DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Application No. 18/634,413 filed on 04/12/2024.
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Drawing/Specification Objections
The drawing is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. The drawings, Figs. 5, 7 and 8 are not of sufficient quality because of the blurry and small font of the text.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/ columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching
all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang Satyamurthy et al. (US 2012/0107175) (hereinafter Satyamurthy) in view of Knopp et al. (US 2012/0305813) (hereinafter Knopp).
Claim 1. Satyamurthy teaches an automated radiochemical reaction system (See Para. [0002], [0011], disclose “automated chemical synthesis apparatus suitable for the preparation of small quantities of chemicals, particularly radio pharmaceuticals”, and/or see Para. [0045], discloses “robotic device to a provide a broad range of synthesis capability and address a broad range of reaction complexity”, and/or see Para. [0123], discloses “a multi-module radiochemical synthesis platform”), comprising:
a hot cell including a plurality of chemicals and components required for performing a radiochemical reaction (See Para. [0004], “High dose (curies) synthesis must be conducted in a hot cell with considerably higher shielding and safety requirements”, and/or see Para. [0049], [0232], discloses “"remote control" unit for an operation within a hot cell”, and Para. [0068], discloses “a series of reaction events”. Additionally, see Para. [0056]-[0057], discloses “robotic arm including heating unit”);
a robot positioned within and coupled to an interior of the hot cell (See Para. [0049], “remote control" unit that is not limited to operation within a fume hood or hot cell. This unit allows streamlined control of each robotic actuator”), the robot comprising a robot arm (See Para. [0054]-[0055], discloses “robotic arm 12 and 14”); and
a chemical reaction unit that includes at least one element for the radiochemical reaction to be performed (See Para. [0007], [0010], “Automated radiochemistry units are available, and several devices referred to as "automated synthesis modules" exist for specific types of reactions that are routinely and repeatedly conducted”, and see Para. [0092], “chemical reaction is performed”);
Satyamurthy fails to teach, an end effector coupled to a distal free end of the robot arm, the end effector being adapted to grasp, release, and actuate a syringe within the hot cell; and wherein the robot is adapted to complete an automated radiochemical reaction within the hot cell without human interaction.
However, Knopp teaches, an end effector coupled to a distal free end of the robot arm, the end effector being adapted to grasp, release, and actuate a syringe within the hot cell (See Para. [0037], “one or several syringes 206 are attached to holders 208, 210 disposed inside the shielding 202”);
wherein the robot is adapted to complete an automated radiochemical reaction within the hot cell without human interaction (See Para. [0004], “Fully automatic systems (e.g. synthesis modules, dispensers, robots) are operated inside the shielding (see FIG. 1)”, and see Para. [0012], “the at least one shielding unit is preferably constructed as a so-called "hot cell.", and Para. [0032], “Synthesis modules 100 for processing radioactive materials automatically or fully automatically are typically operated for radiation protection entirely inside shielding 102 ("hot cell") which is shielded in all spatial directions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a robot that would be placed within a holt cell and would hold/grasp container/syringes as taught by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 2. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 1, wherein a controller is communicatively coupled to the robot, the chemical reaction unit to send movement and operation instructions to the robot (See Satyamurthy, Para. [0049], “Utilization of a "remote control" unit that is not limited to operation within a fume hood or hot cell. This unit allows streamlined control of each robotic actuator”, and see Para. [0054], “FIGS. 1-4 comprises a remote controlled assembly 10, which includes robotic arms (two shown) 12,14 that can be moved up and down and forward and backward under remote control in order to perform pressurized reactions, solvent evaporation and product transfer (e.g. to another SPE unit)”).
Claim 3. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 1, wherein the robot includes at least one force sensor coupled to the robot arm or the end effector, the at least one force sensor adapted to identify when the robot collides with a wall or an object within the hot cell (See Satyamurthy, Para. [0050], “Utilization of remote sensing, including video, that limits the actuation range of the robotic arms for safety purposes as well as providing to the chemist a remote visual monitoring capability. This enables the chemist to either utilize the remote control at a position distant from the fume hood/hot cell (e.g., out of viewing range) or to integrate the control functions of the "remote control" with a more visual environment outside of the hot cell (e.g. video monitors, personal computers, etc.)”).
Claim 4. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 2, wherein the robot includes at least one camera or vision system, the at least one camera or vision system being communicatively coupled to the controller (See Satyamurthy, Para. [0070], “the streamlined utilization of modular remote control assemblies 10, it is also contemplated that the system includes a digital capture of video information. A small video camera (not shown) can be focused on the reaction vessel or vial 16. A "ceiling" view camera (not shown) for observing each robotic arm 12, 14 as well additional video cameras (not shown) for viewing other components of the system can also be included”).
Claim 5. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 1, wherein the end effector includes an actuatable and axially translatable body, and an end effector is adapted to be coupled to the syringe (See Knopp, Fig. 5, “a syringe 206 and four containers 502 via a hose connection 504”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 6. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 5, wherein the end effector further includes a first grip, a second grip, a third grip, and a fourth grip (See Knopp, Fig. 5, “four containers 502 are conned via hose connection 504”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 7. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 6, wherein the first grip and the second grip are adapted to be positioned on opposite sides of a plunger grip of the syringe, securely coupling the end effector to the syringe (See Knopp, Fig. 5, syringe 206 and grip of 502 via 504). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 8. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 7, wherein the third grip and the fourth grip are adapted to be positioned on opposite sides of a base grip of the syringe, securely coupling the end effector to the syringe (See Knopp, Fig. 5, syringe 206 and grip of 502 via 504). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 9. The teaching of Satyamurthy as modified by the teaching of Knopp teaches the automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 8, wherein the robot can axially translate the body of the end effector along a central axis of the body, causing the syringe to draw a liquid into the syringe or expel a liquid from the syringe (See Knopp, Fig. 5, discloses this claimed invention). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 10. The automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 5, wherein the end effector includes a generally C-shaped cross-sectional shape viewing axially along an axial direction of the body (See Knob, Fig. 4, “one or several syringes 206 are attached to holders 208, 210 disposed inside the shielding 202”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 11. The automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 5, wherein the end effector is actuatable in a radial direction with respect to a central axis of the body (See Knopp, Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Satyamurthy with a setting arrangement of the robot arm and mechanism of robot as presented by Knopp in order to safely handle radioactive materials with high activities.
Claim 12. The automated radiochemical reaction system of claim 1, wherein the at least one element includes a heater (See Satyamurthy, Para. [0057], [0094], [0098], discloses “heater 22”, and/or see Para. [0111], “Typical components are a temperature controller 212 connected to a gas heater 214 as well as a vacuum pump 216, the operation of each controlled by a module controller 218. Methods contemplated of heating the vial content include the use of a heating block, the use of microwave energy, etc.”), compressed air cooler, magnetic stirrer, vacuum, inert gases, radiation detector for reaction monitoring, and/or ultraviolet (UV)-vis detector for chemical analysis (See Satyamurthy, Para. [0101], “The cavity 172 has a control unit 174 that may include microwave power control, temperature control, cooling gas, temperature monitoring, and stir bar control.”, and see Para. [0232], “a 254 nm UV detector”, and/or see Para. [0290], “analytical probes (i.e., IR, UV, specialty probes for various chemical constituents, etc) for conducting process analysis during a reaction in the system”. Furthermore, see Para. [0055], [0097], “The assembly of components also allows for the application of pressure or vacuum to vessels from an external gas supply if desirable”, and see Para. [0119], [0292], discloses “A flow rate sensor 232 in combination with a calibrated radiation sensor 222 is monitored to integrate the total radioactivity passing the detection point and arrive at the total radioactivity”. Furthermore, see Para. [0117], “a radiation detector to measure the radioactivity of the sample”).
Conclusion
/B M M HANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657