DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on August 24, 2026
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a step of adjusting and a step of sending” in claims 1-14. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al (US 2017/0134236 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0307042 A1).
As per Claim 1 Patel teaches a method for controlling, by an entity of a telecommunications network, a monitoring frequency, at which a user equipment monitors a control channel capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment, said control method comprising (Paragraph 0007-0009 wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe):
a step of adjusting said monitoring frequency at which said user equipment
monitors said control channel capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment (Paragraph 0007, 0008 wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe ), according to at least one characteristic of at least one data stream to be transmitted associated with said user equipment and relating to at least one service offered by the network (Paragraph 0049, 0054 data streams arrive at the UE(s) 206 with different spatial signatures, which enables each of the UE(s) 206 to recover the one or more data streams destined for that UE 206. ); a step of notifying said adjusted monitoring frequency to said user equipment (Paragraph 0041 bandwidth of uPUCCH resources in the allocation space), and may include more time sensitive control data, such as hybrid automatic repeat/request (HARQ) feedback. ); and
a step of sending information intended for the user equipment over said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency (Paragraph 0009, 0011, 0012 includes means for receiving a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 2 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the steps of adjusting the monitoring frequency, notifying and sending are reiterated periodically (Paragraph 0011 a frequency domain over a plurality of symbols in a time domain, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel starting from the starting resource block group in the allocation space and continuing through the number of resource block groups in the allocation space over the frequency domain first and over the time domain second. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 3 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said information intended for the user equipment comprises at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to the user equipment to be activated for the transmission of said at least one data stream (Paragraph 0005, 0007 a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe. As UE capabilities and demand for bandwidth increases, lower latency in communications may be desired.).
As per Claim 4 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in the adjustment step, said monitoring frequency is also adjusted according to at least one performance indicator of said user equipment and/or of the network (Paragraph 0054, 0069 transmit diversity. Spatial multiplexing may be used to transmit different streams of data simultaneously on the same frequency. For example, UEs allocated uplink shared data channel resources in portion of frequency 612 may be aware of the control channel allocations in portions of frequency 610, and may accordingly integrate control data into the uplink shared data channel resources in portion of frequency 612 to preserve SC-FDMA waveform, as described further herein. ).
As per Claim 5 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 4, wherein said at least one performance indicator comprises: a power consumption of said user equipment; and/or an end-to-end data rate or latency of the network (Paragraph 0082, 0088 the eNB may receive a DM-RS from the UE in the uplink shared data channel. In an aspect, DM-RS receiving component 822, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 853, memory 855, and/or transceiver 856, can receive the DM-RS from the UE (e.g., UE 802) in the uplink shared data channel.In an example, channel resource determining component 810 can determine the bandwidth and the starting indicator from the resource grant received from eNB 804, and communicating component 361 can accordingly schedule data transmission over the resources (e.g., one or more resource blocks) corresponding to the bandwidth and period of time from the starting indicator to the known ending period of time (e.g., the end of the subframe) ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 6 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the adjustment step comprises increasing the monitoring frequency when at least two separate bandwidth parts are assigned to said user equipment for the transmission of said at least one data stream and when at least one said service and/or at least one said data stream is identified as taking priority or as being associated with a maximum latency below a given threshold (Paragraph039, 0043 Described herein are various aspects related to providing communication channels in an ultra low latency (ULL) communication technology. For example, a ULL communication technology may be based on a legacy wireless communication technology, a hierarchical layer that has a reduced latency with respect to another hierarchical layer. In some examples, a hybrid UE 115-a may communicate with access point 105-a on both a first hierarchical layer that supports first layer transmissions using a first TTI (which may relate to a “legacy communication technology”) and a second hierarchical layer that supports second layer transmissions using a second TTI, which may be shorter than the first TTI (which may relate to a “ULL communication technology”). ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 7 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the adjustment step comprises reducing the monitoring frequency when one of the following conditions is met: the same bandwidth part is assigned to said user equipment for the transmission of said at least one data stream; said at least one service comprises only one or more services identified as non-priority or associated with a maximum latency above a given threshold; or said at least one stream comprises only one or more streams identified as non-priority or associated with a maximum latency above a given threshold (Paragraph 0055, 0083 Spatial multiplexing is generally used when channel conditions are good. When channel conditions are less favorable, beamforming may be used to focus the transmission energy in one or more directions. This may be achieved by spatially precoding the data for transmission through multiple antennas, a threshold duration, where data to be transmitted over the uplink shared data channel achieves a threshold modulation order and/or code rate, etc. Thus, in an example, the one or more symbols for transmitting DM-RS need not be explicitly conveyed by the eNB 804 in the resource grant.. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 8 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said at least one characteristic comprises, for a said data stream associated with a said service: a volume of said data stream; and/or information about a scheduling of the data packets carried by said data stream and about a bandwidth part assigned to said service for the transmission of said data packets; and/or a priority associated with said service; and/or a priority associated with said data stream and/or a maximum latency associated with said data stream; and/or a network slice associated with said service (Paragraph 0049, 0054 The spatially precoded data streams arrive at the UE(s) 206 with different spatial signatures, which enables each of the UE(s) 206 to recover the one or more data streams destined for that UE 206. On the UL, each UE 206 transmits a spatially precoded data stream, which enables the eNB 204 to identify the source of each spatially precoded data stream.. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 9 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said at least one service comprises at least one of the following services: an “ultra Reliable Low Latency Communication” (uRLLC) service; an “enhanced Mobile BroadBand” (eMBB) service; a “massive Machine Type Communication” (mMTC) service; a “Vehicle to Everything” (V2X) service; a “High Performance Mobile Type Communication” (HMTC) service (Paragraph 0024, 0039 FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of timelines for ultra low latency (ULL) bandwidth allocation, communication channels in an ultra low latency (ULL) communication technology. For example, a ULL communication technology may be based on a legacy wireless communication technology ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 10 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of estimating said at least one characteristic of said at least one data stream to be transmitted, associated with said user equipment on the basis of at least one of the following elements: at least one identifier of at least one network slice to which said user equipment is attached or which is authorized for said user equipment, and/or at least one service to which said user equipment is connected or is authorized to connect; and at least one piece of information supplied by said user equipment (Paragraph 0052, 0061 The eNBs 204 are responsible for all radio related functions including radio bearer control, admission control, mobility control, scheduling, security, and connectivity to one or more components of core network 130. Similar to the functionality described in connection with the DL transmission by the eNB 310, the controller/processor 359 implements the L2 layer for the user plane and the control plane by providing header compression ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 11 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of learning a traffic prediction model for said user equipment, this prediction model being used by said network entity for determining said at least one characteristic of said at least one stream to be transmitted associated with said user equipment (Paragraph 0051, 0054 UEs 115 to transmit multiple data streams. Carrier aggregation may utilize two or more component carriers on a same or different serving cell for data transmission. CoMP may include techniques for coordination of transmission and reception by a number of access points 105 to improve overall transmission quality for UEs 115 as well as increasing network and spectrum utilization. ).
As per Claim 12 Patel-Shin teaches a method of communication by a user equipment of a telecommunications network, said method comprising: a step of receiving a notification of what is known as a monitoring frequency at which said user equipment monitors a control channel, adjusted by a network entity according to an adjustment step of a control method as claimed in claim 1, said control channel being capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment; and a step of monitoring said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency (Paragraph 0007-0009 control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe, a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 13 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising, in said monitoring step, detecting in said control channel at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to the user equipment to be activated (Paragraph 0009 wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 14 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 12, wherein said notification is an RRC (radio resource control) configuration message, sent by the network entity and comprising a value of a period with which the monitoring of the control channel is to be reiterated (Paragraph 0007-0009 a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 15 Patel teaches an entity of a telecommunications network, comprising: an adjustment module, configured to adjust, according to at least one characteristic of at least one data stream to be transmitted associated with a user equipment and relating to at least one service offered by said network(Paragraph 0007, 0049, 0054 data streams arrive at the UE(s) 206 with different spatial signatures, which enables each of the UE(s) 206 to recover the one or more data streams destined for that UE 206 wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe), a quantity representing a frequency of monitoring a control channel capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment (Paragraph 0007-0009 data streams arrive at the UE(s) 206 with different spatial signatures, which enables each of the UE(s) 206 to recover the one or more data streams destined for that UE 206. ); a notification module, configured to notify said adjusted monitoring frequency to said user equipment; and a sending module, configured to send information intended for the user equipment over said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency(Paragraph 0009, 0011, 0012 includes means for receiving a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe)..
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 16 Patel-Shin teaches a user equipment of a telecommunications network, comprising: a reception module, configured to receive a notification of a monitoring frequency at which said user equipment monitors a control channel, adjusted by an adjustment module of a network entity as claimed in claim 15, said control channel being capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment; and a monitoring module, configured to monitor said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency (Paragraph 0008, 0009 a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmit data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe. Example, an apparatus for communicating using a configurable bandwidth is provided. The apparatus includes means for receiving a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 17 Patel-Shin teaches a communication system comprising: the network entity of claim 15; and a user equipment of a telecommunications network, comprising: a reception module, configured to receive a notification of a monitoring frequency at which said user equipment monitors a control channel, adjusted by an adjustment module of the network entity, said control channel being capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to said user equipment; and a monitoring module, configured to monitor said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency (Paragraph 0007-0009 a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and transmit data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe.).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 18 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step of sending information intended for the user equipment over said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency comprises sending information intended for the user equipment over said control channel at an instant coincident with periodic monitoring of the control channel by the user equipment according to the adjusted monitoring frequency (Paragraph 0011 a frequency domain over a plurality of symbols in a time domain, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel starting from the starting resource block group in the allocation space and continuing through the number of resource block groups in the allocation space over the frequency domain first and over the time domain second. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 19 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step of sending information intended for the user equipment over said control channel according to said adjusted monitoring frequency comprises sending information intended for the user equipment over said control channel at an instant consistent with a sending frequency, the sending frequency corresponding to the adjusted monitoring frequency. (Paragraph 0011 a frequency domain over a plurality of symbols in a time domain, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel starting from the starting resource block group in the allocation space and continuing through the number of resource block groups in the allocation space over the frequency domain first and over the time domain second. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
As per Claim 20 Patel-Shin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step of notifying said adjusted monitoring frequency to said user equipment comprises sending a configuration message to said user equipment comprising information indicative of a period at which the monitoring of the control channel by said user equipment is to be reiterated (Paragraph 0011 a frequency domain over a plurality of symbols in a time domain, and transmitting, by the UE, data in the uplink shared data channel starting from the starting resource block group in the allocation space and continuing through the number of resource block groups in the allocation space over the frequency domain first and over the time domain second. ).
However Patel does not explicitly disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, Shin disclose adjusting said monitoring frequency, (Paragraph 0021, 0239, 0339, 0485 The UE may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the BS in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset. The channel to and from the terminal in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset, wherein a specific subcarrier among a plurality of subcarriers included in the narrowband is punctured or rate-matched. Network slice: the channel raster may be set to a value of 100 kHz. In the case of the LTE system, the UE may sequentially monitor a frequency value equal to an available minimum frequency bandwidth (e.g., 6 RB, 1.08 MHz) at intervals of channel raster (e.g., 100 kHz). A network slice is a network defined by an operator in order to provide an optimized solution for specific market scenarios that require specific requirements with end-to-end coverage, and control plane (RRC) protocol terminations for a user equipment (UE). A remote work in the cloud and requires much lower end-to-end latency to maintain a good user experience when tactile interfaces are used..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patel with the teachings of Shin in order to the make the system more efficient. Because the BS may transmit and receive a signal and/or a channel to and from the UE in a narrowband in which a center frequency is adjusted by applying the channel raster offset (see Shin Paragraph 0494).
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 9 and 10 the Applicant argues in substance that:
(A) " Applicant respectfully notes that Patel does not disclose a method for
controlling a monitoring frequency at which a UE monitors a (downlink) control channel capable of carrying at least one indicator of a bandwidth part assigned to the UE”
Response
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' arguments but firmly believes that the cited references teaches claim limitation. Patel explicitly discloses a control channel from a serving eNB, wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink control channel, and transmitting, by the UE, control data in the uplink control channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe. Patel gives example, an apparatus for communicating using a configurable bandwidth is provided. The apparatus receives a control channel from a serving evolved Node B (eNB), wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink shared data channel, and means for transmitting data in the uplink shared data channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe.. An example from Patel (Paragraph 0015 a control channel from a serving eNB, wherein the control channel includes a resource grant indicating a bandwidth and a start indicator for an uplink control channel, and transmitting, by the UE, control data in the uplink control channel over the bandwidth and during a duration from the start indicator to an end of a corresponding subframe..).
Therefore, Patel and Shin reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463