DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the cited prior fails to teach feature 1) "determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context" and feature 2) "determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations, wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header. Regarding Applicant's argument relating to feature 1 the Examiner disagrees. The combined teachings of Lasserre and Sasai discloses the usage of motion vector (MV) prediction/motion estimation in point cloud coding. Lasserre is directed towards the predictive coding of point clouds using motion vector prediction. [abstract; ¶ 0027-0038] Sasai discloses the relationship between a motion vector (predicted motion vector and current motion vector) and a motion vector difference (MVD). Sasai discloses determining and coding the x (horizontal) and y (vertical) components of a MVD representing the displacement/difference between the prediction mv and current MV. [abstract; ¶ 0009; ¶ 0058; ¶ 0061-0072; ¶ 0093-0098; ¶ 0113-0114] Sasai is directed toward known coding techniques relating to MVD. Lasserre taken in combination with Sasai teaches feature 1 as argued by the applicant. Regarding Applicant's argument relating to feature 2 the Examiner disagrees. The combined teachings of Lasserre, Sasai and Rapaka discloses the usage of motion vector (MV) prediction/motion estimation in point cloud coding in combination with coded slice architecture including a slice header. Rapaka discloses coded slice architecture containing a slice header, slice data, and syntax elements including those related to motion information. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141] The cited prior art taken in combination fairly suggests and teaches the limitations as presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lasserre et al. US 2021/0218969 in view of Sasai et al. US 2012/0328022 further in view of Rapaka et al. US 2015/0382010.
As to claim 1, Lasserre teaches a method for point cloud coding, comprising: determining, during a conversion between a current frame of a point cloud sequence and a bitstream of the point cloud sequence, motion information of the current frame, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
Lasserre does not explicitly teach wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; and performing the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context: and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations, wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Sasai teaches wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; [abstract; ¶ 0061-0072; ¶ 0113-0114] determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and performing the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098]and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations. [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Sasai with the teachings of Lasserre allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Lasserre (modified by Sasai) does not explicitly teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Rapaka teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Rapaka with the teachings of Lasserre (modified by Sasai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 2, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lasserre teaches wherein the motion parameter comprises at least one of: a rotation matrix, a translation vector, or a segment threshold. [¶ 0029; ¶ 0092-0105]
As to claim 3, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Sasai teaches wherein determining the coded representation comprises: determining a first syntax element in the coded representation based on a comparison between an absolute value of the motion information and a threshold value. [¶ 0064-0067]
As to claim 4, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 3. Sasai teaches wherein the first syntax element indicates whether the absolute value of the motion information exceeds the threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises one of: 0, 1 or 2. [¶ 0155]
As to claim 5, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 4. Sasai teaches further comprising: including the first syntax element in the bitstream. [fig. 13; ¶ 0176-0178]
As to claim 6, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 3. Sasai teaches wherein determining the coded representation further comprises: determining a further syntax element in the coded representation based on one of: a difference between the absolute value and the threshold value, or a sign of the motion information. [¶ 0064-0067; ¶ 0093-0098]
As to claim 8, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Sasai teaches wherein the coded representation comprises more than one syntax element. [¶ 0064-0067; ¶ 0093-0098]
As to claim 9, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lasserre teaches wherein the coded representation comprises a binarized value and a coded sign. [¶ 0055; ¶ 0081-0086; ¶ 0091]
As to claim 10, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 9. Sasai teaches wherein determining the coded representation comprises: determining the coded sign based on a sign of the motion information; [¶ 0092-0095]
Lasserre (modified by Sasai) does not explicitly teach determining the binarized value based on the absolute value, wherein the binarized value is determined by using one of: a fixed length coding tool, a unary coding tool, an exponential Golomb coding tool, or a rice coding tool, wherein the exponential Golomb coding tool comprises a zero-th order exponential Golomb (EGO) coding tool.
Rapaka teaches determining the binarized value based on the absolute value, wherein the binarized value is determined by using one of: a fixed length coding tool, a unary coding tool, an exponential Golomb coding tool, or a rice coding tool, wherein the exponential Golomb coding tool comprises a zero-th order exponential Golomb (EGO) coding tool. [¶ 0126]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Rapaka with the teachings of Lasserre (modified by Sasai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 11, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Rapaka teaches wherein information, parameter, value, integer or code associated with the method is coded in a coding structure, wherein the coding structure comprises a slice header of the point cloud sequence. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141]
As to claim 12, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 11. Rapaka teaches wherein the information, parameter, value, integer or code is coded with one of: an unsigned integer using n bits (u(n)), a k-th order exponential Golomb (EGk), k greater than or equal to 0, a signed integer 0-th order exponential Golomb-coded syntax element with the left bit first (se(v)), or an unsigned integer 0-th order exponential Golomb-coded syntax element with the left bit first (ue(v)). [¶ 0124-0126]
As to claim 13, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 11. Rapaka teaches wherein the information, parameter, value, integer or code is directly coded with one of: a signed exponential Golomb coding tool, a signed unary coding tool, or a fixed length coding tool, or wherein the information, parameter, value, integer or code comprises a sign and an absolute value, or wherein the information, parameter, value, integer or code is coded with at least one context in arithmetic coding, or coded in a bypass mode. [¶ 0116; ¶ 0118-0119]
As to claim 14, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 13. Rapaka teaches further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the absolute value is greater than a threshold, determining a coded sign based on the sign, wherein the threshold is 0, or wherein determining the coded sign comprises coding the coded sign as a flag. [¶ 0124-0126]
As to claim 15, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 13. Rapaka teaches further comprising: determining a coded value based on the absolute value by using one of: a fixed length coding tool, a unary coding tool, an exponential Golomb coding tool, or a rice coding tool. [¶ 0116; ¶ 0118-0119; ¶ 0124-0126]
As to claim 16, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lasserre teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the current frame into the bitstream. [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
As to claim 17, Lasserre (modified by Sasai and Rapaka) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lasserre teaches wherein the conversion includes decoding the current frame from the bitstream. [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
As to claim 18, Lasserre teaches an apparatus for point cloud processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: determine, during a conversion between a current frame of a point cloud sequence and a bitstream of the point cloud sequence, motion information of the current frame, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
Lasserre does not explicitly teach wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; determine a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; and perform the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations, wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Sasai teaches wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; [abstract; ¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0113-0114] determine a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; and perform the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations. [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Sasai with the teachings of Lasserre allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Lasserre (modified by Sasai) does not explicitly teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Rapaka teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Rapaka with the teachings of Lasserre (modified by Sasai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 19, Lasserre teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method perform by a point cloud processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: determining, during a conversion between a current frame of a point cloud sequence and a bitstream of the point cloud sequence, motion information of the current frame, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
Lasserre does not explicitly teach wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; and performing the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations , wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Sasai teaches wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; [abstract; ¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0113-0114] determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and performing the conversion based on the coded representation, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations. [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Sasai with the teachings of Lasserre allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Lasserre (modified by Sasai) does not explicitly teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Rapaka teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Rapaka with the teachings of Lasserre (modified by Sasai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 20, Lasserre teaches a method for storing a bitstream of a point cloud sequence, comprising: determining motion information of a current frame of the point cloud sequence, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0027-0038; ¶ 0053-0068]
Lasserre does not explicitly teach wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; generating the bitstream based on the coded representation of the motion information; and storing the bitstream in anon-transitory computer-readable recording medium, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations , wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Sasai teaches wherein the motion information comprises a motion vector of a motion parameter and a motion vector difference of the motion parameter; [abstract; ¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0113-0114] determining a coded representation of the motion information based at least in part on an absolute value of the motion information; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] generating the bitstream based on the coded representation of the motion information; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and storing the bitstream in anon-transitory computer-readable recording medium, wherein determining the coded representation of the motion information [¶ 0056; ¶ 0123] comprises: determining a first coded representation by coding the motion vector based a first absolute value of the motion vector and a first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] determining a second coded representation by coding the motion vector difference based on a second absolute value of the motion vector difference and a second context different from the first context; [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098] and determining the coded representation of the motion information based on the first and second coded representations. [¶ 0064-0072; ¶ 0093-0098]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Sasai with the teachings of Lasserre allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Lasserre (modified by Sasai) does not explicitly teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence.
Rapaka teach wherein the coded representation of the motion information is coded in a slice header of the point cloud sequence. [¶ 0105; ¶ 0134-0141]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Rapaka with the teachings of Lasserre (modified by Sasai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483 lice