DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
“rural region” is indefinite as it is unclear how one would define or determine the scope of “rural”. This is not defined in the disclosure or the claim.
“the water collecting assembly is arranged in a yard” is indefinite as it is unclear what constitutes a “yard” and if the “yard” is part of the assembly. It is interpreted that a “yard” is any place on earth and it is not part of the assembly.
“internally” is indefinite as there is no indication of what would be internal vs. external and how that would be determined.
It is also unclear if “internally” is with respect to the whole system, the “first biological treatment assembly”, or the “water-collecting ditch assembly”.
“spiral ditch component” is indefinite as there is no structure claimed and, therefore, it is impossible to know what this limitation requires.
It is unclear what a “water-converging ditch assembly” is and what structure is required. It is interpreted that this is any flow path including an inlet, outlet, pipe, or tank.
It is unclear what an “operating state” is. Without knowing this, it is not possible to know the configuration of the operation-regulating assembly.
Claim 3:
“the plurality of water quality sensors are respectively arranged…” is indefinite is because it is unclear there is a plurality of water quality sensors in each of the assemblies or if there is one water quality sensor in each of the assemblies.
a1. “the plurality of flow velocity meters are respectively arranged…” and “the plurality of water pumps are arranged…” are indefinite for the same reason.
Claim 4:
“the plurality of filtering assemblies are respectively arranged…” is indefinite as it is unclear if there is a plurality ‘on’ each of the water-collecting ditch assembly, the restoration pool and the water-converging ditch assembly, or if there is one filter assembly on each.
Claim 5:
“the housing is movably connected…” is indefinite as it is unclear what structure is required to meet the limitation of “movably”. For example, is it “movable” if it can be disconnected or is there some sort of hinging feature?
It is unclear what an “accommodating groove” is; what structure does “accommodating” require?
What structure does “communicated with” require and what structure does that establish between the “accommodating groove” and the “through hole”?
“configured to drive the housing to move under driving of the driving component…” is indefinite as it is unclear what “under driving” means and if this is part of the driving component or if they are separate elements.
Claim 6:
“of water bodies in the water-collecting ditch assembly” is indefinite as it is unclear if “water bodies” are part of the system or if it is material worked upon. It is interpreted that “water bodies” are not part of the system but are material worked upon.
Claim 7:
It is unclear what a “lens” structure is. There is no further structure claimed and no clear definition in the disclosure. It is impossible to know what this limitation requires.
“are each provided with the lens structure” is indefinite as it is unclear if each of the assemblies and pool includes a lens structure (i.e. there are 3 lens structures) or if there is one lens structure connected to all three.
The “heating wire” and “insulating layer” limitations are indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim 8:
It is unclear what “ground” is and, if it means the earth, it is unclear if the claim is claiming the earth as part of the assembly.
It is unclear what structure is required by “movably connected to ground”; is it that the solar panels can be picked up and moved around or is it that the solar panel itself can move but is fixed to the ground? It is unclear.
For the “partially cover” limitation, does the claim require that each of assemblies and pool be partially covered or is it that at least one part of one of these is partially covered?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (USP 3429806).
Claim 1: Carter et al. teach a system for water ecological restoration in rural region, comprising:
a water-collecting ditch assembly (Fig. 1, 2);
a first biological treatment assembly (Fig. 1, 4);
an ecological restoration assembly (Fig. 1, 5)
an operation-regulating assembly (col. 2, lines 18-25; ‘pump’); and
an energy supply assembly (there is no energy assembly disclosed, however, there are pumps disclosed which require some energy input and, therefore, an energy supply is inherent in Carter et al.’s system);
wherein the water-collecting ditch assembly is arranged in a yard;
the first biological treatment assembly is internally communicated with the water-collecting ditch assembly (Fig. 1, 2 to 3);
the ecological restoration assembly comprises a restoration pool (Fig. 1, 5) communicated with the water-collecting ditch assembly, a control valve (col. 3, lines 1-2) provided on the restoration pool, and
a second biological treatment assembly (Fig. 1, 6) communicated with the restoration pool;
the restoration pool (Fig. 1, 5) comprises a pool main body and a spiral ditch component (Fig. 1, 4 is a holding place for fluid);
a first end of the spiral ditch component is communicated with the pool main body; and a second end of the spiral ditch component is communicated with the water-collecting ditch assembly through a water-converging ditch assembly (Fig. 1, the opening of pipe 16 to 5 and 5 to 20 is the assembly and all ponds are communicated); the operation-regulating assembly is configured to regulate an operating state of the water-collecting ditch assembly and the ecological restoration assembly (see the valve above); and the energy supply assembly is electrically connected to the operation-regulating assembly (Carter et al. do not specifically disclose an energy source for the pumps, but energy is required to enable pump function and, therefore, is inherent in Carter et al.’s disclosure).
Claim 2: Carter et al. teaches an intermediate pool (Fig. 1, 3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. in view of Nawathe et al. (USP 5647986).
Claim 3: Carter et al. do not teach the specific flow meters, water quality sensors, pumps or controllers. All of these elements are routine in water treatment systems.
Nawathe et al. teach a water treatment system comprising a controller (95) that controls pump function in response to flow sensor (62) which senses flow rate. There is also a flow sensor (29). There are multiple valves (oAV and SV) and a CPU (96) of the controller. The sensor also monitors turbidity, pH, and temperature (col. 13, lines 20-50).
It was within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place valves, pumps, flow sensors, and water quality sensors for the benefit of controlling the system, controlling fluid flow, pumping fluid through Carter’s system as needed and monitoring water composition.
Claim 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. in view of Jordan (USP 4904387).
Carter et al. do not teach the specific filter assemblies claimed.
Jordan teaches a waste treatment system comprising a liquid holding chamber connected to a grinder pump (75) wherein the grinder pump macerates any solids (col. 5, lines 36-59). The fluid is then sent to the filter system (22).
Providing filters connected to any and all of the assemblies would have been obvious for the benefit of breaking up any solids to make it easier for removal and treatment and so as not to block the system.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. in view of Kallenbach et al. (USP 5534147).
Claims 5-6: Carter et al. do not teach a temperature control assembly including a heating wire and insulating layer around the assemblies and pools. The container and ground surrounding Carter et al.’s pools are considered insulating layers.
Kallenbach et al. teach heating elements can be installed in water treatment systems to regulate the temperature of the system (col. 10, lines 57-60).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include a heating element around the pools in order to control the temperature of the system. Heating wires are well-known in the art as standard heating elements and would have been obvious.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. in view of Dufay (USP 6159371).
Claim 8: Carter et al. do not teach solar or wind power elements and a power storage element.
Dufay teaches the use of solar power via solar power panels and storing the power in power storage elements to power their water treatment device (col. 17, lines 24-57). Dufay also teaches additional power sources such as wind energy (col. 8, lines 40-50).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include renewable power sources such as wind and solar power structures (i.e. turbines and panels) to harness energy from the wind and sun and store it in power storage structures for use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US Pub No. 2021/0009448) teaches a modular treatment system for rural black water and manure and includes spiral squeezing, filtering, and pools/tanks.
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773