DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/12/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 04/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 10 and 17 recites “a second radiofrequency signal outside the charging transmitter device” which lacks antecedent basis to the spec.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to due to the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to identify the elements as described in the specification.
Specifically figure 3 contain elements with no description (i.e. the generic box elements). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
• (a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
• (b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
• (c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013, effective Dec. 18, 2013]
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Specifically, the following features are not identified in the drawings:
Claim 1 recites “a charging control circuit configured to stop the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device” which structures are not identified in the drawing”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8, and 10-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2,10 and 17 recites “detect a second radiofrequency signal outside the charging transmitter device” which is unclear.
Claim language “detect a second radiofrequency signal outside the charging transmitter device” and “wherein the detection circuit is further configured to detect the movement of the power receiver device based on the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna” the specification recites the following:
[0057] The detection circuit LPCD is configured to detect an amplitude and/or phase change in the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2 sensed by the antenna ANT1 when the charging transmitter POL proceeds with charging of the power receiver LST.
[0058] The detection of an amplitude and/or phase change in the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2 allows detecting a movement of the power receiver LST relative to the charging transmitter POL. When an amplitude and/or phase change is detected, then the detection circuit LPCD is configured to emit a detection signal SIGD.
[0059] Thus, the detection circuit LPCD is not only used to detect the presence of a power receiver LST at the beginning of the NFC communication but also to detect a movement of the power receiver POL relative to the charging transmitter LST.
[0060] More particularly, the detection circuit LPCD comprises a step-down converter IQ (also referred to as “In-Phase Quadrature (IQ) downconverter”) associated with low-pass filters so as to be able to convert a radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2 received from the antenna ANT1 into two continuous signals, respectively indicative of the amplitude and of the phase of the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2. Alternatively, it is possible to provide for a detection circuit LPCD comprising an analog-to-digital converter to extract the amplitude and the phase of the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2.
[0061] Afterwards, these continuous signals are compared with thresholds in order to detect amplitude and phase changes in the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2 revealing the movement of a power receiver LST, notably in the electromagnetic field of the charging transmitter POL.
[0084]During charging, the method comprises a continuous control 31 of the amplitude and phase of the radiofrequency signal RX1, RX2 detected by the antenna ANT1 of the charging transmitter POL.
The specification does not state that there is a separate RF signal besides the transmitter signal that is producing the RX1 and RX2. Specifically, the specification does not state that signals RX1, RX2 are signals produced from outside the charging transmitter device or if they are the transmitters RF signal that is modulated/changed due to the movement of the power receiver device.
Examiner will interpret the “second radiofrequency signal” as an “radiofrequency signal sensed by the antenna when the charging transmitter proceeds with charging of the power receiver”.
Claim 3-8 and 11-16 and 18-20 are included in this rejection based on their dependence on claims 2,10 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5,7,9-13,15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tramoni (US 20200382165).
As to claims 1, Tramoni discloses a charging transmitter device (Fig.1 [0039] NFC device 1 (DEV1)) configured to carry out a near-field wireless charging of a power receiver device ([0042] When one of the NFC devices, for example the device 1, is used to charge a battery 3 (BAT) of the other device 2), the charging transmitter device comprising:
a charging safeguarding circuit (Fig. 5) including:
a detection circuit ([0075]-[0090] FIG. 5 ) configured to detect a movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device ([0054] [0059] While the charging device is generating a field to recharge another device, it would be ideal for this charging device to be capable of detecting certain conditions, called disruptive conditions (.. departure from field by the device being charged, ..), justifying stopping the charging. A second condition, which it would be ideal for the charging device 1 to be capable of detecting, is a departure by the device 2 from the electromagnetic field. [0075] FIG. 5 shows, schematically and in block form, an embodiment of a circuit for detecting the appearance of a stop condition for the generation of a field by an NFC device charging another NFC device to be charged); and
a charging control circuit ([0075] FIG. 5) configured to stop the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0054] [0059] While the charging device is generating a field to recharge another device, it would be ideal for this charging device to be capable of detecting certain conditions, called disruptive conditions, justifying stopping the charging.. [0076]-[0090] … ….if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 2, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an antenna (antenna of the charging device 1) configured to:
emit, during the charging, a charging radiofrequency signal ([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating and/or detecting a radiofrequency signal using an antenna); and detect a second radiofrequency signal ([0076] magnitude (MAGN) and the phase (PH)) outside the charging transmitter device ([0039] The radiofrequency field generated by one of the devices is detected by the other device, which is within range. [0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit);
wherein the detection circuit is further configured to detect the movement of the power receiver device based on the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna ([0062] The detection of one of these disruptive conditions (… departure from field by the device being charged, ..) requires that the transmitting device analyze the charge variations of its oscillating circuit. [0076]-[0090] …sent to a finite-state machine 58 (SM) that supplies the result DET of the detection. ….if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 3, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 2, wherein the detection circuit is configured to: extract an amplitude and phase of the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna [0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit); detect the movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device based on a comparison between the extracted amplitude and phase and thresholds representative of the movement ([0083]- [0090] … comparators 526 and 528, respectively 566 and 568, of the current values coming from the element 514, respectively 554, to the low and high thresholds…if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby.]; and generate a detection signal in response to detecting the movement ([0066] … it is provided to compare the magnitude and/or phase variations of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit of the device 1 relative to thresholds in order to consider that one of the conditions for stopping the recharging is met when one of these thresholds is exceeded…[0083]- [0090] result DET of the detection… if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 4, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 3, wherein the charging control circuit comprises a logic circuit ([0090] finite-state machine 58 ..[0129] finite-state machine (using hardwired logic) configured to: receive the detection signal ([0090] [0090] The respective outputs of the gates 530 and 570 are, for example, sent to a finite-state machine 58); and stop the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 5 and 7, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 3 and the charging transmitter device according to claim 2, further comprising: at least one radiofrequency driver configured to generate the charging radiofrequency signal ([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating … a radiofrequency signal using an antenna. As such electronic circuits 12 comprises a driver); wherein the charging control circuit is configured to stop the at least one radiofrequency driver in response to the detection circuit detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 9, Tramoni discloses a method for near-field wireless charging (Fig.1 [0039] NFC device 1 (DEV1)) of a power receiver device (device 2) based on a charging transmitter device (Fig.1 [0039] NFC devices 1 and 2), the method comprising:
safeguarding, by a charging safeguarding circuit of the charging transmitter device (Fig. 5), charging, the safeguarding comprising:
detecting, by a detection circuit of the charging safeguarding circuit ([0075]-[0090] FIG. 5 ), a movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device ([0054] [0059] While the charging device is generating a field to recharge another device, it would be ideal for this charging device to be capable of detecting certain conditions, called disruptive conditions (.. departure from field by the device being charged, ..) , justifying stopping the charging. A second condition, which it would be ideal for the charging device 1 to be capable of detecting, is a departure by the device 2 from the electromagnetic field. [0075] FIG. 5 shows, schematically and in block form, an embodiment of a circuit for detecting the appearance of a stop condition for the generation of a field by an NFC device charging another NFC device to be charged); and
stopping, by a charging control circuit of the charging safeguarding circuit ([0075] FIG. 5), the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0054] [0059] While the charging device is generating a field to recharge another device, it would be ideal for this charging device to be capable of detecting certain conditions, called disruptive conditions, justifying stopping the charging.. [0076]-[0090] … ….if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 10, Tramoni discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising, during the charging: emitting, by an antenna of the charging transmitter device (antenna of the charging device 1), a charging radiofrequency signal ([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating and/or detecting a radiofrequency signal using an antenna); detecting, by the antenna, a second radiofrequency signal ([0076] magnitude (MAGN) and the phase (PH)) outside the charging transmitter device ([0039] The radiofrequency field generated by one of the devices is detected by the other device, which is within range. [0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit); and detecting, by the detection circuit, the movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device based on the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna ([0062] The detection of one of these disruptive conditions (… departure from field by the device being charged, ..) requires that the transmitting device analyze the charge variations of its oscillating circuit. [0076]-[0090] …sent to a finite-state machine 58 (SM) that supplies the result DET of the detection. ….if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 11, Tramoni discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: extracting, by the detection circuit, an amplitude and phase of the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna [0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit); detecting the movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device based on a comparison between the extracted amplitude and phase and thresholds representative of the movement ([0083]- [0090] … comparators 526 and 528, respectively 566 and 568, of the current values coming from the element 514, respectively 554, to the low and high thresholds…if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby.]; and generating a detection signal in response to detecting the movement ([0066] … it is provided to compare the magnitude and/or phase variations of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit of the device 1 relative to thresholds in order to consider that one of the conditions for stopping the recharging is met when one of these thresholds is exceeded…[0083]- [0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 12, Tramoni discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving, by a logic circuit of the charging control circuit ([0090] finite-state machine 58 ..[0129] finite-state machine (using hardwired logic), the detection signal ([0090] [0090] The respective outputs of the gates 530 and 570 are, for example, sent to a finite-state machine 58); and stopping, by the logic circuit, the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claims 13 and 15, Tramoni discloses the method according to claim 11 and The method according to claim 10, further comprising: generating, by at least one radiofrequency driver, the charging radiofrequency signal ([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating … a radiofrequency signal using an antenna. As such electronic circuits 12 comprises a driver); and stopping, by the charging control circuit, the at least one radiofrequency driver in response to detecting, by the detection circuit, the movement of the power receiver device ([0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 17 Tramoni discloses a charging transmitter device (Fig.1 [0039] NFC device 1 (DEV1)) configured to carry out a near-field wireless charging of a power receiver device ([0042] When one of the NFC devices, for example the device 1, is used to charge a battery 3 (BAT) of the other device 2), the charging transmitter device comprising:
at least one radiofrequency driver configured to generate a charging radiofrequency signal([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating … a radiofrequency signal using an antenna. As such electronic circuits 12 comprises a driver);
an antenna (antenna of the charging device 1) configured to:
emit, during the charging, a charging radiofrequency signal ([0039] Each device includes various electronic circuits 12 and 22 for generating and/or detecting a radiofrequency signal using an antenna); and detect a second radiofrequency signal ([0076] magnitude (MAGN) and the phase (PH)) outside the charging transmitter device ([0039] The radiofrequency field generated by one of the devices is detected by the other device, which is within range. [0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit);
a detection circuit ([0075]-[0090] FIG. 5 ) configured to: detect a movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device based on the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna ([0054] [0059] While the charging device is generating a field to recharge another device, it would be ideal for this charging device to be capable of detecting certain conditions, called disruptive conditions (.. departure from field by the device being charged, ..), justifying stopping the charging. A second condition, which it would be ideal for the charging device 1 to be capable of detecting, is a departure by the device 2 from the electromagnetic field. [0075] FIG. 5 shows, schematically and in block form, an embodiment of a circuit for detecting the appearance of a stop condition for the generation of a field by an NFC device charging another NFC device to be charged);
and generate a detection signal in response to detecting the movement ([0066] … it is provided to compare the magnitude and/or phase variations of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit of the device 1 relative to thresholds in order to consider that one of the conditions for stopping the recharging is met when one of these thresholds is exceeded…[0083]- [0090] result DET of the detection… if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby);
a charging control circuit ([0075] FIG. 5) configured to: receive the detection signal ([0083]- [0090] … result DET of the detection); and stop the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0083]- [0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 18 Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 17, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to: extract an amplitude and phase of the second radiofrequency signal detected by the antenna ([0076]-[0077]…two detection channels 51 and 55…for extracting or measuring a piece of analog information representative of the magnitude, respectively of the phase, of the signal across the terminals of the oscillating circuit); and detect the movement of the power receiver device relative to the charging transmitter device based on a comparison between the extracted amplitude and phase and thresholds representative of the movement ([0083]- [0090] … comparators 526 and 528, respectively 566 and 568, of the current values coming from the element 514, respectively 554, to the low and high thresholds…if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
As to claim 19, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 17, wherein the charging control circuit is further configured to stop the at least one radiofrequency driver in response to the detection circuit detecting the movement of the power receiver device ([0090] … if this result is in a first state, this means that the charging can continue. Otherwise, this means that the device 1 must interrupt the charging and return to polling mode or standby).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6,8,14,16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tramoni (US 20200382165) in view of Suzuki (US 20140191819).
As to claims 6,8 and 20, Tramoni discloses the charging transmitter device according to claim 5 ,the charging transmitter device according to claim 7 and the charging transmitter device according to claim 19.
Tramoni does not disclose/teach an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna, wherein an impedance of the impedance matching circuit is matched based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device.
Suzuki teaches an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna (Fig. 12 11 and 12), wherein an impedance of the impedance matching circuit is matched based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device ([0115] The storage unit 25 stores a plurality of matching correction amount tables each of which corresponds to a different load value. Each of the matching correction amount tables stores flag information "If" and control values "Tc" to be applied to the matching circuit. ...the control value Tc is determined based on the locus indicating the variation of the input impedance Zin seen from the power transmission circuit 2 to the power transmission antenna 3 in a condition that the power transmission antenna 3 and the power reception antenna 5 in the electromagnetic resonance coupling mode are positioned to face each other and that the gap thereof is changed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging transmitter of Tramoni to an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna, wherein an impedance of the impedance matching circuit is matched based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device in order to efficiently and promptly matching the impedance preventing reflection loss and deterioration of transmission efficiency ([0014]-[0015]).
As to claims 14 and 16, Tramoni discloses the method according to claim 13 and the method according to claim 10.
Tramoni does not disclose/teach matching an impedance, by an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna, based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device.
Suzuki teaches matching an impedance, by an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna, (Fig. 12 11 and 12), based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device ([0115] The storage unit 25 stores a plurality of matching correction amount tables each of which corresponds to a different load value. Each of the matching correction amount tables stores flag information "If" and control values "Tc" to be applied to the matching circuit. ...the control value Tc is determined based on the locus indicating the variation of the input impedance Zin seen from the power transmission circuit 2 to the power transmission antenna 3 in a condition that the power transmission antenna 3 and the power reception antenna 5 in the electromagnetic resonance coupling mode are positioned to face each other and that the gap thereof is changed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tramoni to include matching an impedance, by an impedance matching circuit between the at least one radiofrequency driver and the antenna, based on the antenna of the power receiver device being disposed opposite and proximate to the antenna of the charging transmitter device in order to efficiently and promptly matching the impedance preventing reflection loss and deterioration of transmission efficiency ([0014]-[0015]).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kanakasabai et al (US 20220224161) is cited for having a charging control circuit configured to stop the charging in response to detecting the movement of the power receiver device (Fig. 3).
Ikefuji et al (US 20180019618) is cited for having power transmission is stopped upon detection that the load magnitude has deviated from a specified normal range due to placement of a foreign object, removal of the electronic device from the power supply base, or the like..
Tisserand et al (US 20240235274) is cited for having [0116] By monitoring the voltage amplitude, the microcontroller 113 is for example capable of detecting the impedance drop, for example after the transition period 222. If the event is the removal of the power receiver 120, the microcontroller 113 is for example configured to send a control signal to the frontend circuit 112 to stop the power transfer or to limit the level of transfer power.
Washiro (US 20080064331) is cited for having [0118] (3) In a frequency band used for communication, a constant of a capacitor formed by the inductor and the electrode is set such that the impedance is matched when EFC antennas are arranged to face each other.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859