DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection. Nevertheless, to advance prosecution Examiner addresses the following arguments made by Applicant
Applicant argues that neither Izatt or Yu disclose, teach, or suggest a common housing structure that includes both “the exit lens and the second optical system”, as required by amended claim 1.
Regarding point (i), Examiner respectfully disagrees, as discussed below (see section Claim Rejections 35 USC 103) Izzat teaches that the entire optical system can be built as a standalone handheld or portable system. It is apparent that having the entire optical system encompasses in a handheld device would yield “the exit lens and the second optical system” sharing a common housing structure, as required by amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13-15 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izatt et al. (US 2014/0354951), in view of Yu (US 2016/0008169).
In re claim 1, Izzat discloses a system (FIG. 6; [0032]) for imaging ocular tissue of an eye [0032] having a cornea, an iris, an anterior chamber, an irido-corneal angle, and a direction of view (apparent as any eye would necessarily include “a cornea, an iris, an anterior chamber, an irido-corneal angle and a direction of view”), the system comprising:
a first optical subsystem (220) configured to establish an optical path (indicated by two black lines going into 220) through the cornea and the anterior chamber into the irido-corneal angle [0032],
wherein
the optical path is offset from an optical axis (imaginary line drawn through a middle of 230; FIG. 6) within the direction of view (direction towards 230) and
the first optical subsystem comprises an exit lens (220) configured to couple to the cornea (FIG. 6; [0032]: “directly coupling the contact lens to the patient’s eye”);
a second optical subsystem (components of FIG. 6 excluding 220), the second optical subsystem comprising:
an optical coherence tomography (OCT) imaging apparatus (110, 250) configured to output an OCT beam (indicated by line coming out of 110),
a scanning component (200) optically coupled with the OCT imaging apparatus to receive the OCT beam (FIG. 6), and
focusing optics (210) optically coupled between the scanning component and the first optical subsystem (FIG. 6); and
a housing ([0031]: outer structure of “standalone handheld or portable system”) that includes the exit lens and the second optical subsystem ([0031]: apparent as entire “optical system” can be built as “a standalone handheld or portable system”) ; and
a control system (260) coupled with the second optical subsystem (FIG. 6) and configured to affect operation of the OCT imaging apparatus, the scanning component, and the focusing optics to:
direct an OCT beam along the optical path ([0032] and Figure 1 of Izatt wherein light beam enters prism GC in conical portion so as to be redirected at the exit surface CA of the contact lens and at an angle from the direction of view (being along the axis of the cone shaped portion of the contact lens));
align the OCT beam with an initial segment of ocular tissue of the irido-corneal angle ([0032]: “delivering a tightly-focused OCT beam from a conventional OCT x-y scan head through the cornea and into the irido-corneal angle in a fully circumferential scannable geometry”; See segmentation in figures 4C for radial segmentation and 4B c for circumferential segmentation and description in paras. [0047] and [0048]);
obtain an initial circumferential OCT image of the initial segment of ocular tissue ([0047]: “one or more B-scans obtained while scanning the focused spot in a circular pattern around the circumference of the irido-corneal angle”); and
repeatedly align the OCT beam and obtain one or more additional circumferential OCT images for one or more additional segments of ocular tissue ([0047]: “a series (10-1000) of sequential circumferential-priority scans with different radii may be obtained in order to collect a volume of data including all relevant outflow structures”).
Izatt does not disclose the system comprising:
a second optical subsystem configured to rotate relative to the optical axis,
a control system coupled with the second optical subsystem and configured to affect operation of the OCT imaging apparatus, the scanning component, and the focusing optics to:
direct an OCT beam along the optical path;
rotate the OCT imaging apparatus, the scanning component and the focusing optics without rotating the exit lens to align the OCT beam with an initial segment of ocular tissue of the irido-corneal angle;
obtain an initial circumferential OCT image of the initial segment of ocular tissue; and
repeatedly rotate the OCT imaging apparatus, the scanning component and the focusing optics without rotating the exit lens to align the OCT beam and obtain one or more additional circumferential OCT images for one or more additional segments of ocular tissue.
Yu teaches a similar OCT beam directing and scanning system in fig. 1 stored in an OCT scanning system (block 102) which performs the scanning functions of the second optical subsystem of the Izatt device but additionally includes a surgical microscope viewing portion 108 for viewing the treatment area. The block (102) in figure 7 and its use discussed in accompanying para. [0047] is considered to be a second optical subsystem is designed to rotate about axis 128 which is aligned with the optical viewing axis such that the second optical system rotates (para. [0045]) about the axis of the first optical system which comprises contact lens 120 which corresponds to the optical view axis. It would have been obvious prior to the time of Applicants invention to have made the Izatt second optical subsystem rotatable about the optical axis in an arrangement like that of Yu “to provide flexibility to the observer 118, such as a surgeon, to move the optical block to a more convenient orientation during a surgical procedure” para. [0047].
In re claim 2, see above (In re claim 1).
The proposed combination also yields (all mapping directed to Izatt) a method of imaging an irido-corneal angle of an eye [0032-0033].
In re claim 3, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), further comprising displaying the initial circumferential OCT image and the one or more additional circumferential OCT images in *real-time [0035, 0038].
*In paragraph [0035], the initial and additional segments are assembled either for a partial construction or full construction which an example of processing explained in Para. [0038], wherein segments of A scans which may be circumferential (or radial), are assembled either for a partial image or full (image) which is an example of processing of the segments to construct an image. In para. [0038] “Other embodiments of the present disclosure provide for methods for segmenting, processing, and displaying the resulting image set.” For the limitation of real time displaying, that Applicant teaches an example of “real-time” imaging in Applicant’s specification at para. [0157] and others, “The obtained 2D or 3D circumferential image may be displayed in real-time, delayed by the time it takes to construct the 2D or 3D”. Thus “real time” according to Applicant specification is not the displaying of segments at the moment they are imaged, but rather a delayed time after the segment images are taken and then assembled to form a display image. Thus, the segmenting processing (assembling) and displaying of the images in Izatt, is the same sequence of events as described in Applicant’s specification with the same delays. Therefore, the Izatt disclosure is considered to meet “real -time” displaying of images because it too involves delays from when the segments are first imaged until they are assembled and ready for display. Applicant does not provide any time restrictions on what that time delay may be.
In re claim 4, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), wherein the aligning and obtaining are repeated for a plurality of additional segments around all or a portion of an entire circumference of the irido-corneal angle [0047].
In re claim 6, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), wherein the exit lens has an axis (imaginary line that passes through the middle of 220, “CONTACT LENS”) aligned with the optical axis of the eye.
In re claim 7, regarding the limitation “wherein the target point is at or near a midpoint between a first circumferential boundary of the initial segment or the one of the one or more additional segments and a second circumferential boundary of the initial segment or the one of the one or more additional segments”, it would be understood that in providing segmentation the target of the focus is one of limited possible selections, including at the mid-point of the boundaries of the desired segment scan, near the mid-point between the boundaries of the segment scan or away from the mid-point of the boundaries of the segment scan each providing expected results. Thus, choosing the target to be at the mid-point or near the mid-point would have been ab obvious choice from a limited number of choices above with no particular criticality expressed in the specification for choosing at or near the mid-point between the boundaries in Applicant’s specification.
In re claim 9, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), further comprising: obtaining an initial azimuthal OCT image of the initial segment of ocular tissue and an additional azimuthal image of each of the one or more additional segments of ocular tissue (see radial segments in FIG. 4C and [0037, 0048]).
In re claim 10, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), further comprising **displaying the initial azimuthal OCT image and the one or more additional azimuthal OCT images in real-time [0035, 0038].
** Examiner note: In paragraph [0035], segments of A scans which may be circumferential (or radial), are assembled either for a partial image or full (image) which is an example of processing of the segments to construct an image. In para. [0038], other embodiments of the present disclosure provides for methods for segmenting, processing (e.g. assembling) and displaying the resulting image set. An example of “real-time” imaging is taught in Applicant’s specification at para. [0157] and others, “The obtained 2D or 3D circumferential image may be displayed in real-time, delayed by the time it takes to construct the 2D or 3D”. Thus “real time” according to Applicant specification is not the displaying of segments at the moment they are imaged, but rather a delayed time after the segment images are taken and then assembled to form a display image. Thus, the segmenting processing (assembling) and displaying of the images in Izatt, is the same sequence of events as described in Applicant’s specification. Therefore, the Izatt disclosure is considered to meet “real-time” displaying of images because it too involves delays from when the segments are first imaged until they are assembled and ready for display. Applicant does not provide any time restrictions on what that time delay may be.
In re claim 12, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), further comprising: obtaining a plurality of additional circumferential images of the initial segment; and generating a three-dimensional OCT image of the initial segment based on the obtained initial circumferential OCT image and the obtained plurality of additional circumferential OCT images ([0047]; adding additional circumferential images and assembling together as discussed in [0047] results in a 3-D image for the interior of the eye).
In re claim 13, claim 13 is similar to claim 1 but includes “directing the beam at a plurality of circumferential points” to acquire images (which points would correspond to the segments depicted in figure 4B of Izatt )and to “construct a circumferential OCT image based on the obtained image data”, which is taught in Para. [0035] of Izatt.
In re claim 14, regarding the limitations “wherein to obtain OCT image data for the circumferential point, the control system is configured to control the focusing optics to scan the focus of the OCT beam between an anterior-chamber boundary adjacent the anterior chamber and a sclera boundary adjacent a sclera.”, since Izatt is interested in viewing all of the components in the irido-corneal angle portion of the eye, which portion which extends from the base of the anterior chamber to the sclera, the circumferential scan would include images that extend from the recited boundaries.
In re claim 15, see above (In re claim 13).
In re claim 17, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Izatt), wherein the circumferential extent comprises all or a portion of an entire circumference of the irido-corneal angle [0047].
In re claim 19, see above (In re claim 6).
Claims 8, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izatt et al. (US 2014/0354951), in view of Yu (US 2016/0008169), in view of Berlin (US 2012/0283557)
In re claim 8, regarding the limitations “wherein obtaining the initial circumferential OCT and the additional circumferential OCT images comprises: scanning the focus of the OCT beam through a circumferential plane of the initial segment and a circumferential plane of the one or more additional segments, the respective circumferential planes being bound by a first circumferential boundary, a second circumferential boundary, an anterior-chamber boundary adjacent the anterior chamber, and a sclera boundary adjacent a sclera.”, Izatt teaches that the scans may be a segmented into circumferential scans circumferential scan para. [0037], see fig. 4B, and between first and second azimuthal planar boundaries, which are the boundaries understood to be between the anterior chamber wall and the sclera where the irido-corneal angle components (i.e. trabecular meshwork and Schlemm’s canal) reside, which are those elements that are desired to be viewed for treating glaucoma. Para [0038]. Thus, when the segments are circumferential segments as in fig.4B, it is understood that the lower and upper azimuthal boundaries are the sclera and the anterior chamber rear wall at the Iris because those tissues that are positioned below and above these boundaries are of no interest and there would be no reason for scanning them. To provide illustration of the relationship of the components, see Applicant’s figure 2 Prior Art figure 2 for the areas of interest i.e. the Trabecular network 12 and Schlemm’s canal 18.
Berlin shows a detailed figure (Fig. 2) for anterior chamber 7 in the region of the anterior chamber for glaucoma scanning discussed in para. [0038] of Izatt. Berlin shows a perspective fragmentary view of the anatomy within the anterior chamber of an eye, depicting the corneoscleral angle in Fig. 2. Berlin shows that the anterior chamber is bounded by the cornea 15, the sclera 17, the iris 19, lens 4. Note that the trabecular meshwork 9 is partially located in the cornea 15 in front of the sclera cornea boundary as well as being located in the sclera below the cornea sclera boundary, The juxtacanalicular trabecular meshwork 13 and the Schlemm’s canal 11 are all positioned in the sclera (or in the cornea in front of the sclera boundary) above the iris. Thus, to visualize these structures the scanning is done from the anterior chamber boundary at the iris to a sclera boundary adjacent the cornea.
In re claim 11, see above (In re claim 8). Additionally see Izatt [0047, 0048] which teaches that subsequent azimuthal slices (para. [0037], fig. 4c para. [0048]), have the same azimuthal boundaries as discussed in the preceding paragraphs for the glaucoma relevant structures but may start at the center of the cornea.
In re claim 16, see above (In re claim 8).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Berlin (US 2018/0360310) discloses an optical coherence tomography (OCT) apparatus (FIG. 4) configured to perform an OCT scan of a target location in a patient’s eye (“E”; abstract).
Buckland et al. (US 2015/0031993) discloses an optical coherence tomography (OCT) apparatus (FIG. 1A) that is used to obtain at least one image of a surgical region of a patient’s eye (abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/OLIVIA WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796