Oprins discloses a process for converting crude oil to olefins comprising separating crude oil into fractions including lighter and heavier components (¶[0019]), subjecting at least a portion of the crude oil, including deasphalted oil derived from a heavy fraction, to hydroprocessing in the presence of hydrogen (¶[0019]–[0020]), and feeding the hydroprocessed stream to a steam cracking (pyrolysis) unit to produce olefins (¶[0019]). Oprins further discloses heating the hydroprocessed stream in a furnace, including convection heating prior to cracking (¶[0065]), and separating process streams into vapor and liquid phases using separation systems (¶[0058]–[0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Oprins et al. (WO 2018/142351 A1).
The process of Oprins is as discussed above.
Oprins does not explicitly disclose that overall chemicals production is at least 65 wt. % based on olefins produced relative to feed rate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Oprins to achieve an olefin yield of at least 65 wt. %, because olefin yield in steam cracking and hydroprocessing systems is a result-effective variable dependent on operating parameters such as temperature, residence time, and feed composition, and optimizing such parameters to increase olefin yield is a routine objective in the art.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Oprins et al. (WO 2018/142351 A1) in view of Al-Ghamdi et al. (WO 2018/094346 A1).
Oprins discloses separating crude oil, solvent deasphalting heavy fractions,
hydroprocessing deasphalted oil, and steam cracking to produce olefins (¶[0019]–[0020]).
Al-Ghamdi discloses multi-stage crude separation including atmospheric and vacuum distillation to produce multiple fractions and downstream processing of intermediate streams (¶[0020]–[0026]; Fig. 1). Al-Ghamdi further discloses solvent deasphalting of heavy residue to produce deasphalted oil and pitch, with routing of deasphalted oil to hydroprocessing units (¶[0027]–[0032]). Al-Ghamdi also teaches integration of refinery streams with staged heating, separation, and intermediate stream handling consistent with heater/separator configurations and recycle flows (¶[0020]–[0026]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oprins to incorporate the staged separation, heating, and intermediate stream handling configurations taught by Al-Ghamdi, because such configurations are well known in refinery practice to improve separation efficiency, heat integration, and downstream processing performance.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Oprins teaches hydroprocessing of heavy fractions (¶[0019]–[0020]), and Al-Ghamdi teaches hydroprocessing of vacuum gas oil and related fractions to produce streams suitable for downstream cracking (¶[0030]–[0032]). It would have been obvious to operate hydroprocessing under conditions that convert hydrocarbons to steam-crackable products, as this is a conventional objective of hydroprocessing prior to cracking.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Oprins et al. (WO 2018/142351 A1) in view of Al-Ghamdi et al. (WO 2018/094346 A1) and further in view of Yeh et al. (WO 2017/117178 A1).
Oprins discloses a process including solvent deasphalting of heavy fractions, hydroprocessing of deasphalted oil, and steam cracking to produce olefins (¶[0019]–[0020]).
Al-Ghamdi discloses separation of crude into multiple fractions, solvent deasphalting of residue, hydroprocessing of deasphalted oil, and integration of pyrolysis oil streams within refinery processing, including recycling and blending pyrolysis oil with deasphalted oil and routing pyrolysis oil within heavy oil processing systems (¶[0045]–[0052]; Fig. 2).
Yeh discloses that solvent deasphalting employs hydrocarbon solvents including propane, butane, pentane, and C5–C7 hydrocarbons, and further teaches that such solvents may be used individually or as mixtures and are defined as hydrocarbon compositions comprising predominantly alkanes (¶[0047]–[0049]). Yeh further teaches mixing heavy hydrocarbon feedstocks with such solvents to effect deasphalting (¶[0045]–[0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oprins in view of Al-Ghamdi to recycle pyrolysis oil within the heavy oil processing and solvent deasphalting system, and further to utilize such hydrocarbon streams as diluents in the solvent deasphalting unit as taught by Yeh, because solvent deasphalting processes employ hydrocarbon solvents and mixtures thereof, and Al-Ghamdi teaches integrating pyrolysis oil into SDA-side processing streams, making the use of pyrolysis oil as a diluent a predictable variation.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771