DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how a hair trimmer receives power from a phone to run the motor.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear how a hair trimmer receives power from a phone wirelessly to run the motor. It is unclear how a “cordless operation” occurs when there is a physical and electrical attachment to the hair trimmer.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 which claim 2 depends on sets for a physical contact between a mobile phone and a hair trimmer. Therefore, claim 2 should further limits the physical contact between the mobile phone and the hair trimmer instead of getting rid of the physical contact and replacing with a wireless contact. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan (3,284,894) in view of Deng et al. (2018/0033402), hereinafter Deng.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Ryan teaches portable electric battery-less hair trimmer, with no independent internal power source, substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts, comprising a body 10 and a power connector 20 integrated with the body, wherein the power connector is configured to physically and electrically attach the body directly to a mobile phone to draw power therefrom.
See Fig. 2.
Ryan does not teach wherein the power connector is configured to physically and electrically attach the body directly to a mobile phone to draw power therefrom.
Deng teaches an electric device 100 having a power connector 200 and a body, wherein the power connector is configured to physically and electrically attach the body directly to a mobile phone 300 to draw power therefrom. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the hair trimmer in Ryan being powered by a mobile phone as taught by Deng so that a user could power the hair trimmer whether there is no electrical outlet or no power converting device.
Regarding claim 4, a blade assembly 30 and a safety feature 14 are best seen in Fig. 2.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan (3,284,894) in view of Deng et al. (2018/0033402), hereinafter Deng, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (2024/0275207).
Ryan teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the hair trimmer receiving power wirelessly from a mobile phone.
Liu teaches wirelessly transferring power between two devices. See Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the power to the hair trimmer of Ryan wirelessly as taught by Liu to reduce bulkiness of an electric cable.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan (3,284,894) in view of Deng et al. (2018/0033402), hereinafter Deng.
Regarding claim 5, Ryan discloses the claimed invention except for the hair trimmer having a length of 2.5 inches. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the hair trimmer of Ryan having a length of 2.5 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to 35 USC 112 Rejections, the disclosure just provides statements. It does not teach in detail how the power could be drawn out from a mobile phone so that one skilled in the art could make use of the invention.
Regarding Applicant’s argument with respect to 35 USC 102 Rejection, Deng reference is introduced to show the use of a mobile phone to provide power to an electric device being known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724