DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that in view of the amendments submitted with the response, the groups overlap in scope and therefore are not properly restrictable. This is found persuasive and the requirement has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-22 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5: The recitation of the term "a virtual flywheel" lacks proper antecedent basis since "a virtual flywheel" is previously recited in claim 1 from which claim 5 depends. Accordingly, for the purposes of this opinion, the term "a virtual flywheel" is interpreted to be "the virtual flywheel" which provides proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Furthermore, the first recitation of the term "the wind-in phase" lacks proper antecedent basis.
Accordingly, for the purposes of this opinion, the first recitation of the term "the wind-in phase" is interpreted to be "a wind-in phase" which provides proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Claim 7: The recitation of the terms "the wind-out phase and the wind-in phase" lacks proper antecedent basis. Accordingly, for the purposes of this opinion, the terms "the wind-out phase and the wind-in phase" are interpreted to be "a wind-out phase and a wind-in phase" which provides proper antecedent basis and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuhaus (US Patent Application 2023/0067732) in view of "Design and Hybrid Impedance Control of a Powered Rowing Machine" to Casas et al. (hereafter Casas)
1. Neuhaus discloses fitness equipment, comprising:
an electric motor (112);
a tensile member (118) coupled with an output shaft of the electric motor (Par. 0023: “The first motor 112 is operationally coupled to the first cable 118 such that the first motor 112 can generate tension in the first cable 118. In some examples, the first motor 112 can include an electric motor coupled to a spool such that the electric motor operates to generate a torque that rotates the spool. In such examples, the spool is coupled to the first cable 118 such that the first cable 118 can be repeatedly wound and unwound from the spool of the first motor 112 by operation of the first motor 112”);
an end effector (116) coupled to the electric motor through the tensile member and configured for interaction with a user during performance of a flywheel training exercise by the user (Fig 1), wherein the electric motor is operable to provide a force to the end effector through the tensile member (Par. 0024);
a sensor configured to obtain at least one of a position, a velocity, or an acceleration of the end effector (Par. 0028 and 0033); and
a controller (200) programmed to cause the electric motor to operate to exert the force on the end effector during the interaction with the user by generating motor controls using the at least one of the position, the velocity, or the acceleration of the end effector (Par. 0041-0042).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the controller programmed to cause the electric motor to operate by varying the force to non-zero values during both wind-in and wind-out phases of a virtual flywheel exercise based on simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel.
Casas teaches a flywheel training exercise (Abstract: rowing exercise utilizing a flywheel) comprising a controller generating motor controls by simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel (Page 2 - controller utilizes an "impedance regulator is used during the pull phase to provide the force velocity characteristic corresponding to a flywheel, a nonlinear damper and a small spring action. The force along the pull chain is monitored in this mode. Near the end of the pull stroke, when the force crosses a lower threshold, a transition to the decoupled mode is triggered. The target impedance of the regulator is switched to provide a very low inertia and damping, along with the spring action. At the same time, a real-time simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine" and see page 3 - wherein the simulation has a "coupled" mode for a wind-out phase, and a "decoupled" mode for a wind-in phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have integrated the flywheel simulation and simulator as taught by Casas for the purpose of mimicking a well-known resistance profile for a rowing machine.
2. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to:
during the wind-out phase (304; Par. 0041) of the flywheel training exercise:
determine a first force to be exerted on the end effector based on the acceleration of the end effector (Par. 0041-0042).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the controller determining a characteristic of a simulated flywheel using a first model of the simulated flywheel; tracking a speed of the simulated flywheel; and causing the electric motor to operate to exert the first force on the end effector, the first force exerted on the end effector in a direction opposing a first direction of motion of the end effector during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise.
Casas disclose a similar fitness equipment having a controller which determines a characteristic of a simulated flywheel using a first model of the simulated flywheel (see page 2 of Casas --- see how the first force is determined - "impedance regulator is used during the pull phase to provide the force-velocity characteristic corresponding to a flywheel" -- At the same time, a real-time
simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine" wherein the first model of the simulated flywheel is the model depicting the wind-out phase --- see also the "coupled" section on page 3 of Casas wherein the first model is taught to be the "coupled" model), tracks a speed of the simulated flywheel (see page 2 of Casas - "the velocity of the chain rises above the velocity of the virtual flywheel"; and causes the electric motor to operate to exert the first force on the end effector, the first force exerted on the end effector (see page 2 of Casas - "the coupled mode is re-engaged, and the entire cycle repeated") in a direction opposing a first direction of motion of the end effector (the first direction is towards the user) during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise (see page 2 of Casas - "The controller was implemented in real time and successfully tested in its ability to reproduce the operation and "feel" (as judged by an expert rower) of the original machine" - see how the exerted force is opposite the pulling force of a user during a power stroke of the wind-out phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have the controller determining a characteristic of a simulated flywheel using a first model of the simulated flywheel; tracking a speed of the simulated flywheel; and causing the electric motor to operate to exert the first force on the end effector, the first force exerted on the end effector in a direction opposing a first direction of motion of the end effector during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise to reproduce the operation and feel of a rowing machine using a flywheel.
3. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 2, wherein the controller is further programmed to:
during the wind-in phase (308) of the flywheel training exercise:
determine a second force to be exerted on the end effector based on a speed of the end effector (Par. 0044); and
cause the electric motor to operate to exert the second force on the end effector (Par. 0046), the second force exerted on the end effector in the direction that is the same as a second direction of motion of the end effector during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise and opposing a force exerted by the user on the end effector in the first direction (Par. 0044).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the determination of the second force being based on a speed of the end effector and the speed of the simulated flywheel using a second model of the simulated flywheel.
Casas disclose a similar fitness equipment having a controller which determines the second force based on a speed of the end effector and the speed of the simulated flywheel using a second model of the simulated flywheel (see the "Decoupled" section on page 3 of Casas --- see how the speed of the virtual flywheel in relation to the speed of the end effector is factored into determining the second force --- using the decoupled model which is the second model of the virtual flywheel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have the controller determining a characteristic of a simulated flywheel using a first model of the simulated flywheel; tracking a speed of the simulated flywheel; and causing the electric motor to operate to exert the first force on the end effector, the first force exerted on the end effector in a direction opposing a first direction of motion of the end effector during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise to reproduce the operation and feel of a rowing machine using a flywheel.
5. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to:
determine whether to transition out of a wind-out state corresponding to the wind-out phase of the training exercise (Par. 0053) and into a wind-in state corresponding to the wind-in phase of the training exercise (Par. 0049 and 0053) responsive to at least one of (i) a position of the end effector exceeding a maximum allowable position corresponding to an end of the wind-out phase (Par. 0054), or (ii) a simulated payout of the motor returning to an intermediate position of the end effector after passing the maximum allowable position (Par. 0054); and
determine whether to transition out of the wind-in state and into the wind-out state responsive to at least one of (i) the position of the end effector being less than or equal to a minimum allowable position corresponding to an end of the wind-in phase (Par. 0054), or (ii) a speed of the motor being less than or equal to zero.
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the controller programmed to execute a simulator of a virtual flywheel.
Casas teaches a flywheel training exercise machine (Abstract: rowing exercise utilizing a flywheel) comprising a controller generating motor controls by simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel (Page 2 - a real-time simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have integrated the flywheel simulation and simulator as taught by Casas for the purpose of mimicking a well-known resistance profile for a rowing machine.
6. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to implement a calibration phase (704; Par. 0069) before the flywheel training exercise by:
operating a display screen (Par. 0031) of the fitness equipment to prompt the user to perform one or more repetitions of the flywheel training exercise (Par. 0069);
record a first position of the end effector at which the end effector is fully retracted (Par. 0067-0070);
record a second position of the end effector at which the end effector is fully extended (Par. 0067-0070); and
use the first position and the second position of the end effector to transition a simulator of a virtual flywheel between a wind-out state corresponding to the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise and a wind-in state corresponding to the wind-in phase of the flywheel training exercise (Par. 0067-0070).
7. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 1, wherein the controller is programmed to:
operate a user interface of the fitness equipment to prompt the user to enter a user input based on a characteristic (Par. 0036); and
based on the characteristic, cause the electric motor to operate to exert the force on the end effector during interaction with by the user to simulate the training exercise across both the wind-out phase and the wind-in phase of the training exercise (Par. 0053,0049).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the input indicating a characteristic of a virtual flywheel for the flywheel training exercise.
Casas teaches a similar exercise machine providing for user input for impedance control (see the "Robust Impedance Control" section on page 6 --- wherein the user can input different impedance characteristics of the virtual flywheel; and see the "Discussion" section on page 7 wherein different training levels are selectable). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Neuhaus to have utilized the impedance control capability taught by Casas such that the user interface prompts the user to input virtual flywheel impedance characteristics for the purpose of providing fitness equipment with the capability of varying the difficulty of exercise.
9. Neuhaus disclose a method of simulating a flywheel training exercise, the method comprising:
providing exercise equipment comprising an electric motor (112) and an end effector (116) operably coupled with the electric motor through a tensile member (118) coupled with an output shaft of the electric motor(Par. 0023: “The first motor 112 is operationally coupled to the first cable 118 such that the first motor 112 can generate tension in the first cable 118. In some examples, the first motor 112 can include an electric motor coupled to a spool such that the electric motor operates to generate a torque that rotates the spool. In such examples, the spool is coupled to the first cable 118 such that the first cable 118 can be repeatedly wound and unwound from the spool of the first motor 112 by operation of the first motor 112”);
obtaining calibration data indicating a first position and a second position of the end effector corresponding to a range of motion of the flywheel training exercise (Par. 0067-0070);
during a wind-out phase (304; Par. 0041) in which the end effector is moved in a first direction, determining a first force to be exerted on the end effector based on acceleration of the end effector (Par. 0041-0042), and operating the electric motor to exert the first force on the end effector (Par. 0024); and
during a wind-in phase (308) in which the end effector is moved in a second direction, determining a second force to be exerted on the end effector based on acceleration of the end effector (Par. 0044), and operating the electric motor to exert the second force on the end effector (Par. 0024).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the controller programmed to cause the electric motor to operate by varying the force of a virtual flywheel exercise to be exerted during the wind-out and wind-in phases based on simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel.
Casas teaches a flywheel training exercise (Abstract: rowing exercise utilizing a flywheel) comprising a controller generating motor controls by simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel (Page 2 - controller utilizes an "impedance regulator is used during the pull phase to provide the force velocity characteristic corresponding to a flywheel, a nonlinear damper and a small spring action. The force along the pull chain is monitored in this mode. Near the end of the pull stroke, when the force crosses a lower threshold, a transition to the decoupled mode is triggered. The target impedance of the regulator is switched to provide a very low inertia and damping, along with the spring action. At the same time, a real-time simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine" and see page 3 - wherein the simulation has a "coupled" mode for a wind-out phase, and a "decoupled" mode for a wind-in phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have integrated the flywheel simulation and simulator as taught by Casas for the purpose of mimicking a well-known resistance profile for a rowing machine.
11. Neuhaus discloses the method significantly as claimed, but does not disclose wherein the simulated speed of the virtual flywheel is updated based on a previously determined simulated speed of the virtual flywheel and a force exerted by a user on the end effector.
Casas disclose a similar fitness equipment having a controller which determines the second force based on a speed of the end effector and the speed of the simulated flywheel using a second model of the simulated flywheel (see the "Decoupled" section on page 3 of Casas --- see how the speed of the virtual flywheel in relation to the speed of the end effector is factored into determining the second force --- using the decoupled model which is the second model of the virtual flywheel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have the controller determining a characteristic of a simulated flywheel using a first model of the simulated flywheel; tracking a speed of the simulated flywheel; and causing the electric motor to operate to exert the first force on the end effector, the first force exerted on the end effector in a direction opposing a first direction of motion of the end effector during the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise to reproduce the operation and feel of a rowing machine using a flywheel.
12. Neuhaus discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the calibration data is obtained by at least one of:
prompting a user to perform a repetition of the flywheel training exercise and recording the first position and the second position of the end effector (Par. 0069);
predicting the first position and the second position of the end effector based on one or more characteristics of the user (Par. 0067-0070); or
predicting the first position and the second position of the end effector based on a first position and a second position of the end effector for a different exercise (Par. 0067-0070).
13. Neuhaus discloses the method of Claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether to transition the simulation of the virtual flywheel out of a wind-out state corresponding to the wind-out phase of the flywheel training exercise and into a wind-in state corresponding to the wind-in phase of the flywheel training exercise (Par. 0049 and 0053) responsive to at least one of (i) a position of the end effector exceeding the first position (Par. 0054), or (ii) a simulated payout of the virtual flywheel returning to an intermediate position of the end effector after passing the second position.
14. Neuhaus discloses the method of Claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether to transition the simulation of the virtual flywheel out of a wind-in state and into a wind-out state responsive to at least one of (i) the position of the end effector being less than or equal to a minimum allowable position corresponding to an end of the wind-out phase (Par. 0054), or (ii) a speed of the virtual flywheel being less than or equal to zero.
15. Neuhaus discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the first force is determined in the wind-out phase during a concentric portion of a repetition (304) of the flywheel training exercise, and the second force is determined in the wind-in phase during an eccentric portion of the repetition (308) of the flywheel training exercise (Fig 3).
16. Neuhaus discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the speed of the end effector and the acceleration of the end effector are determined based on sensor data from a position sensor and inertial measurement data obtained from an inertial measurement unit positioned within the end effector (Par. 0028).
17-19. Neuhaus discloses a control system for simulating flywheel training, the control system comprising:
processing circuitry programmed to:
obtain sensor data indicating movement of an end effector of fitness equipment (Par. 0028 and 0033); and
operate an electric motor (112) of the fitness equipment, based on the movement of the end effector, to exert non-zero forces on the end effector during wind-in and wind-out phases of a flywheel training experience (Par. 0041-0042);
wherein the processing circuitry is further programmed to:
prior to the operation of the electric motor to simulate the flywheel training experience, operate a display screen (Par. 0031) of the fitness equipment to prompt the user to perform a plurality of repetitions of the flywheel training exercise with the end effector (Par. 0069);
record minimum and maximum positions of the end effector while performing the plurality of repetitions (Par. 0067-0070).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose the controller programmed to cause the forces on the end effector to be determined based on a result of a physics-based simulation of a virtual flywheel in order to provide the flywheel training experience for a user without requiring a flywheel physically coupled to the end effector, wherein a size of the virtual flywheel for the physics-based simulation is user adjustable to adjust a behavior of the virtual flywheel and the force exerted on the end effector responsive to movement of the end effector, and implement the physics-based simulation of the virtual flywheel using the minimum and maximum positions to determine when to transition between a wind-in state and a wind-out state of the virtual flywheel.
Casas teaches a flywheel training exercise (Abstract: rowing exercise utilizing a flywheel) comprising a controller generating motor controls by simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel (Page 2 - controller utilizes an "impedance regulator is used during the pull phase to provide the force velocity characteristic corresponding to a flywheel, a nonlinear damper and a small spring action. The force along the pull chain is monitored in this mode. Near the end of the pull stroke, when the force crosses a lower threshold, a transition to the decoupled mode is triggered. The target impedance of the regulator is switched to provide a very low inertia and damping, along with the spring action. At the same time, a real-time simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine" and see page 3 - wherein the simulation has a "coupled" mode for a wind-out phase, and a "decoupled" mode for a wind-in phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have integrated the flywheel simulation and simulator as taught by Casas for the purpose of mimicking a well-known resistance profile for a rowing machine.
20. Neuhaus disclose the control system of Claim 17, wherein the sensor data comprises position data obtained from a position sensor operably coupled with an output shaft of the electric motor, wherein the movement of the end effector comprises a speed and an acceleration of the end effector, the speed and the acceleration of the end effector determined by the processing circuitry using numerical differentiation of the position data and a filter (Par. 0033-0035 and 0065).
21-22. Neuhaus discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
obtain data indicating movement of an end effector of fitness equipment (Par. 0033-0035);
determine a target force for a motor of the fitness equipment by:
during a first phase of an exercise, determining the target force based on an acceleration of the end effector; and
during a second phase of the exercise, determining the target force based on a simulated speed of a virtual mass; and
control the motor based on the target force (Par. 0036-0037, 00420; Figs 7-8).
However, Neuhaus does not disclose wherein the virtual mass is a virtual flywheel.
Casas teaches a flywheel training exercise machine (Abstract: rowing exercise utilizing a flywheel) comprising a controller generating motor controls by simulating rotation of a virtual flywheel (Page 2 - a real-time simulation of the flywheel is started, mimicking the flywheel coasting of the conventional machine"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fitness equipment, specifically the controller, of Neuhaus to have integrated the flywheel simulation and simulator as taught by Casas for the purpose of mimicking a well-known resistance profile for a rowing machine.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuhaus in view of Casas as applied to Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-22 above, and further in view of Valente et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0184452).
8. Neuhaus discloses the fitness equipment of Claim 1, further comprising a spool configured to take-up and let-out the tensile member responsive to movement of the end effector (Par. 0023), but do not disclose a gearbox wherein the output shaft of the electric motor is coupled with the gearbox, and the gearbox is coupled with the spool.
Valente et al teach a similar exercise machine providing an output shaft (see para [0055] - see how the output shaft of the motor is coupled to a spool via a gearbox) of an electric motor (see para [0054] - electric motor 106) coupled with a gearbox (see para [0057]: gearbox), and the gearbox is coupled with a spool (see para [0055]-[0057] - see how the output shaft of the motor is coupled to a spool via a gearbox). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive system of Neuhaus to have the gearbox as taught by Valente et al for coupling the motor and spool, thus providing a step-up or step- down ratio to accommodate a design requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in the claims is the inclusion of the limitation of the second model of the simulated flywheel comprising a monotonically increasing function of the comparison between the speed of the end effector and the speed of the simulated flywheel (Claims 4 and 10) which is not found in the prior art references. The closest prior art of record, Neuhaus, Casas, Valente et al, and Rubin et al taken as a whole, disclose an exercise system significantly as claimed, but does not provide any teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the prior art as such. There is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rubin et al, Wu, Smith et al, and Jeremic et al all disclose similar exercise machines having motors controlled by a controller to simulate desired characteristics of the torque applied by the motor in both the eccentric and concentric phases of a motion of an end effector connected to the motor via a tensile element.
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 5/20/2026